DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “spring washer is circumferentially closed” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 21. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Benzin (US 2023/0163531).
Regarding claim 12, Benzin discloses a shielded push-pull plug comprising:
a contact carrier (3) which has at least one contact chamber (not shown) into which a mating contact partner (not shown) is inserted;
a shielding sleeve (2) made of an electrically conductive material and arranged around the contact carrier;
a snap-ring (4) arranged around the shielding sleeve, which snap-ring has a completely circumferential projection pointing forwards in the insertion direction, which projection can be brought into operative connection with an undercut of a panel-mounted socket;
a grip sleeve (2’) arranged around the snap-ring, with which the snap-ring can be actuated when the push-pull plug is to be pulled out of the panel-mounted socket, wherein by an axial movement of the grip sleeve, its front end acts on a circumferential sloping ramp of the snap-ring and thereby presses it down, wherein the completely circumferential projection of the snap-ring is pressed down and thereby moved out of the undercut of the panel-mounted socket, wherein a further axial displacement of the grip sleeve causes the push-pull plug to be pulled completely out of the panel-mounted socket;
a shielding spring (6), which, viewed in the insertion direction, has tab-like projections (9) at the front; wherein the snap-ring has tab-like recesses which correspond to the tab-like projections of the shielding spring and in which the projections of the shielding spring are arranged so that the tab-like projections of the shielding spring together with the tab-like projections of the snap-ring form a completely circumferential projection which comes to bear in the undercut in the panel-mounted socket, and, in the process, the shielding spring, which is made of a metal material, loops through the shielding of the push-pull plug to the panel-mounted socket; and
wherein the shielding spring is directly or indirectly electrically connected to a shielding of a cable on which the push-pull plug is arranged.
[AltContent: textbox (Locking tab)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (projection)]
[AltContent: textbox (Undercut)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 13, Benzin discloses the tab-like projections emanate from a cylindrical main body (8) of the shielding spring.
Regarding claim 14, Benzin discloses the main body has a slot running parallel to the longitudinal axis of the shielding sleeve.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (slot)]
Regarding claim 16, Benzin discloses at least one locking tab is formed by the main body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzin (US 2023/0275375) in view of Benzin (US 2023/0163531).
Regarding claim 17, Benzin’375 discloses a shielded push-pull plug comprising:
a contact carrier (3) which has at least one contact chamber (not shown) into which a mating contact partner (not shown) is inserted;
a shielding sleeve (2) made of an electrically conductive material arranged around the contact carrier;
a grip sleeve (2’) arranged around the snap-ring, with which the snap-ring can be actuated when the push-pull plug is to be pulled out of the panel-mounted socket;
a spring washer (5) disposed in the front region of the push-pull plug and configured to interact there, after the push-pull plug has been inserted into the panel-mounted socket, with its undercut; and wherein the spring washer has a circumferentially undulating design.
Benzin’735 substantially disclosed the claimed invention except a snap-ring arranged around the shielding sleeve, which snap-ring has a completely circumferential projection pointing forwards in the insertion direction, which projection can be brought into operative connection with an undercut of a panel-mounted socket; and wherein by an axial movement of the grip sleeve, its front end acts on a circumferential sloping ramp of the snap-ring and thereby presses it down, wherein the completely circumferential projection of the snap-ring is pressed down and thereby moved out of the undercut of the panel-mounted socket, wherein a further axial displacement of the grip sleeve causes the push-pull plug to be pulled completely out of the panel-mounted socket;
Benzin’531 teach a snap-ring (4) arranged around the shielding sleeve, which snap-ring has a completely circumferential projection pointing forwards in the insertion direction, which projection can be brought into operative connection with an undercut of a panel-mounted socket; and wherein by an axial movement of the grip sleeve (2’), its front end acts on a circumferential sloping ramp of the snap-ring and thereby presses it down, wherein the completely circumferential projection of the snap-ring is pressed down and thereby moved out of the undercut of the panel-mounted socket, wherein a further axial displacement of the grip sleeve causes the push-pull plug to be pulled completely out of the panel-mounted socket.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the snap-ring into the plug of Benzi ’735 unit, as taught by Benzin’531 for securely latching the plug to the mating connector.
Regarding claim 18, Benzin’735 in view of Benzin’531 disclose the spring washer is arranged in the snap-ring.
Regarding claim 19, Benzin’735 in view of Benzin’531 disclose the spring washer is arranged in the shielding sleeve.
Regarding claim 20, Benzin’735 discloses the undercut of the panel-mounted socket is a groove.
Regarding claim 21, Benzin’735 substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the spring washer is circumferentially closed.
Whether the spring washer is circumferentially closed or not would have been an matter of design absent the criticality, since the operation of the spring washer is still the same.
Regarding claim 22, Benzin’735 discloses the spring washer is circumferentially interrupted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834