DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 9/19/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 1,3,7,8,15,16,19-23,28,29,36, and 40-43 are amended.
Claims 4-6,9-14,17,18,24-27,30-35,38, and 39 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3,7,15,16,19-23,28,29,36,37, and 40-43 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3,22,23, and 43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,3, and 4 of copending Application No. 18/851641 (reference application referred to as A641). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Re claim 1: Claim 1 merely broadens the scope of claim 1 of A641. It is well settled that broadening the scope of claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the narrower issued claims. In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982) and In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Re claim 2: Claim 2 is disclosed in claim 4 of A641.
Re claim 3: Claim 3 is disclosed in claim 1 of A641.
Re claim 22: Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the network device.
Re claim 23: Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Re claim 43: Claim 43 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, “the 8 uplink DMRS” should be “8 uplink DMRS”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, “information field the downlink” should be “information field in the downlink”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, “the 8 uplink DMRS” should be “8 uplink DMRS”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,7,15,1619,21,22,28,36,37,40,42, and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan (US 20230085874).
Re claim 1:
Khoshnevisan discloses a method for determining an association of an uplink PTRS port, performed by a terminal, comprising: determining an association between an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) port and an uplink demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port based on downlink control information (DCI) (Para.[0043] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example 300 of association of PTRS ports and DMRS ports for multi-beam uplink repetitions and Para.[0046] If the UE identifies a single PTRS port (e.g., PTRS port 0), the DCI may indicate an index value of mapping 305 to identify a DMRS port associated with the PTRS port (where the first scheduled DMRS port may refer to a DMRS port mapped to a first layer that is to be transmitted, and so forth). If the UE identifies multiple PTRS ports (e.g., PTRS port 0 and PTRS port 1), the DCI may indicate two index values of mapping 310 to identify respective DMRS ports associated with the multiple PTRS ports).
Re claim 2:
Khoshnevisan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the association between the uplink PTRS port and the uplink DMRS port based on the downlink control information comprises: in response to a number of the uplink PTRS ports being 1, determining the association between the uplink PTRS port and the uplink DMRS port based on a first information field in the downlink control information (Para.[0046] If the UE identifies a single PTRS port (e.g., PTRS port 0), the DCI may indicate an index value of mapping 305 to identify a DMRS port associated with the PTRS port (where the first scheduled DMRS port may refer to a DMRS port mapped to a first layer that is to be transmitted, and so forth)).
Re claim 7:
Khoshnevisan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the association between a uplink PTRS port and the uplink DMRS port based on the downlink control information comprises: in response to the number of the uplink PTRS ports being 2, determining the association between the uplink PTRS port and the uplink DMRS port based on a first information field in the downlink control information (Para.[0046] If the UE identifies multiple PTRS ports (e.g., PTRS port 0 and PTRS port 1), the DCI may indicate two index values of mapping 310 to identify respective DMRS ports associated with the multiple PTRS ports);
wherein the first information field comprises 4 bits (Para.[0056] In some aspects, the PTRS-DMRS association field may be allocated four bits of the DCI).
Re claim 15:
Khoshnevisan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the association between the uplink PTRS port and the uplink DMRS port based on the downlink control information comprises: in response to a number of the uplink PTRS ports being 2, determining an uplink DMRS port associated with a first uplink PTRS port based on a codepoint of a first information field in the downlink control information and a first association; and determining an uplink DMRS port associated with a second uplink PTRS port based on the codepoint of the first information field and a second association; wherein the first association refers to an association between the first uplink PTRS port corresponding to the codepoint of the first information field and the uplink DMRS port, and the second association refers to an association between the second uplink PTRS port corresponding to the codepoint of the first information field and the uplink DMRS port (Para.[0046] If the UE identifies multiple PTRS ports (e.g., PTRS port 0 and PTRS port 1), the DCI may indicate two index values of mapping 310 to identify respective DMRS ports associated with the multiple PTRS ports and Para.[0047] As shown in mapping 310, a first index value (i.e., a most-significant bit (MSB)) may identify a DMRS port of a set of DMRS ports that share a first PTRS port (e.g., PTRS port 0), and a second index value (i.e., a least-significant bit (LSB)) may identify a DMRS port of a set of DMRS ports that share a second PTRS port (e.g., PTRS port 1)…In codebook-based uplink, a first set of antennas (e.g., antennas 0 and 2) of a precoding matrix (identified by a TPMI and an indicated quantity of layers) may be associated with a first PTRS port (e.g., PTRS port 0) and a second set of antennas (e.g., antennas 1 and 3) of the precoding matrix may be associated with a second PTRS port (e.g., PTRS port 1)).
Re claim 16:
Khoshnevisan discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein: the first association and the second association are defined by a network device; or, the first association and the second association are pre-defined (Para.[0056] In some aspects, the PTRS-DMRS association field may be allocated four bits of the DCI and Para.[0052] the BS 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, DCI).
Re claim 19:
Khoshnevisan discloses the method according to claim 1,wherein the first information field the downlink control information is a PTRS-DMRS association field (Para.[0056] In some aspects, the PTRS-DMRS association field may be allocated four bits of the DCI).
Re claim 21:
Khoshnevisan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the association between the uplink PTRS port and the uplink DMRS port based on the downlink control information comprises: in a scenario of codebook (CB)-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, determining the association between the uplink PTRS port and the uplink DMRS port based on the downlink control information; or, in a scenario of non-codebook (NCB)-based PUSCH transmission, determining the association between the uplink PTRS port and the uplink DMRS port based on the downlink control information (Para.[0052] The DCI may schedule multiple repetitions (i.e., PUSCH transmission occasions) of an uplink communication of the UE 120 and Para.[0046] In non-codebook-based uplink, the UE may identify one or more PTRS ports based at least in part on a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI). For example, an SRI may identify one or more multiple SRS resources, and each SRS resource may be configured with a particular PTRS port. In codebook-based uplink, the UE may identify one or more PTRS ports based at least in part on a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) and an indicated quantity of layers, as described below. Moreover, the UE may be configured to use a particular maximum quantity of PTRS ports, which may be one or two. The UE may be configured to use one PTRS port when the UE is fully coherent. The UE may be configured to use at most two PTRS ports when the UE is non-coherent or partially coherent (e.g., the UE may be configured to use two PTRS ports when a transmission uses a cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform).);
or, in a scenario of scheduling-free configured grant (CG) PUSCH transmission, determining the association between the uplink PTRS port and the uplink DMRS port based on the downlink control information (alternatives have been addressed).
Re claim 22: Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the network device.
Re claim 28: Claim 28 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Re claim 36: Claim 36 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 15.
Re claim 37: Claim 37 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 16.
Re claim 40: Claim 40 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 19.
Re claim 42: Claim 42 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 21.
Re claim 43: Claim 43 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1. Khoshnevisan further discloses a processor; and a transceiver coupled to the processor (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,8,20,23,29, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan (US 20230085874) in view of Lim (US 20250167954).
Re claim 3:
As discussed above, Khoshnevisan meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein a maximum number of uplink DMRS ports allocated to the terminal is 8, and a number of uplink PTRS ports comprises 1 or 2.
Lim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a maximum number of uplink DMRS ports allocated to the terminal is 8, and a number of uplink PTRS ports comprises 1 or 2 (Para.[0393] a maximum of 8 layers (e.g., DMRS ports)…Table 37 shows the meaning of code points for interpreting the PTRS-DMRS association field that may be supported when the number of supported PTRS ports is 1 and support for a maximum of 8 layers is possible).
Khoshnevisan and Lim are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan to include a maximum of 8 DMRS ports as taught by Lim in order to effectively provide service in a wireless communication system (Lim Para.[0014]).
Re claim 8:
As discussed above, Khoshnevisan meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein the 8 uplink DMRS ports are divided into two DMRS port groups, each of the DMRS port groups comprising 4 uplink DMRS ports; a value of 2 bits of most significant bits (MSBs) in the 4 bits indicates one uplink DMRS port associated with a first uplink PTRS port in a first DMRS port group; and a value of 2 bits of least significant bits (LSBs) in the 4 bits indicates one uplink DMRS port associated with a second uplink PTRS port in a second DMRS port group.
Lim discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the 8 uplink DMRS ports are divided into two DMRS port groups, each of the DMRS port groups comprising 4 uplink DMRS ports; a value of 2 bits of most significant bits (MSBs) in the 4 bits indicates one uplink DMRS port associated with a first uplink PTRS port in a first DMRS port group; and a value of 2 bits of least significant bits (LSBs) in the 4 bits indicates one uplink DMRS port associated with a second uplink PTRS port in a second DMRS port group (Table 38).
Khoshnevisan and Lim are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan to include a maximum of 8 DMRS ports as taught by Lim in order to effectively provide service in a wireless communication system (Lim Para.[0014]).
Re claim 20:
As discussed above, Khoshnevisan meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein a number of uplink PTRS ports is configured by higher layer signaling, and a number of uplink PT-RS ports sent by the terminal is consistent with the configured number of uplink PT-RS ports.
Lim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a number of uplink PTRS ports is configured by higher layer signaling, and a number of uplink PT-RS ports sent by the terminal is consistent with the configured number of uplink PT-RS ports (Para.[0258] The indicated PTRS-DMRS association field of 2 bits may be applied to Table 34-1 or 34-2 below according to the maximum number of ports of PTRS configured by maxNrofPorts in the higher layer parameter PTRS-UplinkConfig. When the maximum number of PTRS ports is 1, the UE may determine the association between the PTRS and DMRS by Table 34-1 and the 2 bits indicated as the PTRS-DMRS association field, and may transmit the PTRS according to the determined association. When the maximum number of PTRS ports is 2, the UE may determine the association between the PTRS and DMRS by Table 34-2 and the 2 bits indicated as the PTRS-DMRS association field, and may transmit the PTRS according to the determined association).
Khoshnevisan and Lim are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan to include a maximum of 8 DMRS ports as taught by Lim in order to effectively provide service in a wireless communication system (Lim Para.[0014]).
Re claim 23: Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Re claim 29: Claim 29 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Re claim 41: Claim 41 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang (US 20250226949) shows an association between DMRS ports and PTRS ports.
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471