Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 12/27/2024 and 4/8/2026 are being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites: “an upper perimetral surface whose surface normal is parallel, within +−10°,” and “surface normal is antiparallel, within +−10°, to the axis of rotation”. Claim 6 recites: “surface normal is orthogonal, within +−20°”. It is unclear how the surfaces are both parallel, antiparallel, and orthogonal while simultaneously within a degree range. Given the claims do not recite “substantially parallel/antiparallel/orthogonal”, the scope is limited to what is understood to be parallel/antiparallel/orthogonal. The claims then imparting a degree range contradict what is understood as parallel/antiparallel/orthogonal, i.e. cannot coexist. It is thus unclear what is the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uchida (JP 2004330319A); please also refer to the attached English Translation.
Regarding claim 1, Uchida discloses a method of assembling an abrasive grinding wheel for rotating about an axis of rotation (see Figures 1 and 4), comprising:
providing a base disk, axially symmetric about the axis of rotation of the abrasive grinding wheel (wherein surface processing roll 1 has a main body 9, which is axially symmetric about the main axis of rotation, see at least Figures 1-4),
the axis of rotation defining axial directions parallel thereto and radial directions orthogonal thereto, and a radially outermost circumferential portion of the base disk defining a perimeter portion of the base disk (wherein as can be seen in Figures 1-4, there is a main axis of rotation and wherein there are axial and radial directions, and wherein there is also an outermost circumferential portion defining a perimeter),
providing a first abrasive element having an abrasive surface for grinding a workpiece (see cutting and polishing band 17 having polishing grains 21 on a surface thereof, [0022]), and a major attachment surface for attaching the first abrasive element to the base disk at the perimeter portion (see Figure 1; wherein the surface opposite to grains is configured for attaching to the main body 9, see also [0022]); and
providing a double-sided adhesive tape comprising a major first adhesive surface, an opposed major second adhesive surface, and a first layer of adhesive forming the major first adhesive surface ([0022]: double sided adhesive tape 15 having a thickness of 0.1-0.55mm, i.e. wherein there are opposing adhesive surfaces and a first layer of adhesive comprising the main thickness disclosed in [0022]);
(b) adhering the major first adhesive surface to the base disk at the perimeter portion; (c) before or after step (b), adhering the major second adhesive surface to the attachment surface of the first abrasive element (see Figures 1-3, as well as [0016] and [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Uchida discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Uchida further discloses wherein the perimeter portion is the portion of the base disk located radially between 30 percent of the radius of the perimeter and 100 percent of the radius of the perimeter of the base disk (wherein there is a perimeter portion of the main body 9; wherein as can be seen in Figures 1-3, the perimeter portion is located about a circumferential surface of element 9, i.e. located at 100% of the radius of the perimeter of roll body 9).
Regarding claim 5, Uchida discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Uchida further discloses wherein the perimeter portion comprises an upper perimetral surface whose surface normal is parallel, within +−10°, to the axis of rotation, an opposed lower perimetral surface whose surface normal is antiparallel, within +−10°, to the axis of rotation, and wherein step (b) comprises adhering the major first adhesive surface to the upper perimetral surface or to the lower perimetral surface ([0022]: wherein the band 17 is wider than the roll body 9 and protrudes from one side by about 1 to 2.5mm, and thus the adhering between the band 17 and roll body 9 as provided by double sided adhesive tape 15 include adhering at one of the perimeters).
Regarding claim 6, Uchida discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Uchida further discloses wherein the perimeter portion comprises a perimetral face whose surface normal is orthogonal, within +−20°, to the axis of rotation, and wherein step (b) comprises adhering the major first adhesive surface to the perimetral face ([0022]: wherein the band 17 is wider than the roll body 9 and protrudes from one side by about 1 to 2.5mm, and thus the adhering between the band 17 and roll body 9 as provided by double sided adhesive tape 15 include adhering at one of the perimeters).
Regarding claim 7, Uchida discloses abrasive element assembly (see Figures 1-3) comprising:
a) an abrasive element (17) having an abrasive surface for grinding a workpiece, and a major attachment surface for attaching the abrasive element to a base disk (9) at a perimeter portion of the base disk (see cutting and polishing band 17 having polishing grains 21 on a surface thereof, [0022], configured to be attached to the main body 9 at a perimeter of the main body 9; see also Figures 1-3); and
b) a double-sided adhesive tape comprising a major first adhesive surface, adapted to adhere to the perimeter portion, an opposed major second adhesive surface, and a first layer of adhesive forming the major first adhesive surface, wherein the major second adhesive surface is adhered to the major attachment surface of the abrasive element ([0022]: double sided adhesive tape 15 having a thickness of 0.1-0.55mm, i.e. wherein there are opposing adhesive surfaces and a first layer of adhesive comprising the main thickness disclosed in [0022]; see also Figures 1-4 and [0016]).
Regarding claim 8, Uchida discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Uchida further discloses wherein the major attachment surface is a curved surface (see at least the curved surface on the exterior of roll 9, wherein the attachment surface of the polishing band 17 is curved when assembled on the roll 9 and tape 15).
Regarding claim 9, Uchida discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Uchida further discloses wherein the major attachment surface is a flat surface (wherein the surface of the band 17 which attaches to the tape 15 is in a flat configuration when unassembled, as the band 17 comprises a belt like nonwoven fabric as the base material 19 which carries abrasive grains 21, see also the flexibility disclosed in [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Uchida discloses a base disk assembly comprising:
a) a base disk (9) axially symmetric about an axis of rotation, the axis of rotation defining axial directions parallel thereto and radial directions orthogonal thereto, the base disk comprising a radially outermost circumferential portion defining a perimeter portion of the base disk (wherein surface processing roll 1 has a main body 9, which is axially symmetric about the main axis of rotation, see at least Figures 1-4; wherein as can be seen in Figures 1-4, there is a main axis of rotation and wherein there are axial and radial directions, and wherein there is also an outermost circumferential portion defining a perimeter); and
b) a double-sided adhesive tape (15; see Figures 1-3) comprising:
i) a major first adhesive surface, ii) a first layer of adhesive forming the major first adhesive surface, and iii) an opposed major second adhesive surface, adapted to be adhered to a major attachment surface of an abrasive element ([0022]: double sided adhesive tape 15 having a thickness of 0.1-0.55mm, i.e. wherein there are opposing adhesive surfaces and a first layer of adhesive comprising the main thickness disclosed in [0022]),
wherein the major first adhesive surface is adhered to the base disk at the perimeter portion (see Figures 1-3, as well as [0016] and [0022]).
Regarding claim 11, Uchida discloses an abrasive grinding wheel for rotating about an axis of rotation (see Figures 1-3), comprising:
a) a base disk (9) axially symmetric about an axis of rotation of the abrasive grinding wheel, the axis of rotation defining axial directions parallel thereto and radial directions orthogonal thereto, and a radially outermost circumferential portion of the base disk defining a perimeter portion of the base disk (wherein surface processing roll 1 has a main body 9, which is axially symmetric about the main axis of rotation, see at least Figures 1-4; wherein as can be seen in Figures 1-4, there is a main axis of rotation and wherein there are axial and radial directions, and wherein there is also an outermost circumferential portion defining a perimeter);
b) an abrasive element having an abrasive surface for grinding a workpiece, and a major attachment surface for attaching the abrasive element to the base disk at the perimeter portion (see cutting and polishing band 17 having polishing grains 21 on a surface thereof, [0022], configured to be attached to the main body 9 at a perimeter of the main body 9; see also Figures 1-3); and
c) a double-sided adhesive tape (15; see Figures 1-3) comprising:
i) a major first adhesive surface, ii) a first layer of adhesive forming the first adhesive surface, iii) an opposed major second adhesive surface ([0022]: double sided adhesive tape 15 having a thickness of 0.1-0.55mm, i.e. wherein there are opposing adhesive surfaces and a first layer of adhesive comprising the main thickness disclosed in [0022]),
wherein the major first adhesive surface is adhered to the perimeter portion of the base disk, and wherein the major second adhesive surface is adhered to the major attachment surface of the abrasive element, wherein the abrasive element is secured to the perimeter portion by the double-sided adhesive tape (see Figures 1-3, as well as [0016] and [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida (JP 2004330319A) in view of Keipert (US 2018029194).
Regarding claim 2, Uchida discloses the claimed invention as applied above. However, Uchida does not explicitly teach wherein step (b) and/or step (c) is performed by a robot.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Keiper teaches of a method of producing an element which is performed by a robot (see [0095]: the batch process can be practiced using automated robotic equipment; see also [0102]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the robotic automated feature taught by Keipert into the invention of Uchida. One would be motivated to do so in order to reduce operation costs (i.e. employing an operator versus an automated machine). This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. robotics in the context of manufacturing, to improve a similar device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida (JP 2004330319A) in view of Cesena (US 6,358,133).
Regarding claim 3, Uchida discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Uchida further discloses after steps (b) and (c), a step of:
(d) curing the first layer of adhesive (wherein [0024] discloses curing of the polishing band 17 on the main body when assembled).
However, Uchida does not explicitly teach the curing is performed by using heat, i.e. by applying heat to the first layer of adhesive.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Cesena teaches of using tape as an adhesive for mating elements (see Col. 11, lines 19-29; Col. 20, lines 57-67; Col. 21 line 65-Col. 22, line 11), and wherein the curing process includes applying heat (Col. 20, lines 6-32 teach of thermally curing; see also heat curing in Col. 20 lines 57-67; Col. 21, lines 24-29; Col. 24, lines 25-31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Cesena into the invention of Uchida, i.e. including heat in the curing process in the context of adhesives. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide a high strength bond (Col. 20, lines 57-67), i.e. furthering the goals as pointed out by Uchida in [0024].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tateno (US 20240139903), see [0072] and [0108]
Duescher (US 20040235406), see Figure 10, [0011], [0297]
Damgaard (US 6116998), see Figure 1.
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723