DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status: Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-26 are pending; Claims 5-7, 14, 15, and 21 have been withdrawn from further consideration as directed to non-elected species.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D of Group 1 and Species X of Group 2 in the reply filed on June 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-7, 14, 15, and 21 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 22, 2026.
Applicant admitted that Claims 5-7 should be withdrawn according to the species election.
Examiner considers that additionally claims 14, 15 and 21 should be withdrawn according to the species election.
The second interface in elected species D, directed to fig. 19, is roll barrel 20 (para. [00128]), which is used to roll the end-effector in the same direction as the roll barrel. The third interface in elected species D is a trigger 16 used to provide an electromechanical actuation of one or more functions of an end- effector of the medical device. Example functions include, but are not limited to, closing of mechanical jaws, administration of electrical energy, administration of cryotherapy, cutting motions, grasping motions, a material removal function (e.g., cutting, drilling, deburring, etc.), an irrigation function, a suction function, a stapling or adhesive function, etc. (para. [00129]).
The elected species D does not disclose the second interface and the third interface providing four degrees of freedom of movement of the medical device relative to the base member pivotally connected to the first interface as claimed in claim 14. Claim 15 depends on claim 14.
The elected species D also does not disclose that the second interface is configured to control the orientation of the end-effector in multiple degrees of freedom of the end-effector about a wrist joint of the end-effector as claimed in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma (US 2021/0038865A1).
Examiner notes: These grounds of rejection are given in order to address dependent claims 2, 20, and 23 which are not rejected with Eastwood in view of Sharma.
Re Claim 1, Sharma discloses a control system for a medical device (fig. 5), the control system comprising:
a first interface configured to control a position of the medical device, the first interface comprising a handle grip (fig. 5, 101, 501, Ergonomic handle shell (H.Body A)) coupled to a base member (fig. 5, Tool Frame 525), the base member being coupled to a device attachment unit configured to couple to the medical device (fig. 5, Tool frame 525 is attached to tool shaft 526 via an attachment unit);
a second interface installed in a first portion of the handle grip (fig. 5, Rotation Dial (H.Body B) 102) and configured to control an end-effector orientation of an end-effector of the medical device (para. [0125], rotation of the dial portion 102, 502 of the unlimited-roll handle assembly 400 rotates the entire tool frame 525, and therefore the end-effector 565 that is attached to the distal end 578 of the tool frame 525 via an end-effector output articulating joint 583.), the second interface being communicatively coupled to a sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the second interface (para. [0107], sensors may be positioned at these two bodies, e.g., a linear displacement sensor on H.Body C 103 and a rotary sensor on H.Body B 102 may give discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation applied at H.Body D 104.); and
a third interface installed in a second portion of the handle grip (fig. 5, Handle lever (H.Body C) 549) and configured to control a function of the end-effector (para. [0124], an end-effector control input such as a handle lever 549 and an associated closure actuation 549; para. [0142], a pair of jaws 1756 that can be opened and closed in response to a handle lever 549 of the unlimited-roll handle assembly 400.), the third interface being communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the third interface (para. [0107], sensors may be positioned at these two bodies, e.g., a linear displacement sensor on H.Body C 103 and a rotary sensor on H.Body B 102 may give discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation applied at H.Body D 104.).
Re Claim 2, Sharma discloses that the handle grip (fig. 5, 101, 501, Ergonomic handle shell (H.Body A)) is pivotally attached to the base member (fig. 5, Tool Frame 525; para. [0125], the handle shell 101, 501 may rotate about a first axis 111, 511 referred to as handle articulated roll axis 511 (Axis 1), so as to cause the tool shaft 526 to rotate about a third axis 515 referred to as the tool shaft roll axis 515 (Axis 3), which in turn causes the end-effector 565 to roll about a second axis 513, referred to as an end-effector articulated roll axis 513 (Axis 2).).
Re Claim 20, Sharma discloses that the handle grip is movable relative to the device attachment unit about at least a first degree of freedom and the first interface determines an orientation of the handle grip about the first degree of freedom (fig. 5, para. [0125], the handle shell 101, 501 may rotate about a first axis 111, 511 referred to as handle articulated roll axis 511 (Axis 1), so as to cause the tool shaft 526 to rotate about a third axis 515 referred to as the tool shaft roll axis 515 (Axis 3), which in turn causes the end-effector 565 to roll about a second axis 513, referred to as an end-effector articulated roll axis 513 (Axis 2).).
Re Claim 22, Sharma discloses a method of performing a surgical procedure, the method comprising:
actuating, at a first interface of a control system (fig. 5, 101, 501, Ergonomic handle shell (H.Body A)), an input control to position a medical device relative to a remote center of motion (para. [0125], The handle shell 101, 501 may rotate about a first axis 111, 511 referred to as handle articulated roll axis 511 (Axis 1), so as to cause the tool shaft 526 to rotate about a third axis 515 referred to as the tool shaft roll axis 515 (Axis 3), which in turn causes the end-effector 565 to roll about a second axis 513, referred to as an end-effector articulated roll axis 513 (Axis 2));
actuating, at a second interface, a first portion of a handle grip (fig. 5, Rotation Dial (H.Body B) 102) configured to control an orientation of an end-effector of the medical device (para. [0125], rotation of the dial portion 102, 502 of the unlimited-roll handle assembly 400 rotates the entire tool frame 525, and therefore the end-effector 565 that is attached to the distal end 578 of the tool frame 525 via an end-effector output articulating joint 583.), the second interface being communicatively coupled to a sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the second interface (para. [0107], sensors may be positioned at these two bodies, e.g., a linear displacement sensor on H.Body C 103 and a rotary sensor on H.Body B 102 may give discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation applied at H.Body D 104.); and
actuating, at a third interface, a second portion of the handle grip (fig. 5, Handle lever (H.Body C) 549) configured to control a function of the end-effector (para. [0124], an end-effector control input such as a handle lever 549 and an associated closure actuation 549; para. [0142], a pair of jaws 1756 that can be opened and closed in response to a handle lever 549 of the unlimited-roll handle assembly 400.), the third interface being communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the third interface (para. [0107], sensors may be positioned at these two bodies, e.g., a linear displacement sensor on H.Body C 103 and a rotary sensor on H.Body B 102 may give discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation applied at H.Body D 104.).
Re Claim 23, Sharma discloses that actuating the input control comprises maneuvering the first interface using one or both of a forearm and a wrist to cause movement of the medical device about an instrument roll axis, such that the forearm or wrist align with a center of the instrument roll axis (para. [0125], the handle shell 101, 501 may rotate about a first axis 111, 511 referred to as handle articulated roll axis 511 (Axis 1), so as to cause the tool shaft 526 to rotate about a third axis 515 referred to as the tool shaft roll axis 515 (Axis 3), which in turn causes the end-effector 565 to roll about a second axis 513, referred to as an end-effector articulated roll axis 513 (Axis 2)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10-13, 16, 19, 22, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eastwood (US 2020/0015839) in view of Sharma et al. (US 2021/0038865A1).
Re Claim 1, Eastwood discloses a control system for a medical device, the control system comprising:
a first interface configured to control a position of the medical device, the first interface comprising a handle grip coupled to a base member, the base member being coupled to a device attachment unit configured to couple to the medical device (annotated fig. 16, para. [0128], A finger wheel 130 is rigidly connected to the flexible shaft 22 and the finger wheel 130 is connected to the instrument 135 – a finger wheel reads on “a device attachment unit”);
a second interface installed in a first portion of the handle grip and configured to control an end-effector orientation of an end-effector of the medical device (fig. 16, para. [0128], finger wheel 130 is connected to the instrument 135 but free to rotate about the axis collinear with the shaft 22. The finger wheel 130 has a dual purpose in acting as a collet to clamp the flexible tube 22 in-place, similar to 107, and also to act to control an additional degree-of-freedom. It will be appreciated that the finger wheel may be spun to rotate the flexible shaft 22 and thereby change the orientation of the end-effector 110.); and
a third interface installed in a second portion of the handle grip and configured to control a function of the end-effector (fig. 16, para. [0128], A spring-loaded trigger mechanism 133 is configured such that is pivots about the joint 134. The distal tip of the trigger mechanism 136 is connected to a proximal end of flexible wire. The distal end of flexible wire is connected to an end-effector 110 such that when the trigger 133 is articulated, the end-effector opens and closes.).
Eastwood is silent regarding the second interface being communicatively coupled to a sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the second interface and the third interface being communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the third interface.
However, Sharma discloses a control system (abstract) and teaches the second interface (fig. 5, Rotation Dial (H.Body B) 102) being communicatively coupled to a sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the second interface and the third interface (fig. 5, Handle lever (H.Body C) 103) being communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the third interface (para. [0107], sensors may be positioned at these two bodies, e.g., a linear displacement sensor on H.Body C 103 and a rotary sensor on H.Body B 102 may give discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation applied at H.Body D 104.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Eastwood, by configuring the second interface to be communicatively coupled to a sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the second interface and the third interface to be communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the third interface, as taught by Sharma, for the purpose of measuring discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation (para. [0107]).
Re Claim 22, Eastwood discloses a method of performing a surgical procedure, the method comprising:
actuating, at a first interface of a control system, an input control to position a medical device relative to a remote center of motion (handle grip as indicated in the annotated fig. 16 above is used for the user to grip and position the medical device and the control system 135);
actuating, at a second interface, a first portion of a handle grip configured to control an orientation of an end-effector of the medical device (fig. 16, para. [0128], finger wheel 130 is connected to the instrument 135 but free to rotate about the axis collinear with the shaft 22. The finger wheel 130 has a dual purpose in acting as a collet to clamp the flexible tube 22 in-place, similar to 107, and also to act to control an additional degree-of-freedom. It will be appreciated that the finger wheel may be spun to rotate the flexible shaft 22 and thereby change the orientation of the end-effector 110.); and
actuating, at a third interface, a second portion of the handle grip configured to control a function of the end-effector (fig. 16, para. [0128], A spring-loaded trigger mechanism 133 is configured such that is pivots about the joint 134. The distal tip of the trigger mechanism 136 is connected to a proximal end of flexible wire. The distal end of flexible wire is connected to an end-effector 110 such that when the trigger 133 is articulated, the end-effector opens and closes.).
Eastwood is silent regarding the second interface being communicatively coupled to a sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the second interface and the third interface being communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the third interface.
However, Sharma discloses a control system (abstract) and teaches the second interface (fig. 5, Rotation Dial (H.Body B) 102) being communicatively coupled to a sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the second interface and the third interface (fig. 5, Handle lever (H.Body C) 103) being communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the third interface (para. [0107], sensors may be positioned at these two bodies, e.g., a linear displacement sensor on H.Body C 103 and a rotary sensor on H.Body B 102 may give discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation applied at H.Body D 104.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Eastwood, by configuring the second interface to be communicatively coupled to a sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the second interface and the third interface to be communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to monitor movement detected at the third interface, as taught by Sharma, for the purpose of measuring discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation (para. [0107]).
Re Claim 3, Eastwood discloses that the first interface is a handle configured to receive a grip of a user, the first interface being configured to receive a first input to position the medical device relative to a remote center of motion of the medical device, and wherein the first input comprises a manual input configured to provide movement of the control system and the coupled medical device without engaging electromechanical components of the control system (handle grip as indicated in the annotated fig. 16 above is used for the user to grip and position the medical device and the control system 135).
Re Claim 8, Eastwood discloses that the third interface is a compressible finger interface configured to receive and translate a trigger input to control the function of the end-effector, and wherein the trigger input comprises one or more finger inputs received at the compressible finger interface, the one or more finger inputs being configured to engage additional electromechanical components to perform a predefined function of the end-effector (fig. 16, para. [0128], A spring-loaded trigger mechanism 133 is configured such that is pivots about the joint 134. The distal tip of the trigger mechanism 136 is connected to a proximal end of flexible wire. The distal end of flexible wire is connected to an end-effector 110 such that when the trigger 133 is articulated, the end-effector opens and closes.).
Re Claim 10, Eastwood discloses that the third interface is a compressible finger interface configured to receive and translate a trigger input to maintain a state of the end-effector (fig. 16, para. [0128], A spring-loaded trigger mechanism 133 is configured such that is pivots about the joint 134. The distal tip of the trigger mechanism 136 is connected to a proximal end of flexible wire. The distal end of flexible wire is connected to an end-effector 110 such that when the trigger 133 is articulated, the end-effector opens and closes.)..
Re Claim 11, Eastwood discloses that the first interface is a mechanical interface for a forearm and hand of a user, the first interface being configured to receive a first input to position the medical device relative to a remote center of motion (handle grip as indicated in the annotated fig. 16 is used for the user to grip and position the medical device and the control system 135).
Re Claim 12, Eastwood discloses that the second interface is a roll barrel interface, the second interface further comprising an electromechanical controller subsystem configured to receive and translate an input to articulate the end-effector about an end-effector roll axis (fig. 16, para. [0128], finger wheel 130 is connected to the instrument 135 but free to rotate about the axis collinear with the shaft 22. The finger wheel 130 has a dual purpose in acting as a collet to clamp the flexible tube 22 in-place, similar to 107, and also to act to control an additional degree-of-freedom. It will be appreciated that the finger wheel may be spun to rotate the flexible shaft 22 and thereby change the orientation of the end-effector 110.).
Re Claim 16, Eastwood discloses that the medical device is a surgical device having an elongate shaft extending from a distal tip comprising the end-effector (fig. 16, para. [0128], flexible shaft 22 with end-effector 110).
Re Claim 24, Eastwood discloses that actuating the first portion at the second interface comprises gripping the first portion of the handle grip with a thumb and a finger (fig. 16, finger wheel 130 is designed such that a thumb and a finger would be used to rotate the wheel).
Re Claim 25, Eastwood discloses that actuating the second portion at the third interface comprises gripping the second portion of the handle grip with one or more fingers (fig. 16, trigger mechanism 133 is designed such that one or more fingers are used to pull).
Re Claim 26, Eastwood discloses that actuation of each of the input control, the first portion, and the second portion is mapped to a separate hand portion or body portion (fig. 16, Finger wheel 130 is designed such that a thumb and a finger would be used to rotate the wheel. Trigger mechanism 133 is designed such that one or more fingers, not used for actuating finger wheel, can be used to pull).
Re Claim 19, Eastwood as modified by Sharma discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1.
Eastwood is silent regarding wherein the sensor assembly comprises at least one potentiometer or encoder to detect an orientation of the second interface and third interface about at least one of a pitch, roll and yaw axes.
Sharma discloses that the sensor assembly comprises at least one potentiometer or encoder to detect an orientation of the second interface and third interface about at least one of a pitch, roll and yaw axes (para. [0107], sensors may be positioned at these two bodies, e.g., a linear displacement sensor on H.Body C 103 and a rotary sensor on H.Body B 102 may give discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation applied at H.Body D 104; para. [0271], [0272], There exists a 2 DoF articulation joint between Articulation Dial 3028 and Roll Dial 2024 such that the pitch and yaw motion of Articulation Dial 3028 w.r.t. Roll Dial 2024 is encoded by pitch and yaw encoders 3032, 3034 respectively. Pitch and yaw encoders 3032, 3034 rotate about pitch and yaw axes respectively. Articulation Dial 3028 is represented as a spherical ball that eventually rotates two rollers, namely pitch and yaw rollers. These rollers are here described as “encoders.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Eastwood as modified by Sharma, by configuring the sensor assembly to comprise at least one potentiometer or encoder to detect an orientation of the second interface and third interface about at least one of a pitch, roll and yaw axes, as taught by Sharma, for the purpose of encoding the pitch and yaw rotation data by the encoders and transmitting to articulation joint between tool shaft and end-effector (para. [0271], [0107], giving discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation.).
Re Claim 13, Eastwood as modified by Sharma discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1.
Eastwood is silent regarding wherein the sensor assembly is configured to generate a corresponding sensor signal based on a detected input at the second interface or a detected input at the third interface, and wherein the control system further comprises: a controller communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to receive the corresponding sensor signal and to generate a corresponding primary control signal; and a powered actuation unit communicatively coupled to the controller to receive each primary control signal and configured to actuate the end-effector of the medical device received in the device attachment unit based on each primary control signal.
Sharma discloses that wherein the sensor assembly is configured to generate a corresponding sensor signal based on a detected input at the second interface or a detected input at the third interface (para. [0107], sensors may be positioned at these two bodies, e.g., a linear displacement sensor on H.Body C 103 and a rotary sensor on H.Body B 102 may give discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation applied at H.Body D 104; para. [0271], [0272], There exists a 2 DoF articulation joint between Articulation Dial 3028 and Roll Dial 2024 such that the pitch and yaw motion of Articulation Dial 3028 w.r.t. Roll Dial 2024 is encoded by pitch and yaw encoders 3032, 3034 respectively. Pitch and yaw encoders 3032, 3034 rotate about pitch and yaw axes respectively. Articulation Dial 3028 is represented as a spherical ball that eventually rotates two rollers, namely pitch and yaw rollers. These rollers are here described as “encoders.”), and wherein the control system further comprises:
a controller communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to receive the corresponding sensor signal and to generate a corresponding primary control signal (para. [0107], Sensors may be positioned at these two bodies, e.g., a linear displacement sensor on H.Body C 103 and a rotary sensor on H.Body B 102 may give discrete/individual values for arbitrary combination of rotation and translation applied at H.Body D 104. These electrical signals could then be transmitted via wired or wireless means to a mechatronic, robotic, electronic, or computer-controlled system; para. [0271], The pitch and yaw rotation data encoded by the respective encoders 3032, 3034 may be transmitted to 2-DoF output articulation joint between tool shaft 2011 and end-effector. Further, the rotation of Roll Dial 2024 w.r.t. Handle Body 2026 about axis 1 may either be encoded or transmitted mechanically leading to rotation of the end-effector; para. [0012], [0028], This open/close action of the jaws in the end-effector assembly may be controlled by an end-effector control that may be a moving body (such as a lever, button, slider, etc.) in the handle assembly. Thus, disclosed herein are unlimited-roll handle assemblies that may be part of an apparatus that includes a corresponding rotation of an end-effector assembly, while being able to transmit a control input from the handle assembly to an actuation of the end-effector (e.g., open/close motion)); and
a powered actuation unit communicatively coupled to the controller to receive each primary control signal and configured to actuate the end-effector of the medical device received in the device attachment unit based on each primary control signal (para. [0271], The pitch and yaw rotation data encoded by the respective encoders 3032, 3034 may be transmitted to 2-DoF output articulation joint between tool shaft 2011 and end-effector. Further, the rotation of Roll Dial 2024 w.r.t. Handle Body 2026 about axis 1 may either be encoded or transmitted mechanically leading to rotation of the end-effector.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Eastwood as modified by Sharma, by configuring the sensor assembly to generate a corresponding sensor signal based on a detected input at the second interface or a detected input at the third interface, and configuring the control system to comprises: a controller communicatively coupled to the sensor assembly to receive the corresponding sensor signal and to generate a corresponding primary control signal; and a powered actuation unit communicatively coupled to the controller to receive each primary control signal and configured to actuate the end-effector of the medical device received in the device attachment unit based on each primary control signal, as taught by Sharma, for the purpose of using the pitch and yaw rotation data encoded by the encoders to output articulation joint between tool shaft and end effector (para. [0271]).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eastwood (US 2020/0015839) in view of Kim (US 2014/0222023A1).
Re Claim 17, Eastwood discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1.
Eastwood is silent regarding the control system is removably attached to a stabilizing apparatus configured to at least partially support a weight of the control system and define a remote center of motion, the stabilizing apparatus having a remote base configured to be fixed relative to a patient support apparatus and having a pivotable arm attached to the device attachment unit, wherein the device attachment unit is movable relative to the remote base and configured to removably receive the control system.
Kim discloses that the control system is removably attached to a stabilizing apparatus configured to at least partially support a weight of the control system and define a remote center of motion (para. [0071], [0072], FIG. 12 shows different types of tools the robot may interface with. The tool may be a specialized tool (1200) meant for use in autonomous routines (e.g. a tool optimized for suturing in autonomous anastomosis), a version of a standard laparoscopic tool built (1201) to interface with the robot (e.g. a motorized grasper or scalpel), or a manual laparoscopic tool (1202) attached to a universal tool adapter (1203) that is used to actuate the tool; para. [0053], physical support (305) (e.g. tool gravity compensation, arm weight support), and movement restrictions (306) (e.g. no-fly zones, remote center of motion).; fig. 6 and fig. 7), the stabilizing apparatus having a remote base configured to be fixed relative to a patient support apparatus and having a pivotable arm attached to the device attachment unit, wherein the device attachment unit is movable relative to the remote base and configured to removably receive the control system (fig. 1, fig. 6, fig. 7; para. [0058], The controller shapes may include: a grip lever (800), a wearable glove controller (801), and a tool handle (802). In one embodiment, a controller may be detachably attached to an end of the robot, as shown in FIG. 6. In one embodiment, the controller is configured to quickly attach to or detach from the end of the robot. The surgeon may interface with the robot through a controller that allows him to control the base robot's motions, the tool's orientation, and any degrees of freedom the tool may have. FIG. 6 shows an embodiment of the system where the master-slave controller (600) is attached to the robot (601), allowing the surgeon to feel that he is directly controlling the tools with the robot acting as a support. FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of the system where the master-slave controller (700) is detached from the robot (701), allowing the surgeon to control the robot more ergonomically and allowing for motion scaling between the controller and the robot output. In another embodiment, the surgeon may attach and detach the controller through the course of the surgery (e.g. attached for gross-motion master-slave control and detached for fine-motion master-slave control).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Eastwood, configuring the control system to be removably attached to a stabilizing apparatus configured to at least partially support a weight of the control system and define a remote center of motion, the stabilizing apparatus having a remote base configured to be fixed relative to a patient support apparatus and having a pivotable arm attached to the device attachment unit, wherein the device attachment unit is movable relative to the remote base and configured to removably receive the control system, as taught by Kim, for the purpose of interfacing with the robot that enhances manual control of the tool by supporting the weight of the instrument and the surgeon's arm, removing tremors, providing strict motion constraints, etc. (para. [0025]) and allowing the surgeon to improve surgical performance by utilizing optimized, automated robotic surgical procedures when appropriate, and by switching quickly to a master-slave control that enhances the surgeon's manual capabilities when necessary (para. [0026]).
Re Claim 18, Eastwood discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1.
Eastwood is silent regarding the control system being a handle assembly configured for installation in a hybrid, direct-control and robotic-assisted surgical system.
Kim discloses that the control system is a handle assembly configured for installation in a hybrid, direct-control and robotic-assisted surgical system (fig. 1, fig. 6, fig. 7; para. [0058], The controller shapes may include: a grip lever (800), a wearable glove controller (801), and a tool handle (802). In one embodiment, a controller may be detachably attached to an end of the robot, as shown in FIG. 6. In one embodiment, the controller is configured to quickly attach to or detach from the end of the robot. The surgeon may interface with the robot through a controller that allows him to control the base robot's motions, the tool's orientation, and any degrees of freedom the tool may have. FIG. 6 shows an embodiment of the system where the master-slave controller (600) is attached to the robot (601), allowing the surgeon to feel that he is directly controlling the tools with the robot acting as a support. FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of the system where the master-slave controller (700) is detached from the robot (701), allowing the surgeon to control the robot more ergonomically and allowing for motion scaling between the controller and the robot output. In another embodiment, the surgeon may attach and detach the controller through the course of the surgery (e.g. attached for gross-motion master-slave control and detached for fine-motion master-slave control).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Eastwood, configuring the control system to be a handle assembly configured for installation in a hybrid, direct-control and robotic-assisted surgical system, as taught by Kim, for the purpose of interfacing with the robot that enhances manual control of the tool by supporting the weight of the instrument and the surgeon's arm, removing tremors, providing strict motion constraints, etc. (para. [0025]) and allowing the surgeon to improve surgical performance by utilizing optimized, automated robotic surgical procedures when appropriate, and by switching quickly to a master-slave control that enhances the surgeon's manual capabilities when necessary (para. [0026])
Conclusion
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/V.V.H./
Vynn Huh, September 18, 2026Examiner, Art Unit 3792