DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the South Korean parent Application No. KR10-2022-0166330 (filed on 12/02/2022) was received with the present application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, and 8-14 are objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In claim 1, line 3, the limitation “wherein one side of each” should read -- wherein a first side of each --.
In claim 1, line 8, the limitation “provided on another side of each” should read -- provided on a second side of each --.
In claim 4, line 6-7, the limitation “protruding from the bearing part to the one side of each” should read -- protruding from one of the bearing parts to the first side of each --.
In claim 4, line 7-8, the limitation “toward another side of each” should read -- toward the second side of each --.
In claim 8, line 3, the limitation “wherein one side of the support frame…the one side of each” should read -- wherein a first side of the support frame…the first side of each --.
In claim 8, line 4, the limitation “and another side of the support frame…the another side of each” should read -- and a second side of the support frame…the second side of each --.
In claim 9, line 2, the limitation “the another side of the support frame” should read -- the second side of the support frame --.
In claim 10, line 2, the limitation “the another side of the support frame” should read -- the second side of the support frame --.
In claim 11, line 2, the limitation “the another side of the each” should read -- the second side of each --.
In claim 12, line 2, the limitation “the another side of the each” should read -- the second side of each --.
In claim 13, line 3, the limitation “a vertical inclination or horizontal inclination” should read -- the vertical inclination or the horizontal inclination --.
In claim 13, line 7, the limitation “a vertical inclination or horizontal inclination” should read -- the vertical inclination or the horizontal inclination --.
In claim 14, line 3, the limitation “the one side” should read -- the first side --.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
The inclination measurement member in claims 1, 5-6, and 13.
The first inclination measurement member in claim 6.
The second inclination measurement member in claim 6.
The inclination adjustment member in claims 7, 9, and 13.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, hey are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martin et al. (U.S. Patent 4,915,282 A hereinafter referred to as “Martin”).
In regards to claim 1, Martin teach (Figure 1) a pouch film supply device (festoon assembly 10) for a secondary battery (examiner is interpreting “for a secondary battery” as describing the intended use of the claimed film supply device. It has been recognized that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the festoon assembly 10 has the specific structure recited by claim 1 limitations as explained below, and it is clearly capable of supplying a pouch film or it can be employed for supplying a pouch film during a secondary battery manufacturing/production prosses) comprising: a plurality of first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) that are installed between a pouch film inlet (idler roller assembly 28) and a pouch film outlet (isolation driven roller 14/festoon 16); wherein the first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) are spaced apart from each other (as clearly illustrated in figure 1), configured to guide a pouch film (web 18; examiner is interpreting “configured to guide a pouch film” as an intended use limitation), and a first side of each first guide roller (ends of the floating dancer rollers 42/44/46 that are mounted to the movable dancer roller carriage 48) being fixedly supported (vit the movable dancer roller carriage 48); a plurality of second guide rollers (fixed idler rollers 32, 34, and 36) that are installed below the plurality of first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46), and that are located between the pouch film inlet (idler roller assembly 28) and the pouch film outlet (isolation driven roller 14/festoon 16); wherein the second guide rollers (fixed idler rollers 32, 34, and 36) are spaced apart from each other (as clearly illustrated in figure 1), and configured to guide the pouch film (web 18; examiner is interpreting “configured to guide the pouch film” as an intended use limitation); and an inclination measurement member (position sensor 78) provided on a second side of each first guide roller (ends of the floating dancer rollers 42/44/46 that are mounted to the movable dancer roller carriage 48) to measure a vertical inclination (as described in Col. 5, line 29-54) of the first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) (see also Col. 3, line 23 - Col. 5, line 54).
In regards to claims 2-3, Martin teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Martin further teach (Figure 1), the pouch film (web 18) being alternately guided by the first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) and the second guide rollers (fixed idler rollers 32, 34, and 36) to form a zigzag driving path (as clearly illustrated in figure 1) between the pouch film inlet (idler roller assembly 28) and the pouch film outlet (isolation driven roller 14/festoon 16); both sides of each of the second guide rollers (fixed idler rollers 32, 34, and 36) being fixedly installed (via the support 38) below the first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46); and at least one of the first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) being installed to be moved up or down (via the up-down displacement of the movable dancer roller carriage 48) with respect to the second guide rollers (fixed idler rollers 32, 34, and 36).
In regards to claim 7, Martin teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Martin further teach (Figure 1), the pouch film supply device (festoon assembly 10) additionally comprising: an inclination adjustment member (movable dancer roller carriage 48) configured to adjusting the vertical inclination of the first guide rollers (vertical position of the floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46).
In regards to claim 13, Martin teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Martin further teach (Figure 1), the pouch film supply device (festoon assembly 10) additionally comprising: a monitoring part (programmable logic controller/PLC 72) coupled to the inclination measurement member (position sensor 78) and configured to monitor the vertical inclination of the first guide rollers (vertical position of the floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) measured by the inclination measurement member (position sensor 78); and an inclination adjustment member (movable dancer roller carriage 48) configured to adjusting the vertical inclination of the first guide rollers (vertical position of the floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46); wherein, the vertical inclination of the first guide rollers (vertical position of the floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) is adjustable by the inclination adjustment member (movable dancer roller carriage 48), when the vertical inclination of the first guide rollers (vertical position of the floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) monitored by the monitoring part (programmable logic controller/PLC 72) is out of a set range (see also Col. 4, line 61 - Col. 5, line 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigehara et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0057293 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Shigehara”) in view of Martin.
In regards to claim, Shigehara teach (Figures 1-13) a pouch film supply device (film processing system 1) for a secondary battery (examiner is interpreting “for a secondary battery” as describing the intended use of the claimed film supply device. It has been recognized that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the film processing system 1 has the specific structure recited by claim 1 limitations as explained below, and it is clearly capable of supplying a pouch film or it can be employed for supplying a pouch film during a secondary battery manufacturing/production prosses) comprising: a plurality of first guide rollers (upper rollers 52 forming the set of upper rollers 54 in the accumulation unit 50) that are installed between a pouch film inlet (infeed unit 20) and a pouch film outlet (outfeed unit 80); and a plurality of second guide rollers (lower rollers 56 forming the set of lower rollers 58 in the accumulation unit 50) that are installed below the plurality of first guide rollers (upper rollers 52) and that are located between the pouch film inlet (infeed unit 20) and the pouch film outlet (outfeed unit 80); wherein the first guide rollers (upper rollers 52) are spaced apart from each other (as clearly illustrated in figures 1 and 3), configured to guide a pouch film (substrate ‘S’; examiner is interpreting “configured to guide a pouch film” as an intended use limitation), and a first side of each first guide roller (left-side ends of the upper rollers 52 that are rotatably supported by the left-side arm portions 61 of the left-side upper support members 60) being fixedly supported (via the arm portions 61 of the upper support members 60); and wherein the second guide rollers (lower rollers 56) are spaced apart from each other (as clearly illustrated in figures 1 and 3), and configured to guide the pouch film (substrate ‘S’; examiner is interpreting “configured to guide the pouch film” as an intended use limitation) (see also paragraphs 0033-0105). Yet, Shigehara fails to teach, an inclination measurement member being provided on a second side of each first guide roller (right-side ends of the upper rollers 52 that are rotatably supported by the right-side arm portions 61 of the right-side upper support members 60) for measuring at least one of a vertical inclination or a horizontal inclination of the first guide rollers (upper rollers 52).
However, Martin teach (Figure 1) a pouch film supply device (festoon assembly 10) for a secondary battery (examiner is interpreting “for a secondary battery” as describing the intended use of the claimed film supply device. It has been recognized that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the festoon assembly 10 has the specific structure recited by claim 1 limitations as explained below, and it is clearly capable of supplying a pouch film or it can be employed for supplying a pouch film during a secondary battery manufacturing/production prosses) comprising: a plurality of first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) that are installed between a pouch film inlet (idler roller assembly 28) and a pouch film outlet (isolation driven roller 14/festoon 16); wherein the first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) are spaced apart from each other (as clearly illustrated in figure 1), configured to guide a pouch film (web 18; examiner is interpreting “configured to guide a pouch film” as an intended use limitation), and a first side of each first guide roller (ends of the floating dancer rollers 42/44/46 that are mounted to the movable dancer roller carriage 48) being fixedly supported (vit the movable dancer roller carriage 48); a plurality of second guide rollers (fixed idler rollers 32, 34, and 36) that are installed below the plurality of first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46), and that are located between the pouch film inlet (idler roller assembly 28) and the pouch film outlet (isolation driven roller 14/festoon 16); wherein the second guide rollers (fixed idler rollers 32, 34, and 36) are spaced apart from each other (as clearly illustrated in figure 1), and configured to guide the pouch film (web 18; examiner is interpreting “configured to guide the pouch film” as an intended use limitation); and an inclination measurement member (position sensor 78) provided on a second side of each first guide roller (ends of the floating dancer rollers 42/44/46 that are mounted to the movable dancer roller carriage 48) and configured to measure a vertical inclination (as described in Col. 5, line 29-54) of the first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) (see also Col. 3, line 23 - Col. 5, line 54).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shigehara’s pouch film supply device with an inclination measurement member for measuring a vertical inclination of the first guide rollers in said pouch film supply device, as suggest by Martin. Configuring such an inclination measurement member within the pouch film supply device, would provide a simple and an effective means to determine the vertical positioning of the first guide rollers relative to the second guide rollers, as the pouch film is being conveyed between the pouch film inlet and the pouch film outlet; which would beneficially allow the controller in the pouch film supply device to ensure that the first guide rollers are at a proper vertical distance from the second guide rollers for maintain the correct pouch film tension, and/or to appropriate adjust the vertical positioning of the first guide roller in a manner that result in the pouch film having an ideal pouch film tension.
In regards to claims 2-3, Shigehara in view of Martin teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Shigehara further teach (Figures 1-13), the pouch film (substrate ‘S’) being alternately guided by the first guide rollers (upper rollers 52 forming the set of upper rollers 54 in the accumulation unit 50) and the second guide rollers (lower rollers 56 forming the set of lower rollers 58 in the accumulation unit 50) to form a zigzag driving path (as clearly illustrated in figures 1 and 3) between the pouch film inlet (infeed unit 20) and the pouch film outlet (outfeed unit 80); both sides of each of the second guide rollers (lower rollers 56) being fixedly installed below the first guide rollers (upper rollers 52); and at least one of the first guide rollers (upper rollers 52) being installed to be moved up or down (via the upper support members 60, the drive mechanism 64, and the accumulation motor ‘M4’ of the accumulation unit 50) with respect to the second guide rollers (lower rollers 56).
In regards to claim 4, Shigehara in view of Martin teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Shigehara further teach (Figures 1-13), each of the first guide rollers (upper rollers 52 forming the set of upper rollers 54 in the accumulation unit 50) including: a roller part (roller portions 71) that extends across a direction in which the pouch film (substrate ‘S’) is guided, and that is configured to guide the pouch film (substrate ‘S’); bearing parts (bearing members 73) that are installed at both sides of the roller part (left-sides and right-sides of the roller portions 71); a first extension rod (left-end portions of the shafts71 that extends outwardly from the roller portions 71 and that are coupled to the pulleys 74) that is fixedly supported while protruding from one bearing part (bearing member 73) to the first side of each of the first guide rollers (left-side ends of the upper rollers 52 that are rotatably supported by the left-side arm portions 61 of the left-side upper support members 60); and a second extension rod (right-end portions of the shafts 71 that extends outwardly from the roller portions 71) that is protruding toward the second side of each of the first guide rollers (right-side ends of the upper rollers 52 that are rotatably supported by the right-side arm portions 61 of the right-side upper support members 60) (see also paragraph 0063).
In regards to claim 7, Shigehara in view of Martin teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Shigehara further teach (Figures 1-13), the pouch film supply device (film processing system 1) additionally comprising: an inclination adjustment member (the upper support members 60, the drive mechanism 64, and the accumulation motor ‘M4’ of the accumulation unit 50) configured to adjusting the vertical inclination of the first guide rollers (vertical position of the upper rollers 52 forming the set of upper rollers 54 in the accumulation unit 50).
In regards to claims 14-15, Shigehara in view of Martin teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Shigehara further teach (Figures 1-13), the pouch film supply device (film processing system 1) additionally comprising: a lift frame (upper support members 60, which includes the arm portions 61 and the nut portions 65U) on which the first side of the first guide rollers (left-side ends of the upper rollers 52 that are rotatably supported by the left-side arm portions 61 of the left-side upper support members 60) are fixedly supported; a driving part (accumulation motor ‘M4’) configured to move the lift frame (upper support members 60) upward or downward (via the ball screws 66U and the upper gear 68U of the drive mechanism 64); and a lift guide (ball screws 66U of the drive mechanism 64) extending vertically and configured to guide an upward or a downward movement (via the nut portions 65U) of the lift frame (upper support members 60); a vertical distance between the first guide rollers (upper rollers 52 forming the set of upper rollers 54) and the second guide rollers (lower rollers 56 forming the set of lower rollers 58) being changed by movement of the lift frame (upper support members 60) upward or downward, so as to adjust a length of the pouch film (substrate ‘S’) being guided between the first guide rollers (upper rollers 52) and the second guide rollers (lower rollers 56); wherein a driving path of the pouch film (substrate ‘S’) that is guided between the first guide rollers (upper rollers 52) and the second guide rollers (lower rollers 56) is increased by increasing the vertical distance between the first guide rollers (upper rollers 52) and the second guide rollers (lower rollers 56) through the lifting of the lift frame (upper support members 60) that is actuated by a controller (controller 90), when a process (when the substrate ‘S’ is wound on to the winding reel 6 of the winding unit 5) after the pouch film outlet (outfeed unit 80) is interrupted or delayed (see also paragraphs 0052-0062, 0066, 0070, 0077, 0079, and 0081).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of Rovellini (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0107645 A1).
In regards to claim 8, Martin teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Martin does not explicitly reveal, the pouch film supply device (festoon assembly 10) additionally comprising a support frame that is installed below each of the first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46) for supporting said first guide rollers (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46).
Nevertheless, Rovellini teach (Figure 2a-8) a plurality of guide rollers (feed rollers 106), and a plurality of support frames (support elements 1) installed below said guide rollers (feed rollers 106); each support frame (support elements 1) extending parallel to a direction (i.e. along central axis ‘A’) in which each guide roller (feed rollers 106) extend; wherein a first side of each support frame (left-side of the support elements 1) being fixedly supported (i.e. on the frame 101 via the connecting means 2a on the base 2) on the same side as a first side of each guide roller (left-side of the feed rollers 106), and a second side of each support frame (right-side of the support elements 1) supporting (via the support ring 3) a second side of each guide roller (right-side of the feed rollers 106) (see also paragraphs 0081-00124).
Consequently, based on the suggestions in Rovellini,’s disclosure, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Martin’s pouch film supply device, with a plurality of support frames that are configured to rotatably support the plurality of first guide rollers in said pouch film supply device. Mounting each of the first guide rollers in the pouch film supply device on such support frames, would effectively allow said first guide rollers to freely rotate as the pouch film is being conveyed/fed through pouch film supply device; which would minimize the drag being imparted onto the pouch film by the first guide rollers, while also preventing any unwanted over tensioning of said pouch film during is travel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, for the following reasons:
In regards to claim 5 and 9, Martin and Shigehara in view of Martin, can teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, both Martin and Shigehara, either individually or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious: an inclination measurement member specifically being installed on a second extension rod of each first guide roller, or an inclination adjustment member specifically being installed on the second side of a support frame that is located below each first guide roller and that supports each said first guide roller. On the contrary, the inclination measurement member (position sensor 78) in the pouch film supply device (festoon assembly 10) taught by Martin is mounted on the inclination adjustment member (movable dancer roller carriage 48), as opposed to being mounted on any part of each first guide roller (floating dancer rollers 42, 44, and 46); and the support frame (arm portions 61 of the upper support members 60) in the Shigehara’s pouch film supply device (film processing system 1) is installed above each first guide roller (upper rollers 52 forming the set of upper rollers 54), instead of being located below each first guide roller (upper rollers 52). Furthermore, it would not have been conceivable for one of ordinary skilled in the at to provide each fist guide roller in the pouch film supply device proposed by either Martin or Shigehara, with an inclination measurement member and an inclination adjustment member, to install each said inclination measurement member on a second extension rod of a corresponding first guide roller or to install each said inclination adjustment member on a second side of a corresponding first guide roll support frame. In addition, all other prior art of record, neither disclose nor render obvious, the first guide rollers, the first guide rollers, the inclination measurement member, the inclination adjustment member, and the first guide roller support frames in a pouch film supply device, having the precise structural and functional arrangement that is collectively recited within claims 1 and 4-5 or within claims 1 and 7-9. Thus, claims 5 and 9 limitations appears to contain allowable subject matter over the cited prior art references; special when said limitations are viewed in light of applicant’s specification, and when they are considered together with the superseding limitations in respective parent claims 1, 4, and 7-8.
Claim 6 depends from claim 5, while claims 10-12 depends from claim 9. Subsequently, claims 6 and 10-12 also include the above noted allowable subject matter in corresponding parent claims 5 and 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the attached PTO-892 for complete list of pertinent prior art references made of record by the examiner.
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654