DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed September 13, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-7, and 9-14 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 13, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6, and 9-13 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the heat pipe" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the heat pipe" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the heat pipe" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 is rejected due to dependence on claim 9.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the heat pipe" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the heat pipe" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the heat pipe" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the cooling fins" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 108110959 A, hereafter referred to as Gao) in view of Bodla et al. (US 20190350111 A1, hereafter referred to as Bodla).
Regarding Claim 1, Gao discloses (see Figures 1-2) an electric motor (1, Page 4, ¶ 2) comprising: a stator (8, Page 4, ¶ 3]) having a plurality of field conductors (9, Page 4, ¶ 3); a plurality of inverters (19, Page 4, ¶ 6) to control the field conductors arranged on one or more circuit boards (11, Page 4, ¶ 4); wherein the one or more circuit boards (11, Page 4, ¶ 4) are arranged on a cooling plate (4, Page 4, ¶ 5); and a heat tube (26-28, Page 5, ¶ 2).
Gao does not disclose the heat tube with an evaporator side arranged in the cooling plate and a condenser side arranged outside the cooling plate.
However, Bodla, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 1 and 3) the heat tube (204, ¶ [0060]) with an evaporator side (210, ¶ [0060]) arranged in the cooling plate (114, ¶ [0060]) and a condenser side (208, ¶ [0060]) arranged outside the cooling plate (¶ [0057]: “For example, opposing walls 106, 108 in the interior portions 210 of the heat pipe assemblies 204 can be in direct contact with neighboring coils 200.”) (¶ [0045]: “By applying the heat pipe assemblies directly to the source of heat in these devices, a significant thermal performance advantage may be realized relative to some known heat pipe assemblies.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao such that the heat tube has an evaporator side arranged in the cooling plate and a condenser side arranged outside the cooling plate, as disclosed by Bodla, in order to improve thermal performance (¶ [0045]: “By applying the heat pipe assemblies directly to the source of heat in these devices, a significant thermal performance advantage may be realized relative to some known heat pipe assemblies.”).
Regarding Claim 2/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above
Additionally, Bodla discloses (see Figures 2-3 above) that the heat pipe (204, ¶ [0060]) comprises a straight line arranged with an inclination of at least 10° to horizontal (see Figure 2, the heat pipes surround the heat producing member).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao in view of Bodla such that the heat pipe comprises a straight line arranged with an inclination of at least 10° to horizontal, as further disclosed by Bodla, in order to improve thermal performance (¶ [0045]: “By applying the heat pipe assemblies directly to the source of heat in these devices, a significant thermal performance advantage may be realized relative to some known heat pipe assemblies.”).
Regarding Claim 3/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
Additionally, Gao discloses (see Figure 2) that the one or more circuit boards (11, Page 4, ¶ 4) form a circle or an annular sector.
Regarding Claim 4/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
Additionally, Gao discloses (see Figure 1 above) that the cooling plate (4, Page 4, ¶ 5) is arranged perpendicular to an axis of the electric motor (1, Page 4, ¶ 2).
Regarding Claim 6/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
Additionally, Bodla discloses (see Figure 3 above) additional heat pipes (204, ¶ [0060]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao in view of Bodla such that the electric motor comprises additional heat pipes, as further disclosed by Bodla, in order to improve thermal performance (¶ [0045]: “By applying the heat pipe assemblies directly to the source of heat in these devices, a significant thermal performance advantage may be realized relative to some known heat pipe assemblies.”).
Regarding Claim 9/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
Additionally, Bodla discloses (see Figure 3 above) that the heat pipe (204, ¶ [0060]) is connected on the condenser side (208, ¶ [0060]) to a plurality of cooling fins (212, ¶ [0059]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao in view of Bodla such that the heat pipe is connected on the condenser side to a plurality of cooling fins, as further disclosed by Bodla, in order to improve thermal performance (¶ [0045]: “By applying the heat pipe assemblies directly to the source of heat in these devices, a significant thermal performance advantage may be realized relative to some known heat pipe assemblies.”).
Regarding Claim 10/9/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
Additionally, Bodla discloses (see Figure 3 above) that least some of the plurality of cooling fins are mechanically connected to multiple heat pipes (¶ [0059]: “These fins 212 may be hollow, elongated extensions that outwardly project from the interior chambers 104 of the exterior portions 208 of the heat pipe assemblies 204.”) (¶ [0060]: “In an alternative embodiment, the fins 212 can be separate entities and are attached to the heat pipe using epoxy, solder or a similar bonding operation ensuring thermal communication between the heat pipe body and fins.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao in view of Bodla such that at least some of the plurality of cooling fins are mechanically connected to multiple heat pipes, as further disclosed by Bodla, in order to improve thermal performance (¶ [0045]: “By applying the heat pipe assemblies directly to the source of heat in these devices, a significant thermal performance advantage may be realized relative to some known heat pipe assemblies.”).
Claim 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Bodla as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 111769688 A, hereafter referred to as Li).
Regarding Claim 5/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
Gao in view of Bodla does not disclose that the cooling plate is populated with circuit boards of the one or more circuit boards on both sides.
However, Li, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 5-6) that the cooling plate (5-3, Page 5, ¶ 4) is populated with circuit boards (5-1, 5-4, Page 5, ¶ 4) of the one or more circuit boards on both sides.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao in view of Bodla such that the cooling plate is populated with circuit boards of the one or more circuit boards on both sides, as disclosed by Li, in order to improve thermal regulation (Page 5, ¶ 4: “Because the controller plate 5-1 and the inverter plate 5-4 heat productivity is large, the cooling plate 5-3 is set in the controller plate 5-1 and the inverter plate 5-4 and the surface contact, can better to heat the two.”).
Regarding Claim 11/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
Gao in view of Bodla does not explicitly disclose that the cooling plate includes two cover surfaces and a surrounding jacket surface; the circuit boards are arranged on at least one of the cover surfaces; and the heat pipe passes through the surrounding jacket surface.
However, Li, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 5-6) that the cooling plate (5-3, Page 5, ¶ 4) includes two cover surfaces and a surrounding jacket surface; the circuit boards (5-1, 5-4, Page 5, ¶ 4) are arranged on at least one of the cover surfaces; and the heat pipe (10-2, Page 5, ¶ 5) passes through the surrounding jacket surface (see Figure 5 above, the cooling plate is bordered by a circuit board on either side, and a heat pipe protrudes from the surrounding internal surface).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by [] such that the cooling plate includes two cover surfaces and a surrounding jacket surface; the circuit boards are arranged on at least one of the cover surfaces; and the heat pipe passes through the surrounding jacket surface, as disclosed by Li, in order to improve thermal regulation (Page 5, ¶ 4: “Because the controller plate 5-1 and the inverter plate 5-4 heat productivity is large, the cooling plate 5-3 is set in the controller plate 5-1 and the inverter plate 5-4 and the surface contact, can better to heat the two.”).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Bodla as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aizawa et al. (US 20160276895 A1, hereafter referred to as Aizawa).
Regarding Claim 7/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
Gao in view of Bodla does not explicitly disclose that the electric motor is operable to control the plurality of field conductors with at least 6 phases.
However, Aizawa, in the same field of technology, does disclose that the electric motor is operable to control the plurality of field conductors with at least 6 phases (¶ [0102]: “In the present Embodiment 1, a motor unit 300 that has two three-phase connections is presumed, the six modular units 50 are disposed in an annular shape as shown in FIG. 7,”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao in view of Bodla such that the electric motor is operable to control the plurality of field conductors with at least 6 phases, as disclosed by Aizawa, in order to carry out the various demands of the circuit board (¶ [0101]: “Electric power is supplied to the power modules 14 of the inverter unit 400 from a direct-current power supply or a battery (not shown), and the inverter controlling circuit board 17 controls the output from the power modules 14 in accordance with commands from a microcomputer or a personal computer (not shown).”)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Bodla as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stelzer et al. (DE 102019215519 A1, hereafter referred to as Stelzer).
Regarding Claim 12/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
wherein: the cooling plate has two cover surfaces and a surrounding jacket surface; the circuit boards are arranged on one of the two cover surfaces; and the heat pipe passes through the other cover surface.
Gao in view of Bodla does not explicitly disclose that the cooling plate has two cover surfaces and a surrounding jacket surface; the circuit boards are arranged on one of the two cover surfaces; and the heat pipe passes through the other cover surface.
However, Stelzer, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 2) that the cooling plate (KK1, Page 8, ¶ 1) has two cover surfaces and a surrounding jacket surface (see Figure 2 below, the cooling plate has two faces in opposite directions along the axis of rotation, and an outer edge); the circuit boards (ST, Page 8, ¶ 1) are arranged on one of the two cover surfaces; and the heat pipe (KS1, Page 9, ¶ 1) passes through the other cover surface.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao in view of Bodla such that that the cooling plate has two cover surfaces and a surrounding jacket surface; the circuit boards are arranged on one of the two cover surfaces; and the heat pipe passes through the other cover surface, as disclosed by Stelzer, in order to selectively cool specific areas of the motor (Page 2, ¶ 12: “The isolation zone is located between the power electronics zone and the control electronics zone. In this case, the insulating zone has a higher thermal resistance than the power electronics zone and the control electronics zone and thus thermally separates or isolates the power electronics zone and the control electronics zone from one another.”).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Bodla as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brinkman et al. (US 3715610 A, hereafter referred to as Brinkman).
Regarding Claim 13/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
Additionally, Bodla discloses an air flow over the cooling fins (¶ [0060]: “As depicted, the heat pipe assembly 204 interfaces with the fins 212 consistent with an air-cooled arrangement.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao in view of Bodla such that air flows over the cooling fins, as further disclosed by Bodla, in order to improve thermal performance (¶ [0045]: “By applying the heat pipe assemblies directly to the source of heat in these devices, a significant thermal performance advantage may be realized relative to some known heat pipe assemblies.”).
Gao in view of Bodla does not explicitly disclose one or more fans to generate an air flow over the cooling fins.
However, Brinkman, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1) one or more fans (C3L38) to generate an air flow over the cooling fins (62, C3L46).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao in view of Bodla such that one or more fans generate an air flow over the cooling fins, as disclosed by Brinkman, in order to assist in cooling the motor during operation (C3L42-50: “The air expelled from end cavities then can be directed along the axially outer surface of the finned stator frame to enhance the transfer of heat from the stator frame to the adjacent air. If desired, a stationary heat pipe 62 of conventional design can extend axially through the stator and protrude from one (or both) axial ends of the stator into the air flow stream to additionally cool the stator.”)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Bodla as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guru et al. (US 20200358340 A1, hereafter referred to as Guru).
Regarding Claim 14/1, Gao in view of Bodla has been discussed above.
Gao in view of Bodla does not explicitly disclose that the inverters generate an alternating voltage with an amplitude of 200 V or less
However, Guru, in the same field of technology, teaches that the amplitude of an alternating voltage generated by an inverter is a result effective variable (¶ [0003]: “As is known to those skilled in the art, motor controllers, also referred to herein as motor drives, are utilized to vary the amplitude and frequency of the voltage applied to a motor to achieve desired operation of the motor.” “A current regulator and modulation techniques are used to control an inverter section which, in turn, supplies the required current and voltage to the motor from the DC bus to achieve desired operation of the motor.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric motor disclosed by Gao in view of Bodla such that the inverters generate an alternating voltage with an amplitude of 200 V or less, as taught by Guru, in order to achieve the desired operation of the motor (¶ [0003]: “As is known to those skilled in the art, motor controllers, also referred to herein as motor drives, are utilized to vary the amplitude and frequency of the voltage applied to a motor to achieve desired operation of the motor.” “A current regulator and modulation techniques are used to control an inverter section which, in turn, supplies the required current and voltage to the motor from the DC bus to achieve desired operation of the motor.”).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (KR 20160057017 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-15.
Di et al. (CN 112311118 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 1.
Li et al. (CN 109687609 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-3.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834