DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: VEHICLE LAMP WITH LIDAR APPARATUS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the through-hole" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of claim Examination, the Examiner will interpret claim 11 has dependent on claim 8, which contains the first recitation of “a through-hole”.
Claims 12-13 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shido et al., US 20200072429 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Shido discloses “ A vehicle lamp, comprising: a first light source (10, Fig. 1 ) that emits visible light; a first reflecting surface (30, Fig. Fig. 1) for the vehicle lamp that is designed to reflect the visible light emitted by the first light source to form a first light distribution pattern; a second light source (20, Fig. 1 ¶ [0026] “laser device”) that emits light for detecting a detection object transmitted to a first detection range (¶ [0026]);
a light reception element (20, Fig. 1, sensor ¶ [0026]) that outputs an electric signal corresponding to intensity of a return light, when the return light that is the reflected light of the light reflected by the detection object is entered; a LiDAR apparatus that has the second light source and light reception element (¶ [0026]); a reflecting surface (30, Fig. 1 ) for the LiDAR apparatus that is designed to reflect the light for detecting the detection object and transmit it to a second detection range that is wider than the first detection range (seen in Fig. 1, the light sources are in the semi-cylindrical reflector, and produces a light emission pattern suitable for the road (¶ [0028]) is ; and a reflector formed with the first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp and the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus (seen in Fig. 1, the same reflector body 30 is shared by the light sources).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandstetter, et al., US 2022/0324372 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Brandstetter discloses “ A vehicle lamp, comprising: a first light source that emits visible light (L1-L4, Fig. 3); a first reflecting surface (16, Fig. 3; labeled as 16 in the Figures, but erroneously labeled 6 in the Specification) for the vehicle lamp that is designed to reflect the visible light emitted by the first light source to form a first light distribution pattern;
a second light source (H1-H3, Fig. 3) that emits light for detecting a detection object transmitted to a first detection range; a light reception element (14, 15, Fig. 3) that outputs an electric signal corresponding to intensity of a return light, when the return light that is the reflected light of the light reflected by the detection object is entered; a LiDAR apparatus (¶ [0036, 0039]) that has the second light source and light reception element; a reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus that is designed to reflect the light for detecting the detection object and transmit it to a second detection range that is wider than the first detection range (seen in Fig. 3, the mirror 16 transmit the light and the second range after is wider on the way to 20) ; and a reflector formed with the first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp and the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus (seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Brandstetter discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the LiDAR apparatus includes a MEMS mirror for reflecting the light for detecting a detection object so that the light for detecting a detection object scans the first detection range (¶ [0046] 6 is a MEMS mirror).
Regarding claim 3, Brandstetter discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp and the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus are formed inside the outer shape of the reflector in front view (seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Brandstetter discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus is designed such that the light for detecting a detection object reflected by the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus is diffused in the horizontal direction (¶ [0038] the scanning beams are directed to the roadway).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shido.
Regarding claim 4, Shido discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, except “the outer shape of the reflector is a circular shape in front view.”
Shido does disclose that the reflector can employ any shape (¶ [0028]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to change the reflector, as taught by Shido, to have a circular shape, as a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV-B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to change the shape of the reflector to emit a desired light pattern (Shido, ¶ [0028]). Please note that in the instant application, on paragraphs ¶ [0030], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandstetter in view of Benscoter et al., US 2023/0148066 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Brandstetter discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “a signal processing unit (22, Fig. 3) that calculates the distance to the detection object based on the electrical signal output by the light reception element and outputs the angle of the detection object and the distance to the detection object ; (¶ [0036, 0039]).”
However, Brandstetter does not disclose “a storage unit in that a correction data is stored; a correction unit that corrects the angle of the detection object outputted from the signal processing unit, based on the correction data”
Benscoter discloses a vehicle lamp system with LIDAR, and a storage unit in that a correction data is stored; a correction unit that corrects the angle of the detection object outputted from the signal processing unit, based on the correction data (¶ [0107] “The processing logic implemented by the control circuit 106 can be defined by machine-readable code that is resident on a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium such as memory within or available to the control circuit 106”; ¶ [0450-0451, 0455, 0495] “; Fig. 2B-2C)”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include a storage unit and correction unit for correction data, such as taught by Benscoter, to the signal processing unit, as taught by Brandstetter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a correction unit for correcting for situations where the vehicle is oriented offset from the horizon (Benscoter, ¶ [0429]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 recites, inter alia, “A vehicle lamp, comprising: a first light source that emits visible light; a first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp that is designed to reflect the visible light emitted by the first light source to form a first light distribution pattern; a second light source that emits light for detecting a detection object transmitted to a first detection range; a light reception element that outputs an electric signal corresponding to intensity of a return light, when the return light that is the reflected light of the light reflected by the detection object is entered; a LiDAR apparatus that has the second light source and light reception element; a reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus that is designed to reflect the light for detecting the detection object and transmit it to a second detection range that is wider than the first detection range; and a reflector formed with the first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp and the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus” and “the LiDAR apparatus includes a MEMS mirror for reflecting the light for detecting a detection object so that the light for detecting a detection object scans the first detection range” And “a vertical cross-sectional shape of the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus is a substantially parabolic shape, and a focal point thereof is positioned near the MEMS mirror, and a radius of curvature of the lateral cross-sectional shape of the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus is greater than a radius of curvature of the vertical cross-sectional shape of the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus.”
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Claim 7 recites, inter alia, “A vehicle lamp, comprising: a first light source that emits visible light; a first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp that is designed to reflect the visible light emitted by the first light source to form a first light distribution pattern; a second light source that emits light for detecting a detection object transmitted to a first detection range; a light reception element that outputs an electric signal corresponding to intensity of a return light, when the return light that is the reflected light of the light reflected by the detection object is entered; a LiDAR apparatus that has the second light source and light reception element; a reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus that is designed to reflect the light for detecting the detection object and transmit it to a second detection range that is wider than the first detection range; and a reflector formed with the first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp and the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus” and “the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus includes a plurality of reflecting regions formed by dividing the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus, and each of the reflecting regions is designed as a convex surface or a concave surface so as to diffuse the light for detecting the detection object emitted by the second light source and reflected by each of the reflecting regions in the horizontal direction.”
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Claim 8 recites, inter alia, “A vehicle lamp, comprising: a first light source that emits visible light; a first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp that is designed to reflect the visible light emitted by the first light source to form a first light distribution pattern; a second light source that emits light for detecting a detection object transmitted to a first detection range; a light reception element that outputs an electric signal corresponding to intensity of a return light, when the return light that is the reflected light of the light reflected by the detection object is entered; a LiDAR apparatus that has the second light source and light reception element; a reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus that is designed to reflect the light for detecting the detection object and transmit it to a second detection range that is wider than the first detection range; and a reflector formed with the first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp and the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus” and “the reflector has a through-hole, the vehicle lamp, further comprising: a holding member for holding the first light source and the LiDAR apparatus, wherein the holding member is disposed in a state of being inserted into the through-hole.”
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Claims 9-10 are allowed due to their dependence on claim 8.
Claims 11-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 recites, inter alia, “A vehicle lamp, comprising: a first light source that emits visible light; a first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp that is designed to reflect the visible light emitted by the first light source to form a first light distribution pattern; a second light source that emits light for detecting a detection object transmitted to a first detection range; a light reception element that outputs an electric signal corresponding to intensity of a return light, when the return light that is the reflected light of the light reflected by the detection object is entered; a LiDAR apparatus that has the second light source and light reception element; a reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus that is designed to reflect the light for detecting the detection object and transmit it to a second detection range that is wider than the first detection range; and a reflector formed with the first reflecting surface for the vehicle lamp and the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus” and “the LiDAR apparatus is disposed behind the reflector, the vehicle lamp, further comprising: a reflecting member for reflecting light for detecting a detection object emitted from the second light source and passing through the through-hole toward the reflecting surface for the LiDAR apparatus.”
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Claims 12-13 are allowable due to their dependence on claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahn et al., US 2020/0341121 A1 discloses a vehicle lamp with shared reflector for light and Lidar (31, Fig. 1)
Ahn et al., US 2020/0339030 A1 discloses a vehicle lamp with shared reflector for light and Lidar
Mano, US 2021/0055395 A1 discloses a vehicle lamp with a reflector with through-holes for the lamp and Lidar
Kawata et al., US 2025/0189634 A1 discloses a vehicle lamp with a shared reflector for light and Lidar.
/MICHAEL CHIANG/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/JAMES R GREECE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875