DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The amended claim set filed on 24 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-14 are currently pending. Of those, claim 7 is amended. There are no new claims and no claims are cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6 and 9) in the reply filed on 24 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-8 and 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 August 2026. Claims 1-6 and 9 will be examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of application PCT/KR2023/003573 (filed 17 March 2023) and claims priority to foreign application KR 10-2022-0034234 (filed 18 March 2022). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. However, because no certified translation of the foreign priority document was provided, the foreign priority claim has not been perfected. Therefore, for the purposes of searching the prior art, the effective filing date of instant claims 1-6 and 9 is 17 March 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 13 September 2024, 10 October 2025, and 10 March 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, each information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: scientific names (e.g., Corynebacterium, Tribolium castaneum, and Corynebacterium glutamicum) should be italicized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietrich et al. (WO 2020/005834 A1; cited in IDS; herein “Dietrich”).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5, Dietrich teaches recombinant host cells, including Corynebacterium glutamicum, capable of producing β-alanine comprising one or more heterologous nucleic acids that encode the β-alanine synthetic pathway (para. 7), wherein the β-alanine biosynthetic pathway includes a β-alanine-forming enzyme (para. 7), which is aspartate 1-decarboxylase, i.e., PanD (para. 10 and 116). Dietrich teaches that the PanD may be derived from T. castaneum (para. 119).
Regarding claim 3, Dietrich teaches that the T. castaneum PanD (TcPanD) has an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 38, which shares >99% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 27 (see Figure 1 for alignment below).
Regarding claim 6, Dietrich teaches that the recombinant host cells improve yields or productivity of β-alanine (para. 57).
However, Dietrich does not teach a composition comprising the Corynebacterium sp. microorganism producing β-alanine, as in claim 9.
Regarding claim 9, Dietrich teaches that their recombinant host cells can be cultured in order to produce β-alanine, i.e., a culture composition comprising the recombinant host cell capable of producing β-alanine (para. 213).
Figure 1: Alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 27 (Qy) with Dietrich’s SEQ ID NO: 38 (Db).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to culture the Corynebacterium glutamicum expressing the TcPanD enzyme taught by Dietrich to produce β-alanine, thereby arriving at the invention of claims 1-3, 5-6, and 9. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification in order for the C. glutamicum cells to produce the β-alanine and in order to collect the β-alanine. Therefore, the combination is also desirable (see MPEP 2144(II)). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Dietrich teaches that any of their recombinant host cells for producing β-alanine may be cultured. Therefore, the combination leads to expected results because each element performs the same function as is does individually.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. In the instant case, all elements (i.e., Corynebacterium sp. producing β-alanine, T. castaneum PanD, Corynebacterium glutamicum, etc.) were known in the art. In addition, combining these elements yields a composition wherein each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; thus, the results of the combination would be recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-14, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/885,239 (‘239). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1-3, the ‘239 claims teach a Corynebacterium sp. microorganism (‘239 claim 8) comprising the variant polypeptide having an activity of aspartate 1-decarboxylase (PanD), in which an amino acid corresponding the 139th residue of SEQ ID NO: 51 (which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 27; see Figure 2 for alignment below) (claims 1-3 and 6). Because the ‘239 claims SEQ ID NO: 51 is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 27, which is derived from a T. castaneum aspartate 1-decarboxylase, the ‘329 claims’ SEQ ID NO: 51 must also be derived from T. castaneum.
Regarding claim 5, the ‘239 claims teach that the Corynebacterium is Corynebacterium glutamicum (‘239 claim 9).
Regarding claim 9, the ‘239 claims teach a composition comprising a microorganism that contains the variant polypeptide having an activity of aspartate 1-decarboxylase (para. 11-14 and 16).
However, the ‘239 claims do not teach that the composition comprises a Corynebacterium comprising the variant polypeptide, as in instant claim 9.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to use the Corynebacterium comprising the variant polypeptide having an aspartate 1-decarboxylase activity, as is taught in claim 8 of the ‘239 claims, in the composition and method comprising culturing the microorganism taught in claims 11-14 and 16 of the ‘239 claims, thereby arriving at the invention of instant claims 1-3, 5-6, and 9. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the ‘239 claim 12 teaches that culturing the microorganism comprising the variant polypeptide having aspartate 1-decarboxylase activity allows for the recovery of β-alanine or β-alanine-derived compound. Therefore, the combination is also desirable (see MPEP 2144(II)). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the ‘239 claims teach that their microorganism comprising the variant polypeptide having aspartate 1-decarboxylase activity may be cultured or used in the composition, so one would predict the same result using Corynebacterium sp. as the microorganism. Therefore, the combination leads to expected results because each element performs the same function as is does individually.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. In the instant case, all elements (i.e., Corynebacterium sp. producing β-alanine, T. castaneum PanD, Corynebacterium glutamicum, etc.) were known in the art. In addition, combining these elements yields a composition wherein each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; thus, the results of the combination would be recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Figure 2: Alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 27 (Qy) with the ‘239 claims’ SEQ ID NO: 51 (Db).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/BAILEY M MORGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/SAMIRA J JEAN-LOUIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1642