Detailed Action
1. This action is responsive to communication filed on: 14 April 2026 with acknowledgement of an original application filed on 13 September 2024 and that this application is a continuation of a 371 US, PCT filed 12 April 2022.
2. Claims 1-19 are currently pending. Claims 1, 7, and 13, are independent claims. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 16-19 are new. In addition, the specification has been amended.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 14 April 2026 have been fully considered however they are not persuasive where noted below. The objection to the specification is removed due to amendment, the 112(b) rejections is removed due to amendment, however another 112 (b) rejection has been placed on claims 1-6 due to amendment. No 101 rejection was placed on the claims.
I) In response to Applicant’s argument beginning on page 9, “CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 U.S.C. § 103 Claims 1-15, including independent claims 1, 7, and 12, stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of U.S. 2007/0101156 ("Novoa") and U.S. 2006/0059363 ("Mese"). These references, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest each and every element of each of these independent claims, at least as currently amended. Therefore, the § 103 rejections to independent claims 1, 7, and 12 must be withdrawn. Independent Claim 1 Independent claim 1 calls for… install an administration credential in the firmware, the administration credential being stored in the first memory; receive, from a user input, a user credential; and transmit the secret to the component via the firmware, based on the user credential matching the administration credential. Claim 1. (emphasis added). Novoa, Mese, nor combinations thereof, teach or suggest the administration credential. Novoa describes, " the non-volatile memory 108 is only accessible to the BIOS 106 and is lockable upon exiting a power-on self test (POST) or before the computer 100 finishes booting. For example, the non-volatile memory 108 may be lockable using a password-controlled procedure. The secret stored by the non-volatile memory 108 is unique in both time and space (i.e., the secret is a random number that should not ever be repeatable or computable). Novoa, ' [00016]. (emphasis added). Here, this password controls locking the non- volatile memory upon exiting POST or before the computer finishes booting. This is a hardware-level memory access lock, as it prevents anything from reading or writing to that memory region after boot completes. This is not a credential that a user inputs, it is not stored in the firmware for comparison against a user credential, and it does not gate the transmission of any secret to the TPM. Similarly, Mese also does not teach this claim element. Mese describes, " a single successful completion of the password matching sequence described herein bypasses the code from that point forward thereby making the computerized device available for use by any user absent additional password or security measures." … The administration credential recited in amended claim 1 is different than what Mese describes for at least two reasons. First, the administration credential is compared against a received user credential, not against a locally derived hash. For example, Mese describes, "[w]hen the user inputs these values, the computerized device hashes the user specific and machine specific values to create a local hash value. The device locates and optionally decrypts stored hash using the provider-provided public key. The stored hash is then compared to the locally generated hash value. In addition, the stored hash's signature is checked using the provided public key. Mese, T [0007]. (emphasis added). In contrast, the subject application describes comparing a user input to an installed administration credential. Second, the administration credential gates firmware-controlled secret transmission to a component, not general device access. For example, Mese, upon a successful match, simply grants the user general access to the device, rather than permitting transmission to the secret to the component. See, e.g., Mese, 1 [0027]. For at least the above reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that independent claim 1, and the claims that depend thereon, are patentable over Novoa and Mese. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections to these claims be withdrawn and the claims allowed.”.
The Examiner disagrees with the arguments. It is the combination of references that teach the argued limitations. The first argued limitation “install an administration credential in the firmware, the administration credential being stored in the first memory” is taught/suggested in Mese/’363 paragraph 21. Note paragraph 21 states “As its name implies, stored password 210 is stored on the computerized device 106 intended for delivery to end user 110. Stored password 210 is preferably stored in a secure storage location of the device. This secure location could be, for example, encrypted on a hard drive, in a secured area of BIOS, or within a trusted platform module (TPM)”. The Examiner notes the stored password is interpreted equivalent to the ‘administration credential’ in addition, “a secured area of BIOS” is interpreted equivalent to firmware. Therefore Mese/’363 teaches the limitation “install an administration credential in the firmware, the administration credential being stored in the first memory”
The second argued limitation: “receive, from a user input, a user credential; and transmit the secret to the component via the firmware based on the user credential matching the administration credential” is taught/suggested in Novoa/’153 see paragraphs 19-20, which state “In at least some embodiments, new TPM initialization commands or binding commands are implemented such that the TPM 114 will not initialize itself unless proper authentication credentials (e.g., validation of the secret) are provided by the computer 100 to the TPM 114. For example, the new TPM commands could be implemented as a derivative of some existing TPM commands like "TPM Init" and enable the BIOS 106 to pass in the hashed value of the unsealed secret (or some other unique platform-specific secret) to the TPM 114. The TPM 114 can then verify if the passed in secret matches the secret previously stored in the memory 116. If the secrets match, the TPM 114 returns a success notification to the BIOS 106 and continues to behave normally, enabling the computer 100 to boot. During the computer's normal boot process, the TPM 114 may use the secret as part of the TPM initialization process performed by the BIOS 106. For example, in some embodiments, the secret is used as a symmetric encryption key that increases the security of a challenge/response protocol between the BIOS 106 and the TPM 114…If the value of the passed in secret does not match the value previously stored in the memory 116 (or if a secret is not provided), the TPM 114 is configurable to refuse initialization and/or to clear all protected secrets (i.e., return to a TPM factory reset state) based on policies that are controlled by the TPM owner or an authorized user. The TPM 114 also may return an error notification to the BIOS.” The Examiner interprets ‘the TPM 114 will not initialize itself unless proper authentication credentials are provided’ equivalent to “receive, from a user input, a user credential” in addition, the Examiner interprets transmit the secret to the component via firmware equivalent to “enable the BIOS 106 to pass the hashed value of the unsealed secret (or some other unique platform-specific secret) to the TPM 114”. Note ‘some other unique platform-specific secret’ is interpreted equivalent to “the secret” / also note BIOS is interpreted equivalent to ‘firmware’. Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
II) In response to Applicant’s argument beginning on page 10, “Independent Claim 7 Independent claim 7 calls for, A computing device comprising: a cryptoprocessor; firmware stored in a memory of the computing device; and a processor to: where the firmware is in a first permission state, receive a user credential; in response to verifying that the user credential matches a trusted credential, instruct the firmware to change its permission state to a second permission state, wherein: in the first permission state, the firmware is to block the cryptoprocessor from receiving a secret obtainable by the firmware; and in the second permission state, the firmware is to transmit the secret to the cryptoprocessor” Claim 7. (emphasis added). Novoa, Mese, nor combinations thereof, teach or suggest the firmware process as claimed. As described above, Novoa describes a password controlled locking of the non-volatile memory upon exiting POST or before the computer finishes booting. This is a hardware-level memory access lock that prevents reading or writing to that memory after boot completes. This is not a credential that a user inputs, it is not compared against a trusted credential to trigger a firmware permission state change, and it does not gate the transmission of any secret to the cryptoprocessor. Further, neither Novoa nor Mese describe the first permission state or the second permission state. For at least the above reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that independent claim 7 and the claims that depend thereon are patentable over Novoa and Mese. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections to these claims be withdrawn and the claims allowed”.
The Examiner disagrees with the arguments. It the combination of references that teach the argued limitations. The claim states “in response to verifying that the user credential matches a trusted credential, instruct the firmware to change its permission state to a second permission state” is taught in the Mese/’393 reference paragraph 26. Note paragraphs 26 states “A comparator 240, most likely implemented in the software code of user interface 220, compares the locally generated password 230 to the stored password 210, which is securely stored on computerized device 106. If the comparator determines that the generated password 230 and stored password 210 are the same, access authorization 250 is provided to end user”. This authorization that is provided to the end user is interpreted equivalent to a change in permission state. Furthermore Mese/’363 teaches “If, on the other hand, comparator 240 determines that generated password 230 and stored password 210 do not match, access authorization is denied… but end user 110 will not gain access to computer device 106 (i.e., be able to load and use an operating system and one or more application programs)”, this not gaining access is interpreted equivalent to blocking the cryptoprocessor from receiving a secret obtainable by the firmware. In addition, as stated above Novoa/’153 teaches/suggests in paragraphs 19-20, the limitation “in the second permission state, the firmware is to transmit the secret to the cryptoprocessor”. The reference states “In at least some embodiments, new TPM initialization commands or binding commands are implemented such that the TPM 114 will not initialize itself unless proper authentication credentials (e.g., validation of the secret) are provided by the computer 100 to the TPM 114. For example, the new TPM commands could be implemented as a derivative of some existing TPM commands like "TPM Init" and enable the BIOS 106 to pass in the hashed value of the unsealed secret (or some other unique platform-specific secret) to the TPM 114.” The Examiner interprets ‘the TPM 114 will not initialize itself unless proper authentication credentials are provided’ equivalent to “receive, from a user input, a user credential” in addition, the Examiner interprets transmit the secret to the component via firmware equivalent to “enable the BIOS 106 to pass the hashed value of the unsealed secret (or some other unique platform-specific secret) to the TPM 114”. Note ‘some other unique platform-specific secret’ is interpreted equivalent to “the secret” / also note BIOS is interpreted equivalent to ‘firmware’. Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
III) In response to applicant’s argument beginning on page 11, “Independent Claim 12 Independent claim 12 calls for, A non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions readable and executable by a processor of a computing device to: in response to determining that a user credential matches an administration credential installed in firmware of the computing device, acquire a secret from information stored in a memory of the computing device via the firmware; in response to determining that the user credential does not match the administration credential, block acquiring of the secret via the firmware; in response to acquiring the secret, provide the secret to a cryptoprocessor of the computing device. Claim 12. (emphasis added). Similar to claim 1, independent claim 12 calls for, among other things, in response to determining that a user credential matches an administration credential installed in firmware of the computing device, acquire a secret from information stored in a memory of the computing device via the firmware, and in response to acquiring the secret, provide the secret to a cryptoprocessor of the computing device. Accordingly, independent claim 12 is patentable for similar reasons as those presented above with respect to independent claim 1. For at least the above reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that independent claim 12 and the claims that depend thereon are patentable over Novoa and Mese. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections to these claims be withdrawn and the claims allowed”
The Examiner disagrees with argument. As explained above the combination of Novoa and Mese teach the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Below in independent claim 1, the Examiner has underlined twice the phrases that are indefinite. It appears that some phrase is missing after “wherein the component”. Appropriate Correction is required.
Claim 1 –
A computing device comprising:
a component, wherein the component is to perform a cryptographic operation, and wherein the component;
firmware stored in a first memory of the computing device; and
a processor to:
obtain a secret for use by the component, wherein the firmware is to control obtaining of the secret, wherein the secret is obtainable from information stored in a second memory of the computing device, and wherein the secret is associated with the computing device;
install an administration credential in the firmware, the administration credential being stored in the first memory;
receive, from a user input, a user credential; and
transmit the secret to the component via the firmware, based on the user credential matching the administration credential.
6. To expedite a complete examination of the instant application the claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 above are further rejected as set forth below in anticipation of applicant amending these claims to overcome the above rejections.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novoa et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0101156 (hereinafter ‘153) cited in the IDS received 10 October 2024 in view of Mese et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/00593363 (hereinafter ‘363).
As to independent claim 1, “A computing device comprising: a component, wherein the component is to perform a cryptographic operation, and wherein the component” is taught in ‘156 paragraphs 12 and 14, note the component is the security chip such as the TPM;
“firmware stored in a first memory of the computing device; and a processor to: obtain a secret for use by the component, wherein the firmware is to control obtaining of the secret, wherein the secret is obtainable from information stored in a second memory of the computing device; and wherein the secret is associated with the computing device” is shown in ‘156 paragraphs 13-16, note the firmware stored is the BIOS;
“receive, from a user input, a user credential; and transmit the secret to the component via the firmware” is disclosed in ‘156 paragraph 19, The Examiner interprets ‘the TPM 114 will not initialize itself unless proper authentication credentials are provided’ equivalent to “receive, from a user input, a user credential” in addition, the Examiner interprets transmit the secret to the component via firmware equivalent to “enable the BIOS 106 to pass the hashed value of the unsealed secret (or some other unique platform-specific secret) to the TPM 114”. Note ‘some other unique platform-specific secret’ is interpreted equivalent to “the secret” / also note BIOS is interpreted equivalent to ‘firmware’;
Although ‘156 states in paragraph 16 “For example, the non-volatile memory 108 may be lockable using a password-controlled procedure” which suggests an administration credential is installed in the firmware, since the exact phrase “install an administration credential in the firmware” is not used it could be argued, the following is not explicitly taught in ‘156:
“install an administration credential in the firmware, the administration credential being stored in the first memory” however ‘363 teaches a stored password 210 is stored on the computerized device 106 intended for delivery to end user 110. Stored password 210 is preferably stored in a secure location of the device. This secure location could be, for example, encrypted on a hard drive, in a secured area of BIOS, or within a trusted platform module (TPM)” in paragraph 21;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of method for controlling access to a computerized device taught in ‘363 to include a means install an administration credential in the firmware. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification because methods and techniques for controlling initial access to a computerized device have significant drawbacks improvements are needed see ‘363 paragraphs 4-5.
As to dependent claim 2, “The computing device of claim 1, where the processor is to: generate the information for obtaining the secret, wherein the information is generated via the firmware; and store the information in the second memory” is taught in ‘156 paragraphs 15-16.
As to dependent claim 3, “The computing device of claim 1, wherein the component is to generate, and store in the component, a first hash based on the secret and the measured state of the computing device obtained prior to transmission of the secret, wherein an access control policy implemented by the component is to: block access to user data stored in the component in response to the component determining that a second hash generated by the component does not match the first hash, wherein the second hash is based on a re-obtained version of the secret transmitted to the component by the processor, and wherein the re-obtained version of the secret is obtained after the access control policy is implemented; and provide the processor with access to the user data stored in the component in response to the component determining that the second hash matches the first hash” is shown in ‘156 paragraphs 17-19.
As to dependent claim 4, “The computing device of claim 3, where the processor is to: provide the user data to the component prior to implementing the access control policy; and instruct the component to implement the access control policy” is disclosed in ‘156 paragraphs 19-20.
As to dependent claim 5, “The computing device of claim 3, where the component comprises a trusted platform module (TPM), and where the processor is to: transmit the secret to the TPM with a command to instruct the TPM to generate the first hash, wherein the first hash is based on the secret” is taught in ‘156 paragraphs 15-17.
As to dependent claim 6, “The computing device of claim 5, where the processor is to: in response to determining that the TPM is implementing the access control policy, re-obtain the secret from the information; and transmit the re-obtained secret to the TPM with a command to instruct the TPM to: generate the second hash, wherein the second hash is based on the re-obtained secret; and release the user data stored therein to the processor in response to the TPM determining that the second hash matches the first hash” is shown in ‘156 paragraphs 15-19.
As to independent claim 7, “A computing device comprising: a cryptoprocessor; firmware stored in a memory of the computing device” is taught in ‘156 paragraphs 12 and 14;
“wherein: in the first permission state, the firmware is to block the cryptoprocessor from receiving a secret obtainable by the firmware; and in the second permission state, the firmware is to transmit the secret to the cryptoprocessor” is shown in ‘156 paragraph 19;
Although ‘156 states in paragraph 16 “For example, the non-volatile memory 108 may be lockable using a password-controlled procedure” which suggests comparing user credentials to trusted credentials, since the exact phrase “first permission state, receive a user credential…matches a trusted credential” is not used it could be argued, the following is not explicitly taught in ‘156:
“and a processor to: where the firmware is in a first permission state, receive a user credential; in response to verifying that the user credential matches a trusted credential, instruct the firmware to change its permission state to a second permission state” however ‘363 teaches comparing the supplied password with the stored password and if they are the same full access (i.e. second permission state) is provided. In addition is the passwords do not match the end user may be given limited access in paragraph 26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of method for controlling access to a computerized device taught in ‘363 to include a means to change permission state if a user credential matches a trusted credential. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification because methods and techniques for controlling initial access to a computerized device have significant drawbacks improvements are needed see ‘363 paragraphs 4-5.
As to dependent claim 8, “The computing device of claim 7, wherein the processor is to transmit the secret to the cryptoprocessor with a command to instruct the cryptoprocessor to generate a hash from the secret, wherein the hash is generated based on a state of the computing device measured during booting of the computing device” is taught in ‘156 paragraph 17.
As to dependent claim 9, “The computing device of claim 8, wherein the command is to instruct the cryptoprocessor to: release user data stored in the cryptoprocessor in response to the cryptoprocessor determining that the hash matches a previously-generated hash generated and stored in the cryptoprocessor, wherein the previously generated hash is based on the secret and a state of the computing device measured during a previous boot of the computing device” is shown in ‘156 paragraphs 17-20.
As to dependent claim 10, “The computing device of claim 9, where the processor is to: in response to the cryptoprocessor releasing the user data, receive the user data from the cryptoprocessor for use by the computing device” is disclosed in ‘363 paragraphs 32-35.
As to dependent claim 11, “The computing device of claim 8, wherein the cryptoprocessor comprises a trusted platform module (TPM), and the command comprises a TPM extend command to instruct the hash to be stored in: a platform configuration register (PCR) of the TPM; or a non-volatile random-access memory (NVRAM) location of the TPM” is taught in ‘156 paragraph 17.
As to independent claim 12, “A non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions readable and executable by a processor of a computing device to:” and “acquire a secret from information stored in a memory of the computing device via the firmware” is taught in ‘156 paragraphs 13-16 and 19; Although ‘156 states in paragraph 16 “For example, the non-volatile memory 108 may be lockable using a password-controlled procedure” which suggests an administration credential is installed in the firmware, since the exact phrase “install an administration credential in the firmware” is not used it could be argued, the following is not explicitly taught in ‘156:
“in response to determining that a user credential matches an administration credential installed in firmware of the computing device” and “in response to determining that the user credential does not match the administration credential, block acquiring of the secret via the firmware; in response to acquiring the secret, provide the secret to a cryptoprocessor of the computing device” however ‘363 teaches a stored password 210 is stored on the computerized device 106 intended for delivery to end user 110. Stored password 210 is preferably stored in a secure location of the device. This secure location could be, for example, encrypted on a hard drive, in a secured area of BIOS, or within a trusted platform module (TPM)” in paragraph 21 and 363 teaches comparing the supplied password with the stored password and if they are the same full access (i.e. second permission state) is provided. In addition is the passwords do not match the end user may be given limited access in paragraph 26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of method for controlling access to a computerized device taught in ‘363 to include a means install an administration credential in the firmware and include a means to change permission state if a user credential matches a trusted credential. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification because methods and techniques for controlling initial access to a computerized device have significant drawbacks improvements are needed see ‘363 paragraphs 4-5
As to dependent claim 13, “The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the processor is to: receive data released by the cryptoprocessor in response to the cryptoprocessor being provided with the secret; and implement a function of the computing device based on the data” is taught in ‘156 paragraph 19.
As to dependent claim 14, “The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 13, where the processor is to: in response to the computing device receiving a disable request after receiving the data: disable a control policy implemented by the cryptoprocessor, where the control policy is to control whether the cryptoprocessor is to release or block release of the data stored therein; and disable further use of the secret by the firmware” is shown in ‘262 paragraph 26.
As to dependent claim 15, “The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12, where the processor is to: instruct the cryptoprocessor to generate a digest based on the secret provided to the cryptoprocessor, wherein the digest is extended from a previously-obtained digest of a measured state of the computing device received by the cryptoprocessor during booting of the computing device, and wherein the extended digest is usable by the cryptoprocessor to permit data to be released from the cryptoprocessor for transmission to the processor of the computing device” is disclosed in ‘156 paragraphs 17-19.
As to dependent claim 16, “The computing device of claim 1, wherein the component is to store an indication of a measured state of the computing device obtained during booting of the computing device” is taught in ‘156 paragraphs 23-25.
As to dependent claim 17, “The computing device of claim 16, wherein the indication of the measured state is at least one of: a presence of an expected software or firmware version on the computing device; whether the computing device is functioning as expected” is shown in ‘156 paragraphs 26-27.
As to dependent claim 18, “The computing device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further to: obtain the information stored in the second memory; and obtain the secret based on the information” is disclosed in ‘156 paragraphs 13-20, note the system 100 comprises a processor 104 that couples… As shown, the TPM 114 comprises a memory 116 (second memory) that upon successful boot unseal the secrets.
As to dependent claim 19, “The computing device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further to: transmit a prompt to the component, via the firmware; and receive data stored in the component, in response to transmitting the access request to the component and the component having received the secret” is taught in ‘156 paragraph 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLEN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433 17 July 2026