DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” or more specifically “A process for manufacturing a biodegradable compound is provided” (bold for emphasis), etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, the originally submitted specification does not explicitly disclose the claim 1 limitation that “a weight ratio of maleic anhydride to PHA polymer is comprised between 0.1 and 10”, including through exemplary compositions found on p.13 (0.5 g of maleic anhydride / 9.4 g of poly3-hydroxybutyrate-co-3-hydroxyhexanoate = .053 weight ratio, which is less than 0.1) and on p.15 (0.03 g MA / 4.564 g PHBH = .0066 weight ratio, which is less than 0.1).
As claims 2-13 depend directly/indirectly on claim 1, they stand as rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “a weight ratio of maleic anhydride to PHA polymer is comprised between 0.1 and 10” is unclear, given that a ratio could be defined strictly as a one to one interpretation (i.e., a weight ratio of 4 would mean the composition comprising 40 g of maleic anhydride would have 10 g of PHA polymer) but claims 4 and 6 refer to weight ratio with %’s (i.e., a weight ratio of 4% would mean the composition comprising 10 g of maleic anhydride would have 250 g of PHA polymer). For purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted to read “a weight ratio of maleic anhydride to PHA polymer is comprised between 0.1% and 10%”.
As claims 2-13 dependent directly/indirectly on claim 1, they stand as rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohanty et al. (US20050215672) as evidenced by Ganster (NPL) (of record) in view of Thirmizir (NPL).
Regarding claim 1, Mohanty teaches a process for manufacturing a biodegradable compound, said compound comprising a mixture of cellulosic fibres and at least one type of polyhydroxyalkanoate polymer (PHA), said process comprising the steps of, in order:
(i) providing an extruder (“extruder” (130)), at least one rotating screw ([0132]), at least two feeding units suitable for being fed with ingredients ([0147]-[0148]), an extruder die ([0133]), and a temperature of said extruder being set between 135-190oC ([0085], which is within the claimed range of 130 to 190oC);
(ii) feeding a first feeding unit ([0148]) with the PHA polymer ([0032] and maleic anhydride (MA) ([0032]), wherein the weight ratio of maleic anhydride to PHA polymer is 1-15 wt% ([0045], which overlaps with the claimed ratio range of between 0.1 and 10%);
(iii) feeding a second feeding unit ([0147]) with cellulosic fibres ([0099]), said cellulosic fibres being hardwood cellulose fibres ([0022] with regards to “wood flour”) and having a density of 1.5 g/cm3 (as evidenced by Ganster (p.1796), which is within the claimed range of at least 1.0 g/cm3);
(iv) rotating the at least one rotating screw to mix the PHA polymer and maleic anhydride ([0032]) and graft said maleic anhydride onto said PHA molecules to form PHA polymers grafted with MA (PHA-g-MA) in an amount of 0.2 to 4.0% ([0087], which overlaps with the claimed range of 1 to 10%), and then mixing said PHA-g-MA with cellulosic fibres to form a molten compound of PHA-g-MA and cellulosic fibres ([0044]); and
(v) passing said molten compound through said extruder die ([0084]), and shaping said extruded compound into, either a product selected from the group consisting of:
Compound pellets, by cutting said extruded compound into an extruded compound cord with a knife system ([0084]),
of a compound film or compound plates ([0084]).
While Mohanty does not explicitly disclose that the cellulose fibres have a length of 15 µm to 150 µm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that:
a) Mohanty teaches that the fiber length can be varied depending on the properties desired ([0095]);
b) Thirmizir (NPL) teaches that for compositing with thermoplastics, the choice of cellulosic fiber length is a result effective variable that impacts both composite strength and molding efficiency (p.3055-3056); and
c) it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Examiner notes that case law holds that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05) with regards to the ratio of maleic anhydride to PHA and the percent of PHA grafted with MA to the total content of PHA.
While not relied upon as the basis of a rejection, examiner notes that applicant's original disclosure fails to provide a conclusive showing of unexpected results for the weight ratio of maleic anhydride to PHA, the percent of PHA grafted with MA to the total content of PHA, the extruder temperature or for both the length and density of the cellulosic fibres.
Regarding claim 2, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Mohanty teaches that the extruder is a twin-screw extruder ([0045], [0097]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Mohanty teaches that a catalyst is added together with the PHA polymer and the maleic anhydride in the first feeding unit ([0079] via “free-radical initiator”), said catalyst being selected from the group consisting of: benzoyl peroxide, hydroperoxides, ketone peroxides and a combination thereof ([0077]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 3 as set forth above. Additionally, Mohanty teaches that the amount of catalyst to PHA polymer is 0.4 to 3.0% weight by mass of compound being modified with maleic acid ([0088], which overlaps with the claimed ratio of catalyst to PHA of 0.01% to 5%) and case law holds that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
While not relied upon for the basis of a rejection, examiner notes that the originally submitted disclosure fails to provide a conclusive showing of criticality for the ratio of catalyst to PHA (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 7, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Mohanty teaches that the polyhydroxyalkanoate polymer is selected from the group consisting of poly-3-hydroxybutyrate (PHB) ([0007]) or poly-3-hydroxybutyrate-co-3-hydroxyvalerate (PHBV) ([0029]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Mohanty teaches that the rotation speed of the at least one rotating screw is comprised between 50 and 150 rpm ([0085] which is within the claimed range of 10 to 300 rpm).
Regarding claim 12, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Mohanty teaches that the first and second feeding units are located at a distance from one another along a length of the extruder ([0096]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Mohanty teaches that the second feeding unit comprises a pair of screws ([0096], [0079], Fig 1E).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohanty et al. (US20050215672) as evidenced by Ganster (NPL) (of record) and Thirmizir (NPL) as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above and in further view of Kaneko et al. (JP2020002201A) (machine translation) (of record).
Regarding claim 5, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority of the instant application for a plasticizer to be added together with the cellulosic fibres into the second feeding unit, said plasticizer being selected from the group consisting of: beeswax (BW), stearic acid (SA), glycerol monostearate (GMS), and a combination thereof, given that:
a1) Mohanty teaches the use of plasticizer for improving the processing window ([0075]);
a2) the limited number of locations where the plasticizer could be fed in (with regards to the ports) presents a finite number of option that are immediately recognizable to a person having ordinary skill in the art, and the options do not produce new or unexpected results and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the earliest effective priority date to try the options presented to obtain the expected result of adding a plasticizer to the compound (see MPEP 2143(I)(E));
B) Kaneko, which is within the thermoplastic manufacturing art, teaches that for a thermoplastic manufacturing process that includes a mixture of polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA) ([0059]), said mixture can comprise of commonly used plasticizers including beeswax ([0082]) and case law holds that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination” (see MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 6, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 5 as set forth above. Additionally, given that Mohanty teaches that the use of plasticizers in the polymer is a result-effective variable for increasing the processing window ([0075]) and case law holds that the determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)) and/or Kaneko teaches that the ratio of plasticizer to composition is preferably 0 to 100% by mass relative to 100% by mass of the composition ([0082], which overlaps with the claimed range of plasticizer to cellulosic fibre of 0.1% to 10%) and case law holds that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05), modified Mohanty teaches that the weight ratio of plasticizer to cellulosic fibre is 0.1% to 10%. While not relied upon for the basis of a rejection, examiner notes that the originally submitted disclosure fails to provide a conclusive showing of criticality for the ratio of plasticizer to cellulosic fibre (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohanty et al. (US20050215672) as evidenced by Ganster (NPL) (of record) and Thirmizir (NPL) as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above and in further view of Goff (NPL) (of record).
Regarding claim 9, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. While Mohanty does not explicitly teach that the process further comprises a step of quenching the extruded compound within a quenching bath, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that Goff teaches that for extrusion processes, it is desirable to use a water bath to cool the extruded material after the extrusion die for the benefit of setting the polymer at the earliest possible point after shaping (p.35).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohanty et al. (US20050215672) as evidenced by Ganster (NPL) (of record), Thirmizir (NPL) and Goff et al. (NPL) (of record) as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above and in further view of applicant’s own specification and any one of Hadba et al. (US20120021217A1) (of record), Helton et al. (US20140162015A1) (of record) and/or Andjelic et al. (US20150119935A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 10, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 9 as set forth above. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application for the temperature of said quenching bath is between 5oC and 50oC, given that applicant’s own specification notes that said temperature and the duration of which the extrudate compound is in the quenching is “according to usual quenching practices” (p.9 L8-11), as exemplified in extruding processes including Hadba ([0050], quench bath of about 10oC to 80oC), Helton ([0073], quench bath of about 60oF (15.6oC)) and/or Andjelic ([0031], quench bath of 20oC).
Regarding claim 11, modified Mohanty teaches all limitations of claim 10 as set forth above. Additionally, Goff (p.35) and/or any of Hadba ([0050]), Helton ([0073]) and/or Andjelic ([0031]) teach that the quenching bath is water.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p.11-12, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of primary reference Mohanty et al. (US20050215672).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER D BOOTH/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749