DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group I claims in the reply filed on 8/142026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is a unifying special technical feature for all the claims. This is found persuasive.
The requirement is withdrawn and both Group I and II claims will be examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 30 are rejected because the claim recites several broad ranges and narrow ranges within the same claim. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Note the explanation given by the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ2d 2031, 2033 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989), as to where broad language is followed by "such as", “preferably”, “more preferably”, “further even more preferably” and then narrow language. The Board stated that this can render a claim indefinite by raising a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Note also, for example, the decisions of Ex parte Steigewald, 131 USPQ 74 (Bd. App. 1961); Ex parte Hall, 83 USPQ 38 (Bd. App. 1948); and Ex parte Hasche, 86 USPQ 481 (Bd. App. 1949).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Liu et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0051900 (hereinafter referred to as Liu).
Regarding claims 1 and 27-30, Liu discloses a process for methanol coupled catalytic cracking reaction of naphtha using a modified ZSM-5 molecular sieve catalyst, comprising performing a co-feeding reaction of methanol and naphtha on the modified ZSM-5 molecular sieve catalyst to produce low carbon olefins and/or aromatic hydrocarbons. The modified ZSM-5, includes HZSM-5, molecular sieve catalyst comprises, in term of weight percent, 25-80 wt % of a ZSM-5 molecular sieve, 15-70 wt % of a binder, and 2.2-6.0 wt % of lanthanum and 1.0-2.8 wt % of phosphorus loaded on the ZSM-5 molecular sieve. The naphtha comprises 63.8-89.5 wt % of saturated chain alkanes and 5.6-29.8 wt % of cyclic alkanes. The naphtha and methanol concurrently pass through the catalyst bed, which are reacted during contacting with the catalyst under a reaction condition of a reaction temperature of 550-670°C, a mass ratio of methanol to naphtha of 0.05-0.8, and a total mass space velocity of naphtha and methanol of 1.0-5 h-1 (as recited in claim 1 and reads on claims 27-30) (see Abstract and see Tables 4 and 10 and Para. [0019]).
Liu further discloses the reaction raw material is converted to low carbon olefins and aromatic hydrocarbons through the modified ZSM-5 catalyzed methanol coupled naphtha catalytic cracking, wherein the low carbon olefins comprise ethylene, propylene, and butylenes, and the aromatic hydrocarbons comprise benzene, toluene, and xylenes.
A fluidized bed reaction device and a fixed bed reaction device are used to conduct the catalytic cracking of a saturated hydrocarbon raw material, wherein the fluidized bed comprising a fixed-fluidized bed and a circulating fluidized bed. In a fluidized bed reaction, the fluidized bed reactor is charged with a fluidized bed catalyst having a particle size in a range of 20 to 100 microns, and the catalyst is fluidized in the reactor. The co-fed naphtha and methanol raw material are added from the bottom of the reactor, while a diluting gas is introduced so as to reduce the partial pressure of the reaction materials and help the fluidization of the catalyst. The diluting gas may be an inert gas or steam, most preferably the steam. Naphtha, methanol, and the diluting gas may be mixed with the catalyst and may fluidize the catalyst in the reactor, and be converted into products such as low carbon olefins, aromatic hydrocarbons, and the like under the reaction condition. The reaction temperature ranges in 580 to 670°C, the reaction pressure is 0.1-0.3 MPa, and the mass space velocity of naphtha and methanol is 0.3-5 h-1.
In a fixed bed reaction, naphtha and methanol are co-fed together with steam into the reactor, and contacted with the fixed bed catalyst and reacted to produce low carbon olefins and aromatic hydrocarbons. The mass ratio between methanol and naphtha is 0.05-0.8, the ratio of the steam and the raw material (naphtha and methanol) is 0.1-0.5, the range of the reaction temperature is 560-670°C, the mass space velocity of naphtha is 0.3-5 h-1, the mass space velocity of methanol is 0.01-4 h-1, and the total mass space velocity of naphtha and methanol is 1.0-5 h-1. A modified ZSM-5 molecular sieve catalyst is applied to the methanol coupled naphtha catalytic cracking reaction. By the coupled reaction of methanol and naphtha on the catalyst, the reaction efficiency of naphtha cracking is improved, while the exothermic effect of the methanol conversion may also provide heat for the strong endothermic cracking reaction, reducing the reaction temperature, and solving the defects in the present olefin technologies such as high reaction temperature, high methane and coke yield, low raw material utilization, and so on, thus achieving the production of low carbon olefins under the condition of a relatively low reaction temperature, reducing the reaction energy consumption, improving the production efficiency of the low carbon olefins, while capable of co-producing aromatic hydrocarbons. In the methanol coupled naphtha catalytic cracking reaction catalyzed by the modified ZSM-5, the yield of ethylene is 10-25 wt%, the yield of propylene is 15-28 wt%, the yield of butylene is 5-15 wt%, the yield of BTX (benzene, toluene, and xylenes) is 4-20 wt%, wherein the producing ratio of ethylene and propylene in the product and the producing ratio of low carbon olefins (ethylene, propylene, and butylenes) and aromatic hydrocarbons may be adjusted by the active components of the modified catalyst and the operation conditions of the reaction (reaction temperature, space velocity, and water /oil ratio, and so on) (as recited in claims 1 and 30) (Para. [0022]-[0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al., Chinese Publication No. CN111233608A (hereinafter referred to as Zhao) in view of Wu, Chinese Publication No. CN1696083A (hereinafter referred to as Wu).
Regarding claims 1 and 27-30, Zhao discloses an apparatus used for a method for converting a raw material containing naphtha into low-carbon olefins and aromatic hydrocarbons (Para. [0039] and [0057] and see Figure 1). A raw material comprising naphtha enters a riser reactor 2 to come into contact with a catalyst, such as those recited in claims 28-29, a generated product and catalyst stream enters a fluidized-bed reactor expansion section 14 for separation, a product enters a product gas outlet pipeline, and the catalyst enters a fluidized-bed reactor reaction section 15; a raw material comprising naphtha or/and methanol enters the fluidized-bed reactor reaction section through a fluidized-bed reactor feed port 4 to react with the catalyst, a generated product enters the product gas outlet pipeline, the catalyst goes down into a fluidized-bed reactor steam stripping section 16 after steam stripping, the catalyst enters a regenerator 9 through a generation-pending inclined pipe 13 and a riser 20, and the regenerated catalyst enters the riser reactor 2 through a regenerator steam stripping section 19 and a regeneration inclined pipe 12; and product gas enters a separation system through the product gas outlet pipeline, so as to obtain a product comprising olefins, aromatic hydrocarbons and gasoline. Zhao further discloses fluidized-bed reactor conditions: the reaction temperature is the reaction pressure is 0.01 MPa based on gauge pressure, and the gas-phase linear velocity is1m/s (see embodiment l).
Zhao discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose a light hydrocarbon aromatization reactor instead of a naphtha riser cracking reactor wherein the device is used to fully utilize low-carbon alkanes to prepare aromatic hydrocarbons so as to reduce energy consumption as recited in claim 1.
Wu discloses a directional reaction catalytic cracking method for oxygen-free direct conversion of low-carbon alkanes (see claim 1 and figure). A preheated petroleum hydrocarbon raw material is injected into a first reactor to into contact and react with a thermal cracking catalyst from a first regenerator, oil and gas a carbon-deposit catalyst obtained after the reaction arc separated, and the oil gas obtained after the reaction are conveyed to a subsequent product separation system; and low-carbon alkanes obtained after separation are injected into a second reactor to come into contact and react with an aromatization catalyst from a second regenerator, so as to convert the low-carbon alkanes into aromatic hydrocarbons and hydrogen. Wu further discloses that BTX is mainly produced by means of naphtha reforming or steam cracking, and as the cost of naphtha is high, it is very attractive to produce BTX With Iow-value catalytic dry gas, Iow-carbon alkanes and rich natural gas (Page 2/Paragraph 2), and then discloses that Iow-carbon olefins obtained by means of a hydrocarbon catalytic reaction can be aromatized by means of a reaction in a riser, so that Iow-carbon olefin aromatization and a hydrocarbon oil catalytic conversion process are complementary in terms of heat, raw materials, etc., and precious petroleum resources are utilized to the maximum extent (Page 3/Paragraph 2). Wu further discloses that the low-carbon alkanes refer to a mixture of C1-5 alkanes, and are selected from; methane, ethane, propane, butane and pentane and a mixture of any two or more of isomers thereof; and the aromatization reaction conditions of the low-carbon alkanes in the second reactor are as follows: the reaction temperature is 500-750°C, the reaction pressure is 0.1-0.25 MPa, the weight ratio of the catalyst to the low-carbon alkanes is 10-25:1, and the reaction time is 5-30 seconds (see claims 3 and 10),Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wu in the device of Zhao in order for aromatizing low-carbon alkanes generated by an apparatus itself to produce an aromatic hydrocarbon product in order to reduce energy consumption.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Wu as applied to claims 1 and 27-30 above, and further in view of Ye et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0055014 (hereinafter referred to as Ye).
Regarding claims 2-7 and 18-26, Zhao/Yu disclose all the limitations discussed above but do not explicitly disclose the device configuration recited in claim 2.
Ye discloses a fast fluidized-bed reactor for preparing propylene and C4 hydrocarbons from oxygen-containing compounds (see Claim I and Para. [0033] and see Figure I), comprising: a reactor shell, one or more reactor feed distributors, a first reactor gas-solid separator a second reactor gas-solid separator, wherein an oxygen-containing compound may be methanol. Light fractions enter from the bottommost reactor feed distributor, the oxygen-containing compound enters from n reactor feed distributors respectively, a regenerated catalyst directly enters the bottom of a dense phase zone. Ye further discloses that light fractions enter from the bottommost reactor feed distributor, the oxygen-containing compound enters from n reactor distributors respectively, and because of the multi-stage feeding of oxygen-containing compounds, the case where most of the conversion reactions of the oxygen-containing compounds are completed in a small region of the lower part of the dense phase zone is avoided, so that the concentration of the oxygen-containing compounds is more uniform in most of the dense phase zone (Para. [0033]). Ye provides motivation for providing a plurality of feed distributors in a reactor and providing gas-solid separation devices as it is a use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-7 and 18-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 11-13, 17, 20-22, 25, 28, 32-33 of co-pending application No. 19/132,887. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '887 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore be obvious in light of the references discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771