DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 21, 23-24, 26, 29-30, 32, 38, and 40 are examined.
Claims 1-20, 22, 25, 27-28, 31, 33-37, and 39 are canceled.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, and 103 rejections in the previous action; therefore, the rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 24, “power-operated way” is interpreted as any form of using power or energy.
Claim Objections
Claim 21, 29, 40 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21, line 5 and 12 – “each crossbeam” should read “each crossbeam of the at least two crossbeams” for clarity in reciting to “at least two cross beams” in claim 21, line 3
Claim 29, line 3 – “the print heads of the plurality of print heads of a crossbeam on the crossbeam” should read “the print heads of the plurality of print heads of a crossbeam of the at least two crossbeams” for clarity in reciting to “at least two cross beams” in claim 21, line 3
Claim 38, line 4 – “each crossbeam” should read “each crossbeam of the at least two crossbeams” for clarity in reciting to “at least two cross beams” in claim 21, line 3
Claim 40, line 4 – “a component” should read “the component” to recite to “component” in claim 21, line 7
Claim 40, line 6 – “a crossbeam” should read “a crossbeam of the at least two crossbeams” for clarity in reciting to “at least two cross beams” in claim 21, line 3
Claim 40, line 7-8 – “a longitudinal distance” should read “the longitudinal distance” for clarity in reciting to “a longitudinal distance” in claim 21, line 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites “the plurality of print heads of a crossbeam on the crossbeam” in line 3. It is unclear which “crossbeam” is being recited by “the crossbeam” in line 3. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as “the print heads of the plurality of print heads of a crossbeam of the at least two crossbeams”
Claim 29 recites “the plurality of print heads of a crossbeam from the associated crossbeam” in line 4-5. It is unclear which “crossbeam” is being recited by “a crossbeam” and “the associated crossbeam”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as “the print heads of the plurality of print heads of the crossbeam”, reciting to “a crossbeam” in claim 29, line 3.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the associated crossbeam" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim recites “the associated crossbeam” before establishing “associated crossbeam”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23-24, 26, 29-30, 32, 38, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jecof (CN 106976229 A, an English machine translation is provided in this Office Action) in view of Bromberg (US 2022/0227127 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Jecof discloses a 3D printing device (¶ [0032] – 3D printing system) for additive manufacturing, the device comprising:
at least two crossbeams (¶ [0032] – plurality of printing stations 30, ¶ [0034] – a Y-axis elongated bracket 313 of each 30) extending along parallel transverse axes (FIG. 1 depicts 313 of each 30 extending in parallel traverse axes) and being adjustable in a longitudinal distance with respect to each other along a longitudinal axis (¶ [0034] – control X-axis displacement in X-axis long slide rail track 311, thereby controlling the printing of nozzles 33 in X-axis direction).
Annotated Jecof FIG. 1
wherein each crossbeam comprises a plurality of print heads arranged in a row (¶ [0034] – nozzles 33; FIG. 2 depicts 33 arranged in a row on 313) one beside each other along the transverse axis of the crossbeam (FIG. 2 depicts 33 are arranged one beside each other along 313) and via each one of the plurality of print heads a component can be additively manufactured (¶ [0034] – the printing material sprayed by 33; ¶ [0036] - printed to form complex 3D printed patterns)
Jecof does not disclose wherein at least one of a distance between individual print heads of the plurality of print heads of each crossbeam along the transverse axis of the crossbeam or a number of print heads of the plurality of print heads of each crossbeam is adjustable.
Bromberg discloses a printing assembly comprises a support bracket, a printing head, and a plurality of print heads (¶ [0149]). The printing head may include two or more rows of a plurality of print heads and one of which is movable relative to another row (¶ [0149]).
Bromberg disclose wherein at least one of a distance between individual print heads of the plurality of print heads of each crossbeam along the transverse axis of the crossbeam (¶ [0165] – print heads configured to slidably translate within the print head rows in a transverse direction) or a number of print heads of the plurality of print heads of each crossbeam is adjustable (¶ [0170] – independent movement of the print heads).
Jecof and Bromberg disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to printing with multiple print head rows. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the independent movement of print heads along the transverse direction of the row in Bromberg to the nozzles on the bracket in Jecof to provide improved printing resolution, dynamic material resolution adjustments, and dynamic build size adjustments (¶ [0135]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Jecof discloses the 3D printing device according to claim 21. Jecof discloses wherein the print heads of the plurality of print heads of a crossbeam of the at least two crossbeams are shiftably mounted on an associated crossbeam (¶ [0034] - each 313 is provided with a plurality of freely detachable nozzles 33; as they are detachable, they are shiftably mounted).
Bromberg also discloses each of the print heads include a coupling feature attached to an actuator (¶ [0165]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Jecof discloses the 3D printing device according to claim 21. Jecof discloses wherein the distance between the individual print heads along the transverse axis are adjustable in a power-operated way (¶ [0034] – Y-axis drive motor 315 to drive and control the printing of 33 in the Y-axis direction; as 313 would move from 315, all of 33 would move).
Bromberg also discloses actuators are configured to move the print heads upon actuation (¶ [0165]) and each of the print heads are movable independent of one another such that adjacent print heads may translate in opposite directions and/or at varying degrees relative to one another along the +/-Y direction (¶ [0170]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Jecof discloses the 3D printing device according to claim 21. Jecof discloses further comprising a longitudinal adjustment device including one or more motors (¶ [0034] – X-axis drive motor 314 control X-axis displacement in X-axis long slide rail track 311), and configured to adjust the longitudinal distance between that at least two crossbeams (¶ [0034] –control X-axis displacement, thereby controlling the printing of 33 in the X-axis direction).
Bromberg also discloses one row is movable relative to another row (¶ [0149]).
Regarding claim 29, modified Jecof discloses the 3D printing device according to claim 21. Jecof discloses further comprising a positioning system (Jecof ¶ [0034] – Y-axis drive motor 315 to drive and control the printing of 33 in the Y-axis direction; X-axis drive motor 314 control X-axis displacement in X-axis long slide rail track 311; Bromberg ¶ [0165] - actuators are configured to move the print heads) configured for positioning the print heads of the plurality of print heads of a crossbeam on the crossbeam (Bromberg ¶ [0165, 0170] – print heads configured to slidably translate within the print head rows in a transverse direction, independent movement of the print heads) and for removing print heads of the plurality of print heads of a crossbeam from the associated crossbeam (Jecof ¶ [0034] - freely detachable nozzles 33).
Regarding claim 30, modified Jecof discloses the 3D printing device according to claim 21. Jecof disclose further comprising at least one print bed (¶ [0032] – holders 40 laid on conveying device 20; ¶ [0035] – each 40 has base plate 41 supported by conveyor belt 21) arranged below the at least two crossbeams (FIG. 2 depicts 21 below 313).
Regarding claim 32, modified Jecof discloses the 3D printing device according to claim 30. Jecof discloses wherein the at least one print bed (¶ [0032] –conveying device 20) is adjustable with respect to the at least two crossbeams along the longitudinal axis (¶ [0032] – holders 40 transported by 20; FIG. 1 depicts 20 transports 40 in Y-axis with respect to 313).
Regarding claim 38, modified Jecof discloses the 3D printing device according to claim 21. Jecof discloses further comprising an electronic control unit (¶ [0032] – computer 70) configured to specify the longitudinal distance of the at least two crossbeams along the longitudinal axis (¶ [0032] – 70 controls the operation mechanism of the printing stations 30 to drive the printing nozzle to the corresponding position; ¶ [0034] –control X-axis displacement, thereby controlling the printing of 33 in the X-axis direction).
Regarding claim 40, Jecof discloses the 3D printing device according to claim 38.
Jecof discloses a positioning system including at least one motor (¶ [0034] – Y-axis drive motor 315; X-axis drive motor 314), wherein the electronic control unit (¶ [0032] – computer 70) is coupled with the positioning system of the 3D printing device (¶ [0034] –control X-axis displacement, thereby controlling the printing of 33 in the X-axis direction; control the printing of 33 in the Y-axis direction) and is configured to, in dependence on dimensions of a component to be manufactured (¶ [0032] – 70 controls the operation mechanism of the printing stations 30; ¶ [0036] - printed to form complex 3D printed patterns), control the at least one motor of the positioning system for adjusting at least one of positions of the print heads of the plurality of print heads of a crossbeam along the transverse axis (¶ [0032] – to drive the printing nozzle to the corresponding position; ¶ [0034] – controlling the printing of 33 in the X-axis direction) and a longitudinal distance of the at least two crossbeams along the longitudinal axis (¶ [0034] – control the printing of 33 in the Y-axis direction).
Bromberg also discloses a control system communicatively coupled to the first actuator assembly and second actuator assembly (printing head position control assembly) (¶ [0151]). Bromberg also discloses actuators are configured to move the print heads upon actuation (¶ [0165]) and each of the print heads are movable independent of one another such that adjacent print heads may translate in opposite directions and/or at varying degrees relative to one another along the +/-Y direction (¶ [0170]). Bromberg also discloses one row is movable relative to another row (¶ [0149]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Jecof does not disclose at least two crossbeams extending along parallel transverse axes whose longitudinal distance with respect to each other is adjustable along a longitudinal axis and that separate printing stations are not the equivalent to a plurality of “print heads” within a single device.
Examiner respectively disagrees.
Jecof discloses a 3D printing system includes plurality of printing stations 30 (¶ [0032] where each 30 has a Y-axis elongated bracket 313 (¶ [0034]). X-axis displacement is controlled in X-axis long slide rail track 311, thereby controlling the printing of nozzles 33 in X-axis direction (¶ [0034]). Therefore, the claimed device is met by the entire 3D printing system including the plurality of printing stations as interpreted above, and is not limited to the individual stations argued by Applicant’s interpretation.
Regarding the limitation “at least two crossbeams extending along parallel transverse axes”, see annotated Fig. 1 above, which depicts the bracket 313 of each 30 extends along parallel traverse axes.
Regarding the limitation “longitudinal distance with respect to each other is adjustable”, Jecof discloses X-axis displacement is controlled in X-axis long slide rail track 311, thereby controlling the printing of nozzles 33 in X-axis direction (¶ [0034]). Although Jecof discloses the printing stations are arranged at predetermined distance from each other in ¶ [0034], as Jecof discloses controlling the printing of nozzles 33 in X-axis direction to thereby control the printing of 33 in the X-axis direction (¶ [0034]) to drive the printing nozzle to the corresponding position (¶ [0032]). Therefore, as one or multiple of the x-axis displacements move the bracket 313 along the X-axis direction, the 313 of each station 30 would move along the X-axis direction with respect to each other and the space between the 313 of each 30 (longitudinal distance) would be adjusted.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues a person of ordinary skill would not have modified Jecof’s printing stations using Gifford.
The argument is addressed by the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 40, necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754