Detailed Action
This communication is in response to the application and preliminary amendment filed 9/13/2024.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17 are pending. Claims 3-4, 6-7, 9, 13, 16, and 18-27 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 15, and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 5, 8, 12, 15, and 17, the phrases "preferably”, “more preferably, and “even more preferably" render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "wherein the fluidized bed regenerator sequentially passes through a regenerator stripper. . . . ." in line 5. The limitation of the regenerator passing through a regenerator stripper is unclear and thus indefinite.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "wherein the fluidized bed reactor sequentially passes through a reactor stripper. . . . ." in line 2. The limitation of the reactor passing through a reactor stripper is unclear and thus indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102-103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis (US 3928172).
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Davis (US 3928172).
In the rejections below, each phrase following preferably, more preferably, even more preferably, is considered optional and not required by the claim. Therefore the limitations are not all discussed herein.
With respect to claim 1, Davis (see Figure III reproduced below) teaches a device for preparing aromatic hydrocarbons (“separating the product of said heavy naphtha fraction cracking operation in a zone separate from the gas oil product separation under conditions to recover gasoline boiling range material rich in aromatics and lighter hydrocarbon”, see claim 1) from naphtha (73), wherein the device comprises a fluidized bed reactor (67) and a riser reactor (53). Davis, Figure III. An outlet of the riser reactor is connected to the fluidized bed reactor. Id. at Figure III and col. 15, lines 68-col. 16, lines 6 (“Catalyst particles separated by cyclonic means 57 and 59 are conveyed to a dense fluid bed of catalyst 67 by diplegs 69 and 71. A virgin naphtha fraction is introduced to the collected bed of catalyst discharged from riser 53 by conduit 73 for conversion thereof to higher octane product and olefin constituents as described above.”).
With respect to the remaining limitations of the claim the first is intended use (“the fluidized bed reactor is used for . . . “) and the remaining are process limitations treating the product gas stream downstream of the reactor. Given claim 1 is a device claim, neither of the limitations provide any patentable weight to claim 1, directed to the device.
US 3928172 to Davis, Jr.
With respect to claim 2, Davis teaches inlets for introducing feed and catalyst into the riser reactor. Id. at Figure III (see items 51 and 55 entering riser). The outlet of the riser is fluidly connected to the inlet of the fluidized bed for passing the effluent from the riser to the fluidized bed. Id. (see items 57 59 where riser discharges in fluidized bed reactor through cyclones). Similar to claim 1, the limitations of claim 2 are written as intended use and method limitations.
With respect to claim 5, Davis teaches wherein an inlet of the riser reactor is connected with a fluidized bed regenerator. Id. (see 51 flowing regenerated catalyst to riser through a secondary cracking zone). The catalyst introduced into the riser reactor is a regenerated catalyst generated by the fluidized bed regenerator and passed through intermediate bed.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Davis exemplified in Figures I and II that the third reactor may be eliminated and the regenerator connected directly to the riser through a regenerated catalyst line as an alternative embodiment wherein a third cracking step for cracking gasoline feed were not desired. Elimination of the intermediate reactor and corresponding function would have been obvious where a gasoline stream cracking process was not desired and the remaining two reactors would still operate as intended.
With respect to claim 8, Davis teaches wherein the fluidized bed reactor 67 comprises a reactor shell, an area enclosed by the reactor shell is divided into a first gas-solid separation zone (see area above catalyst bed with 57 and 59) and a reaction zone (67) from top to bottom. Id. at Figure III. A gas-solid separation device (57 59) and a reactor gas collection chamber (65) are provided in the first gas-solid separation zone. Id. The reactor gas collection chamber (65) is located on an inner top portion of the reactor shell and an inlet of the reactor gas collection chamber is communicated with a gas outlet (89 91) of a reactor gas-solid separation device (81 83). Id. An outlet of the reactor gas collection chamber (65) is communicated with a product gas conveying pipe (54) . Id. A reactor distributor is provided on a lower portion of the reaction zone (67) for introducing the naphtha raw material (73 V. Naphtha). Id.
With respect to claim 10, Davis teaches a fluidized bed regenerator (99) connected with the fluidized bed reactor (67) through pipe (79). Id. The fluidized bed regenerator is used for introducing regeneration gas (103 duplicate number) to convert the spent catalyst into a regenerated catalyst. Id.
With respect to claim 11, Davis teaches the catalyst from the fluidized bed reactor sequentially passes through a reactor stripper (75), a spent slide valve (97) and a spent agent conveying pipe to be connected with a fluidized bed regenerator (95 and 101). Id. An inlet of the reactor stripper 75 extends into the fluidized bed reactor shell and is located below a catalyst outlet end of the reactor gas-solid separation device. Id.
With respect to claim 12, Davis teaches wherein the fluidized bed regenerator comprises a regenerator shell, and an area enclosed by the regenerator shell is divided into a second gas-solid separation zone (above riser outlet) and a regeneration zone (riser 95 and dense bed 101) from top to bottom. Id. The regenerator gas-solid separation device (plate and 103 105) and a regenerator gas collection chamber (115) are provided in the second gas-solid separation zone. Id. The regenerator gas collection chamber (115) is located on an inner top portion of the regenerator shell and a flue gas conveying pipe (117) is provided on the regenerator gas collection chamber (99). Id. A gas outlet (111 113) of the regenerator gas-solid separation device (103 105) is communicated with the regenerator gas collection chamber (115). Id. A regenerator distributor (after 103) is arranged on an inner lower portion of the regeneration zone (99) for introducing regeneration gas (103). Id.
With respect to claim 14, Davis teaches a method comprising reacting a hydrocarbon such as gas oil in a riser reactor with a catalyst. Id. at col. 15-16. The reactor effluent is discharged to a fluidized bed reactor, reacted with additional naphtha feed to produce aromatic hydrocarbons. Id.
With respect to claim 17, Davis teaches a virgin naphtha enters a reaction zone of the fluidized bed reactor through a reactor distributor to make contact with the catalyst from the riser reactor to generate a product gas stream. Id. at Figure III; col. 15, lines 31+. The catalyst acquires coke and would be considered spent. Id. at col. 16, lines 32-34. The catalyst is stripped for transfer to the regeneration operation. Id. at col. 16. Product gas stream to enter a reactor gas-solid separation device to remove a spent catalyst contained in the product gas stream. Id. at col. 16, lines 14+. The product gases enter gas collection chamber and enter a downstream working section through a product gas conveying pipe. Id. at col. 16, lines 18+. The riser effluent (which would include unreacted riser reactor raw material, product aromatic hydrocarbons and the catalyst) to enter the fluidized bed reactor from the outlet of the riser reactor. Id. at Figure III; col. 15, lines 65+.The flue gas enters a regenerator gas-solid separation device to remove a regenerated catalyst contained in the flue gas, then enters a regenerator gas collection chamber, and enters the downstream working section through the flue gas conveying pipe. Id. at Figure III, col. 16, lines 23-42.
With respect to the product gas, Davis teaches producing a product comprising C4-, including propylene and butene (Table II), and which is expected to also include ethane, propane, ethylene; dry gas; aromatics. Davis does expressly teach wherein the aromatics includes BTX and heavy aromatics having carbon greater than 9, unconverted naphtha, hydrogen and methane and carbon monoxide. However, the same reactions with the same feeds are taking place over zeolite based catalysts and produce the same range of products. While the specific concentration of each may vary by process conditions and feed, it is expected that the same BTX, C9+ aromatics, and other components would be present in the reaction effluent.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis as applied to claim 14, further in view of Long (US 2009/0288985).
With respect to claim 15, Davis teaches wherein the catalyst is e.g. ZSM-5 or zeolite Y (col. 3 – col. 4, lines 6; see also col. 16. Iines 43+), which are molecular sieve catalyst. Davis is silent regarding metal bifunctional catalysts. However, such catalysts are well known in the art of fluidized cracking.
Long, directed to FCC processes for producing aromatics and olefins, teaches catalyst cracking catalyst known for carrying out the desired reactions to aromatics and olefins. Long, at [0031]-[0036]. The catalyst is preferably a zeolite such as ZSM-5 or Y zeolite. “The intermediate pore size zeolite is selected from ZSM series zeolites and/or ZRP zeolites, or ZSM and ZRP zeolites modified with nonmetal elements such as phosphor and/or transition metal elements such as iron, cobalt, and nickel.” Id.
Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select as the catalyst of Davis a known FCC catalyst for producing olefins and aromatics as taught in Long because both are directed to FCC processes for converting hydrocarbon feed to aromatics and light olefins, Long teaches catalyst known for such process, and it is obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 19/132,862. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims merely overlap in scope and the copending claims recite an additional reactor/reaction step not required by but not excluded by the instant application.
Claim 1-2, 5, 8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, 16-17, 20, 22-23 and 30 of copending Application No. 19/132,867 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims teach the same apparatus and process with overlapping scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/BRANDI M DOYLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1771