DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12, 14-15 and 18-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 2/4/2026 and 5/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-12, 14-16, 20-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,726,874) in view of Habib et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0237836).
Referring to claim 1, Smith discloses acquiring performance information and interaction information in a live streaming channel (see Column 11, Lines 56-65 and step 403 in Figure 4 for acquiring performance information in the form of metadata that includes content length (playback time) and segment breaks, wherein interaction information is acquired in the form of recording types associated with particular segments (e.g. where at least one user may record a vocal solo, duet, chorus, etc., within a given segment)).
Smith also discloses acquiring a target video template (see step 404 in Figure 4 and Column 12, Lines 11-21).
Smith also discloses generating, based on the performance information and the interaction information, a target video by using the target video template (see steps 406-408 in Figure 4 and Column 12, Line 52 through Column 13, Line 2).
Smith fails to teach that the interaction information is generated by viewer interactions in real-time during live streaming.
Habib discloses interaction information is generated by viewer interactions in real-time during live streaming, which is used to provide an updated template for a user interface (see Paragraph 0076).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the live streaming system, as taught by Smith, using the real-time user interface adjustment functionality, as taught by Habib, for the purpose of providing increased flexibility for visual inputs in the video stream (see the bottom of Paragraph 0002 of Habib).
Referring to claim 2, Smith also discloses wherein the acquiring performance information and interaction information in a live streaming channel, comprises:
acquiring a target performance segment corresponding to the live streaming channel (see Column 12, Lines 53-55 for acquiring a structural element, wherein a structure element is defined at Column 12, Lines 28-36 as a segment of the live streaming channel (see Column 4, Line 64 through Column 5, Line 2));
and taking performance information corresponding to the target performance segment as the performance information and taking interaction information corresponding to the target performance segment as the interaction information in the live streaming channel (see Column 12, Lines 53-55 for using the applicable parameter of the first template with at least part of the first metadata), wherein the target performance segment is a performance segment with a performance score greater than a preset threshold corresponding to the live streaming channel (see Column 3, Lines 12-32, Column 6, Lines 21-40 and Column 7, Lines 15-37).
Referring to claim 4, Smith also discloses that the acquiring a target video template comprises: in response to a template acquisition request, displaying one or more candidate video templates; and in response to a selection operation for any candidate video template in the one or more candidate video templates, taking the selected candidate video template as the target video template (see Column 9, Lines 30-60).
Referring to claim 5, Smith also discloses determining one or more video templates with a matching degree with the performance information and the interaction information in the live streaming channel greater than a specified threshold as the one or more candidate video templates (see Column 9, Lines 30-37).
Referring to claim 6, Smith also discloses that the target video comprises a plurality of performance videos, and the video generation method further comprises: displaying video identifications corresponding to the plurality of performance videos (see Column 3, Lines 50-62 and Column 7, Lines 15-37).
Referring to claim 7, Smith also discloses that in response to a save operation for a target performance video corresponding to a target video identification, saving the target performance video (see Column 7, Lines 57-62).
Referring to claim 10, Smith also discloses wherein the generating, based on the performance information and the interaction information, a target video by using the target video template, comprises:
in response to a video editing operation, displaying a video editing interface (see Column 9, Lines 38-49);
acquiring a display parameter of the performance information and generating the target video by using the target video template based on a display parameter of the performance information (see Column 9, Line 61 through Column 10, Line 21).
Referring to claim 11, Smith also discloses that the acquiring a display parameter of the performance information in response to an input operation for the video editing interface, comprises:
in response to a trigger operation on a lyric style button of the video editing interface, displaying, in the video editing interface, all lyric styles corresponding to lyrics; and in response to a selection operation on a lyric style, replacing a current lyric style with the selected lyric style (see Column 3, Lines 50-62, steps 504-508 in Figure 5 and Column 14, Lines 8-16).
Referring to claim 12, Smith also discloses generating, based on the performance information and the interaction information, a target video by using the target video template, comprises: filling the performance information and the interaction information in the live streaming channel into a specified position of the target video template to obtain the target video (see Column 12, Lines 28-36 and Column 12, Lines 52-66).
Referring to claims 14-15, see the rejection of claim 1.
Referring to claims 16 and 21, see the rejection of claim 2.
Referring to claims 20 and 23, see the rejection of claim 4.
Claims 3, 8-9, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,726,874) in view of Habib et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0237836) in further view of Kikkawa et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0212531).
Referring to claim 3, Smith discloses all of the limitations in claim 1, but fails to teach that in response to a recording operation for the live streaming channel, sending a recording request in the live streaming channel to a server, to send the recording request to a streamer client through the server and in response to the streamer client passing the recording request, acquiring a recording segment as the performance segment.
Kikkawa discloses that in response to a recording operation for the live streaming channel, sending a recording request in the live streaming channel to a server, to send the recording request to a streamer client through the server and in response to the streamer client passing the recording request, acquiring a recording segment as the performance segment (see Figure 19 and Paragraphs 0409-0419).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the live streaming system, as taught by Smith and Habib, using the recording functionality, as taught by Kikkawa, for the purpose of lessening the processing burden of the client (see Paragraph 0413 of Kikkawa).
Referring to claim 8, Smith and Habib discloses all of the limitations in claim 1, but fails to teach in response to a link adding operation, adding a link of the live streaming channel into the target video, to display the link in a playing process of the target video.
Kikkawa discloses in response to a link adding operation, adding a link of the live streaming channel into the target video, to display the link in a playing process of the target video (see Paragraphs 0008 and 0137).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the live streaming system, as taught by Smith and Habib, using the link functionality, as taught by Kikkawa, for the purpose of lessening the processing burden of the client (see Paragraph 0413 of Kikkawa).
Claim 9 corresponds to claim 8, wherein Smith discloses that in response to a trigger operation on the link, displaying a live interface corresponding to the live streaming channel (see Paragraph 0152).
Referring to claims 19 and 22, see the rejection of claim 3.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jason Salce/Senior Examiner, Art Unit 2421
Jason P Salce
Senior Examiner
Art Unit 2421
July 8, 2026