Claim Interpretation
Claims 4, 6-7, and 12 recite “in response to”. Each of the “in response to” clauses indicates that the associated limitations occur only when the criteria of these clauses are met. However, the present claims never affirmatively require such events to occur. The broadest reasonable interpretation of these limitations does not require these conditional steps to be performed. See Ex parte Schulhauser, 2013-007847 (PTAB 2016) (precedential) (MPEP 2111.04 II) where the board held that when method steps are to be carried out only upon the occurrence of a condition precedent, the broadest reasonable interpretation holds that those steps are not required to be performed. As such, the limitations followed by “in response to” clauses do not appear to have patentable weight since they are contingent upon a condition occurring.
Examiner suggests positively reciting the criteria occurring prior to each of the “in response to” clauses. For example, for claim 4 amending the claim to “determining that the capability information indicates that the UE supports the enhanced RRM requirement; acquiring, in response to the determining that the capability information indicates that the UE supports the enhanced RRM requirement”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16, 19, 20, 25, and 26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As to claims 1 and 19
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
For claim 1, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 19, Yes, the claim is to a machine.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “acquiring… information sent by network side device” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
No, the limitations “performed by a user device (UE)… sent by a network side device”, “memory”, and “processor” are additional element that amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer in its ordinary capacity as a tool to perform an existing process. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(f)(2).
No, the limitation “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication, wherein the RRM requirement enhancement indication information is configured to indicate an enhanced RRM requirement required to be met in a process that the UE performs RRM measurement” is an additional element that generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(h).
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
No, the limitations “performed by a user device (UE)… sent by a network side device” and the limitation “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication, wherein the RRM requirement enhancement indication information is configured to indicate an enhanced RRM requirement required to be met in a process that the UE performs RRM measurement” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0057]-[0058], “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
As to claims 9 and 20
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
For claim 9, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 20, Yes, the claim is to a machine.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “sending … information to a UE” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) (e.g. “receive, screen and distribute email”).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
No, the limitations “performed by a network side device” are additional element that amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer in its ordinary capacity as a tool to perform an existing process. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(f)(2).
No, the limitation “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication, wherein the RRM requirement enhancement indication information is configured to indicate an enhanced RRM requirement required to be met in a process that the UE performs RRM measurement” is an additional element that generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(h).
No, the limitations “memory is configured to store a computer program; and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory” are additional element that amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer in its ordinary capacity as a tool to perform an existing process. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(f)(2).
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
No, the limitations “performed by a network side device” and the limitation “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication, wherein the RRM requirement enhancement indication information is configured to indicate an enhanced RRM requirement required to be met in a process that the UE performs RRM measurement” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0057]-[0058], “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
No, the limitations “memory is configured to store a computer program; and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to implement the method” are additional element that amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer in its ordinary capacity as a tool to perform an existing process. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(f)(2).
As to claims 2, 10, and 25
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
For claim 2, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 10, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 25, Yes, the claim is to a machine.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “wherein the enhanced RRM requirement is stricter than an unenhanced RRM requirement” is a continuation of the “acquiring… information sent by network side device” limitation identified as an abstract idea in the parent claim.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
No, all elements are part of a continuation of the “acquiring… information sent by network side device” limitation identified as an abstract idea in the parent claim.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
No, all elements are part of a continuation of the “acquiring… information sent by network side device” limitation identified as an abstract idea in the parent claim.
As to claims 3, 11 and 26
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
For claim 3, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 11, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 26, Yes, the claim is to a machine.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “sending … information to the network side device” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) (e.g. “receive, screen and distribute email”).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
No, the limitation “the capability information is configured to indicate whether the UE supports the enhanced RRM requirement” is an additional element that generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(h).
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
No, the limitations “sending… to the a network side device” the limitation “the capability information is configured to indicate whether the UE supports the enhanced RRM requirement” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0057]-[0058], [0091] “capability information” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
As to claims 4 and 12
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
For claim 4, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 12, Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “acquiring… information sent by network side device” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Yes, the limitation “sending … information to the UE” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
No, the limitation “in response to that the capability information indicates that the UE supports the enhanced RRM requirement, the RRM requirement enhancement indication information sent by the network side device.” is an additional element that generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(h).
No, the limitation “when the capability information indicates that the UE supports the enhanced RRM requirement, the RRM requirement enhancement indication information to the UE.” is an additional element that generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(h).
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
No, the limitations “sending … information to the UE” the limitation “the capability information is configured to indicate whether the UE supports the enhanced RRM requirement” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0057]-[0058], [0091] “capability information” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
No, the limitations “acquiring… information sent by network side device” the limitation “the capability information is configured to indicate whether the UE supports the enhanced RRM requirement” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0057]-[0058], [0091] “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication” and “capability information” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
As to claims 5 and 13
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
For claim 5, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 13, Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “the enhanced RRM requirement comprises at least one of following: an enhanced mobility requirement for the UE in a non-connected state; an enhanced mobility requirement for the UE in a connected state; an enhanced cell activation latency requirement; an enhanced cell deactivation latency requirement; or an enhanced beam management requirement” is a continuation of the “acquiring… information sent by network side device” limitation identified as an abstract idea in the parent claim.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
No, all elements are part of a continuation of the “acquiring… information sent by network side device” limitation identified as an abstract idea in the parent claim.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
No, all elements are part of a continuation of the “acquiring… information sent by network side device” limitation identified as an abstract idea in the parent claim.
As to claims 6 and 14
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
For claim 6, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 14, Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “acquiring… information sent by network side device” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Yes, the limitation “sending … information to the UE” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
No, the limitation “the UE is in a non-connected state, the RRM requirement enhancement indication information… through a System Information Block (SIB) message.” is an additional element that generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(h).
No, the limitation “the RRM requirement enhancement indication information… a System Information Block (SIB) message.” is an additional element that generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(h).
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
No, the limitation “sending the RRM requirement enhancement indication information to the UE in a non-connected state through a System Information Block (SIB) message.” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0161]-[0162], [0057]-[0058], [0091] “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
No, the limitation “acquiring, in response to that the UE is in a non-connected state, the RRM requirement enhancement indication information sent by the network side device through a System Information Block (SIB) message.” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0161]-[0162], [0057]-[0058], [0091] “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
As to claims 7 and 15
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
For claim 7, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 15, Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “acquiring… information sent by network side device” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Yes, the limitation “sending … information to the network side device” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
No, the limitation “the RRM requirement enhancement indication information… through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.” is an additional element that generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(h).
No, the limitation “the RRM requirement enhancement indication information… through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.” is an additional element that generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(h).
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
No, the limitation “sending the RRM requirement enhancement indication information to the UE in a connected state through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0163], [0057]-[0058], [0091] “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
No, the limitations “acquiring, in response to that the UE is in a connected state, the RRM requirement enhancement indication information sent by the network side device through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0184] – [0185], [0057]-[0058], [0091] “Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
As to claims 8 and 16
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
For claim 8, Yes, the claim is to a process.
For claim 16, Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “sending the capability information to the network side device” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Yes, the limitation “receiving the capability information sent by the UE” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
No, the limitation “MeasAndMobParameters… or… IE MeasAndMobParametersMRDC” is an additional element that generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(h).
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
No, the limitations “sending the capability information to the network side device through IE MeasAndMobParameters;” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0057]-[0058], [0091], [0166]-[0165] “capability information” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
No, the limitation “receiving the capability information sent by the UE through IE MeasAndMobParameters; or receiving the capability information sent by the UE through IE MeasAndMobParametersMRDC.” is directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network which the courts have recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional since according to applicant’s specification paragraph [0057]-[0058], [0091], [0142]-[0144] “capability information” can be “duration” of time, (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5,7, 9-10, 13, 15, 19-20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 20220053350 A1 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches
A method for measurement indication, performed by a user device (UE), comprising:
acquiring Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication information sent by a network side device, wherein the RRM requirement enhancement indication information is configured to indicate an enhanced RRM requirement required to be met in a process that the UE performs RRM measurement.
("a terminal device 11 and a network-side device 12 are included. The terminal 11 and the network-side device 12 may communicate with each other. In the embodiments of this disclosure, the terminal 11 may also be referred to as user equipment (UE). In actual implementation, the terminal 11 may be a terminal-side device such as a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a mobile Internet device (MID), a wearable device or an in-vehicle device. It should be noted that a specific type of the terminal 11 is not limited in the embodiments of this disclosure. The network-side device 12 may be a base station, a relay, or an access point."[0031 -0033] "Obtain at least one radio resource management RRM measurement threshold. In practical application, optionally, the obtaining at least one RRM measurement threshold includes: receiving configuration information sent by a network-side device, where the configuration information is used to configure at least one RRM measurement threshold." [0049 -0051] "the adjusting RRM measurement based on an RRM measurement result for a local cell of the terminal and the at least one RRM measurement threshold." [0096 ] " enhancing RRM measurement in a case that the comparison result satisfies a second condition." [0098])
Regarding claim 2, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Chen teaches
wherein the enhanced RRM requirement is stricter than an unenhanced RRM requirement.
("the enhancing RRM measurement includes at least one of the following: shortening a period of RRM measurement; increasing the number of samples for RRM measurement; increasing the number of times of RRM measurement; increasing the number of cells for RRM measurement; increasing the number of beams for RRM measurement; increasing the number of reference signals for RRM measurement; increasing the number of frequencies for RRM measurement; and using an additional reference signal and a first reference signal for RRM measurement." [0084-0092]"the terminal may perform RRM measurement based on a normal measurement configuration and a measurement requirement, or the terminal may enhance RRM measurement."[0101])
Regarding claim 5, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above.
wherein the enhanced RRM requirement comprises at least one of following: an enhanced mobility requirement for the UE in a non-connected state; wherein the enhanced RRM requirement comprises at least one of following: an enhanced mobility requirement for the UE (the terminal) in a non-connected state; an enhanced mobility requirement for the UE in a connected state; an enhanced cell activation latency requirement; an enhanced cell deactivation latency requirement; or an enhanced beam management requirement.
The enhanced RRM requirement compromising “at least one of” language requires anticipation of only a single listed
type. Chen teaches a method wherein the enhanced RRM requirement compromises an enhanced beam management requirement.
(“the terminal may compare the RRM measurement result for the local cell of the terminal with the at least one RRM measurement threshold, and then determine, based on a comparison result, whether to adjust the RRM measurement… RRM measurement may be cell or beam measurement…beam measurement may be implemented as: measurement performed on a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or other reference signals."[0064 -0067])
Regarding claim 7, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Chen teaches
wherein acquiring the RRM requirement enhancement indication information sent by the network side device comprises: acquiring, in response to that the UE is in a connected state, the RRM requirement enhancement indication information sent by the network side device through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.
(" receiving configuration information sent by a network-side device, where the configuration information is used to configure at least one RRM measurement threshold."[0051]" in a case that the terminal is in a connected state, that is, the terminal is a connected-state terminal, the configuration information may be transmitted by using a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated message or a broadcast message"[0052])
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches
A method for measurement indication, performed by a network side device, comprising: sending Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirement enhancement indication information to a UE, wherein the RRM requirement enhancement indication information is configured to indicate an enhanced RRM requirement required to be met in a process that the UE performs RRM measurement.
("The configuration method in this embodiment of this disclosure can be applied to a network-side device."[0036]" a transmitting module 501, configured to send configuration information, where the configuration information is used to configure at least one RRM measurement threshold, and the at least one RRM measurement threshold is used to adjust RRM measurement."[0298]"the adjusting RRM measurement may be specifically implemented as: relaxing RRM measurement or enhancing RRM measurement."[0103])
Regarding claim 10, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Chen teaches
wherein the enhanced RRM requirement is stricter than an unenhanced RRM requirement.
("the enhancing RRM measurement includes at least one of the following: shortening a period of RRM measurement; increasing the number of samples for RRM measurement; increasing the number of times of RRM measurement; increasing the number of cells for RRM measurement; increasing the number of beams for RRM measurement; increasing the number of reference signals for RRM measurement; increasing the number of frequencies for RRM measurement; and using an additional reference signal and a first reference signal for RRM measurement." [0084-0092]"the terminal may perform RRM measurement based on a normal measurement configuration and a measurement requirement, or the terminal may enhance RRM measurement."[0101])
Regarding claim 13, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above.
wherein the enhanced RRM requirement comprises at least one of following: an enhanced mobility requirement for the UE in a non-connected state; an enhanced mobility requirement for the UE (the terminal ) in a connected state; an enhanced cell activation latency requirement; an enhanced cell deactivation latency requirement; or an enhanced beam management requirement.
The enhanced RRM requirement compromising “at least one of” language requires anticipation of only a single listed type. Chen teaches a method wherein the enhanced RRM requirement compromises an enhanced beam management requirement.
(“the terminal may compare the RRM measurement result for the local cell of the terminal with the at least one RRM measurement threshold, and then determine, based on a comparison result, whether to adjust the RRM measurement… RRM measurement may be cell or beam measurement…beam measurement may be implemented as: measurement performed on a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or other reference signals."[0064 -0067])
Regarding claim 15, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above.
Chen teaches wherein sending the RRM requirement enhancement indication information to the UE (the terminal) comprises: sending the RRM requirement enhancement indication information to the UE (the terminal) in a connected state through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.
(" in a case that the terminal is in a connected state, that is, the terminal is a connected-state terminal, the configuration information may be transmitted by using a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated message or a broadcast message"[0052])
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 reflects an apparatus comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale. ("provides a terminal, where the terminal includes a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor. When the computer program is executed by the processor, the steps of the measurement method described above are implemented."[0017])
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches
A communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to implement the method according to claim 9.
("provides a terminal, where the terminal includes a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor. When the computer program is executed by the processor, the steps of the measurement method described above are implemented."[0017])
Regarding claim 25, limitations of parent claim 19 have been discussed above. Claim 25 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 2 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 6, 8, 11-12, 14, 16, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in further view of Yiu et al. US 20220046454 A1 (hereinafter Yiu).
Regarding claim 3, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above.
Yiu teaches sending capability information to the network side device, wherein the capability information is configured to indicate whether the UE supports the enhanced RRM requirement.
(" generating a message that includes an information element (IE) to indicate a capability of the UE to support multiple MGs. This message may be generated prior to any MG configuration configured and/or transmitted by the AN 110. The message may further include the number of MGs that the UE 105 supports, the enumerated MGs that the UE 105 supports, and/or like information regarding the capability of supporting multiple MGs. For example, The UE 105 may send the message along with other UE capability information, including but not limited to supporting band combinations, needed MG(s), and needs for gap capability information. Further details regarding the message can be found in descriptions with respect to FIGS. 5A/5B." [0081]" The UE 105 may generate a message to indicate the MG preferences and transmit the message to the AN 110 so that the AN 110 may configure one or more MGs based on UE's preferences to respective MGs." [0085]"The IE MeasAndMobParameters is used to convey UE capabilities related to measurements for radio resource management (RRM), radio link monitoring (RLM), and mobility (e.g. handover)."[0065])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Yiu. Chen teaches enhanced RRM measurement configuration, While Yiu teaches UE capability signaling for measurement related functions. Both references are analogous art because they relate to network controlled UE measurement configuration. It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Chen and Yiu so that the network receives UE information before applying enhanced RRM measurement configuration. The combination would allow the network to determine whether the UE supports the enhanced measurement behavior and avoid configuring unsupported measurement features.
Regarding claim 4, limitations of parent claim 3 have been discussed above.
Chen teaches wherein acquiring the RRM requirement enhancement indication information sent by the network side device comprises: acquiring, in response to
(“ receive configuration information sent by a network-side device, where the configuration information is used to configure at least one RRM measurement threshold.”[0294])
Chen does not explicitly disclose acquiring, in response to that the capability information indicates that the UE supports …sent by the network side device. However, Yiu discloses the capability information indicates that the UE supports …sent by the network side device.
“generating a message that includes an information element (IE) to indicate a capability of the UE" [0081] "once the AN 110 collects the UE capability information, the AN 110 may determine and generate a measurement configuration based on the UE capability information and other network conditions. The measurement configuration may include an MG configuration and an MO configuration. The MG configuration may include one or more MGs configured to the UE 105. The MO configuration may include one or more MOs that are assigned to UE to measure. The MOs may indicate respective frequencies and/or SCSs with respect to the measurements. The AN 110 may transmit the measurement configuration to the UE 105." [0075])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Yiu. Chen teaches enhanced RRM measurement configuration, While Yiu teaches capability based measurement configuration. Both references are analogous art because they relate to network controlled UE measurement configuration. It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Chen and Yiu so that enhanced RRM measurement configuration is provided based on the UE's reported capabilities. The combination would ensure that enhanced measurement behavior is configured only for UEs capable of supporting the requested functionality.
Regarding claim 6, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Chen teaches
wherein acquiring the RRM requirement enhancement indication information sent by the network side device comprises: acquiring, in response to that the UE is in a non-connected state, the RRM requirement enhancement indication information sent by the network side device
(" receiving configuration information sent by a network-side device, where the configuration information is used to configure at least one RRM measurement threshold."[0051] " In a case that the terminal is in an idle state or an inactive state, that is, the terminal is an idle-state terminal or an inactive-state terminal, the configuration information may be transmitted by using an RRC release message, an RRC suspend message, or a broadcast message, which is not limited thereto."[0053])
Chen teaches does not explicitly disclose information sent by the network side device through a System Information Block (SIB) message.
However, Yiu teaches information sent by the network side device through a System Information Block (SIB) message.
( “UE 105 may determine or generate its capability information based on a message received from the AN 100. That message may indicate certain information regarding MG configuration. For example, the message by the AN may notify the UE 105 of a maximum number of MGs that the AN may support, and/or potential serving band(s) and band combination(s) that the AN may schedule to use for the UE 105. Such a message may be transmitted via dedicated signaling (e.g., RRC) or broadcasting (e.g., SIB and PBCH).” [0084])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Yiu. Chen teaches enhanced RRM measurement configuration, While Yiu teaches that network messages may be broadcasted using System information (SIB). Both references are analogues art because they concern network signaling of UE measurement related information in wireless communication systems. It would have been obvious to use Yiu’s standardize SIB broadcast mechanisms to convey Chen’s RRM measurement configuration information to non-connected UEs. The combination would provide an efficient and predictable way for the network to send, and for the UE to receive, the RRM enhancement information without first establishing dedicated connected-mode signaling.
Regarding claim 8, limitations of parent claim 3 have been discussed above.
Yiu teaches wherein sending the capability information to the network side device comprises at least one of following: sending the capability information to the network side device through IE MeasAndMobParameters; or sending the capability information to the network side device through IE MeasAndMobParametersMRDC.
The network side comprises “at least one of” language requires anticipation of only a single listed type. Yiu teaches sending the capability information to the network side device through IE MeasAndMobParameters .
("the UE 105 may generate a message to indicate its capability of supporting multiple MGs and send the message to the AN 110."[0062] "The IE MeasAndMobParameters is used to convey UE capabilities related to measurements for radio resource management (RRM), radio link monitoring (RLM), and mobility (e.g. handover)."[0065] "the capability of supporting multiple MGs may be indicated in an information element (IE) of measurement and mobility parameters (MeasAndMobParameters)... MeasAndMobParameters may include an element of supportOfMultiMeasGap to indicate whether the UE can support multiple MGs"[0063])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Yiu. Chen teaches enhanced RRM measurement configuration, While Yiu teaches capability information using standardized capability information element. Both references are analogous art because they relate to network controlled UE measurement configuration. It would have been obvious to transmit the capability information taught by Chen through the standardized information element taught by Yiu. The combination would provide a standardized and efficient mechanism for reporting UE measurement capabilities to the network.
Regarding claim 11, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above.
Yiu teaches further comprising: receiving capability information sent by the UE, wherein the capability information is configured to indicate whether the UE supports the enhanced RRM requirement.
("once the AN 110 collects the UE capability information, the AN 110 may determine and generate a measurement configuration based on the UE capability information and other network conditions. "[0075]" The UE 105 may generate and transmit a message to indicate its capability of supporting multiple MGs, to the AN 110, at 510. The message may further include the number of MGs that the UE 105 supports, the enumerated MGs that the UE 105 supports, and/or like information regarding the capability of supporting multiple MGs. The UE 105 may send the message along with other UE capability information"[0069])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Yiu. Chen teaches enhanced RRM measurement configuration, While Yiu teaches UE capability signaling for measurement related functions. Both references are analogous art because they relate to network controlled UE measurement configuration. It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Chen and Yiu so that the network receives UE information before applying enhanced RRM measurement configuration. The combination would allow the network to determine whether the UE supports the enhanced measurement behavior and avoid configuring unsupported measurement features.
Regarding claim 12, limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above.
Chen teaches wherein sending the RRM requirement enhancement indication information to the UE comprises: sending, when
(“ a transmitting module 501, configured to send configuration information, where the configuration information is used to configure at least one RRM measurement threshold, and the at least one RRM measurement threshold is used to adjust RRM measurement.”[0298])
Chen does not explicitly disclose acquiring, in response to that the capability information indicates that the UE supports …sent by the network side device. However, Yiu discloses the capability information indicates that the UE supports …sent by the network side device.
" generating a message that includes an information element (IE) to indicate a capability of the UE" [0081] "once the AN 110 collects the UE capability information, the AN 110 may determine and generate a measurement configuration based on the UE capability information and other network conditions. The measurement configuration may include an MG configuration and an MO configuration. The MG configuration may include one or more MGs configured to the UE 105. The MO configuration may include one or more MOs that are assigned to UE to measure. The MOs may indicate respective frequencies and/or SCSs with respect to the measurements. The AN 110 may transmit the measurement configuration to the UE 105." [0075])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Yiu. Chen teaches enhanced RRM measurement configuration, While Yiu teaches capability based measurement configuration. Both references are analogous art because they relate to network controlled UE measurement configuration. It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Chen and Yiu so that enhanced RRM measurement configuration is provided based on the UE's reported capabilities. The combination would ensure that enhanced measurement behavior is configured only for UEs capable of supporting the requested functionality.
Regarding claim 14, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above.
Yiu teaches wherein sending the RRM requirement enhancement indication information to the UE comprises: sending the RRM requirement enhancement indication information to the UE in a non-connected state through a System Information Block (SIB) message.
(" receiving configuration information sent by a network-side device, where the configuration information is used to configure at least one RRM measurement threshold."[0051] " In a case that the terminal is in an idle state or an inactive state, that is, the terminal is an idle-state terminal or an inactive-state terminal, the configuration information may be transmitted by using an RRC release message, an RRC suspend message, or a broadcast message, which is not limited thereto."[0053])
Chen teaches does not explicitly disclose information sent by the network side device through a System Information Block (SIB) message.
However, Yiu teaches information sent by the network side device through a System Information Block (SIB) message.
( “UE 105 may determine or generate its capability information based on a message received from the AN 100. That message may indicate certain information regarding MG configuration. For example, the message by the AN may notify the UE 105 of a maximum number of MGs that the AN may support, and/or potential serving band(s) and band combination(s) that the AN may schedule to use for the UE 105. Such a message may be transmitted via dedicated signaling (e.g., RRC) or broadcasting (e.g., SIB and PBCH).” [0084])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Yiu. Chen teaches enhanced RRM measurement configuration, While Yiu teaches that network messages may be broadcasted using System information (SIB). Both references are analogues art because they concern network signaling of UE measurement related information in wireless communication systems. It would have been obvious to use Yiu’s standardize SIB broadcast mechanisms to convey Chen’s RRM measurement configuration information to non-connected UEs. The combination would provide an efficient and predictable way for the network to send, and for the UE to receive, the RRM enhancement information without first establishing dedicated connected-mode signaling.
Regarding claim 16, limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. Yiu teaches
The method according to claim 11, wherein receiving the capability information sent by the UE comprises at least one of following: receiving the capability information sent by the UE through IE MeasAndMobParameters; or receiving the capability information sent by the UE through IE MeasAndMobParametersMRDC.
The network side comprises “at least one of” language requires anticipation of only a single listed type. Yiu teaches sending the capability information to the network side device through IE MeasAndMobParameters .
("the UE 105 may generate a message to indicate its capability of supporting multiple MGs and send the message to the AN 110."[0062] " In an example, the MeasAndMobParameters IE may indicate this capability of supporting multiple MGs "[0064]"The IE MeasAndMobParameters is used to convey UE capabilities related to measurements for radio resource management (RRM), radio link monitoring (RLM), and mobility (e.g. handover)."[0065])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Yiu. Chen teaches enhanced RRM measurement configuration, While Yiu teaches capability information using standardized capability information element. Both references are analogous art because they relate to network controlled UE measurement configuration. It would have been obvious to transmit the capability information taught by Chen through the standardized information element taught by Yiu. The combination would provide a standardized and efficient mechanism for reporting UE measurement capabilities to the network.
Regarding claim 26, limitations of parent claim 19 have been discussed above. Claim 26 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 3 and is rejected along the same rationale. ("may include an apparatus comprising: one or more processors and one or more computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the method, techniques, or process as described in or related to any of examples 1-21, or portions thereof."[0124])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Yiu. Chen teaches enhanced RRM measurement configuration, While Yiu teaches UE capability signaling for measurement related functions. Both references are analogous art because they relate to network controlled UE measurement configuration. It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Chen and Yiu so that the network receives UE information before applying enhanced RRM measurement configuration. The combination would allow the network to determine whether the UE supports the enhanced measurement behavior and avoid configuring unsupported measurement features.
Reference Cited but Not Relied Upon
Below is prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al (US 20200228269 A1 paragraphs [0008], [0046], [0059]) is pertinent to the disclosure of network provided RRM measurement restriction information and UE performance of RRM measurements according to the received restriction information, including restricting measurements to predetermined physical resources to improve measurement accuracy.
Latheef et al (US 20200351735 A1 paragraphs [0007], [0217] ) is pertinent because it discloses enhanced mobility, UE capability information indicating support for enhanced mobility procedures, and reduced mobility interruption time.
Shah et al (US 20210076416 A1paragraphs [0205 - 0206]) is pertinent because it discloses providing UE measurement related configuration information through system information and RRC signaling and expressly identifies MeasAndMobParameters.
Conclusion
/F.O.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646