DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14, 16-19, and 37-38 are pending.
Claims 15, 20-36, and 39-40 have been cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites "/", for example and/or. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to use the word “or” instead of a symbol slash “/” (e.g. A or B).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11, 14, 18-19, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180278301 A1), hereinafter KIM.
With respect to claim 1, KIM teaches A reporting method, performed by a terminal and comprising ([0009], user equipment performs a reporting method):
receiving configuration information sent by a network device ([0009], user equipment receives information sent by a base station), wherein the configuration information comprises N reference signal resource sets ([0009], information consisting of a plurality of reference signal resources), where N is a positive integer greater than 2 ([0009], two or more reference signal resources); and
sending a report about the N reference signal resource sets based on at least one group according to the configuration information, wherein each group comprises M reference signal resources, where M is a positive integer greater than 1 and not greater than N ([0009, 0096-0097], selecting two or more reference signal resources from among a plurality of the reference signal resources based on the received reference signals, and reporting the CSI corresponding to the single CSI process to the base station. In this case, the CSI can include indicators indicating the two or more reference signal resources).
With respect to claim 2, KIM teaches wherein the M reference signal resources belong to different reference signal resource sets ([0009, 0015, 0097], different reference signal resource sets).
With respect to claim 3, KIM teaches wherein each reference signal resource set corresponds to a Transmission Reception Point (TRP) ([0009], wherein each reference signal resource set corresponds to a Transmission Reception Point (TRP) / base station).
With respect to claim 4, KIM teaches wherein a reference signal resource set comprises at least one Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource ([0009, 0096], CSI-RS resource).
With respect to claim 5, KIM teaches wherein the M reference signal resources in each group of the at least one group are M reference signal resources supported by the terminal for simultaneous reception ([0009, 0096], reference signal resources supported by the terminal for simultaneous reception).
With respect to claim 6, KIM teaches wherein each group comprises at least one of: first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a number of reference signal resources comprised in a group ([0009, 0101], indicates a number of reference signal resources comprised in a group).
With respect to claim 7, KIM teaches wherein indication information corresponding to a reference signal resource corresponding to a strongest signal quality in a target group among the at least one group is located in a first position ([0097]), and the target group is a group to which the reference signal resource corresponding to the strongest signal quality belongs among the at least one group ([0097]).
With respect to claim 11, KIM teaches wherein indication information corresponding to a reference signal resource corresponding to a strongest signal quality in a target group among the at least one group is located in a first position ([0097]), and the target group is a group to which the reference signal resource corresponding to the strongest signal quality belongs among the at least one group ([0097]).
With respect to claim 14, KIM teaches wherein each group comprises at least one of: seventh indication information, wherein the seventh indication information indicates whether a signal quality of the corresponding reference signal resource is a strongest signal quality ([0097]).
With respect to claim 18, KIM teaches A reporting method, performed by a network device and comprising ([0009], a reporting method, performed by a base station):
sending configuration information to a terminal ([0009], user equipment receives information sent by a base station), wherein the configuration information comprises N reference signal resource sets ([0009], information consisting of a plurality of reference signal resources), where N is a positive integer greater than 2 ([0009], two or more reference signal resources); and
receiving at least one group reported by the terminal, wherein the at least one group is reported by the terminal according to the N reference signal resource sets in the configuration information, and each group comprises M reference signal resources, where M is a positive integer greater than 1 and not greater than N ([0009, 0096-0097], selecting two or more reference signal resources from among a plurality of the reference signal resources based on the received reference signals, and reporting the CSI corresponding to the single CSI process to the base station. In this case, the CSI can include indicators indicating the two or more reference signal resources).
With respect to claim 19, this claim recites the method of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 37, KIM teaches A terminal, comprising ([0009], user equipment):
a processor; ([0137], processor) and
a transceiver connected to the processor ([0137], The RF unit is connected with the processor), wherein the processor is configured to ([0137]): receive configuration information sent by a network device ([0009], user equipment receives information sent by a base station), wherein the configuration information comprises N reference signal resource sets ([0009], information consisting of a plurality of reference signal resources), where N is a positive integer greater than 2 ([0009], two or more reference signal resources); and
send a report about the N reference signal resource sets based on at least one group according to the configuration information, wherein each group comprises M reference signal resources, where M is a positive integer greater than 1 and not greater than N ([0009, 0096-0097], selecting two or more reference signal resources from among a plurality of the reference signal resources based on the received reference signals, and reporting the CSI corresponding to the single CSI process to the base station. In this case, the CSI can include indicators indicating the two or more reference signal resources).
With respect to claim 38, this claim recites the method of claim 18, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of SHI et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210153059 A1), hereinafter SHI.
With respect to claim 10, KIM does not explicitly teach third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates each reference signal resource identifier and a signal quality corresponding to the reference signal resource identifier.
However, SHI teaches third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates each reference signal resource identifier and a signal quality corresponding to the reference signal resource identifier ([0119], reference signal resource identifier and a signal quality corresponding to the reference signal resource identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SHI, third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates each reference signal resource identifier and a signal quality corresponding to the reference signal resource identifier, into the teachings of KIM, in order to improve the flexibility of signal measurement, and facilitate selecting a signal with a better quality and reliability so as to improve the system performance (SHI, [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 12-13, and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20150124726 A1; “Ni”, ([0008])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469