DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillon and further in view of Brown (US 20160114130).
As to claims 1-2 and 6, Dillon discloses a method of joining thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) (para 38-43) tubes, comprising the steps of: abutting an end surface of a first TPE tube 1204 (para 38-43) against an end surface of a second TPE tube 1304 (para 42-47, fig 4a-b); providing a TPE sleeve 1505 (para 45) around the first and second tubes such that it overlaps the end surfaces (figs 4, 4a); providing a compression member (heat-shrink oversleeve, para 45) around the sleeve which is configured to apply a radial force around a circumference of the sleeve; and fusing the first and second tubes and the sleeve to one another by applying heat to the sleeve while applying a radial force to the sleeve using the compression member (para 39-52, fig 4, 4a).
Dillon does not expressly disclose a longitudinal pressure is applied to the first and second tubes during the fusing, wherein the longitudinal pressure is applied for only part of the time that heat is applied.
Brown discloses a longitudinal pressure is applied to the first and second tubes during fusing, wherein the longitudinal pressure is applied for only part of the time that heat is applied (longitudinal force - para 73, 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Dillon such that a longitudinal pressure is applied to the first and second tubes during fusing, wherein the longitudinal pressure is applied for only part of the time that heat is applied as taught by Brown above as such improves the interface and enables an element to easily be secured to the tubes (para 73-74)
As o claim 3, Dillon does not expressly disclose the method wherein the heat shrink tube has a length which is a greater than a length of the sleeve and is arranged such that it overhangs either end of the sleeve. Brown discloses a method wherein a heat shrink tube 60 has a length which is a greater than a length of the sleeve 30 and is arranged such that it overhangs either end of the sleeve (fig 6c, para 73). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Dillon such that the heat shrink tube has a length which is a greater than a length of the sleeve and is arranged such that it overhangs either end of the sleeve as taught by Brown above as such causes fusing of the entire sleeve to the tubes (para 15).
As to claim 4, Dillon discloses the method wherein sleeve has an inner diameter which corresponds to the outer diameter of the first and second tubes (fig 5, para 48).
As to claims 7-9, While Dillon does not expressly disclose the wall thickness of sleeve is less than the wall thickness of the first and second tubes, wherein the sleeve wall thickness is 50% of the of the wall thickness of the first and second tubes, Dillon discloses that the thickness of the tubes and sleeve can be varied depending on the design requirements (para 32, 48). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method such that the wall thickness of the sleeve is less than the wall thickness of the first and second tubes, wherein the sleeve wall thickness is 50% of the of the wall thickness of the first and second tubes as the thicknesses are design choices obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as disclosed by Dillon above. Additionally, changes in dimensions are obvious absent criticality presented by the applicant. MPEP 2144.04
As to claim 10, the compression member is removed after fusing (para 45).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Brown does not disclose applying longitudinal pressure to first and second tubes during fusing, and thus the combination would not result in the claimed invention. This argument is unpersuasive for several reasons. First, Brown clearly discloses longitudinal pressure – para 74 – “the longitudinal and/or radial force”. Second, applicant’s argument is an individual attack on Brown without considering the disclosure of Dillon. Brown need not expressly disclose the fusing as Dillion discloses the fusing of first and second tubes with a heat shrink sleeve applying compression during fusing (see above body of rejection). Applicant is reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually and in a vacuum of each other as a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is a consideration relating to the combined teachings of the references (and not each reference in a vacuum of the others). Third, Brown discloses fusing occurs during the longitudinal pressure application – fusing occurs between tube 30 and 12 – see para 74). Finally, Brown discloses the process of PARA 74 (sleeve 30 joined to tubing) can occur during fusing of tubes ends – wherein 30 is applied at the fusing location – see para 77-78).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746