DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “a wall thickness of the first and second tubes”. Claims 8 and 9 each recite “the wall thickness of the first and second tubes”. The language of the claim refers to a singular wall thickness. However, the claim also requires a thickness of two different tubes. As such, the claims are entirely unclear. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will assume “a thickness” refers to a thickness of any portion of either the first or second tubes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by by Dillon et a. (US 2018/0028778).
As to claims 1-2, Dillon discloses a method of joining thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) (para 38-43) tubes, comprising the steps of: abutting an end surface of a first TPE tube 1204 (para 38-43) against an end surface of a second TPE tube 1304 (para 42-47, fig 4a-b); providing a TPE sleeve 1505 (para 45) around the first and second tubes such that it overlaps the end surfaces (figs 4, 4a); providing a compression member (heat-shrink oversleeve, para 45) around the sleeve which is configured to apply a radial force around a circumference of the sleeve; and fusing the first and second tubes and the sleeve to one another by applying heat to the sleeve while applying a radial force to the sleeve using the compression member (para 39-52, fig 4, 4a).
As to claim 4, Dillon discloses the method wherein sleeve has an inner diameter which corresponds to the outer diameter of the first and second tubes (fig 5, para 48).
As to claim 10, the compression member is removed after fusing (para 45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strong et al. (US 2007/0240817).
A method of joining thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) tubes, comprising the steps of: abutting an end surface of a first tube 50a against an end surface of a second tube 50b (fig 4-5, para 30-35); providing a sleeve 60 around the first and second tubes such that it overlaps the end surfaces (fig 5); providing a compression member 70 around the sleeve which is configured to apply a radial force around a circumference of the sleeve (gif 6, para 44-56); and fusing the first and second tubes and the sleeve to one another by applying heat (fig 7 para 50-52), to the sleeve while applying a radial force (para 51) to the sleeve using the compression member (figs 4-8, para 30-35, 44-56).
Strong discloses the material of the tubes can be selected from several compounds, including a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) (para 41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to select TPE as the material of the first and second tubes as said material is one of finite number of choices as taught by para 41 of Strong, and thus one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success. Additionally, Strong discloses that the material of the sleeve can be selected from several compounds, including a TPE (para 34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to select TPE as the material of the sleeve as said material is one of finite number of choices as taught by para 34 of Strong, and thus one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 2, Strong discloses the compression member is a heat shrink tube (para 52, abstract).
As to claim 3, Strong discloses the method wherein the heat shrink tube has a length which is a greater than a length of the sleeve and is arranged such that it overhangs either end of the sleeve (fig 6, para 49).
As to claim 4, Strong discloses the method wherein sleeve has an inner diameter which corresponds to the outer diameter of the first and second tubes (fig 5, para 48)
As to claims 7-9, Strong discloses the wall thickness of sleeve is less than the wall thickness of the first and second tubes, wherein the sleeve wall thickness is 50% of the of the wall thickness of the first and second tubes. See para 47-49.
As to claim 10, the compression member is removed after fusing (abstract, claim 1).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillon.
As to claims 7-9, While Dillon does not expressly disclose the wall thickness of sleeve is less than the wall thickness of the first and second tubes, wherein the sleeve wall thickness is 50% of the of the wall thickness of the first and second tubes, Dillon discloses that the thickness of the tubes and sleeve can be varied depending on the design requirements (para 32, 48). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method such that the wall thickness of the sleeve is less than the wall thickness of the first and second tubes, wherein the sleeve wall thickness is 50% of the of the wall thickness of the first and second tubes as the thicknesses are design choices obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as disclosed by Dillon above. Additionally, changes in dimensions are obvious absent criticality presented by the applicant. MPEP 2144.04
Claim(s) 3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillon, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brown (US 20160114130).
As o claim 3, Dillon does not expressly disclose the method wherein the heat shrink tube has a length which is a greater than a length of the sleeve and is arranged such that it overhangs either end of the sleeve. Brown discloses a method wherein a heat shrink tube 60 has a length which is a greater than a length of the sleeve 30 and is arranged such that it overhangs either end of the sleeve (fig 6c, para 73). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Dillon such that the heat shrink tube has a length which is a greater than a length of the sleeve and is arranged such that it overhangs either end of the sleeve as taught by Brown above as such causes fusing of the entire sleeve to the tubes (para 15).
As to claims 5-6, Brown discloses a longitudinal pressure is applied to the first and second tubes during fusing, wherein the longitudinal pressure is applied for only part of the time that heat is applied (para 73).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746