DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “the cooling medium is unevenly distributed in the hollow inner cavity” as claimed in claim 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 13-18, and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 1 recites “assembly having a solid-state cooling medium”. Claim 1, lines 5-6, recites “semi-solid-state cooling medium”. This renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 3, line 2, “the connection terminal” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5, line 2, “one hollow inner cavity” is unclear to how this relates to at least one hollow inner cavity cited in claim 1.
Claim 26 has the same issue as claim 1.
Claims 2, 6-9, 13-18, and 21-25 are included in this rejection because of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 14, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Prasad et al. (2025/0007267).
Prasad et al. discloses a connector assembly (Fig. 1) having a solid-state cooling medium, comprising at least one electrical connection framework (Figs 2B-2D) and connectors (Fig. 1), wherein the connectors comprise connection terminals (314, 401, 402), two ends of the electrical connection framework are electrically connected to the connection terminals respectively (Figs 3C & 4C), and the electrical connection framework is provided with at least one hollow inner cavity (228) which is at least partially filled with a solid-state cooling medium ([0070], any other suitable cooling medium can be used…such as a solid or phase change material, such as hydrated salts or paraffin wax) (re-claim 1).
Prasad et al. also discloses that the electrical connection framework comprises a rigid hollow conductor (223) (re-claim 2); when the electrical connection framework is provided with one hollow inner cavity, the hollow conductor has a uniform wall thickness (Figs 2B-2D) (re-claim 5); a partial region of the electrical connection framework is flexible and comprises at least one bent portion (Figs 1 & 2A) (re-claims 24-25); and a vehicle comprising the connector assembly as claimed in claim 1 (re-claim 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad et al.
Re-claim 3, Prasad et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the connection framework being connected to the terminal by means of welding or crimping. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the connection framework to the connection terminal of Prasad et al. by either welding or crimping to meet the specific use of the resulting assembly since both welding and crimping are well-known in the art used for joinings.
Re-claim 21, Prasad et al. discloses cooling medium (227) filling the inner cavity (228), but does not disclose the cooling medium accounting for more than 1.1% of the volume of the inner cavity. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill the inner cavity of Prasad et al. with the cooling medium such that the cooling medium accounts for more than 1.1% of the volume of the inner cavity to meet the specific use of the resulting assembly, more volume of coolant faster time to cool the conductor. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Re-claim 23, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a charging cradle as one of the connectors in the connector assembly of Prasad et al. since charging cradle is known in the art for its many benefits such as stationary dock, keeping devices charged.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad et al. in view of Krug et al. (2024/0103108).
Prasad et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the hollow conductor having a cross-sectional area of 0.3 mm2 to 240 mm2 (re-claim 6). Krug et al. discloses a hollow conductor having a cross-sectional area of 0.3 mm2 to 240 mm2 ([0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the hollow conductor of Prasad et al. with a cross-sectional area of 0.3 mm2 to 240 mm2 as taught by Krug et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting assembly.
Re-claim 7, Krug et al. discloses that the hollow inner cavity accounts for 3.7% to 85% of the cross-sectional area of the hollow conductor ([0043], cross-sectional area of the hollow conductor 35 mm2; cross-sectional area of the inner cavity 9 mm2 => 9/35 = 25.7%). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner cavity of Prasad et al. such that it accounts for 3.7% to 85% of the total cross-sectional area, as taught by Krug et al., to hold the required coolant therein.
Claims 8, 9, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad et al. in view of Wang et al. (2024/0356290).
Re-claims 8, 9, 15, and 16, Prasad et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed including an outer periphery of frameword being sleeved with an insulation layer (224), and an outer periphery of the insulation layer being further sleeved with a shielding layer (225) and an outer insulation layer (226) (re-claim 15). Prasad et al. does not disclose the connector comprising a shielding inner shell which is made of a material containing metal, wherein the shielding layer is electrically connected to the shielding inner shell (re-claims 8, 9, and 16). Wang et al. discloses a connector assembly comprising a shielded framework and a connector (Figs 3, 5, and 7-9) comprising a shielding inner shell (22 or 4) which is made of a material containing metal ([0070]), wherein the shielding layer of the shielding framework is electrically connected to the shielding inner shell (Figs 3, 5, and 7-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a shielding inner shell as taught by Wang et al. in the connector of Prasad et al. to improve electrical performance of the assembly, shielding electromagnetic field.
Re-claim 13, it is noted that since the shielding inner shell in the modified assembly of Prasad et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, the shielding inner shell has a transfer impedance of less than 100 mΩ.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad et al. in view of Wang et al. (CN 215379644).
Prasad et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the cooling medium containing mica or silicon or silicone grease. Wang et al. discloses a connector assembly comprising a cooling medium (heat conducting part 41) containing mica or silicon or silicone grease. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use mica, silicon, or silicone grease as taught by Wang et al. for the cooling medium of Prasad et al. to meet the end use of the assembly since these materials are known as cooling mediums. It is noted that since the cooling medium in the modified assembly of Prasad et al. comprises material as claimed, the cooling rate of the cooling medium is 0.05 K/s to 10.3 K/s.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad et al. in view of Takeno et al. (5532434).
Prasad et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the cooling medium being unevenly distributed in the inner cavity. Takeno et al. discloses a connection framework (Fig. 8) provided with a hollow inner cavity which is partially filled with a cooling medium (carbon, copper oxide, alumina), wherein the cooling medium is unvenly distributed in the inner cavity (Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Prasad such that the cooling medium is unvenly distributed in the inner cavity to meet the specific use while reducing manufacture cost, less coolant used. It is taught by Takeno et al. that the filling can be distributed evenly (Figs 3 and 4) or unevenly (Fig. 8).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841