DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 14, 18-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (US 20230021364)
Re Claim 1; Hirano discloses a vehicular electronic system, comprising: vehicle subsystems, each comprising an electronic control unit (41) and a wireless power receiver subsystem (45);
a wireless power transmission subsystem (50) configured to wirelessly provide power to the wireless power receiver subsystem (the components with in the vehicle 3)
wherein the wireless power transmission subsystem and the wireless receiver subsystem or the electronic control unit are configured to perform wireless communication with one another, (Fig. 2)
wherein the electronic control unit is configured to control electrical or electromechanical functions of a corresponding vehicle function (The ECU controls the entire function of the vehicle include charging and discharging of the battery),
wherein the wireless power receiver subsystem (45) is configured to provide power to at least one of the electronic control unit (ECU) and/or the corresponding vehicle function; and to wirelessly communicate power demands information including at least one of voltage, current, or power consumption of the corresponding vehicle function to the wireless power transmission subsystem (Fig. 2) (Par 0074, 6) and
wherein the wireless power transmission subsystem comprises a microcontroller unit configured to dynamically adjust an output power level of the wireless power transmission subsystem based on the wirelessly communicated power demand information (Par 0078, when the vehicle is present, the power demand goes up and when the vehicle isn’t present, it goes go down)
Hirano does not disclose wherein the ECU is configured to wireless transmit information comprising at least one of occupancy detection or airbag detection.
However, it is well-known that an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) may be configured to wirelessly transmit information regarding airbag or occupancy detection. Furthermore, because transmitting system states is an inherent, standard function of an ECU, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the ECU to transmit the state of occupancy detection, airbag detection, or both.
Re Claim 3; Hirano discloses wherein the wireless communication is used to control operation of wireless power transfer between the wireless power transmission subsystem and the wireless power receiver subsystem. (Par 0031-33)
Re Claim 5; Hirano discloses wherein the vehicle subsystems are configured to communicate in absence of cable harnesses. (Par 0042)
Re Claim 6; Hirano discloses wherein the wireless power receiver subsystem is configured to communicate an application function (charging the battery) being used by a passenger, a voltage, a current, or an amount of power being drawn by the application function to the wireless power transmission subsystem configured to provide wireless power to the wireless power receiver subsystem. (Par 0036)
Re Claim 7; Hirano discloses wherein the vehicle subsystems include a car seat function, a door function, a window function, a motor function, an airbag function, a seat occupancy function, an ambient lighting function a heater function, or an audio function. (The ECU controls the PCU and the MG of the vehicle, Par 0060 Controller 560 controls various devices in power transmission apparatus 50. For example, controller 560 controls PFC circuit 510 and inverter circuit 520 to operate to supply electric power indicated in information on fed power, in accordance with a control signal from management server 1)
Re Claim 10; Hirano discloses an apparatus (the entire components below 48) for use in a vehicle, comprising:
an electronic control unit (41) configured to control operation of a vehicle function, a wireless power receiver (45) configured to provide wireless power to the electronic control unit and/or the vehicle function, and
an attachment mechanism (implicit, not shown for instance, bolt, brackets, nut etc.) configured to attach the apparatus for operation within the vehicle, wherein the attachment mechanism is free of wiring that couples the apparatus to a power or a communication line with the vehicle. (Fig. 2 For instance as shown in Fig. 1, the receiver is mounted to the frame of the vehicle 3, Par 0013)
wherein the wireless power transmission subsystem comprises a microcontroller unit configured to dynamically adjust an output power level of the wireless power transmission subsystem based on the wirelessly communicated power demand information (Par 0078, when the vehicle is present, the power demand goes up and when the vehicle isn’t present, it goes go down)
Hirano does not disclose wherein the ECU is configured to wireless transmit information comprising at least one of occupancy detection or airbag detection.
Hirano does not disclose wherein the ECU is configured to wireless transmit information comprising at least one of occupancy detection or airbag detection.
However, it is well-known that an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) may be configured to wirelessly transmit information regarding airbag or occupancy detection. Furthermore, because transmitting system states is an inherent, standard function of an ECU, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the ECU to transmit the state of occupancy detection, airbag detection, or both.
Re Claim 14; Hirano discloses wherein the apparatus controls a car seat function, a door function, a window function, a motor function, an airbag function, a seat occupancy function, an ambient lighting function, a heater function, or an audio function. (The ECU controls the PCU and the MG of the vehicle)
Re Claim 18; Hirano discloses further including a wireless power receiver that comprises a receiver antenna (451), a matching network (452), an AC/DC converter (453), and a regulator (48).
Re Claim 19; Hirano discloses A method of operating an apparatus in a vehicle, comprising: configuring an electronic control unit (41) configured to control operation of the apparatus; and operating a wireless power receiver (45) configured to receive wireless power and provide power to operation of the electronic control unit and/or one or many vehicle functions,
wherein the apparatus is attached to the vehicle using an attachment mechanism that is free of wiring to a power or a communication line within the vehicle. (Fig. 2 For instance as shown in Fig. 1, the receiver is mounted to the frame of the vehicle 3, Par 0013)
wherein the wireless power transmission subsystem comprises a microcontroller unit configured to dynamically adjust an output power level of the wireless power transmission subsystem based on the wirelessly communicated power demand information (Par 0078, when the vehicle is present, the power demand goes up and when the vehicle isn’t present, it goes go down)
Hirano does not disclose wherein the ECU is configured to wireless transmit information comprising at least one of occupancy detection or airbag detection.
Hirano does not disclose wherein the ECU is configured to wireless transmit information comprising at least one of occupancy detection or airbag detection.
However, it is well-known that an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) may be configured to wirelessly transmit information regarding airbag or occupancy detection. Furthermore, because transmitting system states is an inherent, standard function of an ECU, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the ECU to transmit the state of occupancy detection, airbag detection, or both.
Re Claim 20; Hirano discloses wherein the wireless power receiver transmits a signal to a wireless power transmitter, and wherein a microcontroller unit in the wireless power transmitter adjusts an output of a DC-DC boost converter to an amplifier in response to a signal received by the wireless power receiver. (Par 0057, 60)
Re Claim 21; Hirano discloses further including the wireless power receiver communicating an application function being used by a passenger, a voltage, a current, or an amount of power being drawn by the application function to the wireless power transmitter, wherein the application function includes a car seat function, a door function, a window function, a motor function, an airbag function, a seat occupancy function, an ambient lighting function, a heater function, or an audio function. (Par 0060 Controller 560 controls various devices in power transmission apparatus 50. For example, controller 560 controls PFC circuit 510 and inverter circuit 520 to operate to supply electric power indicated in information on fed power, in accordance with a control signal from management server 1)
Re Claim 24; Hirano disclosure has been discussed above.
Hirano does not disclose wherein the electronic control unit is configured to perform wireless communication with other electronic control unit in a same vehicle.
However, because Hirano discloses wireless communication from the ECU with the transmitter, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled to have used the same ECU to communicate with other electronic control unit in a same vehicle in order to enhanced flexibility, mobility, and increased productivity by allowing users to stay connected without cables. It enables easy scalability, faster, more cost-effective installation, and wider access to network resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8, 11-13, 16, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano in view of Oda et al. (US 20200346562)
Re Claim 4; Hirano disclosure has been discussed above.
Hirano does not disclose wherein the wireless communication carries control area network (CAN) or local interconnect network (LIN) messages related to operation of the vehicle subsystems.
However, Oda discloses wherein the wireless communication carries control area network (CAN) or local interconnect network (LIN) messages related to operation of the vehicle subsystems. (Par 0052 -54)
Therefore, it would been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have used a CAN or LIN in the device of Hirano in order to effectively communicate and control the component of the vehicle
Re Claim 8; Oda discloses wherein the wireless communication is performed using wireless power signals transferred between the wireless power transmission subsystem and the wireless power receiver subsystem, wherein the wireless communication is performed using Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or a wireless CAN or LIN bus communication system. (Par 0052 -54)
Re Claim 11; Oda discloses wherein the electronic control unit is configured to perform wireless communication with other electronic control units in the vehicle. (2 wirelessly communicate with 1)
Re Claim 12; Hirano discloses wherein the wireless communication is used to control an operation of wireless power transfer between a wireless power transmission subsystem and a wireless power receiver subsystem. (Par 0075)
Re Claim 13; Oda discloses wherein the wireless communication carries control area network (CAN) or local interconnect network (LIN) messages related to operation of the electronic control unit. (Par 0052 -54)
Re Claim 16 and 23; Oda discloses wherein the apparatus further includes a wireless transceiver, and wherein the wireless communication is performed using the wireless transceiver, wherein the wireless communication uses Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or a wireless CAN or LIN bus communication system. (Par 0052 -54)
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano in view of Oda et al. (US 20200346562) and further in view of Halker et al (US 20150015419)
Re Claim 15; The combination discloses wherein the wireless communication is performed.
The combination does not disclose at least partly by modulating power signals of the wireless power transmission subsystem.
However, Halker discloses establishing a second communications link with the electric vehicle, with the second communication link configured to communicate data via modulation of the wireless power field used for transferring power to the electric vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have operated within the same frequency band as the wireless power transfer, the modulated communication might be less susceptible to external interference that could disrupt separate communication links. Also the tight coupling of the communication and power transfer can lead to a more robust and secure connection. Data can be transferred with greater reliability, and security measures can be implemented within the power field itself, potentially hindering unauthorized access or manipulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that that the cited references, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest all the limitations of the claims as amended herein. The claims are directed to a wireless power and communication system configured to communicate power demand information as well as enabling an ECU to transmit safety information such as occupancy status and airbag detection. The cited references are limited in scope and do not address a holistic wireless power and communication system. For example, Hirano describes a wireless vehicle charging system that is embedded in ground (e.g., a road lane) and provides power to a vehicle after verifying a vehicle identifier. Oda describes a wireless seat power system but is silent as to safety status communication. Halker teaches a charging station that can identifier a vehicle to be charged. None of the references address safety features as recited in the amended claim.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagree, as shown above in the rejection, the references disclose the amended limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
02/27/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836