DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 6, 9, 11, 15-16, 18, 24-25, 30, 32, 36-37, 41-42, 44, 47, and 49-50 are pending.
Priority
The instant application filed 09/13/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US2023/064326, International Filing Date: 3/14/2023. PCT/US2023/064326 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63398599, filed 8/17/2022. PCT/US2023/064326 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63319486, filed 3/14/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 9/13/2024 and 6/10/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 further limits the substituent of the C Ring.
Claim 1 requires
where Z is:
Claim 16 states:
This structure does not have antecedent basis in claim 1, the Q group is not further limiting and is broader than claim 1. As such claim 16 is indefinite.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 is dependent on claim 1 and limits the compound to several compounds which cannot be derived from claim 1, and therefore they lack antecedent basis (or are not further limiting). For example:
This compound’s C ring is substituted with an “alcohol substituted alkyl” group and a “methyl” group. Applicant states in claim 1 that the C ring must have a first substituent comprising:
While both substituents can be the “optional” given the comprising language, neither meets the required “first substituent” defined by the claim. As such this structure in claim 30 is indefinite.
The following compounds in claim 30 have the same problem:
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 is dependent on claim 1 and limits the compound to a compound which cannot be derived from claim 1 and therefore lacks antecedent basis (or are not further limiting). Compound:
This compound is substituted with “alcohol substituted alkyl” group and “amine substituted alkyl” group. Therefore, this claim is rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. “Crystal structures of spleen tyrosine kinase in complex with novel inhibitors: structural insights for design of anticancer drugs,” The FEBS Journal 283 (2016) 3613–3625 published 2016.
Lee teaches many SYK inhibitors that anticipate the claims, including O178 that has a hydrogen bond to Asp512.
The structure is:
O178 anticipates claims 1, 6 (bulky para substituent), 11 (rigid), 24 (hydrogen bond to Asp512).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, 11, 15, 24, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitchell WO2010068257A1 published 6/17/2010.
Mitchell teaches SYK inhibitors and methods of treating disease with them including:
This compound anticipated claims 1, 2, 9 (substituted A with 2 methoxy groups), 11 (the B ring is rigid, and the B ring is a substituted pyrazine), 15, 24 (the B ring is capable of a hydrogen bond).
The compounds are taught to be pharmaceuticals, and in compositions for use, therefore claim 36 is anticipated. Claim 37 requires formulants, cremophor is taught by Mitchell on page 249.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ericsson WO2007117465A2 published 10/18/2007.
Ericsson teaches kinase inhibitors and methods of treating disease with them including:
This compound anticipates claims 1 and 18 (requires the C ring is an indole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9, 11, 15, 24, 36-37 and claims 41, 42, 44, 47, 49 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell WO2010068257A1 published 6/17/2010 (which anticipates claims 1-2, 9, 11, 15, 24, and 36-37) in view of Turrini WO2016168444A1 published 10/20/2016.
Claims 41, 42, 44, 47, 49 and 50 are directed to treating RBC mediated disease with selective Syk Inhibitors.
Mitchell teaches selective Syk inhibitors having structure that anticipates claims 1-2, 9, 11, 15, 24, 36-37.
Turrini teaches using selective Syk inhibitors for treating RBC mediated diseases including the those instantly claimed. This includes thalassemia.
It is obvious to use the specific Syk inhibitors taught by Mitchell in place of the generic “compounds that inhibit the spleen tyrosine kinse (SYK)” as taught by Turrini as the activity drives the effect, as such a person would use the compounds of Mitchell because they are taught to have the required activity to provide efficacy in this disease treatment.
Instant claims 49-50 require an additional active including fostamatinib. Turrini teaches that fostamatinib can be used in combination, see [0012], [0016], and [0023]. As such it is obvious to use the Compounds of Mitchell in combination with fostamatinib, as this is a simple substitution that would be expected to interdict the same pathway.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 16, 30, and 32 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/MICHAEL J SCHMITT/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629