DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application on 09/13/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/29/2024 and 09/13/2024 are being considered by the examiner. The signed IDS form is attached with the instant office action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 09/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/04/2026.
Claims 1-7 are being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minoru Ueda (From IDS filed on 09/13/2024, WO201611137A1).
Ueda teaches cosmetic/pharmaceutical compositions comprising iPS cell culture supernatants obtained through culturing iPS cells (see claim 1) and teaches the cosmetic product being used for improving a skin condition selected from the group consisting of spots, wrinkles, sagging and dullness (see claim 26).
Ueda teaches it is preferable to use iPS cells that have not been differentiated after collection (in other words, maintained in an undifferentiated state) (see page 12 at bottom), and teaches wherein the composition can be administered through injection (see page 12 at top).
Ueda does not specifically teach that the donated iPS cells are donated from the same person and are autologous, however this would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date to persons having ordinary skill in the art because autologously donated cells would be less likely to have any issues with autoimmunity and cause any negative reactions. Therefore it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use autologous cells donated from the same person in creating a method for providing a cosmetic or pharmaceutical comprising a supernatant of a medium of pluripotent stem cells because Ueda teaches such cells to be beneficial for improving a skin condition selected from the group consisting of spots, wrinkles, sagging and dullness.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the instant invention given the relied upon art because Ueda already teaches using pluripotent stem cells supernatant from cultured media for improving skin.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
JACOB A BOECKELMANExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655