DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CHINA on 03/14/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/28/2026, 09/13/2024, 08/14/2025, 11/25/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the end portions … a crimping or welding or threaded connection or riveting or splicing manner” in Claim 9, “hinge shaft … hinge pin” in Claim 13, “cross sections” in Claim 17, “cross-sectional areas” in Claim 18, “cross section ... shapes” (multiple listed not shown) in Claim 19, “corners” in Claim 20 and “vehicle” in Claim 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the brief description of drawings does not identify the differences between Fig. 2-11.
Appropriate correction describing is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 9, 11, 13, 14, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the connector” in Claim 1 should be “each connector”
“electric energy transmission assembly” in Claim 6 should be “the electric energy transmission assembly”
“and …and ” in Claim 6 should be “or … or”
“the conductor core section … the conductor core section … the other end” in claim 6 should be “a conductor core section … other conductor core section … other end”
“the two adjacent conductor core section” in Claim 9 should be “two adjacent conductor core section”
“through holes” in claim 11 should be “first and second through holes”
“two adjacent conductor core section” in Claim 13 should be “two adjacent rigid conductor core section”
“the adjacent rigid conductor core section” in Claim 14 should be “an adjacent rigid conductor core section”
Second part of Claim 22 (similar to Claim 1) should be move upwards
Appropriate correction is required.
NOTE: some of the claims below are different/unique embodiments (see drawings). If one is selected to be allowable and moved to the independent claim, the others would have to be cancelled or changed to independent form.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 13 and Claim 14 presents limitation: “the two adjacent conductor core sections are capable of being rotated relative to each other” or “the spherical concave face and the spherical convex face are capable of being rotated relative to each other” that are not disclosed in the prior art areas searched for this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suso (US9444154).
Regarding Claim 1. Suso teaches, in Fig. 1-3B, an electric energy transmission assembly, comprising at least one electric connection skeleton (c) and connectors (3) arranged at two ends of the electric connection skeleton, wherein the connector comprises a connection terminal (3), the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are electrically connected to the connection terminals (see Fig. 1), and at least a part of the electric connection skeleton comprises a flexible conductor (4, abstract).
Regarding Claim 3. (Original) Suso teaches, in Fig. 1-3B, the electric connection skeleton is a flexible conductor (abstract, 4), and at least a part length of the flexible conductor forms a rigid body in a welding or crimping manner (see Fig. 3B- see abstract)(column 5 lines 57-60).
Regarding Claim 4. (Original) Suso teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 3, wherein the flexible conductor (4) is a multi-core cable or a braided cable or a flexible busbar laminated by a plurality of thin plates (abstract).
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 15 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOIZUMI (US20210399539).
Regarding Claim 1. KOIZUMI teaches, in FIG. 1-3, an electric energy transmission assembly, comprising at least one electric connection skeleton (100) and connectors (10B, 20C) arranged at two ends of the electric connection skeleton (see Fig. 1), wherein the connector comprises a connection terminal (see Fig. 1), the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are electrically connected to the connection terminals (see Fig. 1), and at least a part of the electric connection skeleton comprises a flexible conductor (see Fig. 1, between 10A and 10B, 20A).
Regarding Claim 22. KOIZUMI teaches, in Fig. 1-3, a vehicle, comprising a vehicle body (see Fig. 1), an electric device ([0018]), an electric energy transmission assembly (see Fig. 1), wherein the connector is detachably fixed to the vehicle body or the electric device (see Fig. 1, [0017]), and the electric connection skeleton is arranged and fixed along a contour of the vehicle body (see Fig. 1), and the electric energy transmission assembly comprises at least one electric connection skeleton (100) and connectors (10B, 20C) arranged at two ends of the electric connection skeleton (see Fig. 1), wherein the connector comprises a connection terminal (Fig. 1), the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are electrically connected to the connection terminals (see Fig. 1), and at least a part of the electric connection skeleton comprises a flexible conductor (see Fig. 1, between 10A and 10B, 20A).
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) KOIZUMI teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1 wherein the electric connection skeleton comprises a plurality of conductor core sections sequentially connected end to end, and at least one of the conductor core sections is a flexible conductor (see Fig. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently amended) The electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 5, wherein electric energy transmission assembly comprises one of: the conductor core sections, which are connected to the connection terminals, at the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are rigid bodies; and the conductor core sections, which are connected to the connection terminals, at the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are flexible conductors (20C, region between 10A and 10B); and the conductor core section, which is connected to the connection terminal, at one end of the electric connection skeleton is a rigid body (10A, 40,100), and the conductor core section, which is connected to the connection terminal, at the other end of the electric connection skeleton is a flexible conductor (see Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 15. KOIZUMI teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1, wherein the electric connection skeleton is sleeved with an insulating layer (40).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 15 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato (US10232809).
Regarding Claim 1. Kato teaches, in FIG. 1-5, an electric energy transmission assembly, comprising at least one electric connection skeleton (200) and connectors (not shown, but where 150 and 160 are located) arranged at two ends of the electric connection skeleton (see Fig. 3), wherein the connector comprises a connection terminal (not shown, but implicit, see also column 10 line 48-51), the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are electrically connected to the connection terminals (not shown, but implicit see also column 10 line 48-51), and at least a part of the electric connection skeleton comprises a flexible conductor (see Fig. 3, 220, 240, 260).
Regarding Claim 22. Kato teaches, in Fig. 1-5, a vehicle, comprising a vehicle body (see Fig. 1-3), an electric device (150, 160), an electric energy transmission assembly, wherein the connector is detachably fixed to the vehicle body or the electric device (not shown but implicit see Fig. 3), and the electric connection skeleton is arranged and fixed along a contour of the vehicle body (see Fig. 3), and the electric energy transmission assembly comprises at least one electric connection skeleton (200) and connectors (not shown but where 150 and 160 are located) arranged at two ends of the electric connection skeleton (see Fig. 3), wherein the connector comprises a connection terminal (not shown, but implicit, see also column 10 line 48-51), the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are electrically connected to the connection terminals (not shown, but implicit, see also column 10 line 48-51), and at least a part of the electric connection skeleton comprises a flexible conductor (see Fig. 3, 220, 240, 260).
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) Kato teaches, in Fig. 4A-4B, the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1 wherein the electric connection skeleton comprises a plurality of conductor core sections (210, 220, 230, 24, 250, 260, 270) sequentially connected end to end, and at least one of the conductor core sections is a flexible conductor (260, 240,220).
Regarding Claim 9. Kato teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 5, wherein end portions of the two adjacent conductor core sections are connected in a crimping or welding or threaded connection or riveting or splicing manner (column 10 lines 46-47).
Regarding Claim 15. (Original) Kato teaches, in Fig. 5, the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1, wherein the electric connection skeleton is sleeved with an insulating layer (214,234,224).
Regarding Claim 21. (Original) Kato teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1, wherein one of the connectors is a charging socket (160).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimoto (WO2016158400).
Regarding Claim 1. Kimoto teaches, in FIG. 1-8, an electric energy transmission assembly, comprising at least one electric connection skeleton (100) and connectors (not shown, but where 81 and 82 are located) arranged at two ends of the electric connection skeleton (see Fig. 1), wherein the connector comprises a connection terminal (see Fig. 3, 3 or 31- should be one on the other side), the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are electrically connected to the connection terminals (see Fig. 3) and at least a part of the electric connection skeleton comprises a flexible conductor (see Fig. 3,2).
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) Kimoto teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1 wherein the electric connection skeleton and the connection terminal are connected in a welding or crimping manner ([0050]).
Regarding Claim 22. Kimoto teaches, in Fig. 1-5, a vehicle, comprising a vehicle body (see Fig. 1-8), an electric device (81,82), an electric energy transmission assembly, wherein the connector is detachably fixed to the vehicle body or the electric device (not shown but implicit see Fig. 1), and the electric connection skeleton is arranged and fixed along a contour of the vehicle body (see Fig. 1), and the electric energy transmission assembly comprises at least one electric connection skeleton (100) and connectors (not shown, but where 81 and 82 are located) arranged at two ends of the electric connection skeleton (see Fig. 1), wherein the connector comprises a connection terminal (see Fig. 3, 3 or 31- should be one on the other side), the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are electrically connected to the connection terminals (see Fig. 3) and at least a part of the electric connection skeleton comprises a flexible conductor (see Fig. 3,2).
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) Kimoto teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1 wherein the electric connection skeleton comprises a plurality of conductor core sections (1,2,1) sequentially connected end to end, and at least one of the conductor core sections is a flexible conductor (2)(see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 15. (Original) Kimoto teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1, wherein the electric connection skeleton is sleeved with an insulating layer (92) (see Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 16. (Original) Kimoto teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 15 wherein the insulating layer is further sequentially sleeved with a shielding layer (8A) and an outer insulating layer (4).
Regarding Claim 17. Kimoto teaches, in Fig. 7, the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1 wherein the flexible conductor and other parts of the electric connection skeleton have different shapes of cross sections (2 has a different shape as compared to 1)(See also Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 18. Kimoto teaches, in Fig. 7, the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1 wherein the flexible conductor and other parts of the electric connection skeleton have different cross sectional areas (2 has a different area as compared to 1)(See also Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 19. (Original) Kimoto teaches, in Fig. 7, the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1 wherein a cross section of the electric connection skeleton is in one or more selected from a circular shape, an oval shape, a rectangular shape, a polygonal shape, an A shape, a B shape, a D shape, an M shape, an N shape, an O shape, an S shape, an E shape, an F shape, an H shape, a K shape, an L shape, a T shape, a U shape, a V shape, a W shape, an X shape, a Y shape, a Z shape, a P shape, a semi-arc shape, an arc shape and a wavy shape (see also Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 20. (Original) Kimoto teaches, in Fig. 7, the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1 wherein a cross section of the electric connection skeleton is in a polygonal shape, and all corners of the polygonal shape are chamfered or rounded (circle/oval is a polygon and if all corners are rounded substantially, the shape would be a circle)( changing the shape of an object is routine to one of ordinary skill in the art if persuasive evidence is absent that the particular configuration of the claimed object is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)) (see Fig. 3- 2 shape could be considered to be a polygonal with rounded corners if viewed in page or over the top).
. Regarding Claim 21. Kimoto teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1, wherein one of the connectors is a charging socket ([0029-0030]- implicit since the 81 and 82 are related to power transfer thus the connectors would be a charging socket).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Frederick (US2479834), Kleen (US20030040215), Fujinami (US20030236016), Fukumoto (WO2012118046), ZHAO(US20130089996- Fig. 8), ZHAO (US8628335), MUKUNO (WO20151188974), ITANI (WO2016158400), Doiron (US98997750), ROGGE (CN108258441), KOIZUMI(US20210399539)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOIZUMI in view of Kato
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently amended) KOIZUMI teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 5, but does not teach electric energy transmission assembly comprises one of: the conductor core sections, which are connected to the connection terminals, at the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are rigid bodies; and the conductor core sections, which are connected to the connection terminals, at the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are flexible conductors (20C, region between 10A and 10B); and the conductor core section, which is connected to the connection terminal, at one end of the electric connection skeleton is a rigid body (10A, 40,100), and the conductor core section, which is connected to the connection terminal, at the other end of the electric connection skeleton is a flexible conductor (see Fig 1).
Kato teaches, in Fig. 4A-4B, electric energy transmission assembly comprises one of: the conductor core sections, which are connected to the connection terminals, at the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are rigid bodies (210, 230, 250, 270, Fig. 4A-4B); and the conductor core sections, which are connected to the connection terminals, at the two ends of the electric connection skeleton are flexible conductors (220, 240,260); and the conductor core section, which is connected to the connection terminal, at one end of the electric connection skeleton is a rigid body (210), and the conductor core section, which is connected to the connection terminal, at the other end of the electric connection skeleton is a flexible conductor (260).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conductor core sections as disclosed by KOIZUMI with the conductor core sections as disclosed by Kato in order to allow the flexibility of making connection based on the external environmental and structural conditions as it is known in the art.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Araki (US10189424).
Regarding Claim 10. Kato teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to Claim 1 and teaches at least one of the conductor core sections is a rigid body (210,230,250,270), but does not disclose an end portion of the rigid conductor core section is provided with a connection portion of cylindrical or U- shaped or V-shaped, and an end portion of an adjacent rigid conductor core section or an end portion of an adjacent flexible conductor core section is placed into the connection portion and is connected in a crimping manner. (Araki, us 10189424).
Araki teaches, in Fig. 2-13, an end portion of the rigid conductor core section (11) is provided with a connection portion of cylindrical or U- shaped or V-shaped (20, 40), and an end portion of an adjacent rigid conductor core section or an end portion of an adjacent flexible conductor core section (14) is placed into the connection portion and is connected in a crimping manner (see Fig. 13, Fig. 9-11, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the transmission assembly as disclosed by Kato with the connection portion as disclosed by Araki in order to enhance the adhering strength of the connection between electric wires as the flexible conductor and the single-core conductor do not peel off from each other even if the flexible conductor deflects (Araki, column 2 lines 7-10) .
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of RAMEY (EP2709211).
Regarding Claim 11. Kato teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to claim 1 wherein at least one of the conductor core sections is a rigid body (210,230,250,270), but does not teach an end portion of the rigid conductor core section is provided with a first flat portion, and the first flat portion is provided with a first through hole; and an end portion of an adjacent rigid conductor core section or an end portion of an adjacent flexible conductor core section is provided with a second flat portion, the second flat portion is provided with a second through hole, the first through hole and the second through hole are stacked, and a bolt or a rivet penetrates through the through holes for fixing.
RAMEY teaches, in Fig. 20-32, an end portion of the rigid conductor core section is provided with a first flat portion (12f), and the first flat portion is provided with a first through hole (14f); and an end portion of an adjacent rigid conductor core section or an end portion of an adjacent flexible conductor core section is provided with a second flat portion (20c), the second flat portion is provided with a second through hole (not shown but where 300 is placed), the first through hole and the second through hole are stacked (see Fig. 21), and a bolt (300) or a rivet penetrates through the through holes for fixing (see also Fig. 22-32).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the transmission assembly as disclosed by Kato with the flat portions as disclosed by RAMEY in order to allow the ease of sliding busbar connection together with the use of captive fastener ([0024-0025[).
Regarding Claim 12. Kato teaches the electric energy transmission assembly according to Claim 5 wherein at least one of the conductor core sections is a rigid body (210,230,250,270), but does not disclose an end portion of the rigid conductor core section is provided with a screw, an end portion of an adjacent rigid conductor core section or an end portion of an adjacent flexible conductor core section is provided with an internal thread, and the screw is in threaded connection with the internal thread for fixing.
RAMEY teaches, in Fig. 5 and Fig. 21-32 an end portion of the rigid conductor core (10b {2)) section is provided with a screw ([0025]), an end portion of an adjacent rigid conductor core section or an end portion of an adjacent flexible conductor core section is provided with an internal thread (see Fig. 5), and the screw is in threaded connection with the internal thread for fixing (see also Fig. 22-32) (see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the transmission assembly as disclosed by Kato with the flat portions as disclosed by RAMEY in order to allow the ease of connecting busbar together with the use of captive fastener ([0024-0025[).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is presented in the Notice of References Cited.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847