DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 19 are amended.
Claims 21-23 are canceled.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds the maximum range. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 discloses “method of operating the CED” in line 1. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to revise the limitation to “method of operating the [[CED]] ON”.
Claims 19-20 disclose similar limitations and are therefore objected for the same reason as indicated above.
Claim 18 discloses “message related to the ERIP” in line 1. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to revise the limitation to “message related to the [[ERIP]] EIRP”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija et al., (hereinafter Haija), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0014935, in view of Alawieh et al., (hereinafter Alawieh), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0247446.
As per claim 1, Haija discloses a method of operating a coverage enhancing device (CED) wherein the CED provides reconfigurable configuration for incident signals received along one or more input spatial directions on a radio channel and transmitted as outgoing signals into one or more output spatial directions [fig. 2, 4A, 5B, paragraphs 0020, 0049, 0068, 0090, 0110, 0129, 0143, 0165, 0167, a method of operating a coverage enhancing device (CED) wherein the CED provides reconfigurable configuration for incident signals received along one or more input spatial directions on a radio channel and transmitted as outgoing signals into one or more output spatial directions (the RIS redirect the wide frequency band data signal incident on the RIS in a desired direction by having the configurable elements; a RIS method for channel estimation; RIS to perform proper reflection to increase the gain of the signal; uplink channel estimation and data transmission and downlink channel estimation and data transmission)], the method comprising:
applying a first configuration of the reconfigurable configurations to receive an incident signal along one or more spatial directions on a radio channel and transmitting the incident signal as an outgoing signal into an output spatial direction [paragraphs 0020, 0044, 0087, 0094, 0099, 0101, 0148, 0169, applying a first configuration of the reconfigurable configurations to receive an incident signal along one or more spatial directions on a radio channel and transmitting the incident signal as an outgoing signal into an output spatial direction (RIS devices may be referred as a set of configurable elements arranged in a linear array or a planar array; configurable elements have the ability to redirect a wave/signal that is incident; the RIS controller to determine how to configure some or all of the elements of the RIS (reconfigure to receive and transmit the incident signals along the directions on the channel that the RIS 704 will be used in the channel of the downlink data communication))],
obtaining a message related to a beamwidth to be used for transmitting the incident signal as the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction [paragraphs 0099, 0105, 0109, 0119, 0128, 0148, 0153, 0164, 0165, 0182, obtaining a message related to a beamwidth to be used for transmitting the incident signal as the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction (the base station or network may provide the RIS controller with information; base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704, configuration information includes the beam-width of the reflected signal; configuration information sent to the RIS 704 may also aid in compensating the multipath effect (e.g., the RIS 704 may be configured such that the RIS 704 reflects a wideband signal to the UE 706 with less deviation))],
applying a second configuration of the reconfigurable configurations to receive an incident signal along the one or more spatial directions on the radio channel and transmit the incident signal as the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction using the beamwidth based on the message related to the beamwidth [paragraphs 0099, 0105, 0109, 0119, 0128, 0138, 0148, 0153, 0164, 0165, 0182, applying a second configuration of the reconfigurable configurations to receive an incident signal along the one or more spatial directions on the radio channel and transmit the incident signal as the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction using the beamwidth based on the message related to the beamwidth (base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704, configuration information includes the beam-width of the reflected signal; configuration information sent to the RIS 704 may also aid in compensating the multipath effect (e.g., the RIS 704 may be configured such that the RIS 704 reflects a wideband signal to the UE 706 with less deviation); (reconfigure to receive and transmit the incident signals along the directions on the channel that the RIS 704 will be used in the channel of the downlink data communication))].
Haija does not explicitly discloses applying a first and second filter of the reconfigurable filters to receive an incident signal along one or more spatial directions on the radio channel.
However, Alawieh teaches a method of operating a coverage enhancing device (CED) wherein the CED provides reconfigurable filters for incident signals received along one or more input spatial directions on a radio channel [fig. 5, 8, 9, paragraphs 0003, 0047, 0067, 0114, 0242, 0243, a method of operating a device wherein the device provides reconfigurable filters for incident signals received along one or more input spatial directions on a radio channel (UE can then sweep the beams or use an existing spatial filter transformed according to its new frame of reference for increased sweeping efficiency)], the method comprising:
applying a first and second filter of the reconfigurable filters to receive an incident signal along one or more spatial directions on the radio channel [fig. 8, 9, paragraphs 0003, 0063, 0067, 0242, 0243, applying a first and second filter of the reconfigurable filters to receive an incident signal along one or more spatial directions on the radio channel (UE may be configured for determining a change of a UE position or orientation in the wireless communication network and to adapt a parameter, e.g., a spatial filter; transmitting the signal 18 using a spatial TX filter 22 and for determining the spatial TX filter based on the reference spatial relation; the NW (network) can provide the UE with information on the Tx spatial filter for SRS transmission used for a UL transmission or for a DL (downlink) signal reception)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including applying a first and second filter of the reconfigurable filters as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
As per claim 2, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 1,
wherein the message related to a beamwidth to be used for transmitting the incident signal as outgoing signal into the output spatial direction is indicative of the beamwidth to be used for the transmission of the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction [paragraphs 0004, 0020, 0021, 0045, 0046, 0098, 0112, 0114, 0138, wherein the message related to a beamwidth to be used for transmitting the incident signal as outgoing signal into the output spatial direction is indicative of the beamwidth to be used for the transmission of the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction (the base station configures the RIS for a proper reflection about the transmission scheme (e.g. multiple narrow band transmission); configuring the RIS to redirect a wide frequency band data signal transmitted in a wide beam; the RIS reflects incident signals of different frequencies in different directions (e.g., downlink transmissions))].
As per claim 3, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 1,
wherein the message related to the beamwidth to be used for transmitting the incident signal as outgoing signal into the output spatial direction is indicative of an power of the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction [paragraphs 0103, 0119, 0122, 0124, wherein the message related to the beamwidth to be used for transmitting the incident signal as outgoing signal into the output spatial direction is indicative of an power of the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction (a RRC configuration message, with an identification of frequencies that will be transmitted by the base station and redirected by the RIS. The UE, while performing beam sweeping, performs measurements, such as RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ)].
Haija fails to disclose an equivalent isotropically radiated power (EIRP).
However, Alawieh teaches an equivalent isotropically radiated power (EIRP) [claim 24, paragraphs 0308, 0312, 0334, an equivalent isotropically radiated power (EIRP) (available EIRP versus beam width (for a wider beam the supported EIRP may be lower); beam forming a number of TX beams within one beam (coarse beam) Available EIRP versus beam width)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including EIRP as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
As per claim 5, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 3,
wherein the message related to the power prescribes maintaining the power [paragraphs 0105, 0123, 0124, 0131, wherein the message related to the power prescribes maintaining the power (the RIS is configured for reflection such that the received signal at the receiver satisfies a specific requirement)].
Haija fails to disclose an equivalent isotropically radiated power (EIRP).
However, Alawieh teaches an equivalent isotropically radiated power (EIRP) [claim 24, paragraphs 0308, 0312, 0334, an equivalent isotropically radiated power (EIRP) (available EIRP versus beam width (for a wider beam the supported EIRP may be lower); beam forming a number of TX beams within one beam (coarse beam) Available EIRP versus beam width)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including EIRP as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
As per claim 8, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 1, further comprising
providing a message indicative of a capability of the CED to comply with the message related to the bandwidth [paragraphs 0013, 0020, 0025, 0088, 0098, 0129, 0136-0138, 0165, providing a message indicative of a capability of the CED to comply with the message related to the bandwidth (receiving the RIS configuration; configuring the RIS so that different sets of one or more configurable elements of the RIS redirect the wide frequency band data signal)].
As per claim 9, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 1, Haija fails to disclose further comprising providing a message indicative of the reconfigurable filters.
However, Alawieh teaches providing a message indicative of the reconfigurable filters [paragraphs 0005, 0015, 0063, 0067, 0242, 0290, providing a message indicative of the reconfigurable filters (the UE choses to use different spatial TX filters, determining a filter information indicating at least one spatial filter to be used by the UE; the signal 24 may indicate the resources and/or spatial filters to be used)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including reconfigurable filters as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
As per claim 10, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 9, Haija fails to disclose wherein the message indicative of the reconfigurable filters is indicative of a beamwidth and its associated EIRP.
However, Alawieh teaches wherein the message indicative of the reconfigurable filters is indicative of a beamwidth and its associated EIRP [paragraphs 0038, 0048, 0067, 0098, 0099, 0103, 0127, 0156, 0164, 0242, 0312-0314, wherein the message indicative of the reconfigurable filters is indicative of a beamwidth and its associated EIRP (the spatial filter to be used by the UE; spatial information and the Power control settings)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including EIRP as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
As per claim 11, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 1, wherein applying the second configuration comprises amplifying the incident signal [paragraphs 0045, 0088, 0113, 0114, wherein applying the second configuration comprises amplifying the incident signal (increase or maximize its received signal strength)].
Haija does not explicitly discloses applying a first and second filter of the reconfigurable filters.
However, Alawieh teaches the method comprising: applying a first and second filter of the reconfigurable filters [fig. 8, 9, paragraphs 0003, 0063, 0067, 0242, 0243, applying a first and second filter of the reconfigurable filters (UE may be configured for determining a change of a UE position or orientation in the wireless communication network and to adapt a parameter, e.g., a spatial filter; transmitting the signal 18 using a spatial TX filter 22 and for determining the spatial TX filter based on the reference spatial relation; the NW (network) can provide the UE with information on the Tx spatial filter for SRS transmission used for a UL transmission or for a DL (downlink) signal reception)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including applying a first and second filter of the reconfigurable filters as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
As per claim 12, Haija discloses a method of operating an operator node (ON) wherein the operator node is configured for controlling a coverage enhancing device (CED) [fig. 2, 4A, 5B, paragraphs 0020, 0049, 0068, 0090, 0110, 0129, 0143, 0165, 0167, a method of operating an operator node (ON) wherein the operator node is configured for controlling a coverage enhancing device (the RIS redirect the wide frequency band data signal incident on the RIS in a desired direction by having the configurable elements; a RIS method for channel estimation; RIS to perform proper reflection to increase the gain of the signal; uplink channel estimation and data transmission and downlink channel estimation and data transmission)], wherein the CED provides reconfigurable configurations for incident signals received along one or more input spatial directions on a radio channel and transmitted as outgoing signals into one or more output spatial directions [paragraphs 0020, 0044, 0087, 0094, 0099, 0101, 0148, 0169, wherein the CED provides reconfigurable configurations for incident signals received along one or more input spatial directions on a radio channel and transmitted as outgoing signals into one or more output spatial directions (RIS devices may be referred as a set of configurable elements arranged in a linear array or a planar array; configurable elements have the ability to redirect a wave/signal that is incident; the RIS controller to determine how to configure some or all of the elements of the RIS (reconfigure to receive and transmit the incident signals along the directions on the channel that the RIS 704 will be used in the channel of the downlink data communication))], the method comprising:
providing, to the CED, a message related to a beamwidth to be used for transmitting an incident signal as outgoing signal into an output spatial direction of the one or more output spatial directions [paragraphs 0099, 0105, 0109, 0119, 0128, 0148, 0153, 0164, 0165, 0182, providing, to the CED, a message related to a beamwidth to be used for transmitting an incident signal as outgoing signal into an output spatial direction of the one or more output spatial directions (the base station or network may provide the RIS controller with information; base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704, configuration information includes the beam-width of the reflected signal; configuration information sent to the RIS 704 may also aid in compensating the multipath effect (e.g., the RIS 704 may be configured such that the RIS 704 reflects a wideband signal to the UE 706 with less deviation))],
Haija does not explicitly discloses including the reconfigurable filters to receive an incident signal along one or more spatial directions on the radio channel.
However, Alawieh teaches a method of operating an operator node (ON) wherein the operator node is configured for controlling a coverage enhancing device [fig. 5, 8, 9, paragraphs 0003, 0047, 0067, 0114, 0242, 0243, a method of operating an operator node (ON) wherein the operator node is configured for controlling a coverage enhancing device (UE can then sweep the beams or use an existing spatial filter transformed according to its new frame of reference for increased sweeping efficiency)], the method including the reconfigurable filters to receive an incident signal along one or more spatial directions on the radio channel [fig. 8, 9, paragraphs 0003, 0063, 0067, 0242, 0243, including the reconfigurable filters to receive an incident signal along one or more spatial directions on the radio channel (UE may be configured for determining a change of a UE position or orientation in the wireless communication network and to adapt a parameter, e.g., a spatial filter; transmitting the signal 18 using a spatial TX filter 22 and for determining the spatial TX filter based on the reference spatial relation; the NW (network) can provide the UE with information on the Tx spatial filter for SRS transmission used for a UL transmission or for a DL (downlink) signal reception)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including applying a first and second filter of the reconfigurable filters as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
As per claim 13, Haija discloses the method of operating the ON of claim 12,
wherein the message related to the beamwidth is indicative of the beamwidth to be used for the transmission of the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction [paragraphs 0004, 0020, 0021, 0045, 0046, 0098, 0112, 0114, 0138, wherein the message related to the beamwidth is indicative of the beamwidth to be used for the transmission of the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction (the base station configures the RIS for a proper reflection about the transmission scheme (e.g. multiple narrow band transmission); configuring the RIS to redirect a wide frequency band data signal transmitted in a wide beam; the RIS reflects incident signals of different frequencies in different directions (e.g., downlink transmissions))].
As per claim 14, Haija discloses the method of operating the ON of claim 12,
wherein the message related to the beamwidth to be used for transmitting the incident signal as outgoing signal into the output spatial direction is indicative of an power of the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction [paragraphs 0103, 0119, 0122, 0124, wherein the message related to the beamwidth to be used for transmitting the incident signal as outgoing signal into the output spatial direction is indicative of an power of the outgoing signal into the output spatial direction (a RRC configuration message, with an identification of frequencies that will be transmitted by the base station and redirected by the RIS. The UE, while performing beam sweeping, performs measurements, such as RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ)].
Haija fails to disclose an equivalent isotropically radiated power (EIRP).
However, Alawieh teaches an equivalent isotropically radiated power (EIRP) [claim 24, paragraphs 0308, 0312, 0334, an equivalent isotropically radiated power (EIRP) (available EIRP versus beam width (for a wider beam the supported EIRP may be lower); beam forming a number of TX beams within one beam (coarse beam) Available EIRP versus beam width)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including EIRP as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
As per claim 18, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 16, further comprising
obtaining a message indicative of capability of the CED to comply with the message related to the ERIP and the TRP.
obtaining a message indicative of capability of the CED to comply with the message related to the power [paragraphs 0013, 0020, 0025, 0088, 0098, 0129, 0136-0138, 0165, obtaining a message indicative of capability of the CED to comply with the message related to the power (receiving the RIS configuration; configuring the RIS so that different sets of one or more configurable elements of the RIS redirect the wide frequency band data signal)].
Haija fails to disclose message related to the ERIP and the TRP.
However, Alawieh teaches message related to the ERIP and the TRP [claim 24, paragraphs 0127, 0211, 0308, 0312, 0334, message related to the ERIP and the TRP (available EIRP versus beam width (for a wider beam the supported EIRP may be lower); beam forming a number of TX beams within one beam (coarse beam) Available EIRP versus beam width; information may include beam characteristics (e.g., beam width, boresight gain, side lobe level, the radiation intensity of the half-power beam width))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including EIRP as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
As per claim 19, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 12, Haija does not explicitly discloses further comprising obtaining a message indicative of the reconfigurable filters.
However, Alawieh teaches the method comprising: obtaining a message indicative of the reconfigurable filters [fig. 8, 9, paragraphs 0003, 0063, 0067, 0242, 0243, obtaining a message indicative of the reconfigurable filters (UE may be configured for determining a change of a UE position or orientation in the wireless communication network and to adapt a parameter, e.g., a spatial filter; transmitting the signal 18 using a spatial TX filter 22 and for determining the spatial TX filter based on the reference spatial relation; the NW (network) can provide the UE with information on the Tx spatial filter for SRS transmission used for a UL transmission or for a DL (downlink) signal reception)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including reconfigurable filters as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
As per claim 20, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 19, Haija fails to disclose wherein the message indicative of the reconfigurable filters is indicative of a beamwidth and its associated EIRP.
However, Alawieh teaches wherein the message indicative of the reconfigurable filters is indicative of a beamwidth and its associated EIRP [paragraphs 0038, 0048, 0067, 0098, 0099, 0103, 0127, 0156, 0164, 0242, 0312-0314, wherein the message indicative of the reconfigurable filters is indicative of a beamwidth and its associated EIRP (the spatial filter to be used by the UE; spatial information and the Power control settings)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Haija by including EIRP as taught by Alawieh because it would provide the Haija's method with the enhanced capability of enhancing efficiency of a network [Alawieh, paragraphs 0013, 0014, 0062].
Claim(s) 4, 6, 7, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija, in view of Alawieh, and in further view MolavianJazi et al., (hereinafter MolavianJazi), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0191940.
As per claim 4, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 3, wherein the message related to the beamwidth is indicative of a power [paragraphs 0158, 0179, wherein the message related to the beamwidth is indicative of a power (measure the RSRP or the RSSI of two or more of the reference signals (narrow/wide band signals) or the ratio of two RSRP or the RSSI)].
The modified Haija fails to disclose a relative EIRP or an absolute EIRP.
However, MolavianJazi teaches a relative EIRP or an absolute EIRP [paragraphs 0087, 0281, 0326, 0358, a relative EIRP or an absolute EIRP (an absolute or a relative EIRP value condition)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the modified method described in Haija by including EIRP as taught by MolavianJazi because it would provide the Haija's modified method with the enhanced capability of enhancing beam management and robustness for future transmission [MolavianJazi, paragraphs 0039, 0081].
As per claim 6, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 1, the modified Haija fails to disclose further comprising obtaining a message indicative of a prescribed total radiated power (TRP).
However, MolavianJazi teaches obtaining a message indicative of a prescribed total radiated power (TRP) [paragraphs 0105, 0115, 0281, 0344, 0360, obtaining a message indicative of a prescribed total radiated power (TRP) (measured total radiated power; power levels such as peak/average/min/max EIRP or TRP)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the modified method described in Haija by including a message indicative of a prescribed total radiated power as taught by MolavianJazi because it would provide the Haija's modified method with the enhanced capability of enhancing beam management and robustness for future transmission [MolavianJazi, paragraphs 0039, 0081].
As per claim 7, Haija discloses the method of operating the CED of claim 6,
The modified Haija fails to disclose wherein the TRP is an absolute or a relative TRP.
However, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the TRP is an absolute or a relative TRP [paragraphs 0087, 0281, 0283, 0344, wherein the TRP is an absolute or a relative TRP (absolute EIRP or TRP value configured/determined for each UE panel)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the modified method described in Haija by including TRP as taught by MolavianJazi because it would provide the Haija's modified method with the enhanced capability of enhancing beam management and robustness for future transmission [MolavianJazi, paragraphs 0039, 0081].
As per claim 15, Haija discloses the method of operating the ON of claim 14, wherein the message related to the beamwidth is indicative of a power [paragraphs 0158, 0179, wherein the message related to the beamwidth is indicative of a power (measure the RSRP or the RSSI of two or more of the reference signals (narrow/wide band signals) or the ratio of two RSRP or the RSSI)].
The modified Haija fails to disclose a relative EIRP or an absolute EIRP.
However, MolavianJazi teaches a relative EIRP or an absolute EIRP [paragraphs 0087, 0281, 0326, 0358, a relative EIRP or an absolute EIRP (an absolute or a relative EIRP value condition)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the modified method described in Haija by including EIRP as taught by MolavianJazi because it would provide the Haija's modified method with the enhanced capability of enhancing beam management and robustness for future transmission [MolavianJazi, paragraphs 0039, 0081].
As per claim 16, Haija discloses the method of operating the ON of claim 12, the modified Haija fails to disclose further comprising providing a message indicative of a prescribed total radiated power (TRP).
However, MolavianJazi teaches providing a message indicative of a prescribed total radiated power (TRP) [paragraphs 0105, 0115, 0281, 0344, 0360, providing a message indicative of a prescribed total radiated power (TRP) (measured total radiated power; power levels such as peak/average/min/max EIRP or TRP)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the modified method described in Haija by including a message indicative of a prescribed total radiated power as taught by MolavianJazi because it would provide the Haija's modified method with the enhanced capability of enhancing beam management and robustness for future transmission [MolavianJazi, paragraphs 0039, 0081].
As per claim 17, Haija discloses the method of operating the ON of claim 16, The modified Haija fails to disclose wherein the TRP is an absolute or a relative TRP.
However, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the TRP is an absolute or a relative TRP [paragraphs 0087, 0281, 0283, 0344, wherein the TRP is an absolute or a relative TRP (absolute EIRP or TRP value configured/determined for each UE panel)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the modified method described in Haija by including TRP as taught by MolavianJazi because it would provide the Haija's modified method with the enhanced capability of enhancing beam management and robustness for future transmission [MolavianJazi, paragraphs 0039, 0081].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bengtsson et al., International Publication WO 2020/254031 discloses sequentially improves the beam selection using the transmitted signals.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469