DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows:
(a) Claims 8-16 remain pending.
Priority
The Applicant claims benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. §119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. §120, §121, §365(c), or §386(c).
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 09/16/2024 comply with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. §1.97 and §1.98. The Examiner has considered all references, except for any references lined through on the attached IDS form.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a detection device that detects,” as recited in claim 8.
“a detection device that detects,” as recited in claim 16.
Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If the Applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. A claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear.
(a) Regarding Claim 13, the term “the braking control unit” lacks antecedent basis.
(b) Regarding Claim 14, the term “the braking control unit” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimanaka et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2022/0227420A1 (hereinafter, Shimanaka), in view of Ito et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2022/0135079A1 (hereinafter, Ito).
Regarding Claim 8, Shimanaka describes a driving assistance device (driving assistance device, Shimanaka, Paragraph 0037) comprising:
-a storage medium configured to store computer-readable instructions (storage medium for storing instructions, Shimanaka, Paragraph 0038 and Figure 1); and
-one or more processors connected to the storage medium (processing units, Shimanaka, Paragraph 0038 and Figure 1), the one or more processors execute the computer-readable instructions to:
-refer to an output of a detection device that detects presence of objects in front of a vehicle (detection unit that determines the presence of objects around the vehicle (i.e., radar), Shimanaka, Paragraph 0040), …
-instruct a steering device of the vehicle to avoid contact with the target object by steering, perform a first preliminary operation when the degree of proximity satisfies a second condition (instruction a steering device of the vehicle to avoid contact with a target object (e.g., another vehicle) by performing a first operation when the degree of proximity (i.e., threshold) satisfies a condition (i.e., second condition such as TTC), Shimanaka, Paragraphs 0022-0024 and Figure 8),
-perform a second preliminary operation when the degree of proximity satisfies a third condition and it is determined that there is no space in which the vehicle is able to proceed after avoidance by the steering is performed in any of tracks to sides of the target object at a time point when the third condition is satisfied (vehicle can determine if there is any space after a steering operation is performed and then determine if the vehicle can proceed with any other additional paths for steering, Shimanaka, Paragraphs 0112-0132, 0054, and 0083-0091 and Figure 8), the first condition is a condition that is satisfied when the degree of proximity is higher than the second condition, the second condition is a condition that is satisfied when the degree of proximity is higher than the third condition, and the second preliminary operation is an operation, which is started at an earlier timing than the first preliminary operation (first and second condition, wherein the second condition can be a condition that is started at an earlier time than the first (e.g., wheels are steering in the direction of avoidance, so braking to avoid does not have to occur as soon), Shimanaka, Paragraphs 0088-0090).
Shimanaka does not specifically disclose the device to include instruct[ing] a braking device of the vehicle to stop the vehicle when a degree of proximity between a target object among the objects and the vehicle satisfies a first condition.
Ito discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation(s). Ito describes a vehicle capable of stopping the vehicle when said vehicle determines a condition is met for proximity between an object and the vehicle (Ito, Paragraph 0055 and Figure 4).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the device of Shimanaka to include instructing a braking device of the vehicle to stop the vehicle when a degree of proximity between a target object among the objects and the vehicle satisfies a first condition, as disclosed, taught, or at least suggested by Ito.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success because instructing a vehicle to stop when a condition is met ensures safer operation of the vehicle (Ito, Paragraphs 0080 and 0087).
Regarding Claim 9, Shimanaka, as modified, describes the driving assistance device according to claim 8, wherein the second preliminary operation is an operation performed in more stages than the first preliminary operation (second operation can be a steering that is performed in more stages than the first preliminary operation (e.g., braking), Shimanaka, Paragraphs 0112-0132 and Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 10, Shimanaka, as modified, describes the driving assistance device according to claim 8, wherein at least one of the first preliminary operation and the second preliminary operation is an operation of instructing the braking device to output a braking force smaller than a braking force that the braking device is instructed to output to stop the vehicle when a proximity degree between a target object among the objects and the vehicle satisfies a first condition (causing a smaller braking force than first determined when it is determined that the distance between the vehicle and object is greater than a threshold, Shimanaka, Paragraphs 0022-0024).
Regarding Claim 11, Shimanaka, as modified, describes the driving assistance device according to claim 10, wherein at least one of the first preliminary operation and the second preliminary operation is an operation of instructing the braking device to output a braking force smaller than a braking force that the braking device is instructed to output to stop the vehicle when a proximity degree between a target object among the objects and the vehicle satisfies a first condition (causing a smaller braking force than first determined when it is determined that the distance between the vehicle and object is greater than a threshold, Shimanaka, Paragraphs 0022-0024).
Regarding Claim 12, Shimanaka, as modified, describes the driving assistance device according to claim 8.
Shimanaka does not specifically disclose the device to include at least one of the first preliminary operation and the second preliminary operation is an operation of instructing an output device to perform a display, a voice output, or a vibration output for calling attention.
Ito discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation(s). Ito describes the ability to output information calling for attention to the driver (Ito, Paragraph 0160).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the device of Shimanaka to include at least one of the first preliminary operation and the second preliminary operation is an operation of instructing an output device to perform a display, a voice output, or a vibration output for calling attention, as disclosed, taught, or at least suggested by Ito.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success because displaying information to a driver helps the driver being alert to information (Ito, Paragraph 0160).
Regarding Claim 13, Shimanaka, as modified, describes the driving assistance device according to claim 8, wherein the second preliminary operation is an operation performed in more stages than the first preliminary operation, and at least one of the first preliminary operation and the second preliminary operation is an operation of instructing the braking device to output a braking force smaller than a braking force that the braking control unit instructs the braking device to output (causing a smaller braking force than first determined, this can be based on stages, such as object being further out after first detected, steering wheel moving in a direction away from the vehicle, etc., Shimanaka, Paragraphs 0022-0024 and 0088-0090 and Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 14, Shimanaka, as modified, describes the driving assistance device according to claim 8, wherein the second preliminary operation is an operation performed in more stages than the first preliminary operation, at least one of the first preliminary operation and the second preliminary operation is an operation of instructing the braking device to output a braking force smaller than a braking force that the braking control unit instructs the braking device to output, both the first preliminary operation and the second preliminary operation are operations of instructing the braking device to output a braking force smaller than a braking force that the braking control unit instructs the braking device to output, and a braking force that is initially output in the second preliminary operation is smaller than a braking force that is initially output in the first preliminary operation (causing a smaller braking force than first determined, this can be based on stages, such as object being further out after first detected, steering wheel moving in a direction away from the vehicle, etc., Shimanaka, Paragraphs 0022-0024 and 0088-0090 and Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 15, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 8 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 16, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 8 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J CROMER/Examiner, Art Unit 3667