DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following limitation must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“the cooling surface of the cooling component of the first module is placed at a pass-through cavity provided in the cooling component of the second module, and vice versa” in claim 5,
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
The newly added claims 18, 19 on last page of the claim set have been assumed as numbered 20 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recited:
“the cooling surface of the cooling component of the first module is placed at a pass-through cavity provided in the cooling component of the second module, and vice versa”.
However, the original disclosure doesn’t describe and/or show any pass-through cavity and lack any detail explanation of “of the cooling component of the first module is placed at a pass-through cavity” as claimed.
Therefore, claim 5 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art.
Claim 14 is rejected for its dependency on claim 5
Claims 5, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends because claim 5 depends on itself.
Claim 14 is rejected for its dependency on claim 5
Claim 15 does not further limit the subject matter of the claim 6 upon which it depends because claim 15 recited the same limitation as claim 6.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stahlhut et al. (US 2008/0100166 A1).
RE claim 1, Stahlhut teaches electric motor (Figs.1-4 and ¶ 22) comprising: a rotor 10 rotatable about a rotation axis (of shaft 22), a stator 12 provided with windings 14 (202) (see Fig.2 and ¶ 20) placed along a circumference, called here stator circumference (Fig.2), about said axis, each winding for creating a magnetic field by which to set the rotor into rotation (¶ 29), a circuit 308 (Fig.3) for circulating refrigerant fluid (¶ 24, 28), a cooling component having a cooling surface extending in a plane perpendicular to said axis (of shaft 22) to cover at least one circular crown, or one arc of circular crown, of the stator circumference equal substantially to at least ¼ or ⅓ or ½ of the area circumscribed by the stator circumference (see Figs.1, 3, the spiral surface of channel 308 cover more than ½ of stator circumference), wherein said cooling surface comprises at least one channel 308 which is part of the circuit and comprises an inlet 31, from which it is supplied with refrigerant fluid circulating in the circuit, and an outlet 32, from which it discharges heated fluid into the circuit (¶ 14).
RE claim 2/1, Stahlhut teaches by having only one rotor 10 (Fig.1), and said cooling surface 308 covers all or nearly all of the area circumscribed by the stator circumference (Figs.1-3).
RE claim 3/2, Stahlhut teaches said cooling surface of the component 308 extends in a plane perpendicular to said axis to cover a circular sector of the stator circumference substantially equal to at least ¼ or ⅓ or ½ of the area circumscribed by the stator circumference ((see Figs.1, 3, the spiral surface of channel 308 cover more than ½ of stator circumference).
RE claim 4/1, Stahlhut teaches having two independent rotors 10, 110 (Fig.5), and comprising: a first and second motor module (191, 193), each module comprising a rotor and a stator as defined in claim 1, a drive shaft 24 integral with the rotor, the rotor 10 and stator 12 of one module being coaxial to the rotor 10 and stator 12 of the other module (Fig.5), the drive shaft 24 of a module 191 being coaxial to the drive shaft 24 of the other module 193 and projecting from the motor in the opposite direction to the other shaft 24, a circuit for circulating refrigerant fluid (Fig.3), a cooling component 308 as defined in claim 1, mounted between and in contact with the two modules 191, 193 (Fig.5).
RE claim 6/1, Stahlhut teaches a or each channel 308 in the cooling surface extends from the respective inlet 31 along a path that follows an arc of a circumference having a radius less than that of said stator circumference (Figs.3, 4).
Claims 11/2, 12/3, 13/4 and 15/6 are rejected for the same reason as claim 6/1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stahlhut in view of Jore et al. (US 2021/0351658 A1).
RE claim 7/1, Stahlhut has been discussed above. Stahlhut does not teach the cooling component comprises two overlapping plates hermetically attached together and extending over a flat surface, the two plates being separated locally by a gap to form a or each said channel.
Jore teaches cooling component comprises two overlapping plates 47 hermetically attached together and extending over a flat surface (Fig.3A), the two plates being separated locally by a gap to form a or each said channel (see channel between fin of heat plate 47), doing so would improve cooling efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stahlhut by duplicating the cooling component comprises two overlapping plates hermetically attached together and extending over a flat surface, the two plates being separated locally by a gap to form a or each said channel, as taught by Jore, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Furthermore, it has been held by the court held that mere duplication of part has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 16/2, 17/3 and 18/4 are rejected for similar reason as claim 7/1.
Claims 8 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stahlhut in view of Miyama et al. (US 2014/0232217 A1).
RE claim 8/1, Stahlhut has been discussed above.
Stahlhut further teaches the cooling surface comprises the sequence of or consists of the sequence of: a first/second segment having a radius less than that of said stator circumference (discussed above).
Stahlhut further teaches a or each channel in the cooling surface comprises the sequence of or consists of the sequence of: a first segment extending from the respective inlet 31 along a path that follows a first arc of a circumference having a radius less than that of said stator circumference (Fig.3), a second segment, a third segment extending from the second segment to the respective outlet 32 along a path that follows a second arc of a circumference having a radius smaller than that of said circumference and different from the first arc (Fig.3).
Stahlhut does not teach the second segment that make a U-turn and the third segment extending from the second segment. In other words, Stahlhut does not teach a U-shape profile cooling surface.
Miyama teaches a or each channel in the cooling surface comprises the sequence of or consists of the sequence of: a first segment 43 (Fig.2) extending from the respective inlet (water supply), a second segment that makes a U-turn (flow approximately 360 degrees in a reverse direction), a third segment extending from the second (Figs.1, 2) for the purpose of suppressing temperature increases inside the motor (¶ 42, 43). Furthermore, the shape of the cooling surface can be adjusted to optimize cooling efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stahlhut by having a U-shape profile cooling surface, as taught by Miyama, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Furthermore, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size or shape of a component. A change in size or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 E 3SPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as claim 2.
Claims 20 and 21 (numbered as 18 and 19 on page 6 of the claim set) are rejected for similar reason as claims 8 and 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
RE claim 9/1, the prior-art does not teach, inter alia, the cooling component is mounted on a connecting flange comprising a circular attachment ring having a radius substantially equal to that of said stator circumference, the flange comprising a central portion integral with the circular ring configured to house a rotary encoder.
Conclusion
/THOMAS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834