DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to the application filed on 09/16/2024. Claims 1-15 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) receiving dust distribution data indicating the spatial distribution of dust particles across the floor of a building; and planning a cleaning operation of the floor of the building to be executed by the robotic vacuum cleaner, based on the received dust distribution data. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims may be performed on paper or in the human mind as a planning process There does not appear to be any actual action taken as a result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210278239 A1 (“Takayanagi”).
Regarding claim 1, Takayanagi teaches receiving dust distribution data indicating the spatial distribution of dust particles across the a floor of a building (see at least [0038]) ; and
planning a cleaning operation of the floor of the building to be executed by the robotic vacuum cleaner, based on the received dust distribution data (see at least Fig. 8 and [0096]).
Regarding claim 2, Takayanagi teaches the floor of the building is divided into a plurality of zones or grid elements, and planning a cleaning operation comprises generating data specifying which zones or grid elements are to be traversed by the robotic vacuum cleaner, based on the received dust distribution data (see at least [0089]).
Regarding claim 3, Takayanagi teaches planning the cleaning operation comprises determining an order in which the zones or grid elements are traversed by the robotic vacuum cleaner, the order of zones or grid elements being determined based on the received dust distribution data (see at least [0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Takayanagi teaches planning the cleaning operation comprises generating one or more operating parameters, the one or more operating parameters being generated based on the dust distribution data (see at least [0085]).
Regarding claim 6, Takayanagi teaches generating the one or more operating parameters comprises: for each of a plurality of locations, zones, or grid elements on the floor of the building, generating a respective value of the one or more operating parameters; and the value of the operating parameter for each of the plurality of locations, zones or grid elements on the floor of the building is generated based on the dust distribution data associated with the respective location (see at least [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Takayanagi teaches the one or more parameters comprise cleaning speed; and the cleaning speed is selected to be lower in a location, zone or grid element with a relatively higher amount of dust then than in a location, zone or grid element with a relative lower amount of dust, according to the received dust distribution data (see at least [0080]).
Regarding claim 10, Takayanagi teaches planning a cleaning operation comprises generating a cleaning plan comprising instructions which, when executed by a processor of the robotic vacuum cleaner, cause the robotic vacuum cleaner to execute a cleaning operation defined by the cleaning plan, the cleaning plan comprising an ordered list of locations, zones or grid elements within the floor of the building, and for each location, zone or grid element, one or more operating parameters to be used at that location, zone or grid element (see at least Fig. 8 and [0096]).
Regarding claim 12, Takayanagi teaches A robotic vacuum cleaner system comprising a processor configured to perform the computer-implemented method (see at least 0146]).
Regarding claim 13, Takayanagi teaches receiving, by the client device, a dust distribution map indicating the distribution of dust particles on the floor of a building (see at least [0051]);
displaying the dust distribution map on a display component of the client device (see at least Fig. 8);
receiving a user input corresponding to selected locations of the dust distribution map, the selected locations being locations to be cleaned by the robotic vacuum cleaner; generating, based on the received user input, instructions, which when executed by a processor of the robotic vacuum cleaner, are configured to cause the robotic vacuum cleaner to clean the locations of a floor of a building corresponding to the selected locations of the dust distribution map (see at least [0051] and [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Takayanagi teaches receiving the user input comprises receiving the user input via a touchscreen of the client device (see at least [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210278239 A1 (“Takayanagi”) in view of US 20240369377 A1 (“Pan”).
Regarding claim 4, Takayangi is not explicit on planning the cleaning operation comprises ranking the locations in order of the amount of dust, and generating instructions which, when executed by a processor of the robotic vacuum cleaner, cause it to visit the locations in the order of decreasing amount of dust, however,
Pan discloses planning the cleaning operation comprises ranking the locations in order of the amount of dust, and generating instructions which, when executed by a processor of the robotic vacuum cleaner, cause it to visit the locations in the order of decreasing amount of dust (see at least [0196]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Takayanagi with the collection device disclosed by Pan so that the detection path for the collection device is set on the basis of the unreachable region, and the environmental data of the unreachable region is calculated, thereby allowing the environmental data of the region where the collection device cannot reach to be detected (Pan, [0297]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210278239 A1 (“Takayanagi”) in view of US 20220400923 A1 (“Eriksson”).
Regarding claim 7, Takayanagi is not explicit on the one or more parameters comprise suction power; and the suction strength power is selected to be higher in a location, zone or grid element with a relatively higher amount of dust than in a location, zone or grid element with a relatively lower amount of dust, according to the received dust distribution data, however,
Eriksson discloses the one or more parameters comprise suction power; and the suction strength power is selected to be higher in a location, zone or grid element with a relatively higher amount of dust than in a location, zone or grid element with a relatively lower amount of dust, according to the received dust distribution data (see at least [0045]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Takayanagi with the dust extractor disclosed by Eriksson because dust extractors often use filter arrangements in order to collect and hold the finer dust particles from the particle-laden air flow. These filters need to be cleaned and/or replaced regularly. Filter replacement drives operational costs since operation usually needs to be paused during filter servicing. It is desired to extend the filter replacement intervals (Eriksson, [0004]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210278239 A1 (“Takayanagi”) in view of US 20200329937 A1 (“Sheikh”).
Regarding claim 8, Takayanagi is not explicit on the one or more parameters comprise rate of rotation of a brush within an enclosure of the robotic vacuum cleaner, however
Sheikh discloses the one or more parameters comprise rate of rotation of a brush within an enclosure of the robotic vacuum cleaner (see at least [0045]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Takayanagi with the apparatus and methods for cleaning a surface and more particularly, to apparatus and methods for at least semi-autonomous cleaning of floors and/or other surfaces disclosed by Sheikh the arrangement of some robots configured to clean a surface, may lack a suitable drive system that can allow the robot to reach into corners and/or otherwise effectively clean the desired surface (Sheikh, [0004]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210278239 A1 (“Takayanagi”) in view of US 20240277201 A1 (“Zhang”).
Regarding claim 11, though Takayanagi discloses planning a plurality of cleaning operations, based on the received dust distribution data (see at least [0096]), Takayanagi is not explicit on the one or more operating parameters comprises a respective frequency with which each location, each zone, or each grid element is cleaned by the robotic vacuum cleaner; and the frequency is selected to be higher in a location, zone or grid element with a relatively higher amount of dust than a location, zone or grid element with a relatively lower amount of dust, however,
Zhang discloses the one or more operating parameters comprises a respective frequency with which each location, each zone, or each grid element is cleaned by the robotic vacuum cleaner; and the frequency is selected to be higher in a location, zone or grid element with a relatively higher amount of dust than a location, zone or grid element with a relatively lower amount of dust (see at least [0419]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Takayanagi with the cleaning robot disclosed by Zhang because robots are playing increasingly important roles in our lives. Household robots, in particular, help to free people from heavy housework. Cleaning robots are relatively widely applicable and are therefore widely popular among users (Zhang, [0003]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210278239 A1 (“Takayanagi”) in view of US 20230062104 A1 (“Kumar”).
Regarding claim 15, though Takayanagi discloses receiving dust distribution data indicating the distribution of dust particles on the floor of a building (see at least [0038]); Takayanagi is not explicit on comparing the dust distribution data with expected dust distribution data, based on stored dust distribution data, to determine a deviation between the amount of dust in one or more regions of the received dust distribution data from the corresponding region in the stored dust distribution data; and if a deviation exceeds a predetermined threshold in one or more region, generating an alert, however,
Kumar discloses comparing the dust distribution data with expected dust distribution data, based on stored dust distribution data, to determine a deviation between the amount of dust in one or more regions of the received dust distribution data from the corresponding region in the stored dust distribution data (see at least [0112]); and
if a deviation exceeds a predetermined threshold in one or more region, generating an alert (see at least [0053]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Takayanagi with the autonomous vacuum disclosed by Kumar because conventional autonomous floor cleaning systems are limited in what information about an environment is presented to a user via user interfaces (Kumar, [0003]).
Conclusion
/MATHEW FRANKLIN GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665