DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-28 and 42 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8-10, 13-16, 18, 21-23, 26-28 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gan et al, Application no. 2019/0230591, hereinafter known as Gan.
As to claim 1, Gan discloses an information processing method, performed by UE, wherein the UE comprises; a first transceiver and a second transceiver (Gan, figure 3, [0003], UE (STA) with two transceivers (TRX) one for 802.11, another as Low Power Wake UP Receiver (LP-WUR)), the method comprises: controlling the UE to enter a preset mode of turning off the first transceiver and turning on the second transceiver in response to determining that a preset condition is satisfied (Gan, [0006], training off a first receiver and turning on a second receiver; [0107]-[0109], first network node (UE) turns off when indication, from network node (second network node), of “more data” is set to zero (preset condition satisfied)), wherein the turned-on second transceiver is at least configured to monitor a preset signal (Gan, [0072], STA with LP-WUR configured to receive wake up packet sent routinely by network node).
As to claim 2, Gan discloses wherein controlling the UE to enter a preset mode of turning off the first transceiver and turning on the second transceiver in response to determining that a preset condition is satisfied comprises one of: receiving indication information sent by a network device, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode; or detecting that a trigger condition is satisfied, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode (Gan, [0006], training off a first receiver and turning on a second receiver; [0107]-[0109], first network node (UE) turns off when indication, from network node (second network node), of “more data” is set to zero (preset condition satisfied)).
As to claim 5, Gan discloses wherein the indication information is contained in one of following messages: a broadcast message; or a radio link control RRC dedicated-message (Gan, [0144], broadcast message used by network node to communicate control information with STAs).
As to claim 8, Gan discloses wherein the indication information further comprises at least one of: duration information, configured to determine duration of the UE in the preset mode; or effective mode information, configured to determine an effective mode of the indication information (Gan, [0080]-[0081], duration information for the preset mode).
As to claim 9, Gan discloses wherein the effective mode indicated by the effective mode information comprises at least one of: an immediate effective mode, configured to take effect immediately after the UE receives the indication information; or a delayed effective mode, configured to determine effective time according to effective time information carried by the indication information (Gan, [0080], immediate mode for communication and, after specified time point, delayed mode).
As to claim 10, Gan discloses wherein the effective time information comprises at least one of: effective moment information, configured to indicate an effective moment; or effective reference moment information and a time offset value, configured to determine the effective moment (Gan, [0080], communication mode with specified time information that is offset from a particular time).
As to claim 13 Gan discloses wherein the preset signal comprises: a power saving signal (Gan, [0072], wake-up packet is used for power saving by UE).
As to claim 14, Gan discloses further comprising: performing at least one of following operations when the UE is in the preset mode: monitoring the preset signal by using the second transceiver; stopping reference signal measurement of a current cell; and stopping reference signal measurement of a neighboring cell (Gan, [0072], using second transceiver for WUR message that is preset signal).
As to claims 15, 16, 18, 21-23, 26 and 27, the claims are rejected as applied to claim 1, 2, 5, 8-10, 13 and 14 respectively above by Gan.
As to claim 28, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1 above by Gan.
As to claim 42, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1 above by Gan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 12, 17, 19, 20 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Jung et al, application no. 2021/0235344, hereinafter knowns as Jung.
As to claim 3, Gan discloses the information processing method according to claim 2. Gan does not disclose Jung discloses wherein detecting that a trigger condition is satisfied, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode (Gan, [0077]-[0078], [107]-[0109], first network node (STA) turns off when indication of “more data” is set to zero (preset trigger condition satisfied)). Gan does not disclose Jung discloses trigger condition comprises at least one of: detecting that the UE satisfies a low mobility condition, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode (Jung, [0012], low mobility as trigger condition for changing communication configuration); detecting that the UE satisfies a good cell signal quality condition, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode; detecting that the UE satisfies a condition of stopping reference signal measurement of at least one of a current cell or a neighboring cell, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode; detecting that the UE fails to receive downlink transmission in a preset duration, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode; or detecting that a number of times that the UE fails to receive downlink transmission reaches a number threshold, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gan to include the limitations of trigger condition comprises at least one of: detecting that the UE satisfies a low mobility condition, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode; detecting that the UE satisfies a good cell signal quality condition, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode; detecting that the UE satisfies a condition of stopping reference signal measurement of at least one of a current cell or a neighboring cell, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode; detecting that the UE fails to receive downlink transmission in a preset duration, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode; or detecting that a number of times that the UE fails to receive downlink transmission reaches a number threshold, controlling the UE to enter the preset mode as taught by Jung. Low mobility metric is known in the art where low mobility means UE is communication needs are lower and can conserve power.
As to claim 4, Gan discloses receiving condition information of the trigger condition sent by the network device; or determining the trigger condition according to protocol agreement (Gan, [0006], training off a first receiver and turning on a second receiver; [0077]-[0078], [107]-[0109], first network node (STA) turns off a transceiver when indication of “more data” is set to zero (preset condition satisfied)).
As to claim 6, Gan discloses the information processing method according to claim 5. Gan does not disclose however Jung discloses wherein the broadcast message comprises: a system message block (Jung, [0153],a [0155], SIB message well known in the art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gan to include the limitations of wherein the broadcast message comprises: a system message block as taught by Jung. System messages are well known in the art for exchanging control messages.
As to claim 7, Gan discloses the information processing method according to claim 5. Gan does not disclose however Jung disclose as wherein the RRC message comprises a RRC connection release message (Jung, [0146], RRC message of the art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gan to include the limitations of disclose as wherein the RRC message comprises a RRC connection release message as taught by Jung. RRC messages are well known in the art for exchanging control messages.
As to claim 12, Gan discloses wherein the downlink transmission comprises at least one of: service data; downlink control information (DCI) sent by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); of paging early indication (Gan, [0058]-[0062], communication network of the art sending data that is invariably service data).
As to claims 17, 19, 20 and 25, the claims are rejected as applied to claim 3, 6, 7 and 12 respectively above by Gan in view of Jung.
Claims 11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Jung and further in view of Guo et al, application no. 2020/0053648, hereinafter knowns as Guo.
As to claim 11, Gan discloses the information processing method according to claim 4. Gan and Jung do not disclose however Jung disclose wherein the condition information further comprises: duration information, indicating duration of the UE in the preset mode after the trigger condition is satisfied (Guo, [0089], duration metric used by UE to determine condition trigger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gan and Guo to include the limitations of wherein the condition information further comprises: duration information, indicating duration of the UE in the preset mode after the trigger condition is satisfied as taught by Jung. A particular condition being active for a duration can be an indication for a requirement to change configurations for communications.
As to claim 24, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 11 above by Gan in view of Guo.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467