DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katakura et al. (US5877918, “Katakura”) in view of Ishizuka (US6172439, “Ishizuka”).
Re claim 1, Katakura discloses a motor comprising:
a rotor (fig 1, col 3, lns 20-29 & 48-55, includes 2,3 & 4);
a stator 6, 7 opposing the rotor (fig 1), wherein
the rotor includes a magnet 4, a yoke 3 in contact with the magnet 4 (fig 1, col 3, lns 48-50), and a holder 2 holding the magnet and the yoke (fig 1, col 3, lns 51-62),
the yoke 3 includes a first projecting part projecting in an axial direction of the rotor (figs 1 & below),
the first projecting part is engaged with the holder 2 along the axial direction (figs 1 & below),
an inner peripheral surface of the yoke 3 is opposed to an outer peripheral surface of the holder 3 at an end part of an outermost peripheral part 2a of the holder 2 via a first gap E in a radial direction (figs 1 & below, col 3, ln 63 to col 4, ln 5).
Katakura discloses claim 1 except for the yoke includes a first end part defined at one end in a circumferential direction and a second end part defined at another end in the circumferential direction.
Ishizuka discloses the yoke 8 includes a first end part 83 defined at one end in a circumferential direction and a second end part 84 defined at another end in the circumferential direction (figs 1-2b, col 4, lns 20-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the yoke of Katakura to include a first end part defined at one end in a circumferential direction and a second end part defined at another end in the circumferential direction, as demonstrated by Ishizuka, in order to prevent imbalanced caused by thermal expansion, as taught by Ishizuka (col 5, lns 1-21).
Re claim 2, Katakura in view of Ishizuka disclose claim 1 as discussed above and further disclose a second gap 85 is defined between the first end part and the second end part (Ishizuka, figs 2a & 3).
Re claim 3, Katakura in view of Ishizuka disclose claim 2 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the yoke includes a cutout part obtained by cutting the yoke at an angular position corresponding to an angular position of the second gap around an axial line of the rotor.
Ishizuka discloses in another embodiment the yoke 8b includes a cutout part obtained 85 by cutting the yoke at an angular position corresponding to an angular position of the second gap 85 around an axial line of the rotor (fig 8, col 8, lns 17-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the yoke of Katakura in view of Ishizuka to include a cutout part obtained by cutting the yoke at an angular position corresponding to an angular position of the second gap around an axial line of the rotor, as disclosed by Ishizuka in another embodiment, in order to prevent imbalanced caused by thermal expansion, as taught by Ishizuka (col 5, lns 1-21 & col 9, lns 9-12).
Re claim 4, Katakura in view of Ishizuka disclose claim 2 as discussed above and further disclose the magnet includes a plurality of magnetic poles and a change region 96 (Ishizuka, fig 3, col 4, lns 61-64),
in the change region 96, one magnetic pole of the plurality of magnetic poles changes to another magnetic pole of the plurality of magnetic poles (Ishizuka, fig 3, col 4, lns 61-64), and the second gap 85 is opposed to the change region in the radial direction (Ishizuka, fig 3, col 4, lns 61-64).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katakura in view of Ishizuka and in further view of Ueda (US20010048259, “Ueda”).
Re claim 6, Katakura in view of Ishizuka disclose claim 1 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the first end part includes a second projecting part projecting in the circumferential direction, and the second end part includes a recessed part engaged with the second projecting part.
Ueda discloses the yoke 7 comprises the first end part includes a second projecting part 8 projecting in the circumferential direction (figs 1 & 3), and the second end part includes a recessed part 9 engaged with the second projecting part 8 (figs 1 & 3, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the yoke of Katakura in view of Ishizuka so the first end part includes a second projecting part projecting in the circumferential direction, and the second end part includes a recessed part engaged with the second projecting part, as disclosed by Ueda, in order to form the yoke without requiring precise manufacturing control, as taught by Ueda ([0030])..
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834