DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 38-39 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4043315 A (hereinafter “COOPER”).
Regarding Claims 38-39 and 45-46, COOPER discloses an absorber unit for a solar collector or a solar system, comprising: at least one heating element (10) configured to guide a heat transfer medium (see Col. 4, Lns. 11-12: “Naturally, an aqueous heat transfer fluid may be employed, or ethyleneglycol or pressurized water.”); a translucent enclosure (19) enclosing at least one of the at least one heating elements; and a holder for the enclosure, the holder comprising a tube-in-tube system with an inner tube (indicated in annotated Fig. 4 above) and an outer tube (indicated in annotated Fig. 4 above); wherein the enclosure (19) is fastened to the outer tube (the enclosure and the outer tube are integrally formed and are therefore deemed fastened to each other); and wherein at least one of a supply line (18) and a return line (21) for the heat transfer medium is guided in the inner tube; wherein the enclosure is formed by a glass dome (see Col. 3, Ln. 35: “A transparent, spherical outer shell 19” and Col. 3, Lns. 33-34: “The outer shell may be constructed of any suitable material, such as a rigid plastic.” Glass is a suitable material); wherein the heating element (10) is formed by a heat exchanger or comprises the heat exchanger; wherein the heating element (10) is formed by or comprises a continuous-flow heater with tubular coils (15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COOPER.
Regarding Claims 40 and 44, COOPER further discloses wherein: an annular gap (see Fig. 4) is formed between the inner tube (indicated in annotated Fig. 4 above) and the outer tube (indicated in annotated Fig. 4 above), the annular gap opening into a receiving volume of the enclosure (19); wherein the inner tube (indicated in annotated Fig. 4 above) projects beyond the outer tube (indicated in annotated Fig. 4 above) with an end facing the receiving volume (see Fig. 4).
COOPER does not explicitly disclose the inner tube is closed at an end facing the receiving volume.
Nonetheless, COOPER discloses at Col. 4, Lns. 22-24: “Also, insulating means may be provided where appropriate, as around the inlet and outlet headers.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify COOPER wherein the inner tube is closed at an end facing the receiving volume, since providing insulation which fills the inner tube and surrounds the inlet and outlet headers passing therethrough, in order to maximize the insulation effect, would close the inner tube at an end facing the receiving volume.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COOPER in view of WO 2016/119916 A1 (hereinafter “GRIMM”).
Regarding Claim 42, COOPER does not disclose wherein the annular gap is closed at an end of the holder facing away from the receiving volume.
GRIMM teaches a similar absorber unit wherein an annular gap (i.e., the gap between the inner and outer tube indicated in annotated Figs. 19 and 21 above) is closed (see at least insulation 27; see also housing 270 which closes an end of the annular gap of a tube-in-tube holder) at an end of a holder (i.e., the tube-in-tube structure seen in Fig. 19) facing away from a receiving volume (V).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify COOPER wherein the annular gap is closed at an end of the holder facing away from the receiving volume as taught and/or suggested by GRIMM, since providing insulation which fills the gap between said inner tube and said outer tube, in order to maximize the insulation effect, would close an end of the holder facing away from the receiving volume.
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COOPER in view of US 2018/0340636 A1 (hereinafter “MUELLER”).
Regarding Claim 58, COOPER does not disclose wherein a line outlet of the flow line and/or the return line has threads for fastening one or more sliding sleeves in order to sealingly connect at least one of the flow line and the return line to an internal piping of a support arm of the solar collector or the solar system.
MUELLER teaches a tube coupling wherein a line outlet of the flow line (see 12) and/or the return line has threads (16) for fastening one or more sliding sleeves (40) in order to sealingly connect at least one of the flow line and the return line to an internal piping (22) of a support arm of the solar collector or the solar system (capable of use with internal piping of a support arm of a solar collector or a solar system).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify COOPER wherein a line outlet of the flow line and/or the return line has threads for fastening one or more sliding sleeves in order to sealingly connect at least one of the flow line and the return line to an internal piping of a support arm of the solar collector or the solar system as taught and/or suggested by MUELLER, since such a modification would provide an effective fluid seal between said line outlet of the flow line and/or the return line and internal piping of a support arm of the solar collector or the solar system thereby preventing the occurrence of leaks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 41 and 57 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE A PEREIRO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799