DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kosaka, publication number: US 2020/0218798.
As per claims 1 and 15, Kosaka teaches a method for dynamic integrity-monitoring of a container runtime environment executed on a host computer, wherein in the container runtime environment at least one container instance is executed and is managed by as an orchestration device, the method comprising: in the orchestration device (policy container 470, [0064][0121]);
creating, in a course of starting of the at least one container instance in the container runtime environment by the orchestration device, an instance-specific integrity rule concerning at least one resource of the host computer that has been allotted for a purpose of executing the least one container instance (generating security policy after container initiation, [0123-0126]);
adding the instance-specific integrity rule to a host-computer-specific integrity guideline which comprises an instance-specific integrity rule for each container instance already being executed in the container runtime environment of the host computer and which is arranged in the orchestration device (periodic updates, [0076]);
communicating the host-computer-specific integrity guideline to the host computer, in the host computer (loading security policy, [0127]);
checking the resources allocated on the host computer by container instances against the host-computer-specific integrity guideline (checking performed actions, [0127]); and
outputting an alarm message if a violation of the host-computer-specific integrity guideline was ascertained in the course of the checking (sending alerts, [0083][0086]).
As per claim 2, Kosaka teaches further comprising: receiving a notification in the orchestration device if one of the container instances on the host computer is terminated; and communicating a host-computer-specific integrity guideline, updated with respect to the notification, to the host computer (Security policy based on container initiation, [0123]).
As per claim 3, Kosaka teaches wherein the host-computer-specific integrity guideline is updated if an event that changes the composition and/or configuration of the container instances on the host computer is detected in the orchestration device, and the updated host-computer-specific integrity guideline is communicated to the host computer (Periodic updates, [0076]).
As per claim 4, Kosaka teaches wherein the event is: a failure of a container instance on the host computer, starting of a new container instance on the host computer, updating of the container instance in accordance with an amended container image, and/or detection of an application crash and restart of affected container instances on the host computer (Based on initiation, [0123-0126]).
As per claim 5, Kosaka teaches wherein the instance-specific integrity rule is created in a manner depending on information relating to a container image from which the at least one container instance is constructed (Generating security policy, [0126]).
As per claim 6, Kosaka teaches wherein the instance-specific integrity rule is created in a manner depending on information from an item of provisioning information that specifies the configuration of the at least one container instance at a start of the at least one container instance in the respective container runtime environment (Generating security policy, [0126]).
As per claim 7, Kosaka teaches wherein the host-computer-specific integrity guideline and/or the individual instance-specific integrity rules contained therein is/are protected by a digital signature of the orchestration device (Encryption, [0114]).
As per claim 8, Kosaka teaches wherein the checking of the host-computer-specific integrity guideline concerns the resources of a file system allocated to the container instances, and/or concerns network-connection resources and/or process resources (resource usage, [0039][0069][0074]).
As per claim 9, Kosaka teaches wherein the checking of at least a part of the host-computer-specific integrity guideline is carried out outside the host computer (management container 455, [0119]).
As per claim 10, Kosaka teaches wherein the alarm message is forwarded to a central alarm-triggering device-, and alarm actions are executed by the alarm-triggering device in accordance with an alarm-triggering guideline (Alerts, [0083][0085]).
As per claim 11, Kosaka teaches wherein the host-computer-specific integrity guideline has a predetermined maximum period of validity, and/or the host-computer-specific integrity guideline is updated at cyclic time intervals (periodic updates, [0076]).
As per claim 12, Kosaka teaches a system for dynamic integrity-monitoring of a container runtime environment executed on a host computer, wherein in the container runtime environment at least one container instance is executed and is managed by an orchestration device, the system comprising:
the orchestration device, including an integrity unit (policy container 470 and security container 450, [0121-0122]) which is configured:
to create, in a course of the starting of a container instance in the container runtime environment by the orchestration device, an instance-specific integrity rule concerning at least one resource of the host computer that has been allotted for a purpose of executing the container instance (Generating security policy after container initiation, [0123-0126]); and
to add the instance-specific integrity rule to a host-computer-specific integrity guideline which comprises an instance-specific integrity rule for each container instance already being executed in the container runtime environment of the host computer and which is arranged in the orchestration device (periodic updates, [0076]); and
an orchestration interface which is configured to communicate the host-computer-specific integrity guideline to the host computer (loading security policy, [0127]); and the host computer, including a container runtime environment; and also
a receiving unit which is configured to receive a host-computer-specific integrity guideline (loading security policy, [0127]),
an integrity-detection unit which is configured to check resources allocated to at the least one container instance against the host-computer-specific integrity guideline (Checking performed actions, [0127]); and
an output unit which is configured to output an alarm message if a violation of the host-computer-specific integrity guideline was ascertained in a course of the checking (Alerting, [0083][0086]).
As per claim 13, Kosaka teaches a host computer comprising: a container runtime environment:
a receiving unit which is configured to receive a host-computer-specific integrity guideline (policy container 470 [0064][0122]);
an integrity-detection unit which is configured to check resources allocated to at least one container instance against the host-computer-specific integrity guideline (checking actions, [0127]); and
an output unit which is configured to output an alarm message if a violation of the host-computer-specific integrity guideline was ascertained in a course of the checking (Sending alerts, [0083][0086]).
As per claim 14, Kosaka teaches an orchestration device comprising: an integrity unit which is configured:
to create, in a course of the starting of a container instance in the container runtime environment by the orchestration device, an instance-specific integrity rule concerning at least one resource of the host computer that has been allotted for the purpose of executing the container instance (Generating security policy after container initiation, [0123-126]); and
to add the instance-specific integrity rule to a host-computer-specific integrity guideline which comprises an instance-specific integrity rule for each container instance already being executed in the container runtime environment of the host computer and which is arranged in the orchestration device (periodic updates, [0076]); and
an orchestration interface which is configured to communicate the host-computer-specific integrity guideline to the host computer (loading security policy, [0127]).
Conclusion
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494