DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “an another first neutral plane” in line 4. The recitation is confusing. The Examiner notes the claim was considered for examination purposes as reciting “a third neutral plane.”
Claim 19 recites “a width of central portion” in line 2. The claim is not clear. The Examiner notes the claim was considered for examination purposes as reciting “a width of the central portion.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0329575 A1) (“Park”), in view of Jones et al. (US 2018/0217639 A1) (“Jones”).
With respect to claim 1, Park discloses a foldable apparatus (abstr.), comprising a foldable substrate – cover window (0022), comprising a substrate thickness defined between a first major surface and a second major surface opposite the first major surface, the substrate thickness being in a range of from about 50 to about 300 µm (0022, 0024, 0080, 0089, Fig. 10, Fig. 14). The range of thickness overlaps the range recited in claim 1; overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05). The substrate comprises a first portion comprising the substrate thickness, a second portion comprising the substrate thickness, and a central portion positioned between the first portion and the second portion, the central portion comprising a central thickness defined between a first central surface area and a second central surface area opposite the first central surface area, the central thickness being less than the substrate thickness, the first central surface area being recessed from the first major surface by a first distance and defining a first recess (0024, 0082, 0089, Figs. 10 and 14). Park discloses a transparent resin material layer disposed in the first recess, comprising a first thickness – element 130 (0085, 0087, Fig, 14). Regarding a first resin thickness being about 5 micrometers or more, since the thickness of the substrate is from about 50 to about 300 micrometers, and a thickness of the recess is 20 to 100 micrometers (0024), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the thickness of the transparent resin material overlaps the recited range; overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05). Park discloses a first polymer-based portion – element 141 - disposed on the resin layer such that the resin layer is positioned between the first central surface area and the first polymer-based portion (0099, Fig. 14). Park does not state explicitly that the transparent resin material is an adhesive layer; Park does disclose that the resin material may be acrylic, epoxy, silicone, or a urethane compound (0088).
Jones discloses a foldable substrate (abstr., 0002), comprising relief features (0065), the substrate may comprise optically clear adhesives that include acrylate-based adhesives and silicone-based adhesives (0066). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose a first adhesive layer such as an acrylate adhesive or silicone adhesive in the first recess, as they are known in the art of foldable electronic devices. Regarding the first adhesive layer having an elastic modulus of about 0.4 MegaPascals or less, since the references disclose the first adhesive layer as disclosed in the instant specification, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the elastic modulus of the first adhesive layer according to Park and Jones is within the recited range.
Regarding claim 2, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. Park discloses the first adhesive thickness defined between a first contact surface of the first adhesive layer facing the first polymer-based portion – element 141 (0099, Fig. 14) and a second contact surface of the first adhesive layer facing the first central surface area, the first contact surface and the second contact surface facing opposite directions, the first polymer-based portion comprising a first polymer thickness defined between a third contact surface and a fourth contact surface facing the first adhesive layer, the third contact surface of the first polymer-based portion and the fourth contact surface of the first polymer-based portion facing opposite directions (0099, Fig. 14).
As to claim 3, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 2. The claim defines a characteristic of the first polymer-based portion of the foldable substrate when the apparatus is in use; since the references disclose the elements of the apparatus as recited in the claim, it would be expected that the apparatus according to the references is capable to perform as intended.
As to claim 4, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 2. The claim defines a characteristic of the central portion at the first central surface area of the foldable substrate when the apparatus is in use; since the references disclose the elements of the apparatus as recited in the claim, it would be expected that the apparatus according to the references is capable to perform as intended.
With respect to claim 5, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 2. The claim defines a condition in order to achieve a parallel plate distance of about 3 mm. Since the references disclose the elements of the apparatus as recited in the claim, it would be expected that the apparatus according to the references is capable to perform as intended.
Regarding claim 6, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 2. The claim defines a characteristic of the foldable substrate when the apparatus is in use. Park discloses a width of the central portion of from 3.0 to 8.0 mm (0029), and a thickness of the central portion of 20 to 100 micrometers (0073). Since the references disclose the elements of the apparatus as recited in the claim, it would be expected that the apparatus according to the references is capable to perform as intended.
As to claim 7, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 2. Park discloses the fourth contact surface of the first polymer-based portion contacting a first surface area of the first portion, the first surface area opposite a second surface area of the first portion with the substrate thickness therebetween, the fourth contact surface of the first polymer-based portion contacts a third surface area of the second portion, the third surface area opposite a fourth surface area of the second portion, the third surface area opposite a fourth surface area of the second portion with the substrate thickness therebetween (Fig. 14).
With respect to claim 8, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. Regarding the first adhesive thickness being less than the first distance, Park discloses that a user of the apparatus touches element 130 corresponding to first adhesive layer (0090), thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the first adhesive thickness that would be suitable for the intended use of the first adhesive.
Regarding claim 9, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. Park teaches the apparatus wherein the first adhesive thickness is substantially equal to the first distance (Figs. 10 and 14).
As to claim 10, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. Park discloses the first adhesive layer positioned between the first polymer-based portion – element 141 - and the first portion, the first adhesive layer positioned between the first polymer-based portion and the second portion (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 11, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. Regarding the first adhesive thickness being greater than the first distance by about 5 micrometers or more, Park discloses that a user of the apparatus touches element 130 corresponding to the first adhesive layer (0090), thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the first adhesive thickness that would be suitable for the intended use of the first adhesive.
With respect to claim 12, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. Park discloses that the first polymer-based portion has a specific function such as an anti-finger or an anti-reflective function (0100), thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust a ratio of elastic modulus of the first polymer-based portion to the elastic modulus of the first adhesive layer in order to obtain a desired functionality of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. Regarding the first polymer-based portion comprising an elastic modulus in the range as recited in claim 13, Park discloses that the first-polymer based layer acts to reinforce strength and elasticity of the substrate (0101), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the elastic modulus of the polymer-based portion in order to obtain the desired strength and elasticity of the substrate.
As to claim 14, Park and Jones teach the article of claim 1. Park discloses that the first polymer-based portion reinforces the elastic force of the cover window, so the cover window is protected from external impacts or the pressure of a touch pen (0101), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize a strain at yield of the first polymer-based portion.
With respect to claim 15, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. Park discloses the second central surface area being recessed from the second major surface by a second distance and defining a second recess (Fig. 14), a second transparent resin material positioned in the second recess, the second transparent resin material comprising a second adhesive thickness (Fig. 14), and a second polymer-based portion – element 150 (0103-0106), disposed on the second adhesive layer such that the second adhesive layer is positioned between the second polymer based portion and the second central surface area (Figs. 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 16, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 15. Park discloses that the second polymer-based portion improves the physical properties of the substrate, so that the flexibility and impact resistance are improved (0105), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pencil hardness and an elastic modulus of the second polymer-based portion in order to obtain the desired physical properties of the substrate.
As to claim 17, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. The foldable substrate of Park and Jones comprises a first neutral plane extending through the first portion, the second portion, and the central portion, the first adhesive layer comprises a second neutral plane, and the polymer-based portion comprises a third neutral plane – implied in Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 18, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references teach all the elements of the apparatus, thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that an apparatus bend force is within the recited range of a total bend force, as recited in the claim.
As to claim 19, Park and Jones teach the apparatus of claim 1. Park discloses width W1 of from 3.0 to 8.0 mm (0030), but it is W2 that is being considered as the width of the central portion (Fig. 3), which is wider than W1, thus, the width of the central portion is being interpreted as overlapping the range of claim 19; overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
With respect to claim 20, Park and Jones teach the foldable apparatus of claim 1. Park discloses an apparatus for a consumer electronic product such as a display device comprising a cover substrate comprising the foldable apparatus (0003). Jones discloses electronic devices comprising a housing – it is implied that a housing includes a front surface, a back surface, and side surfaces (Jones, 0056), electrical components at least partially within the housing, the components comprising a controller, a memory (Jones, 0171-0173), a display adjacent the front surface of the housing (Jones, 0071-0072).
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
/Joanna Pleszczynska/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783