DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the centre to centre distance" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the centre to centre distance" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okamoto et al. (EP4001347).
Regarding claim 1, Okamoto et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a water-soluble sheet having an area of structured surface pattern, the structured surface pattern having one or more structural features having a measurement of less than 1000 micron wherein the method comprises the steps of:
Providing a substrate having an area of complementary structured surface pattern;
Depositing a solution comprising a water-soluble polymer onto the substrate; and
Drying the solution to form a water-soluble sheet comprising an area of structured surface pattern (see abstract, para 66-83, table 1, claim 2, 4-6, fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Okamoto et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a water-soluble sheet having an area of structured surface pattern, the structured surface pattern having one or more structural features having a measurement of less than 1000 micron, the method comprising the steps of:
Providing a mixture comprising a water-soluble polymer;
Extruding the mixture through a die;
Contacting the mixture with a substrate having an area of complementary structured surface pattern; and
Forming a water-soluble sheet comprising an area of structured surface pattern form the mixture (see abstract, para 66-83, 103-106, table 1, claim 2, 4-6, fig. 1-2).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Okamoto et al. discloses wherein the area of complementary structured surface pattern covers from 1-50% of the surface of at least one side of the substrate (see fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4 and 13, Okamoto et al. discloses wherein the complementary structured surface pattern comprises one or more depressions and/or protrusions (fig. 1-2, claim 2, table 1, para 82).
Regarding claim 5 and 14, Okamoto et al. discloses wherein the depression is a groove, a rectangular depression, a circular depression, a cross shaped depression, and/or a hexagonal shaped depression (fig. 1-2, claim 2, table 1, para 82).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, Okamoto et al. discloses wherein the depressions and/or protrusion have a centre to centre distance between adjacent depression and/or protrusion of from 1 nm – 100 micron (table 1).
Regarding claim 8 and 17, Okamoto et al. discloses wherein the centre to centre distance between adjacent depression and/or protrusions is substantially the same (fig. 1-2, table 1).
Regarding claim 9 and 18, Okamoto et al. discloses wherein the protrusions and/or depressions are parallel (see fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 10 and 19, Okamoto et al. discloses wherein the water-soluble polymer is PVOH (para 67-69, 103, table 1, claim 1).
Regarding claim 11 and 20, Okamoto et al. discloses wherein the substate is a metal, polymeric material, silicon, or silicon derivative (para 70, 104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al. (EP4001347).
Regarding claim 6 and 15, Okamoto et al. discloses wherein the complementary structured surface pattern comprises depressions. Okamoto et al. does not teach wherein the protrusion is a groove, a rectangular protrusion, a circular protrusion, a cross shaped protrusion, and/or a hexagonal shaped protrusion. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select protrusion as the complementary structured surface pattern since it’s a matter of design choice which does not affect the function of providing surface roughness to the film surface.
Conclusion
/X.H.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742