DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responded to the preliminary amendment which filed on 01/22/26.
Claims 1 and 11 are canceled.Claims 2-10 and 12-33 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 09/16/24 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B).
Double Patenting
Claims 32-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. 12738258. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in the U.S. 12738258 with obvious wording variations.
Instant Application
U.S. 12738258
32. (New) A system comprising: a communication device comprising a processor and configured to access a communications network associated with the defined space to transmit and receive audio data; a sound pressure level sensor configured to detect sound levels received by the communication device, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a first sound pressure level associated with sound emanating from a user of the communication device based on input from the sound pressure level sensor; determine a second sound pressure level associated with ambient sound;
determine a distance based on the first sound pressure level, the second sound pressure level, and a threshold sound pressure level; compare the first distance to a threshold value; and in response to determining that the distance exceeds the threshold value, executing a remedial action on the communication device.
1. A system for maintaining confidentiality of vocal audio, the system comprising: a first sound sensor configured to receive voice audio; a computing device configured to: receive a selected confidentiality level from a user, the selected confidentiality level having a predetermined distance threshold;
receive the voice audio from the first sound sensor; obtain a voice sound pressure level of the voice audio;
obtain an ambient sound pressure level associated with ambient sound;
determine a maximum desired distance of the voice audio based on the voice sound pressure level and the ambient sound pressure level; and in response to determining that the maximum desired distance exceeds the predetermined distance threshold, provide a notification to the user that the selected confidentiality level of the voice audio cannot be assured.
For claim 33, the claim has features which are similar claim 32. Therefore, the claim can be compared as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9, 15 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knode et al. (U.S. 20190173446) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 20170220212).
For claim 32, Knode et al. disclose a system comprising:
a communication device comprising a processor and configured to access a communications network associated with the defined space to transmit and receive audio data (at least [0003]. Voice integration devices are typically connected via a network to a cloud service that performs voice recognition on acoustic data contained in the user command. The voice integration device may transmit acoustic data to the network upon receiving the keyword. The network connection may be to an Internet router, and may be a wireless or wired connection. For example, the network connection may be a Wi-Fi or Ethernet connection to a user's Internet router. After the cloud service has interpreted the acoustic data, the voice integration device may then transmit device commands to other devices based on the interpretation of the acoustic data. The voice integration device may also respond verbally to the user to provide acknowledgement that the user command was received and/or to give the user confirmation that the device command was sent to the other devices.);
a sound pressure level sensor configured to detect sound levels received by the communication device, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a first sound pressure level associated with sound emanating from a user of the communication device based on input from the sound pressure level sensor (at least Fig. 3 and [0033]-[0047]. The control circuit may determine whether an audio request has been received. The request may be identified by a preceding audio keyword, followed by a verbal request from a user. If a request has not been received, the audio device may continue to measure the ambient noise level at step 304. If the control circuit of the audio device determines that a request has been received at step 306, the control circuit may measure a volume level of the received request, i.e., the sound pressure level, at step 308.);
determine a second sound pressure level associated with ambient sound (at least Fig. 3 and [0033]-[0047]. The control circuit may measure the ambient noise level of the room. For example, the ambient noise level of the room may be the background sound pressure level, which may correspond to a voltage produced by the microphone or microphone array 230.);
determine a distance based on the first sound pressure level, the second sound pressure level (at least Fig. 3 and [0033]-[0047]. The control circuit may determine the distance d.sub.orig from the audio device 102 to the origin/source of the request at user 104, or person making the request.);
compare the first distance to a threshold value (at least Fig. 3 and [0033]-[0047]. The control circuit may determine at step 404 whether the distance between the user and the audio device exceeds a distance threshold. The distance threshold may indicate a distance where the user is in close proximity to the audio device. For example, the distance threshold may be set to approximately one meter.); and
in response to determining that the distance exceeds the threshold value, executing a remedial action on the communication device (at least Fig. 3 and [0033]-[0047]. If the control circuit determines that the user is located at a distance d.sub.orig from the audio device which exceeds the distance threshold, the control circuit may determine at step 408 not to transmit a response to the user because the volume may be too low for the user to hear at that distance. Alternatively, the control circuit may be configured to transmit the response at the same volume as the request at the origin, d.sub.orig.) However, Knode et al. do not disclose to determine a distance based on the first sound pressure level, the second sound pressure level, and a threshold sound pressure level determine a distance based on the first sound pressure level, the second sound pressure level, and a threshold sound pressure level.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang et al. disclose to determine a distance based on the first sound pressure level, the second sound pressure level, and a threshold sound pressure level determine a distance based on the first sound pressure level, the second sound pressure level, and a threshold sound pressure level (at least [0364]-[0365]. The device determines whether the electronic device is within the distance threshold by comparing (e.g., calculating a ratio of direct speech energy to reverberation energy, and comparing the ratio to a threshold) a sound pressure level to a reverberation level detected by the at least one microphones.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Knode et al. as taught by Yang et al. for purpose of providing information on whether the phone is near a user or far away from a user.
For claim 6, the combination of Knode et al. and Yang et al. disclose the system according to claim 32. Yang et al. disclose wherein the processor is configured to provide a real-time indication of the distance relative to the adapted threshold value (at least Fig. 3 and [0033]-[0047]. If the control circuit determines that the user is located at a distance d.sub.orig from the audio device which exceeds the distance threshold, the control circuit may determine at step 408 not to transmit a response to the user because the volume may be too low for the user to hear at that distance. Alternatively, the control circuit may be configured to transmit the response at the same volume as the request at the origin, d.sub.orig.)
For claim 9, the combination of Knode et al. and Yang et al. disclose the system according to claim 32. Knode et al. disclose wherein the communication device is configured to store metadata associated with the audio data, the metadata including the distance (at least [0033]. FIG. 3 is an example process 300 which may be performed by the control circuit of the audio device to dynamically determine a volume level to transmit/broadcast an audio output (e.g., a response such as response 110A, 110B) via the speaker 232 based on the distance between a source of an acoustic input from the acoustic device and a volume level of the acoustic input (e.g., a user request or command 108A, 108B) at the source.)
For claim 15, the claim has features which are similar claim 6. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 6.
For claim 33, the claim has features which are similar claim 32. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 32.
Claims 2, 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knode et al. (U.S. 20190173446) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 20170220212) in view Logan et al. (U.S. 20180158288).
For claim 2, the combination of Knode et al. and Yang et al. do not disclose the system according to claim 32, wherein the remedial action further comprises issuing a notification to the user via the communication device.
In the same field of endeavor, Logan et al. disclose the remedial action further comprises issuing a notification to the user via the communication device (at least [0069]. Adjust the notification-required distance based on background noises as measured at the time by the MMD, so that if the user is vacuuming, reduce the distance and increase the volume of the phone alert.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Knode et al. as taught by Logan et al. for purpose of notifying a user of appliances and devices of the status of those devices based on location information of the user.
For claim 5, the combination of Knode et al., Logan et al. and Yang et al disclose the system according to claim 2. Logan et al. disclose wherein the notification comprises a timer indicating a length of time from a present time to when a further remedial action will be executed (at least [0055]. Notifications may require a secondary signal after a trigger signal. After a trigger signal is recognized by a signal recognizer 15, a time period may be set in which a secondary signal must occur in order for a notification to be transmitted.)
For claim 12, the claim has features which are similar claim 2. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 2.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knode et al. (U.S. 20190173446) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 20170220212) further in view Talley et al. (U.S. 8028327).
For claim 3, the combination of Knode et al. and Yang et al. do not disclose the system according to claim 32, wherein the communication device comprises an identifier linked to the communication device and an access code linked to the communications network and the identifier, and wherein the remedial action comprises changing or invalidating the access code to terminate access of the communication device to the communications network.
In the same field of endeavor, Talley et al. disclose the communication device comprises an identifier linked to the communication device and an access code linked to the communications network and the identifier, and wherein the remedial action comprises changing or invalidating the access code to terminate access of the communication device to the communications network (at least col. 4, lines 34-50. A request to access a wireless network including the feature code, the access code, and the client-device identifier (and/or any other codes) may be sent in several ways. In one embodiment, an LCIB may first prompt a client device attempting to connect to the LCIB to provide a feature code. A user may enter the feature code and the client device may then send the feature code to the LCIB. The LCIB may prompt the client device to provide the access code. The user may enter the access code and send it to the LCIB. The LCIB may then compare the access code in the request with a stored access code. If the access code from the request does not match the stored access code, the LCIB may deny the client device access to the wireless network. Alternatively, if the access code from the request matches the stored access code, the LCIB may prompt the client device to provide the client-device identifier and may grant the client device access to the wireless network.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Knode et al. as taught by Talley et al. for purpose of granting a client device temporary access to a wireless network.
For claim 13, the claim has features which are similar claim 3. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 3.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knode et al. (U.S. 20190173446) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 20170220212) further in view Talley et al. (U.S. 8028327) and further in view of Singh (U.S. 20190172168).
For claim 4, the combination of Knode et al., Yang et al. and Talley et al. do not disclose the system according to claim 3, wherein the communication device comprises an image capture device configured to obtain information associated with the predetermined threshold value from one or more of a document, a bar code, and the access code.
In the same field of endeavor, Singh discloses the communication device comprises an identifier linked to the communication device and an access code linked to the communications network and the identifier, and wherein the remedial action comprises changing or invalidating the access code to terminate access of the communication device to the communications network (at least [0026]-[0029]. The application resident on the smartphone 101S may transmit information generated by scanning or photographing a physical (e.g., paper) boarding pass. For example, if the scan is a barcode scan or QR code scan, then data generated by the scan may be transmitted. If, on the other hand, a photo of the boarding pass is taken, then the photo may be transmitted. he application may also transmit an identification of an access point 121, such as a Wi-Fi access point 121W or other local-area-communication access point that is used by the smartphone 101S while on board the flight. The identification may include, for example, a Media Access Control address (MAC address) of the access point 121 and/or a Service Set Identifier (SSID) of the access point 121. By transmitting boarding pass data and an identification of an access point 121 that is on board the flight, the passenger's physical presence on board the flight can be verified via the smartphone/device application.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Knode et al. as taught by Singh for purpose of verifying the physical presence of a person.
For claim 14, the claim has features which are similar claim 4. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 4.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knode et al. (U.S. 20190173446) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 20170220212) further in view Geary et al. (U.S. 20220148585).
For claim 7, the combination of Knode et al. and Yang et al. do not disclose the system according to claim 32, wherein the defined space is a cabin of an aircraft.
In the same field of endeavor, Geary et al. disclose the defined space is a cabin of an aircraft (at least [0008]. An aircraft speech amplification system including a plurality of seating locations within an aircraft passenger compartment, first microphone for detecting an ambient sound level within the aircraft passenger compartment, a second microphone located proximate to one of the plurality of seating locations configured to receive an audio signal including an ambient audio stream and a voice audio stream, a filter configured to pass the voice audio stream from the audio signal and suppress the ambient audio stream, and an amplifier configured to amplify the voice audio stream in response to the ambient sound level to generate an amplified voices audio stream, and a first speaker located proximate to a second of the plurality of seating locations for generating a sound wave in response to the amplified voice audio stream towards the second of the plurality of seating locations.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Knode et al. as taught by Geary et al. for purpose of providing speech amplification compensation in response to cabin audio interference levels.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knode et al. (U.S. 20190173446) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 20170220212) further in view Geary et al. (U.S. 20220148585) and further in view of Singh (U.S. 20190172168).
For claim 8, the combination of Knode et al., Yang et al. and Geary et al. do not disclose the system according to claim 7, wherein the threshold value is specific to an airline associated with the aircraft, and wherein the threshold value is obtained by the communication device via one or more of the communications network and a boarding pass.
In the same field of endeavor, Singh discloses the threshold value is specific to an airline associated with the aircraft, and wherein the threshold value is obtained by the communication device via one or more of the communications network and a boarding pass. (at least [0026]-[0029]. The application resident on the smartphone 101S may transmit information generated by scanning or photographing a physical (e.g., paper) boarding pass. For example, if the scan is a barcode scan or QR code scan, then data generated by the scan may be transmitted. If, on the other hand, a photo of the boarding pass is taken, then the photo may be transmitted. The application may also transmit an identification of an access point 121, such as a Wi-Fi access point 121W or other local-area-communication access point that is used by the smartphone 101S while on board the flight. The identification may include, for example, a Media Access Control address (MAC address) of the access point 121 and/or a Service Set Identifier (SSID) of the access point 121. By transmitting boarding pass data and an identification of an access point 121 that is on board the flight, the passenger's physical presence on board the flight can be verified via the smartphone/device application.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Knode et al. as taught by Singh for purpose of verifying the physical presence of a person.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knode et al. (U.S. 20190173446) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 20170220212) further in view Talley et al. (U.S. 8028327) and further in view of Baentsch et al. (U.S. 20060168657).
For claim 10, the combination of Knode et al., Talley et al. and Yang et al. do not disclose the system according to claim 32, wherein the processor is configured to obtain the access code and the predetermined threshold value from the communications network in encrypted format and to decrypt the access code and the predetermined threshold value.
In the same field of endeavor, Baentsch et al. disclose to obtain the access code and the predetermined threshold value from the communications network in encrypted format and to decrypt the access code and the predetermined threshold value (at least claim 22. The server comprising means for encrypting the set of access codes using the retrieved key to produce an encrypted set, and means for sending a message containing the encrypted set to the user device via the network and for sending upon the number of unused access codes reaching a predetermined threshold, a message containing a new set of access codes to the user device via the network; and, in the user device, storing the new set for use by a user of the user device. and, the user device further comprising: means for decrypting the encrypted set received from the server using the key stored in the user device, and means for storing the decrypted set of access codes for use by the user.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Knode et al. as taught by Baentsch et al. for purpose of providing a user device with sets of access codes such as one time authentication codes via data communications networks such as wireless communications networks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art record does not disclose nor fairly suggest
Conclusion
/DAI PHUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644