DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-13 are presented for examination.
3. Claims 14-29 are canceled.
Election/Restriction
4. Claims 14-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/10/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 09/16/24 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
6. The drawings filed on 09/16/26 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
7. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “ESTABLISHING A COMMUNICATION LINK WITH A NEW TARGET DEVICE USING MULTIPLE ANTENNAS”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims Objections
8. Claims 1-13 are objected to because of minor informalities:
9. Claim 1 recites “a method for wireless communication” in preamble.
Thus, the preamble fail to identify “who” , “where”, or “which component” is performing this wireless communication method.
The body recite:
-communicating with a first target device…” this step does not identify such method is performed by a device.
-determining … this step does not identify such method is performed by a device.
-isolating…. this step does not identify such method is performed by a device”.
-communicating with the second target device…”:- this step does not identify such method is performed by a device.
When considering individual step or as a whole, one cannot identify “who” , “where”, or “which component(s)” is/are performing “A method for wireless communication”.
10. Thus, for clarity, it is suggested to insert, at least in the preamble, “ who” , “where”, or “which component(s)” is performing “a method for wireless communication”.
11. Claims 2-13 are also objected since they are dependent upon objected independent claim set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
13. Claims 1-2, 5, 8-10 & 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnaud et al. (hereinafter referred as Arnaud) European Patent Application No. EP 3 404 849 A1, in view of Peleg et al. (hereinafter referred as Peleg) US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0127323 A1, further in view of Day et al. (hereinafter referred as Day) US Patent No. 6, 111, 542.
Regarding claims 1: Arnaud discloses a method for wireless communications, comprising:
communicating with a first target device using a first antenna and a second antenna based at least in part on aligning a signaling direction of the first antenna and a signaling direction of the second antenna toward the first target device (See FIG. 1 & Pagse 6-7; in phase #1, first antenna 22 and second antenna 24 both receive from and transmit to first satellite S1. See Arnaud, Fig. 1 and the disclosure corresponding to phase #1),
determining to perform a handover from communicating with the first target device to communicating with a second target device (See FIG. 1 & Page 6; provides a communication-link switch 42 from departure satellite S1 to destination satellite S2, implemented through successive antenna switchovers B1 and B2. during phase #2 antenna 22 stops transmitting to and receiving from S1 and proceeds to join S2. In phase #3, antenna 22 communicates with S2 while antenna 24 continues communicating with S1);
aligning the signaling direction of the second antenna toward the second target device based at least in part on determining to perform the handover (See Pages 6-7; during phase #2 antenna 22 stops transmitting to and receiving from S1 and proceeds to join S2. In phase #3, antenna 22 communicates with S2 while antenna 24 continues communicating with S1. The same operation subsequently occurs for antenna 24: during phase #4 antenna 24 stops transmitting to and receiving from S1 and joins antenna 22 at S2; in phase #5 both antennas communicate with S2),
communicating with the second target device using the second antenna (See Pages 6-7; during phase #4 antenna 24 stops transmitting to and receiving from S1 and joins antenna 22 at S2; in phase #5 both antennas communicate with S2).
Arnaud does not explicitly disclose while the first antenna and the second antenna are coupled with a first modem and a second modem; isolating the second antenna from the first modem and coupling the second antenna with a second modem.
However, Peleg from the same field of endeavor discloses while the first antenna and the second antenna are coupled with a first modem; isolating the second antenna from the first modem and coupling the second antenna with a second modem (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0025-0029; earth stations having ANT1 and ANT2, receiver RX 40, transmitter TX 44, switch 36, and control unit 48. Switch 36 selectively switches the signal received by ANT1 or ANT2 to receiver 40, while the control unit directs the antennas toward the appropriate satellites and controls the receiver, transmitter and switch. Peleg expressly teaches conducting the handover using a single receive modem. During handover, CU 48B changes switch 36B from ANT1 to ANT2 so that RX 40B begins receiving through ANT2 from SAT2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include while the first antenna and the second antenna are coupled with a first modem; isolating the second antenna from the first modem and coupling the second antenna with a second modem as taught by Peleg in the system of Arnaud to obtain the predictable result of selectively coupling the antenna associated with the desired satellite communication path to the communication electronics (See Page 6).
The combination of Arnaud and Peleg do not explicitly disclose wherein aligning the signaling direction of the second antenna toward the second target device comprises actuating an antenna positioning mechanism to rotate the second antenna about a positioning axis.
However, Day from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein aligning the signaling direction of the second antenna toward the second target device comprises actuating an antenna positioning mechanism to rotate the second antenna about a positioning axis (See FIG. 3, Para. & Para. 0018-0022; discloses a mechanically rotatable base, antenna holder, electronically steerable antenna subunits and antenna controller. Its controller directs movement of rotatable base 330 so as to rotate holder 320 sufficiently to position different satellites within the fields of view of the antenna subunits. Claims 19 and 26–27, establishes a second communication link to a second satellite while maintaining the first satellite link and subsequently hands communication from the first satellite to the second).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein aligning the signaling direction of the second antenna toward the second target device comprises actuating an antenna positioning mechanism to rotate the second antenna about a positioning axis as taught by day in the combined system of Peleg and Arnaud to facilitates tracking and satellite-to-satellite handoff and provides expanded satellite coverage (See abstract; lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 2: The combination of Arnaud, Peleg and Day disclose the method.
Furthermore, Arnaud discloses the method, further comprising: communicating with the first target device using the first antenna during the aligning of the signaling direction of the second antenna toward the second target device (See Pages 6-7; During phase #2/phase #3, one antenna is transferred toward S2 while the other remains communicating with S1. Specifically, in phase #3 antenna 22 communicates with S2 while antenna 24 remains communicating with S1).
Regarding claims 5: The combination of Arnaud, Peleg and Day disclose the method.
Furthermore, Arnaud discloses the method, wherein communicating with the first target device using the first antenna and the second antenna comprises (See Pages 6-7): coupling the first modem with both the first antenna and the second antenna for receiving signals from the first target device; and coupling the first modem with a selected one of the first antenna or the second antenna for transmitting signals to the first target device (See Peleg; FIG. 1 & Para. 0025-0029; antenna selection/switching. Switch 36 selects between ANT1 and ANT2, and control unit 48 controls the switch and antennas).
Regarding claims 8: The combination of Arnaud, Peleg and Day disclose the method.
Furthermore, Arnaud discloses the method, wherein communicating with the first target device using the first antenna and the second antenna comprises: applying a time delay to a signal between the first modem and one of the first antenna or the second antenna (See Pages 6-7, 10 & 13; estimates temporal and phase differences among the antenna signals and applies time compensation and phase compensation to individual channels. More importantly, its processing device expressly includes a bank of programmable FIFO delay lines. Arnaud also teaches on the transmission side that N antenna signals are temporally and phase offset relative to each other so that the wavefronts aggregate coherently at the satellite).
Regarding claims 9: The combination of Arnaud, Peleg and Day disclose the method.
Furthermore, Peleg discloses the method, further comprising: selecting the second antenna for isolating from the first modem based at least in part on a position of the second target device (See FIG. 1 & Para. 0025-0031; that CU 48 has information concerning satellite positions and parameters and uses that information to:1. direct the antennas toward the appropriate satellites; 2. predict when the currently used satellite will set; 3. select the new satellite; and 4. initiate handover at the appropriate time. During the actual handover, the CU directs ANT2 toward SAT2 and switches switch 36 from ANT1 to ANT2).
Regarding claims 10: The combination of Arnaud, Peleg and Day disclose the method.
Furthermore, Day discloses the method, wherein: aligning the signaling direction of the first antenna comprises electronically forming a beam of the first antenna about a first beamforming axis; and aligning the signaling direction of the second antenna comprises electronically forming a beam of the second antenna about a second beamforming axis (See Para. 0026-0029; combining coarse mechanical beam steering with fine electronic beam steering. Fine electronic steering is performed with electronically steerable antenna subunits, preferably phased-array antennas. Day further teaches that the phased-array elements are independently controlled to produce the desired phase relationships for steering the antenna beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include electronically forming a beam of the first antenna about a first beamforming axis; and aligning the signaling direction of the second antenna comprises electronically forming a beam of the second antenna about a second beamforming axis as taught by day in the combined system of Peleg and Arnaud to facilitates tracking and satellite-to-satellite handoff and provides expanded satellite coverage (See abstract; lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 12: The combination of Arnaud, Peleg and Day disclose the method.
Furthermore, Day discloses the method, wherein the first target device comprises a first satellite associated with a first orbital characteristic and the second target device comprises a second satellite associated with a second orbital characteristic (See Para. 0016, 0039-0040 & 0045; Its controller uses stored information regarding the satellite constellation and the orbital paths of the satellites relative to the user terminal to control mechanical antenna rotation. Day also describes a constellation having multiple inclined orbital planes and mechanical rotation according to constellation periodicity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first target device comprises a first satellite associated with a first orbital characteristic and the second target device comprises a second satellite associated with a second orbital characteristic as taught by day in the combined system of Peleg and Arnaud to facilitates tracking and satellite-to-satellite handoff and provides expanded satellite coverage (See abstract; lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 13: The combination of Arnaud, Peleg and Day disclose the method.
Furthermore, Peleg discloses the method, wherein the first modem and the second modem are the same modem (See Para. 0037-0038; switch 36B initially connects ANT1 to RX 40B and then switches to ANT2 so that the same RX/modem receives the SAT2 signal after handover).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 3-4, 6-7 & 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
15. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Wyler et al. 2016/0170029 A1 (Title: User terminal having linear array antenna… ) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Polehn et al. 2016/0080073 A1 (Title: system and method for providing cellular signals…) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Monteiro et al. 2015/0126194 A1 (Title: Electronic system with search mechanism and method…) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
16. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEWALE A AMBAYE whose telephone number is (571)270-1076. The examiner can normally be reached on M.F 6a.m.-2p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469