DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 2-3, 9 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al (US Pub 2021/0011563) in view of Qiao et al (US Pub 2017/0060276) and Files et al (US Pat 11,314,353).
With respect to claim 1, KHAN discloses a method at an active stylus for facilitating screen-share between a screen-share source device and a screen-share destination device, (par 0001; discloses the disclosure relates to a display apparatus for transmitting content data of an electronic apparatus using an electronic pen and a control method thereof) the method comprising, at the active stylus: receiving, from the screen-share destination device, an identifier corresponding to the screen-share destination device, (par 0041; discloses When the size of content data corresponding to the object 101 the user selected using the electronic pen 100 exceeds a predetermined value, the display apparatus 200 may transmit identification information on data and information for accessing the display apparatus 200 to the electronic pen 100) wherein the identifier is received at the active stylus when an electronic pairing is established between the active stylus and the screen- share destination device via a radio frequency (RF) communication modality (par 0048; discloses the communicator 220 may use the electronic pen 100 to transmit identification information of data corresponding to user selected content and information for accessing the display apparatus 200 to the electronic pen 100. Par 0049; discloses the communicator 220 may include various communication protocols for connecting with the electronic pen 100 for communication based on a data size corresponding to user selected content using the electronic pen 100. The communication protocol may be a near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, or Wi-Fi, without being limited thereto and may be of various forms); receiving the screen-share initiating user input to initiate screen sharing between the screen-share destination device and the screen-share source device; upon receiving the screen-share initiating request, transmitting a screen-share initialization request to the screen-share destination device to activate a screen-sharing functionality of the screen-share destination device (par 0040; discloses The user may use the electronic 100 to select a content object 101 the display 210 of the display apparatus 200 is displaying; par 0069; discloses referring to FIG. 5, based on detecting user input selecting the content to be shared with the electronic pen 100 (S510), the display apparatus 200 may connect with the electronic pen for communication through the method described in FIG. 4 (S520)); and transmitting the identifier of the screen-share destination device to the screen-share source device to facilitate establishment of a screen-share pairing between the screen-share source device and the screen-share destination device (par 0041; discloses when the user uses the electronic pen 100 to touch the display 310 of the external display apparatus 300, the electronic pen 100 may transfer the token generated by the electronic pen 100 to the external display apparatus 300. The external display apparatus 300 which received the token transferred from the electronic pen 100 may use the token to request data on the corresponding content to be transferred to the display apparatus 200. The display apparatus 200 may at this time check if information contained in the token and information transmitted to the electronic pen 100 is a match, and may transmit the corresponding data to the external display apparatus 300 when information is a match; see par 0050 as well), and wherein the screen-share pairing enables graphical content rendered by the screen-share source device to be displayed by the screen-share destination device according to the screen-sharing functionality of the screen-share destination device (par 0079; discloses If the identification result information is confirmed as matching, the display apparatus 200 may directly transmit the corresponding data to the external display apparatus 300. Specifically, based on a network information of the external display apparatus 300 included in the data transfer request signal received from the external display apparatus 300, the display apparatus 200 may transmit data through a Wi-Fi communication connection. Generally, since directly transmitting from the display apparatus 200 to the external display apparatus 300 corresponds to data size being too large, using a Wi-Fi protocol is most common, but the embodiment is not limited thereto, and may be transmitted via various communication protocols);
KHAN doesn’t expressly disclose wherein the identifier of the screen-share destination device is transmitted to the screen-share source device using an electrostatic communication modality in which one or more electrodes of the active stylus are driven with an encoded drive signal that influences electrical conditions at one or more electrodes of an electronic display device of the screen-share source device;
In the same field of endeavor, Qiao discloses system and method for communicating data between stylus and touch display device (see abstract); Qiao discloses transmitting data from a stylus to a touch device using an electrostatic communication modality in which one or more electrodes of the active stylus are driven with an encoded drive signal that influences electrical conditions at one or more electrodes of an electronic display device of the screen-share source device (par 0015; discloses a stylus-drive subframe may be designated for the active stylus to transmit stylus information to the display device via an electrostatic communication channel formed between an electrically-stimulated electrode of the active stylus and a touch sensor of the display device; par 0030; discloses an electrostatic channel may be established between one or more transmit rows 302 and a conductive element (e.g., electrode tip) of active stylus 400, along which data may be transmitted; see par 0050 as well);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KHAN to incorporate the teachings of Qiao to communicate data between the stylus and the source device via electrostatic communication in order to allow devices to share data using multiple communication protocol in order to reduce noise and prevent any interferences when communication data between multiple devices;
KHAN as modified by Qiao doesn’t expressly disclose wherein the identifier is received during establishment of an electronic pairing between the active stylus and the screen-share destination device, prior to the active stylus receiving a screen-share initialization user input to initiate screen sharing between the screen-share destination device and the screen-share source device;
In the same field of endeavor, Files discloses systema and method for sharing data between device (see abstract); Files discloses wherein the identifier is received during establishment of an electronic pairing between the active stylus and the screen-share destination device, prior to the active stylus receiving a screen-share initialization user input to initiate screen sharing between the screen-share destination device and the screen-share source device; (fig. 3; discloses step 305 for pairing the stylus to the first display device that occurs before the step 310 for initiating the data sharing request from the stylus; col 8; lines 1-7; discloses Stylus 240 may include a near field communication technology, such as, for example, Bluetooth that enables the stylus to be associated, such as paired, with a particular computing device);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KHAN as modified by Qiao to incorporate the teachings of Files to pair the stylus with the computing device before the initiation of screen-share in order simplify the pairing process while still achieving the predictable result of using the stylus to share content between two devices.
With respect to claim 4, KHAN as modified by Qiao and Files discloses further comprising receiving a security code from the screen-share destination device, and transmitting the security code to the screen-share source device (KHAN; par 0076; discloses the electronic pen 100 may generate a token which includes display apparatus access information and data identification information transmitted from the display apparatus 200 (S740). The identification information of data may include meta data, and the information for accessing may include ID information, network ID, DSLAM location, ATM channel ID information, WLAN access point, BRAS ID, mobile network code, SIP proxy signal, and the like which has the authorization to access the display apparatus 200).
With respect to claim 5, KHAN as modified by Qiao and Files don’t expressly discloses wherein receiving the screen-share initiating user input includes detecting actuation of a physical button of the active stylus;
Files further discloses system and method for data sharing between devices (see abstract); Files discloses wherein detecting the screen-share initiating user input includes detecting actuation of a physical button of the active stylus (col 8, lines 7-24; discloses Stylus 240 may be configured to select content 235 which may include data such as text, imagery, files, or other media from first display device 225 and copy it to a clipboard such as memory 220, a portion of memory 220, or other temporary storage on information handling system 205. The cut, copy, and/or paste of content may be in response to a stylus action or via a control feature such as a button in stylus 240);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KHAN as modified by Qiao and Files to incorporate the teachings of Files to initiate the screen-sharing between source device and sink device by pressing a button of the control device in order to provide a user with a quick way of sharing content between the two devices.
With respect to claim 8, KHAN as modified by Qiao and Files discloses wherein the identifier corresponding to the screen-share destination device is a media access control (MAC) address of the screen-share destination device (KHAN; par 0069; discloses The information for accessing the display apparatus 200 may include MAC address information, BT address information, ID information, network ID, DSLAM location, ATM channel ID information, WLAN access point, BRAS ID, mobile network code, SIP proxy signal, and the like which has the authorization to access the display apparatus 200).
With respect to claim 21, KHAN as modified by Qiao and Files discloses wherein the identifier of the screen-share destination device is transmitted to the screen-share source device when the active stylus contacts a surface of the electronic display device of the screen-share source device (KHAN; par 0041; discloses when the user uses the electronic pen 100 to touch the display 310 of the external display apparatus 300, the electronic pen 100 may transfer the token generated by the electronic pen 100 to the external display apparatus 300).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al (US Pub 2021/0011563) in view of Qiao et al (US Pub 2017/0060276) and Files et al (US Pat 11,314,353), and Feng (US Pub 2016/0124528).
With respect to claim 6, KHAN as modified by Qiao and Files discloses wherein
a logic controller of the active stylus is configured to recognize predefined input types including the screen-share initiating user input (Files; col 8, lines 7-24; discloses Stylus 240 may be configured to select content 235 which may include data such as text, imagery, files, or other media from first display device 225 and copy it to a clipboard such as memory 220, a portion of memory 220, or other temporary storage on information handling system 205. The cut, copy, and/or paste of content may be in response to a stylus action or via a control feature such as a button in stylus 240);
KHAN as modified by Qiao and Files don’t expressly disclose recognizing two or more different predefined input types that are each associated with different actuation profiles of the physical button;
Feng discloses a stylus recognizing two or more different predefined input types that are each associated with different actuation profiles of the physical button (par 0047; discloses a method 310 that includes a detection block 314 for detecting orientation of a stylus with respect to a display; and an assignment block 318 for assigning a function to a button of the stylus based at least in part on the orientation; par 0085; discloses the stylus 840 includes a nib 842 and a button 848 where the button 848 may be assigned a first function (Function 1) and may be assigned a second, different function (Function 2) );
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KHAN as modified by Qiao and Files to incorporate the teachings of Feng to associate different functions to the button of the stylus in order to allow user to provide different commands via a single button. The modification would increase functionality while reducing the number of buttons to be included on the input device required for each function.
With respect to claim 7, KHAN as modified by Qiao, Files and Feng further discloses wherein an actuation profile associated with the screen-share initiating user input specifies one or both of an actuation duration of the physical button, and a number of separate actuations of the physical button within a threshold time interval (Feng; par 0049; discloses As an example, holding a button down for a period of time may cause a button to perform a function, For example, consider a select function of a button of a stylus responsive to an initial actuation signal generated by applying pressure to the button and a drag function where the button is held down while moving the stylus. As an example, one or both of such functions may depend on orientation of the stylus with respect to a display of a device).
Claim(s) 10-11, 13-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al (US Pub 2021/0011563) in view of YOO et al (US Pub 2015/0067054).
With respect to claim 10, KHAN discloses a computing device, (fig. 1; device 200; par 0037; discloses the display apparatus 200 may be implemented to various types such as a tablet personal computer (PC), a laptop PC, a PC, a television (TV), an MP3 player, gaining console, a kiosk, an electronic frame, a table display, a monitor, an electronic whiteboard, a smart refrigerator, and the like.) comprising: a logic subsystem; and a storage subsystem holding instructions executable by the logic subsystem to (fig. 2; processor 240, memory 230; par 0053; discloses the memory 230 (nay store various data for the overall operation of the display apparatus 200 such as programs for the processing and controlling of the processor 240): render local graphical content for display via an electronic display device communicatively coupled with the computing device (fig. 3; discloses graphical content being rendered on the device 200 that is to be shared with device 300); while rendering the local graphical content, receive from an input device separate from the computing device and separate from the electronic display device, an identifier relayed by the separate input device (par 0039; discloses The user may use the electronic 100 to select a content object 101 the display 210 of the display apparatus 200 is displaying.; par 0041; discloses When the size of content data corresponding to the object 101 the user selected using the electronic pen 100 exceeds a predetermined value, the display apparatus 200 may transmit identification information on data and information for accessing the display apparatus 200 to the electronic pen 100.), the screen-share destination device different from the electronic display device (fig. 1; discloses device 200 and device 300 and stylus 100 are separate devices); responsive to receiving the identifier from the input device, initiate a screen-share pairing with the screen-share destination device to facilitate display of screen-share graphical content from the computing device at the screen-share destination device; and output screen-share graphical content for display by the screen-share destination device (par 0079; discloses If the identification result information is confirmed as matching, the display apparatus 200 may directly transmit the corresponding data to the external display apparatus 300. Specifically, based on a network information of the external display apparatus 300 included in the data transfer request signal received from the external display apparatus 300, the display apparatus 200 may transmit data through a Wi-Fi communication connection. Generally, since directly transmitting from the display apparatus 200 to the external display apparatus 300 corresponds to data size being too large, using a Wi-Fi protocol is most common, but the embodiment is not limited thereto, and may be transmitted via various communication protocols);
KHAN doesn’t expressly disclose receiving identifier corresponding to a screen-share destination device; the identifier originating from the screen-share destination device and responsive to receiving the identifier corresponding to the screen-share destination device; initiate a screen-share pairing with the screen-share destination device to facilitate display of screen-share graphical content from the computing device at the screen-share destination device;
In the same field of endeavor, YOO discloses system and method for sharing media data between electronic devices (see abstract); YOO discloses receiving identifier corresponding to a screen-share destination device; the identifier originating from the screen-share destination device (par 0097; discloses In operation 403, the master device receives a media contents sharing list transmission request from a slave device within a group. For example, the master device can receive a signal requesting to transmit a media contents sharing list, from other electronic device joining a media contents sharing group; par 0099; discloses In operation 413, the master device receives an addition sharing list from at least one slave device within the group. The received addition sharing list can include information about sharing media contents selected by a user in each slave device and identification information of the slave device retaining the corresponding media contents) and responsive to receiving the identifier corresponding to the screen-share destination device; initiate a screen-share pairing with the screen-share destination device to facilitate display of screen-share graphical content from the computing device at the screen-share destination device; and output screen-share graphical content for display by the screen-share destination device (par 0097; discloses In operation 405, the master device receiving the media contents sharing list transmission request transmits a media contents sharing list to the detected slave device. Here, the master device receives the media contents sharing list transmission request from the slave device, and transmits the media contents sharing list to the slave device in response to the request, in accordance to a design method,);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KHAN to incorporate the teachings of YOO to initiate the sharing request and transfer the identifier from the sink device to the source device in order to allow user to initiate media sharing from either of the electronic device, improving the convenience of sharing content between devices.
With respect to claim 11, KHAN as modified by YOO discloses wherein the screen-share graphical content output for display by the screen-share destination device duplicates the local graphical content (KHAN; fig. 1; discloses device 300 duplicates the content 101 displayed on device 200).
With respect to claim 13, KHAN as modified by YOO discloses further comprising receiving, from the input device, a security code originating from the screen-share destination device, and wherein initiating the screen-share pairing includes authenticating the security code with the screen-share destination device (KHAN; par 0060; discloses , when the communicator 220 receives a token for requesting data to be transferred from the external display apparatus 300, the processor 240 may be configured to check whether the information included in the token received from the external display apparatus 300 and the information transmitted to the electronic pen 100 is a match. If the information match one another upon verification, the processor 240 may be configured to control the communicator 220 to perform communication connection to directly transmit data to the external display apparatus 300. In addition, the processor 240 may be configured to, based on being connected to the external display apparatus 300 through the communicator 20, control the communicator 220 to transmit data; par 0059; discloses he information for accessing the display apparatus 200 may include MAC address information, BT address information, ID information, network ID, DSLAM location, ATM channel ID information, WLAN access point, BRAS ID, mobile network code, SIP proxy signal, and the like which has the authorization to access the display apparatus 200).
With respect to claim 14, KHAN as modified by YOO discloses wherein the input device is an active stylus (KHAN; fig. 1; discloses device 100 is a stylus; par 0038; discloses the electronic pen 100 may be referred to various designations such as stylus pen, touch pen, and S-pen,).
With respect to claim 16, KHAN as modified by YOO discloses wherein the identifier corresponding to the screen-share destination device is a media access control (MAC) address of the screen-share destination device (KHAN; par 0069; discloses The information for accessing the display apparatus 200 may include MAC address information, BT address information, ID information, network ID, DSLAM location, ATM channel ID information, WLAN access point, BRAS ID, mobile network code, SIP proxy signal, and the like which has the authorization to access the display apparatus 200).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al (US Pub 2021/0011563) in view of YOO et al (US Pub 2015/0067054) and Qiao et al (US Pub 2017/0060276).
With respect to claim 15, KHAN as modified by YOO don’t expressly disclose wherein the identifier corresponding to the screen-share destination device is received using an electrostatic communication modality by decoding a change in electrical conditions detected at one or more display electrodes of the electronic display device, the change in electrical conditions caused by an electrostatic drive signal applied to one or more stylus electrodes of the active stylus;
In the same field of endeavor, Qiao discloses system and method for communicating data between stylus and touch display device (see abstract); Qiao discloses wherein the identifier corresponding to the screen-share destination device is received using an electrostatic communication modality by decoding a change in electrical conditions detected at one or more display electrodes of the electronic display device, the change in electrical conditions caused by an electrostatic drive signal applied to one or more stylus electrodes of the active stylus; (par 0015; discloses a stylus-drive subframe may be designated for the active stylus to transmit stylus information to the display device via an electrostatic communication channel formed between an electrically-stimulated electrode of the active stylus and a touch sensor of the display device; par 0030; discloses an electrostatic channel may be established between one or more transmit rows 302 and a conductive element (e.g., electrode tip) of active stylus 400, along which data may be transmitted; see par 0050 as well);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KHAN as modified by YOO to incorporate the teachings of Qiao to communicate data between the stylus and the source device via electrostatic communication in order to allow devices to share data using multiple communication protocol in order to reduce noise and prevent any interferences when communication data between multiple devices.
Claim(s) 17- 20, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al (US Pub 2021/0011563) in view of Files et al (US Pat 11,314,353).
With respect to claim 17, KHAN discloses an electronic display device, (fig. 1; device 200) comprising: a logic subsystem; and a storage subsystem holding instructions executable by the logic subsystem to (fig. 2; processor 240, memory 230; par 0053; discloses the memory 230 (nay store various data for the overall operation of the display apparatus 200 such as programs for the processing and controlling of the processor 240): transmit an identifier corresponding to the electronic display device to an input device separate from the electronic display device (par 0041; discloses the display apparatus 200 may transmit identification information on data and information for accessing the display apparatus 200 to the electronic pen 100) receive a screen-share initialization request from the input device (par 0065; discloses If the user selects a S-Pen icon 304 displayed on the UI 301, the display apparatus 200 may share data through the electronic pen 100); upon receiving the screen-share initialization request from the input device, initiate a screen-share pairing with a screen-share source device, the screen- share source device having received the identifier corresponding to the electronic display device from the input device (par 0041; discloses when the user uses the electronic pen 100 to touch the display 310 of the external display apparatus 300, the electronic pen 100 may transfer the token generated by the electronic pen 100 to the external display apparatus 300. The external display apparatus 300 which received the token transferred from the electronic pen 100 may use the token to request data on the corresponding content to be transferred to the display apparatus 200. The display apparatus 200 may at this time check if information contained in the token and information transmitted to the electronic pen 100 is a match, and may transmit the corresponding data to the external display apparatus 300 when information is a match); and on an electronic display integrated into the electronic display device, display screen-share graphical content output by the screen-share source device (fig. 1; discloses same content is displayed on the device 200 and device 300);
KHAN doesn’t expressly disclose transmit an identifier corresponding to the electronic device to the input device during establishment of an electronic pair between the electronic display device and the input device, prior to receiving a screen-share initialization request from the input device;
In the same field of endeavor, Files discloses systema and method for sharing data between device (see abstract); Files discloses transmit an identifier corresponding to the electronic device to the input device during establishment of an electronic pair between the electronic display device and the input device, prior to receiving a screen-share initialization request from the input device (fig. 3; discloses step 305 for pairing the stylus to the first display device that occurs before the step 310 for initiating the data sharing request from the stylus; col 8; lines 1-7; discloses Stylus 240 may include a near field communication technology, such as, for example, Bluetooth that enables the stylus to be associated, such as paired, with a particular computing device);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KHAN to incorporate the teachings of Files to pair the stylus with the computing device before the initiation of screen-share in order simplify the pairing process while still achieving the predictable result of using the stylus to share content between two devices.
With respect to claim 18, KHAN as modified by Files discloses wherein the instructions are further executable to transmit a security code to the input device, and initiate the screen- share pairing with the screen-share source device after authenticating the security code with the screen-share source device (KHAN; par 0041; discloses the display apparatus 200 may transmit identification information on data and information for accessing the display apparatus 200 to the electronic pen 100. The electronic pen 100 may generate a token based on identification information on data transmitted from the display apparatus 200 and access information for accessing the display 200. In addition, when the user uses the electronic pen 100 to touch the display 310 of the external display apparatus 300, the electronic pen 100 may transfer the token generated by the electronic pen 100 to the external display apparatus 300. The external display apparatus 300 which received the token transferred from the electronic pen 100 may use the token to request data on the corresponding content to be transferred to the display apparatus 200. The display apparatus 200 may at this time check if information contained in the token and information transmitted to the electronic pen 100 is a match, and may transmit the corresponding data to the external display apparatus 300 when information is a match).
With respect to claim 19, KHAN as modified by Files discloses wherein the input device is an active stylus (KHAN; par 0038; discloses the electronic pen 100 may be referred to various designations such as stylus pen, touch pen, and S-pen), wherein the identifier is transmitted via a radio frequency radio-frequency (RF) communication modality (KHAN; par 0041; discloses When the size of content data corresponding to the object 101 the user selected using the electronic pen 100 exceeds a predetermined value, the display apparatus 200 may transmit identification information on data and information for accessing the display apparatus 200 to the electronic pen 100; par 0048; discloses the communicator 220 may use the electronic pen 100 to transmit identification information of data corresponding to user selected content and information for accessing the display apparatus 200 to the electronic pen 100. Par 0049; discloses the communicator 220 may include various communication protocols for connecting with the electronic pen 100 for communication based on a data size corresponding to user selected content using the electronic pen 100. The communication protocol may be a near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, or Wi-Fi, without being limited thereto and may be of various forms).
With respect to claim 20, KHAN as modified by Files discloses wherein the identifier corresponding to the electronic display device is a media access control (MAC) address of the electronic display device (KHAN; par 0069; discloses The information for accessing the display apparatus 200 may include MAC address information, BT address information, ID information, network ID, DSLAM location, ATM channel ID information, WLAN access point, BRAS ID, mobile network code, SIP proxy signal, and the like which has the authorization to access the display apparatus 200).
With respect to claim 23, KHAN as modified by Files discloses further comprising receiving a subsequent security code transmitted by the screen-share source device, and wherein authenticating the security code includes determining that the security code matches the subsequent security code (KHAN; par 0041; discloses The external display apparatus 300 which received the token transferred from the electronic pen 100 may use the token to request data on the corresponding content to be transferred to the display apparatus 200. The display apparatus 200 may at this time check if information contained in the token and information transmitted to the electronic pen 100 is a match, and may transmit the corresponding data to the external display apparatus 300 when information is a match).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al (US Pub 2021/0011563) in view of YOO et al (US Pub 2015/0067054) and Stahl et al (US Pub 2013/0328878).
With respect to claim 12, KHAN as modified by YOO don’t expressly disclose wherein the screen-share destination device is classified as an extended display of the computing device, and wherein the screen-share graphical content output for display by the screen-share destination device is different from the local graphical content;
In the same field of endeavor, Stahl discloses system and method for display mirroring (see abstract); Stahl discloses wherein the screen-share destination device is classified as an extended display of the computing device, and wherein the screen-share graphical content output for display by the screen-share destination device is different from the local graphical content (par 0049; discloses in an extended display mode, the computing device may present image information on the collective display area of the two displays as if it were a single, large display having the size and shape of the combined displays. As illustrated in this example, even though the orientations and aspect ratios of internal display 330 (at 3:4) and external monitor 335 (at 16:9) are quite different, the computing device may generate and provide image information to both displays that fills the entire display area of the displays. In this example, a display generation unit 210 may render different image content for each display in a best (or preferred) mode for the display on which it will be presented (e.g., according to the native resolution, aspect ratio, and/or color profile for that display);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KHAN as modified by YOO to incorporate the teachings of Stahl to use the source device and sink device in an extended mode such that plurality of displays are used as one single large display allowing user to view more content on plurality of displays.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al (US Pub 2021/0011563) in view of YOO et al (US Pub 2015/0067054) and YUAN et al (US Pub 2016/0360339).
With respect to claim 22, KHAN as modified by YOO doesn’t expressly discloses wherein initiating the screen-share pairing includes transmitting pairing data directly to the screen-share destination device without using the input device as an intermediary to relay the pairing data;
In the same field of endeavor, YUAN discloses wherein initiating the screen-share pairing includes transmitting pairing data directly to the screen-share destination device without using the input device as an intermediary to relay the pairing data (fig. 1; discloses device 20 establishing wireless connection with device 10 without an intermediary; par 0016; discloses The source device may be located in a source device cluster, and a cluster manager of the source device cluster may receive a wireless connection request from the target device, and in response to the receiving the wireless connection request, select the source device from the source device cluster based on a load-balancing algorithm. The method may further include receiving, from the cluster manager, a notification to establish the wireless connection to the target device);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KHAN as modified by YOO to incorporate the teachings of YUAN to establish wireless connection between two device without the intermediary in order to establish connection between two device quickly and efficiently.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 17 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2624