CTNF 18/847,429 CTNF 83064 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acquisition unit that acquires”, “determination unit that determines” and “output unit that outputs” in claims 1 and 17. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-10, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Lawrenson et al. (US 2020/0334386) . Regarding claim 1 , Lawrenson et al. discloses an information processing device comprising: an acquisition unit that acquires first user information related to a first user who is a user on a side to be watched over and second user information related to a second user who is a user on a side of watching over the first user (“Alternatively or in addition, a user interface component 108 may be configured to receive a user input. In other words, a user interface component 108 may allow a subject or another user of the apparatus 100 to manually enter data. The control unit 102 may be configured to acquire a user input from one or more user interface components 108. Examples of user input may be a user input indicative of a required privacy level for a characteristic for a subject, a user input indicative of whether a suggested change in a privacy setting is confirmed or denied, a user input indicative of an instruction to override a privacy setting, a user input indicative of an activity that the subject is to undertake, a user input indicative of an instruction to open or close a shutter on a camera or robotic eye for a current activity, or any other user input or combination of user inputs” at paragraph 0061, line 1); and a determination unit that determines an abstraction level of presentation information that is information indicating a state of the first user on a basis of the first user information and the second user information (“In some embodiments, the method may further comprise determining that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects and, in response to this determination, the privacy level can be set based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects. In particular, a more stringent privacy level can be set based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects in response to a determination that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur. A privacy sensitive situation can be any situation in which one or more subjects will require a more stringent privacy level to be set (such as not recording one or more subjects by at least one sensor, blocking one or more subjects from being recorded by at least one sensor, filtering out one or more subjects from a signal acquired from at least one sensor, or any other increased privacy level). By determining that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects, future events can be predicted for subjects and an appropriate privacy level can be set for those events in advance of the events occurring” at paragraph 0076, line 1). Regarding claim 2 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the acquisition unit acquires the first user information including first input information input by the first user (“Alternatively or in addition, a user interface component 108 may be configured to receive a user input. In other words, a user interface component 108 may allow a subject or another user of the apparatus 100 to manually enter data.” at paragraph 0061, line 1), and the determination unit determines the abstraction level of the presentation information of the first user on a basis of the first input information (“Based on a received user input, the privacy requirements of a subject can be learnt. Specifically, the required privacy level of the subject can be determined based on received user input and then stored such that the behaviour of the system can be tuned over time. For example, the user input may compliment or replace decisions that may otherwise be taken automatically by the control unit 102 to set a privacy level. The required privacy level may include a privacy level associated with a certain characteristic (or activity or situation)” at paragraph 0062, fourth to last sentence). Regarding claim 3 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the acquisition unit acquires the first input information indicating an abstraction level designated by the first user (“Alternatively or in addition, a user interface component 108 may be configured to receive a user input. In other words, a user interface component 108 may allow a subject or another user of the apparatus 100 to manually enter data.” at paragraph 0061, line 1), and the determination unit determines the abstraction level of the presentation information of the first user on a basis of the abstraction level indicated by the first input information (“Based on a received user input, the privacy requirements of a subject can be learnt. Specifically, the required privacy level of the subject can be determined based on received user input and then stored such that the behaviour of the system can be tuned over time. For example, the user input may compliment or replace decisions that may otherwise be taken automatically by the control unit 102 to set a privacy level. The required privacy level may include a privacy level associated with a certain characteristic (or activity or situation)” at paragraph 0062, fourth to last sentence). Regarding claim 4 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the acquisition unit acquires the first input information indicating an instruction to lower an abstraction level by the first user (“Based on a received user input, the privacy requirements of a subject can be learnt. Specifically, the required privacy level of the subject can be determined based on received user input and then stored such that the behaviour of the system can be tuned over time. For example, the user input may compliment or replace decisions that may otherwise be taken automatically by the control unit 102 to set a privacy level. The required privacy level may include a privacy level associated with a certain characteristic (or activity or situation)” at paragraph 0062, fourth to last sentence; this implies that the user may indicate what situations where the privacy level can be lowered from a higher level), and the determination unit lowers the abstraction level of the presentation information of the first user in accordance with the instruction to lower the abstraction level by the first user (“For example, the control unit 102 may collect data acquired from sensor signals or user input that can indicate a required privacy level for a subject. A required privacy level may be associated with a particular characteristic (or activity or situation). Examples of data may include data acquired through tracking the activity of the subject, data recognised as an emotional response of the subject, data manually provided by the subject via a user interface component 108, or similar. Subsequent to comparing the detected characteristic with predefined characteristics stored in a database, the predefined characteristic that most closely matches the detected characteristic may be selected. The privacy level is then set to the privacy level associated with the selected predefined characteristic” at paragraph 0070, line 10). Regarding claim 5 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the acquisition unit acquires the first input information indicating an instruction to raise an abstraction level by the first user (“Based on a received user input, the privacy requirements of a subject can be learnt. Specifically, the required privacy level of the subject can be determined based on received user input and then stored such that the behaviour of the system can be tuned over time. For example, the user input may compliment or replace decisions that may otherwise be taken automatically by the control unit 102 to set a privacy level. The required privacy level may include a privacy level associated with a certain characteristic (or activity or situation)” at paragraph 0062, fourth to last sentence; this implies that the user may indicate what situations where the privacy level can be raised to a higher level), and the determination unit raises the abstraction level of the presentation information of the first user in accordance with the instruction to raise the abstraction level by the first user (“For example, the control unit 102 may collect data acquired from sensor signals or user input that can indicate a required privacy level for a subject. A required privacy level may be associated with a particular characteristic (or activity or situation). Examples of data may include data acquired through tracking the activity of the subject, data recognised as an emotional response of the subject, data manually provided by the subject via a user interface component 108, or similar. Subsequent to comparing the detected characteristic with predefined characteristics stored in a database, the predefined characteristic that most closely matches the detected characteristic may be selected. The privacy level is then set to the privacy level associated with the selected predefined characteristic” at paragraph 0070, line 10). Regarding claim 6 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the acquisition unit acquires the first user information including first sensing information indicating a state of the first user detected by a sensor (“For example, the control unit 102 may collect data acquired from sensor signals or user input that can indicate a required privacy level for a subject.” at paragraph 0070, line 10), and the determination unit determines the abstraction level of the presentation information of the first user on a basis of the first sensing information (“A required privacy level may be associated with a particular characteristic (or activity or situation). Examples of data may include data acquired through tracking the activity of the subject, data recognised as an emotional response of the subject, data manually provided by the subject via a user interface component 108, or similar. Subsequent to comparing the detected characteristic with predefined characteristics stored in a database, the predefined characteristic that most closely matches the detected characteristic may be selected. The privacy level is then set to the privacy level associated with the selected predefined characteristic” at paragraph 0070, line 12). Regarding claim 7 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the acquisition unit acquires the second user information including second input information input by the second user (“Alternatively or in addition, a user interface component 108 may be configured to receive a user input. In other words, a user interface component 108 may allow a subject or another user of the apparatus 100 to manually enter data. The control unit 102 may be configured to acquire a user input from one or more user interface components 108. Examples of user input may be a user input indicative of a required privacy level for a characteristic for a subject, a user input indicative of whether a suggested change in a privacy setting is confirmed or denied, a user input indicative of an instruction to override a privacy setting, a user input indicative of an activity that the subject is to undertake, a user input indicative of an instruction to open or close a shutter on a camera or robotic eye for a current activity, or any other user input or combination of user inputs” at paragraph 0061, line 1), and the determination unit determines an abstraction level of the presentation information of the second user on a basis of the second input information (“A required privacy level may be associated with a particular characteristic (or activity or situation). Examples of data may include data acquired through tracking the activity of the subject, data recognised as an emotional response of the subject, data manually provided by the subject via a user interface component 108, or similar. Subsequent to comparing the detected characteristic with predefined characteristics stored in a database, the predefined characteristic that most closely matches the detected characteristic may be selected. The privacy level is then set to the privacy level associated with the selected predefined characteristic” at paragraph 0070, line 12). Regarding claim 8 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the acquisition unit acquires the second input information indicating an abstraction level designated by the second user (“Alternatively or in addition, a user interface component 108 may be configured to receive a user input. In other words, a user interface component 108 may allow a subject or another user of the apparatus 100 to manually enter data. The control unit 102 may be configured to acquire a user input from one or more user interface components 108. Examples of user input may be a user input indicative of a required privacy level for a characteristic for a subject, a user input indicative of whether a suggested change in a privacy setting is confirmed or denied, a user input indicative of an instruction to override a privacy setting, a user input indicative of an activity that the subject is to undertake, a user input indicative of an instruction to open or close a shutter on a camera or robotic eye for a current activity, or any other user input or combination of user inputs” at paragraph 0061, line 1), and the determination unit determines the abstraction level of the presentation information of the second user on a basis of the abstraction level indicated by the second input information (“A required privacy level may be associated with a particular characteristic (or activity or situation). Examples of data may include data acquired through tracking the activity of the subject, data recognised as an emotional response of the subject, data manually provided by the subject via a user interface component 108, or similar. Subsequent to comparing the detected characteristic with predefined characteristics stored in a database, the predefined characteristic that most closely matches the detected characteristic may be selected. The privacy level is then set to the privacy level associated with the selected predefined characteristic” at paragraph 0070, line 12). Regarding claim 9 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the acquisition unit acquires the second input information indicating an instruction to lower an abstraction level by the second user, and the determination unit lowers the abstraction level of the presentation information of the second user in accordance with the instruction to lower the abstraction level by the second user (“Based on a received user input, the privacy requirements of a subject can be learnt. Specifically, the required privacy level of the subject can be determined based on received user input and then stored such that the behaviour of the system can be tuned over time. For example, the user input may compliment or replace decisions that may otherwise be taken automatically by the control unit 102 to set a privacy level. The required privacy level may include a privacy level associated with a certain characteristic (or activity or situation)” at paragraph 0062, fourth to last sentence; this implies that the user may indicate what situations where the privacy level can be lowered from a higher level). Regarding claim 10 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the acquisition unit acquires the second input information indicating an instruction to raise an abstraction level by the second user, and the determination unit raises the abstraction level of the presentation information of the second user in accordance with the instruction to raise the abstraction level by the second user (“Based on a received user input, the privacy requirements of a subject can be learnt. Specifically, the required privacy level of the subject can be determined based on received user input and then stored such that the behaviour of the system can be tuned over time. For example, the user input may compliment or replace decisions that may otherwise be taken automatically by the control unit 102 to set a privacy level. The required privacy level may include a privacy level associated with a certain characteristic (or activity or situation)” at paragraph 0062, fourth to last sentence; this implies that the user may indicate what situations where the privacy level can be raised to a higher level). Regarding claim 12 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the determination unit determines an abstraction level at a time of presenting the presentation information of the first user to the second user on a basis of the first user information and the second user information (“For example, the control unit 102 may collect data acquired from sensor signals or user input that can indicate a required privacy level for a subject. A required privacy level may be associated with a particular characteristic (or activity or situation). Examples of data may include data acquired through tracking the activity of the subject, data recognised as an emotional response of the subject, data manually provided by the subject via a user interface component 108, or similar. Subsequent to comparing the detected characteristic with predefined characteristics stored in a database, the predefined characteristic that most closely matches the detected characteristic may be selected. The privacy level is then set to the privacy level associated with the selected predefined characteristic” at paragraph 0070, line 10). Regarding claim 14 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the determination unit determines the abstraction level of the presentation information of the first user depending on a protection level of the presentation information of the first user determined on a basis of the first user information and the second user information (“In some embodiments, the method may further comprise determining that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects and, in response to this determination, the privacy level can be set based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects. In particular, a more stringent privacy level can be set based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects in response to a determination that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur. A privacy sensitive situation can be any situation in which one or more subjects will require a more stringent privacy level to be set (such as not recording one or more subjects by at least one sensor, blocking one or more subjects from being recorded by at least one sensor, filtering out one or more subjects from a signal acquired from at least one sensor, or any other increased privacy level). By determining that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects, future events can be predicted for subjects and an appropriate privacy level can be set for those events in advance of the events occurring” at paragraph 0076, line 1). Regarding claim 15 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the determination unit determines an amount of information of the presentation information of the first user depending on an attention degree of the presentation information of the first user determined on a basis of the first user information and the second user information (“A subject may prefer more privacy when performing a certain activity. Thus, when the inertial, activity or motion sensor acquires a signal indicative that the subject is performing (or is preparing to perform) a certain activity, the privacy setting of at least one sensor can be increased to a higher privacy level to provide the subject with more privacy. On the other hand, a subject may need to be monitored when performing a particular activity. Thus, when the inertial, activity or motion sensor acquires a signal indicative that the subject is performing (or is preparing to perform) the particular activity, the privacy setting of the at least one sensor can be decreased to a lower privacy level” at paragraph 0054). Regarding claim 17 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device further comprising: an output unit that outputs the presentation information corresponding to the abstraction level determined by the determination unit (“The controlled signal may then be rendered to the one or more subjects. For example, the control unit 102 may control a user interface component 108 to render the controlled signal. In one example, a user interface component 108 may render a controlled signal on a screen by displaying an acquired image from a camera controlled with the privacy setting. Other examples may include rendering a blurred acquire camera image on a screen or rendering an acquired waveform on a screen following disconnection of a microphone to show the difference between the microphone being connected and disconnected. In this way, a feedback loop that renders the signals acquired from the at least one sensor under the controlled privacy setting. This can reassure the one or more subjects that their privacy requirements are met” at paragraph 0097). Regarding claim 19 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the output unit transmits the presentation information corresponding to the abstraction level determined by the determination unit to a terminal device used by the first user (“The controlled signal may then be rendered to the one or more subjects. For example, the control unit 102 may control a user interface component 108 to render the controlled signal. In one example, a user interface component 108 may render a controlled signal on a screen by displaying an acquired image from a camera controlled with the privacy setting. Other examples may include rendering a blurred acquire camera image on a screen or rendering an acquired waveform on a screen following disconnection of a microphone to show the difference between the microphone being connected and disconnected. In this way, a feedback loop that renders the signals acquired from the at least one sensor under the controlled privacy setting. This can reassure the one or more subjects that their privacy requirements are met” at paragraph 0097). Regarding claim 20 , Lawrenson et al. discloses an information processing method comprising: acquiring first user information related to a first user who is a user on a side to be watched over and second user information related to a second user who is a user on a side of watching over the first user (“Alternatively or in addition, a user interface component 108 may be configured to receive a user input. In other words, a user interface component 108 may allow a subject or another user of the apparatus 100 to manually enter data. The control unit 102 may be configured to acquire a user input from one or more user interface components 108. Examples of user input may be a user input indicative of a required privacy level for a characteristic for a subject, a user input indicative of whether a suggested change in a privacy setting is confirmed or denied, a user input indicative of an instruction to override a privacy setting, a user input indicative of an activity that the subject is to undertake, a user input indicative of an instruction to open or close a shutter on a camera or robotic eye for a current activity, or any other user input or combination of user inputs” at paragraph 0061, line 1); and determining an abstraction level of presentation information that is information indicating a state of the first user on a basis of the first user information and the second user information (“In some embodiments, the method may further comprise determining that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects and, in response to this determination, the privacy level can be set based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects. In particular, a more stringent privacy level can be set based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects in response to a determination that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur. A privacy sensitive situation can be any situation in which one or more subjects will require a more stringent privacy level to be set (such as not recording one or more subjects by at least one sensor, blocking one or more subjects from being recorded by at least one sensor, filtering out one or more subjects from a signal acquired from at least one sensor, or any other increased privacy level). By determining that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects, future events can be predicted for subjects and an appropriate privacy level can be set for those events in advance of the events occurring” at paragraph 0076, line 1) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawrenson et al . Regarding claim 11 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device as described in claim 1 above. Lawrenson et al. does not explicitly disclose that the acquisition unit acquires the second user information including second sensing information indicating a state of the second user detected by a sensor and that the determination unit determines an abstraction level of the presentation information of the second user on a basis of the second sensing information. However, Lawrenson et al. discloses utilizing sensors to determine the state of a user (“In some embodiments, the method may further comprise determining that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects and, in response to this determination, the privacy level can be set based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects. In particular, a more stringent privacy level can be set based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects in response to a determination that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur. A privacy sensitive situation can be any situation in which one or more subjects will require a more stringent privacy level to be set (such as not recording one or more subjects by at least one sensor, blocking one or more subjects from being recorded by at least one sensor, filtering out one or more subjects from a signal acquired from at least one sensor, or any other increased privacy level). By determining that a privacy sensitive situation is expected to occur based on the detected characteristic of the one or more subjects, future events can be predicted for subjects and an appropriate privacy level can be set for those events in advance of the events occurring” at paragraph 0076, line 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a sensor to determine the monitoring user’s attention state to avoid privacy obscuring in the case where the monitoring user is inattentive or absent. Regarding claim 13 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device as described in claim 1 above. Lawrenson et al. does not explicitly disclose that the determination unit determines an abstraction level at a time of presenting the presentation information of the first user to the first user on a basis of the first user information and the second user information. However, the monitored user is able to interact with the privacy system via the user interface on their device, which would be capable of displaying the presentation information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to transmit the information to the monitored user to allow them to preview and verify the level of privacy as displayed to outside users. Regarding claim 18 , Lawrenson et al. discloses a device wherein the output unit transmits the presentation information corresponding to the abstraction level determined by the determination unit (“The controlled signal may then be rendered to the one or more subjects. For example, the control unit 102 may control a user interface component 108 to render the controlled signal. In one example, a user interface component 108 may render a controlled signal on a screen by displaying an acquired image from a camera controlled with the privacy setting. Other examples may include rendering a blurred acquire camera image on a screen or rendering an acquired waveform on a screen following disconnection of a microphone to show the difference between the microphone being connected and disconnected. In this way, a feedback loop that renders the signals acquired from the at least one sensor under the controlled privacy setting. This can reassure the one or more subjects that their privacy requirements are met” at paragraph 0097). Lawrenson et al. does not explicitly disclose that the output unit transmits the presentation information to a terminal device used by the second user. However, the monitored user is able to interact with the privacy system via the user interface on their device, which would be capable of displaying the presentation information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to transmit the information to the monitored user to allow them to preview and verify the level of privacy as displayed to outside users . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lawrenson et al. and Johnson (US 7,477,285) . Lawrenson et al. discloses a device as described in claim 1 above. Lawrenson et al. does not explicitly disclose that the determination unit determines a resolution of the presentation information of the first user depending on responsiveness of the presentation information of the first user determined on a basis of the first user information and the second user information. Johnson et al. teaches a device in the same field of endeavor of privacy data transmission, wherein determination unit determines a resolution of the presentation information of the first user depending on responsiveness of the presentation information of the first user determined on a basis of the first user information and the second user information (“However, the latter is achieved by using motion sensor 194 for determining when the image being transmitted should be given priority or elevated to an active state. A software application executing in the background discards most or all of the video data from camera 192 until motion detector 194 is active (i.e., detects motion in the sensing area). In that case, the application then changes the state of image transmission function and sends the video images received from camera 192 over the HCF's intranet. After motion detector 194 returns to its inactivity state (i.e., the activity in the sensing area has abated), the application will continue to send images for a predetermined time period, after which the application will return the image transmission function to a lower state and terminate image transmissions, or transmit them at an extremely low rate (e.g., one frame every five or ten seconds). Alternatively, the transmission states controlled by motion detector 194 will determine the transmission frame rate (fewer frames when motion detector 194 is inactive) or the resolution of the transmitted image (transmitting only a lower quality image when motion detector 194 is inactive) or some combination of any of the techniques discussed above” at col. 10, line 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the transmission adaptation as taught by Johnson to present the privacy information of Lawrenson et al. to save on bandwidth transmission and resources when there is no desirable data to transmit. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KATRINA R FUJITA whose telephone number is (571)270-1574. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:30-5:30 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sumati Lefkowitz can be reached at 5712723638. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KATRINA R FUJITA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 2 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 3 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 4 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 5 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 6 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 7 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 8 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 9 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 10 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 11 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 12 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 13 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 14 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 15 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 16 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 17 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 18 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 20 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 21 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 23 Art Unit: 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/847,429 Page 24 Art Unit: 2672