DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 and 17-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 01/26/2026 regarding claims 1-24 is fully considered. Of the above claims, claims 15-16 have been canceled; claims 1 has been amended; claim 24 has been newly added.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, the recitation of “the printing speed” in line 3 lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 23, the recitation of “non-carbon particles” in line 2 refers to a previously recited limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2018/0059839 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Kim et al. teach a printing process (a method for forming the strain gauge 450 on the second substrate layer 283 by using the laser transfer printing method; [0217]; FIG. 14) in which a substrate to be printed is disposed opposite an ink carrier having a liquid ink layer (the ink present in the ink station 1440 is coated on one side of a transparent endless belt 1460 by a roller 1450; [0219]; FIG. 14) and the liquid ink layer is irradiated regionally (laser 1480 is applied to the transparent endless belt 1460, so that the ink is transferred from the transparent endless belt 1460 to the surface of the second substrate layer 283; [0220]; FIG. 14), wherein the liquid ink layer comprises a liquid and carbon containing particles X dispersed in the liquid (a transparent material used for the strain gauge may include carbon nanotubes and graphene; [0145]; the ink, i.e., the strain gauge constituent material stored in a supplier 1410 is supplied to an ink station 1440; [0218]; FIG. 14), where said carbon containing particles X are present as carbon nanotube particles, graphene particles, graphene oxide particles, graphite oxide particles, fullerene particles and particles of graphite intercalation compounds, structural analogue particles of graphite, or a combination thereof (a transparent material used for the strain gauge may include carbon nanotubes and graphene; [0145]), and further wherein the liquid ink layer contains an amount of the carbon containing particles X dispersed in the liquid such that the liquid ink layer is sufficiently transparent to attain a transparent ink layer on the substrate upon irradiation (the light from the backlight unit must transmit through the strain gauge 450; [0139]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 14, 17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0059839 A1) in view of Endoh (US 2012/0127236 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teach a printing process (a method for forming the strain gauge 450 on the second substrate layer 283 by using the laser transfer printing method; [0217]; FIG. 14) in which a substrate to be printed is disposed opposite an ink carrier having a liquid ink layer (the ink present in the ink station 1440 is coated on one side of a transparent endless belt 1460 by a roller 1450; [0219]; FIG. 14) and the liquid ink layer is irradiated regionally (laser 1480 is applied to the transparent endless belt 1460, so that the ink is transferred from the transparent endless belt 1460 to the surface of the second substrate layer 283; [0220]; FIG. 14), wherein the liquid ink layer comprises a liquid and carbon containing particles X dispersed in the liquid (a transparent material used for the strain gauge may include carbon nanotubes and graphene; [0145]; the ink, i.e., the strain gauge constituent material stored in a supplier 1410 is supplied to an ink station 1440; [0218]; FIG. 14), where said carbon containing particles X are present as carbon nanotube particles, graphene particles, graphene oxide particles, graphite oxide particles, fullerene particles and particles of graphite intercalation compounds, structural analogue particles of graphite, or a combination thereof (a transparent material used for the strain gauge may include carbon nanotubes and graphene; [0145]), and further wherein the liquid ink layer is sufficiently transparent to attain a transparent ink layer on the substrate upon irradiation (the light from the backlight unit must transmit through the strain gauge 450; [0139]).
Further regarding claim 1, Kim et al. do not teach wherein the liquid ink layer contains 0.02 - 0.40 wt% an amount of the carbon containing particles X dispersed in the liquid.
Further regarding claim 1, Endoh teaches a liquid ink layer contains 0.02 - 0.40 wt% an amount of carbon containing particles X dispersed in a liquid (applications of these types of carbon nanotubes to transparent electrodes; [0009]; the amount of the carbon nanotubes is preferably not less than 0.005% by mass and not more than 10% by mass of the composition; [0041]) for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the liquid ink layer contains 0.02 - 0.40 wt% an amount of the carbon containing particles X dispersed in the liquid, as taught by Endoh, into Kim et al. for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. teach the printing process, which is performed by means of an ink printing apparatus (an optical system for irradiating a donor layer with a pulse laser having a wavelength of 532 nm; Figs 11A-11C) where the ink layer is irradiated regionally in such a way that
a) heat bulges are formed in the ink layer which cause splitting of ink droplets so that the ink printing apparatus is working as nozzle less droplet ejector for ejecting droplets of ink from the ink layer (through the control of the laser, predetermined ink is transferred to the second substrate layer 283 by heat generated by the laser and the pressure of the laser; [0220]; FIG. 14),
b) heat bulges are formed in the ink layer, wherein the bulges contact the substrate and wherein ink splitting is brought about by relative movement between substrate and ink carrier (this optional step not being considered), or
c) a combination of a) and b) (only step a has been considered).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. teach where the ink layer is irradiated regionally by means of a laser (laser 1480; FIG. 14).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. teach where the ink carrier and the ink layer are moved parallel to one another (the transparent endless belt 1460 is rotated by a plurality of guide rollers 1470; [0219]; the second substrate layer 283 is delivered in a predetermined print direction by a handling system 1490; [0220]; FIG. 14).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. teach where the substrate and the ink carrier are moved relative to one another at a speed which corresponds at least to the printing speed (the transparent endless belt 1460 is rotated by a plurality of guide rollers 1470; [0219]; the second substrate layer 283 is delivered in a predetermined print direction by a handling system 1490; [0220]; FIG. 14; the speed the second substrate layer 283 moves in the predetermined print direction corresponds to the printing speed).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. do not teach wherein the ink layer contains 10-99 wt.% of the liquid.
Further regarding claim 6, Endoh teaches the ink layer contains 10-99 wt.% of the liquid (the amount of the carbon nanotubes is preferably not less than 0.005% by mass and not more than 10% by mass of the composition; [0041]; the rest of the composition excluding the carbon nanotubes is the liquid) for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the ink layer contains 10-99 wt.% of the liquid, as taught by Endoh, into Kim et al. for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. do not teach where at least 50 wt.% of all carbon containing particles dispersed in the liquid are present as the carbon nanotube particles, the graphite particles, the graphene particles, or a combination thereof.
Further regarding claim 7, Endoh teaches at least 50 wt.% of all carbon containing particles dispersed in the liquid are present as the carbon nanotube particles, the graphite particles, the graphene particles, or a combination thereof (the carbon nanotube ink composition of the present invention includes at least carbon nanotubes, a solvent, and an acetylene glycol compound; [0028]; carbon nanotubes make up 100% of the carbon containing particles in the composition) for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate where at least 50 wt.% of all carbon containing particles dispersed in the liquid are present as the carbon nanotube particles, the graphite particles, the graphene particles, or a combination thereof, as taught by Endoh, into Kim et al. for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. do not teach where the liquid contains water, organic solvents, or a combination thereof.
Further regarding claim 8, Endoh teaches the liquid contains water, organic solvents, or a combination thereof (in the carbon nanotube ink composition of the present invention, either water or an organic solvent may be used as the solvent; [0043]) for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate where the liquid contains water, organic solvents, or a combination thereof, as taught by Endoh, into Kim et al. for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. do not teach where the ink layer contains polymers dispersed in the liquid, polymers dissolved in the liquid or a combination thereof.
Further regarding claim 10, Endoh teaches the ink layer contains polymers dispersed in the liquid, polymers dissolved in the liquid or a combination thereof (the carbon nanotube ink composition of the present invention includes at least carbon nanotubes, a solvent, and an acetylene glycol compound; [0028]) for the purpose of improving the wetting properties of inks.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate where the ink layer contains polymers dispersed in the liquid, polymers dissolved in the liquid or a combination thereof, as taught by Endoh, into Kim et al. for the purpose of improving the wetting properties of inks.
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. teach a printing assembly containing the ink layer (FIG. 14).
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al. teach wherein the laser is a switched laser (through the control of the laser, predetermined ink is transferred to the second substrate layer 283 by heat generated by the laser and the pressure of the laser; [0220]; FIG. 14; the control of the laser suggests switching on and off of the laser).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al. do not teach wherein the ink layer contains 15-95 wt.% of the liquid.
Further regarding claim 19, Endoh teaches the ink layer contains 15-95 wt.% of the liquid (the amount of the carbon nanotubes is preferably not less than 0.005% by mass and not more than 10% by mass of the composition; [0041]; the rest of the composition excluding the carbon nanotubes is the liquid) for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the ink layer contains 15-95 wt.% of the liquid, as taught by Endoh, into Kim et al. for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al. do not teach wherein the ink layer contains 50-90 wt.% of the liquid.
Further regarding claim 20, Endoh teaches the ink layer contains 50-90 wt.% of the liquid (the amount of the carbon nanotubes is preferably not less than 0.005% by mass and not more than 10% by mass of the composition; [0041]; the rest of the composition excluding the carbon nanotubes is the liquid) for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the ink layer contains 50-90 wt.% of the liquid, as taught by Endoh, into Kim et al. for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
Regarding claim 21, Kim et al. teach where the ink layer contains no carbon black (a transparent material used for the strain gauge may include carbon nanotubes and graphene; [0145]; neither carbon nanotube or graphene is carbon black).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0059839 A1) as modified by Endoh (US 2012/0127236 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kleine Jaeger et al. (US 2012/0164777 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. as modified by Endoh do not teach where the liquid ink contains free radical polymerizable organic solvents.
Further regarding claim 9, Kleine Jaeger et al. teach an liquid ink contains free radical polymerizable organic solvents (preference is given to terpineol, texanol, ethylene glycol, propylene glycol and dipropylene glycol; [0028]) for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate where the liquid ink contains free radical polymerizable organic solvents, as taught by Kleine Jaeger et al., into Kim et al. as modified by Endoh for the purpose of providing an ink having a viscosity capable of printing a transparent conductive film.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0059839 A1) as modified by Endoh (US 2012/0127236 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Therriault et al. (US 2018/0022023 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. as modified by Endoh do not teach where the ink layer contains pigments.
Further regarding claim 11, Therriault et al. teach an ink layer contains pigments (the ink further comprises one or more additives including pigments; [0128]) for the purpose of changing the color of the ink.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate where the ink layer contains pigments, as taught by Therriault et al., into Kim et al. as modified by Endoh for the purpose of changing the color of the ink.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0059839 A1) as modified by Endoh (US 2012/0127236 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kleine Jaeger et al. (US 2012/0161081 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al. as modified by Endoh do not teach where the ink layer contains less than 0.4 wt.% carbon black.
Further regarding claim 12, Kleine Jaeger et al. teach an ink layer contains less than 0.4 wt.% carbon black (when the absorbent used is carbon black, the proportion of carbon black in the composition is in the range from 0 to 5% by weight; [0050]) for the purpose of using suitable absorbents for high absorption in a range of a laser wavelength.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate where the ink layer contains less than 0.4 wt.% carbon black, as taught by Kleine Jaeger et al., into Kim et al. as modified by Endoh for the purpose of using suitable absorbents for high absorption in a range of a laser wavelength.
Claim(s) 13 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0059839 A1) as modified by Endoh (US 2012/0127236 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kleine Jaeger et al. (US 2012/0312467 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al. as modified by Endoh do not teach where the ink layer contains 0.1-80.0 wt.% non-carbon particles with a diameter of 3-300 micrometer.
Further regarding claim 13, Kleine Jaeger et al. teach an ink layer contains 0.1-80.0 wt.% non-carbon particles with a diameter of 3-300 micrometer (a suitable adhesive which can be used to perform the process comprises 20 to 98% by weight of electrically conductive particles and 0.005 to 20% by weight of absorbent; [0013]; preferred as material for the conductive particles can be silver; [0026]; the conductive particles preferably possess a mean particle diameter of 0.001 to 100 mm; [0027]; suitable absorbent is carbon nanotubes; [0049]) for the purpose of producing electrically conductive contacts without the use of liquid metal solders.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate where the ink layer contains 0.1-80.0 wt.% non-carbon particles with a diameter of 3-300 micrometer, as taught by Kleine Jaeger et al., into Kim et al. as modified by Endoh for the purpose of producing electrically conductive contacts without the use of liquid metal solders.
Regarding claim 22, Kim et al. as modified by Endoh do not teach where the non-carbon particles are present as pigment particles.
Further regarding claim 22, Kleine Jaeger et al. teach the non-carbon particles are present as pigment particles (preferred as material for the conductive particles can be silver; [0026]; silver particles is a type of pigment particles) for the purpose of producing electrically conductive contacts without the use of liquid metal solders.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate where the non-carbon particles are present as pigment particles, as taught by Kleine Jaeger et al., into Kim et al. as modified by Endoh for the purpose of producing electrically conductive contacts without the use of liquid metal solders.
Regarding claim 23, Kim et al. as modified by Endoh do not teach where the ink layer contains 1.0-20.0 wt.% non-carbon particles as pigment particles.
Further regarding claim 23, Kleine Jaeger et al. teach the ink layer contains 1.0-20.0 wt.% non-carbon particles as pigment particles (a suitable adhesive which can be used to perform the process comprises 20 to 98% by weight of electrically conductive particles and 0.005 to 20% by weight of absorbent; [0013]; preferred as material for the conductive particles can be silver; [0026]; silver particles is a type of pigment particles) for the purpose of producing electrically conductive contacts without the use of liquid metal solders.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate where the ink layer contains 1.0-20.0 wt.% non-carbon particles as pigment particles, as taught by Kleine Jaeger et al., into Kim et al. as modified by Endoh for the purpose of producing electrically conductive contacts without the use of liquid metal solders.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0059839 A1) as modified by Endoh (US 2012/0127236 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lehmann (US 2021/0053378 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Kim et al. as modified by Endoh do not teach where the substrate and the ink carrier are moved relative to one another at a speed which corresponds at least double to the printing speed.
Further regarding claim 18, Lehmann teaches a substrate and an ink carrier are moved relative to one another at a speed which corresponds at least double to a printing speed (substrate and ink carrier are preferably moved relative to one another at a speed which corresponds at least to the printing speed, more preferably at least double the printing speed; [0029]; [0079]; [0091]; FIG. 6) for the purpose of achieving a clean printed image and a high-resolution image.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate where the substrate and the ink carrier are moved relative to one another at a speed which corresponds at least double to the printing speed, as taught by Lehmann, into Kim et al. as modified by Endoh for the purpose of achieving a clean printed image and a high-resolution image.
Conclusion
21 March 2026
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853