DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/JP2023/008134 filed on 3/3/2023. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application JP2022-044112 filed on 3/18/2022. Claims 1-12 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ouchi (US 2021/0243792; provided in Applicant’s IDS dated 6/13/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Ouchi discloses a communication apparatus, comprising [Ouchi Figure 2 discloses an AP and a terminal, comprising hardware components such a memory, control unit (e.g. a processor such as a CPU), communication control unit, antenna, etc. (Ouchi Figure 2, paragraphs 0030-0034)]: a control circuit that generates a control signal in which first information indicating a type of a response signal is configured in a first field [Ouchi discloses a TF (trigger frame or a control signal) generation and transmission operation (Ouchi paragraph 0061). Ouchi Figure 3B discloses a common info field of a trigger frame which includes trigger type (311) subfield (this corresponds to a first field). The trigger type subfield has a length of 4 bits and the values include BSRP, BQRP, NFRP, etc. (see Figure 3B table 31; paragraph 0038). These values indicate a type of feedback or response being configured in the first field. Ouchi further discloses that the AP may decide the type of a trigger frame and the destination terminals of the TF (Ouchi paragraph 0066); indicating generating a control signal with first information indicating a type of a response signal], and
Second information according to the first information is configured in a second field [Ouchi Figure 3C discloses details of user info field 306 (from trigger frame of Figure 3A) which includes a Trigger Dependent User Info subfield (336) which is apportion whose contents change depending on the Trigger Type subfield (Ouchi Figure 3C, paragraph 0043). Thus, the Trigger Dependent User Info subfield (336) corresponds to a second field, and whose contents (i.e. second information) are set according to the content of the Trigger Type subfield (according to the first information)]; and
A transmission circuit that transmits the control signal [Ouchi discloses that the AP selects the terminals and executes the TF transmission/data reception/response transmission processes (Ouchi paragraph 0069); indicating transmission of the control signal].
Regarding claim 2, Ouchi discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1. Ouchi further discloses wherein: the response signal is a signal not accompanied by data [Ouchi discloses that the AP may decide the type of a trigger frame and the destination terminals of the TF (Ouchi paragraph 0066). The trigger type subfield has a length of 4 bits and the values include BSRP, BQRP, NFRP, etc. (see Figure 3B table 31; paragraph 0038). A value of NFRP - NDP (Null Data Packet) feedback report also indicates a response signal that is not accompanied by data].
Regarding claim 3, Ouchi discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 2. Ouchi further discloses wherein: the first information indicates a type of the response signal, the type being selected from multiple types [Ouchi Figure 3B discloses a common info field of a trigger frame which includes trigger type (311) subfield (this corresponds to a first field). The trigger type subfield has a length of 4 bits and the values include BSRP, BQRP, NFRP, etc. (see Figure 3B table 31; paragraph 0038). These values indicate a type of feedback or response being configured in the first field. Ouchi further discloses that the AP may decide the type of a trigger frame and the destination terminals of the TF (Ouchi paragraph 0066). This indicates that the value of the field trigger type is selected from multiple types (e.g. BSRP, BQRP, NFRP, etc.)].
Regarding claim 12, Ouchi discloses a communication method, comprising: generating a control signal in which first information indicating a type of a response signal is configured in a first field [Ouchi discloses a TF (trigger frame or a control signal) generation and transmission operation (Ouchi paragraph 0061). Ouchi Figure 3B discloses a common info field of a trigger frame which includes trigger type (311) subfield (this corresponds to a first field). The trigger type subfield has a length of 4 bits and the values include BSRP, BQRP, NFRP, etc. (see Figure 3B table 31; paragraph 0038). These values indicate a type of feedback or response being configured in the first field. Ouchi further discloses that the AP may decide the type of a trigger frame and the destination terminals of the TF (Ouchi paragraph 0066); indicating generating a control signal with first information indicating a type of a response signal], and
Second information according to the first information is configured in a second field [Ouchi Figure 3C discloses details of user info field 306 (from trigger frame of Figure 3A) which includes a Trigger Dependent User Info subfield (336) which is apportion whose contents change depending on the Trigger Type subfield (Ouchi Figure 3C, paragraph 0043). Thus, the Trigger Dependent User Info subfield (336) corresponds to a second field, and whose contents (i.e. second information) are set according to the content of the Trigger Type subfield (according to the first information)]; and
Transmitting the control signal [Ouchi discloses that the AP selects the terminals and executes the TF transmission/data reception/response transmission processes (Ouchi paragraph 0069); indicating transmission of the control signal].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi in view of Jiang et al. (US 2019/0132155, hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 4, Ouchi discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1. Ouchi does not expressly disclose wherein: the type of the response signal includes application in measurement of communication quality.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Jiang Figure 2A discloses a measurement sequence where AP may send a trigger frame to solicit UL sounding NPDs (Jiang Figure 2A, paragraphs 0043 and 0041). Channel sounding may allow devices to determine the quality and behavior of wireless mediums (e.g. channels and/or frequency bands) Jiang paragraph 0017). Thus, Jiang discloses that the type of response signal (e.g. sounding NDPs) include application in measurement of communication quality.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ouchi to have the feature of wherein: the type of the response signal includes application in measurement of communication quality; as taught by Jiang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide enhanced NDP for channel sounding in order to support multiple HE-LTF modes and guard interval durations (Jiang paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 9, Ouchi discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1. Ouchi does not expressly disclose wherein: the control circuit configures, to the second field, at least one of a size of the response signal, an interval of a frequency to which the response signal is allocated, a length of a guard interval added to the response signal, and/or a number of repetitions of repeated transmission applied to the response signal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Jiang discloses a trigger frame sent by an AP may cause a station device (STA) to send one or more uplink transmissions to the AP, such as a HE TB NDP feedback PPDU. A trigger frame may indicate combinations of HE-LTF modes and guard interval durations (indicating a length of a guard interval corresponding to response signal) (Jiang paragraph 0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ouchi to have the features of wherein: the control circuit configures, to the second field, at least one of a size of the response signal, an interval of a frequency to which the response signal is allocated, a length of a guard interval added to the response signal, and/or a number of repetitions of repeated transmission applied to the response signal; as taught by Jiang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide enhanced NDP for channel sounding in order to support multiple HE-LTF modes and guard interval durations (Jiang paragraph 0044).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi in view of Jiang, and further in view of Moon et al. (US 2016/0295513, hereinafter Moon).
Regarding claim 5, Ouchi and Jiang disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 4. Ouchi and Jiang do not expressly disclose wherein: the first information indicates that, in a band in which the communication quality is measured, the response signal is allocated in a unit which combines multiple smallest allocation units.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Moon discloses that an AP may send trigger frame to seek data, control or management frame responses from stations, and may include resource allocation information for the STAs (Moon paragraphs 0025 and 0026). An index field may indicate full band or subband-unit feedback. A full band corresponds to the operating channel bandwidth, which includes multiple subbands units, where the subband-unit may be a minimum size of a subband (i.e. multiple smallest allocation units) (Mon paragraph 0149).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ouchi and Jiang to have the feature of wherein: the first information indicates that, in a band in which the communication quality is measured, the response signal is allocated in a unit which combines multiple smallest allocation units; as taught by Moon. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce size of feedback and improve efficiency (Moon paragraphs 0079 and 0188).
Regarding claim 6, Ouchi and Jiang disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 4. Ouchi and Jiang do not expressly disclose wherein: the first information indicates that, in a band in which the communication quality is measured, the response signal is allocated in a smallest allocation unit.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Moon discloses that an AP may send trigger frame to seek data, control or management frame responses from stations, and may include resource allocation information for the STAs (Moon paragraphs 0025 and 0026). An index field may indicate full band or subband-unit feedback. For subband-unit feedback, the station may provide feedback over one or more subband-units, where the subband-unit may be a minimum size of a subband (i.e. multiple smallest allocation units) (Mon paragraph 0149).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ouchi and Jiang to have the feature of wherein: the first information indicates that, in a band in which the communication quality is measured, the response signal is allocated in a smallest allocation unit; as taught by Moon. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce size of feedback and improve efficiency (Moon paragraphs 0079 and 0188).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi in view of Chun et al. (US 2021/0250133, hereinafter Chun).
Regarding claim 10, Ouchi discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1. Ouchi does not expressly disclose wherein: the control circuit configures, to the second field, at least one of stream information corresponding to an orthogonal sequence applied to the response signal, information related to frequency hopping of the response signal, a tone number for allocating the response signal, and/or a transmission antenna to transmit the response signal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Chun discloses that some of the user information field in the NDP feedback report poll trigger frame may include information on RU tone set indicating an index of a set of RU tones to used. The tone set to be transmitted by each STA can be designated (Chun paragraphs 0271-0275). This indicates a field indicating a tone number for allocating the response signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ouchi to have the features of wherein: the control circuit configures, to the second field, at least one of stream information corresponding to an orthogonal sequence applied to the response signal, information related to frequency hopping of the response signal, a tone number for allocating the response signal, and/or a transmission antenna to transmit the response signal; as taught by Chun. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for accurately and efficiently perform frame transmission and retransmission (Chun paragraph 0023).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein: the control circuit, when configuring the first information indicating application different from the application in measurement of the communication quality in the first field, configures an upper limit of a size of the response signal to a first value, and configures a size less than or equal to the first value in the second field as the second information, and when configuring the first information indicating the application in measurement of the communication quality in the first field, configures the upper limit of the size of the response signal to a second value greater than the first value, and configures a size less than or equal to the second value in the second field as the second information; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein: the control circuit, when configuring the first information indicating application different from the application in measurement of the communication quality in the first field, configures an upper limit of an interval of a frequency to which the response signal is allocated to a first value, and configures an interval less than or equal to the first value in the second field as the second information, and when configuring the first information indicating the application in measurement of the communication quality in the first field, configures the upper limit of the interval of the frequency to which the response signal is allocated to a second value greater than the first value, and configures an interval less than or equal to the second value in the second field as the second information; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein: the type of the response signal includes application in directivity control of uplink or downlink, application in transmission antenna switching, and application in transmission of the response signal using a sequence; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414