DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 (in part), 2 (in part), 3-5, and 11-13 in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-10 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/07/2026.
Claims 1(in part), 2 (in part), 3-5, and 11-13 are under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “long-acting” in each of claims 1-5 and 11-13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long-acting” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The requisite duration of action of the composition is unclear.
The term “high polymer” in claims 1 and 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high polymer” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such, the limitation(s) this language imposes on the polymer is unclear.
Regarding each of claims 1-5 and 11-13, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
There is no conjunction (e.g. “and” or “or”) between the ultimate and penultimate phrases in claim 1, line 10 therefore it is unclear whether all limitations of each phrase in the claim are required or whether compositions meeting the requirements of any of the limitations fall within the scope of the claims.
Each of claims 2-5 and 11-13 recite a tilde “~” punctuation mark between the values in the ranges of molecular weights, parts, and ratio of LA:GA. This renders the claim indefinite because the tilde typically indicates an approximate value; however, the claims do not make it clear whether the approximate value is intended.
Claims 3-5 and 11-15 place a limitation on the parts of pramipexole and parts of polymer that are present without indicating whether this is in terms of weight, or mole, or volume. Thus the actual proportion of these ingredients required by the claims is unclear.
Claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over University of Jinan (CN111728956; publication date: 10/02/2020; cited in the IDS filed 09/16/2024).
With regard to claim 1, Jinan discloses a sustained release (i.e. long-acting) formulation comprising microspheres (title) containing 5-40% wt pramipexole pamoate, and 60-95% wt polylactic-co-glycolic acid (PLGA; abstract, claim 1).
With regard to claim 2, the PLGA has a molecular weight of from 5000-50000 daltons (claim 2), and a LA:GA ratio of 75:25 – 50:50. The foregoing ranges overlap with the ranges recited in the instant claims (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 3-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over University of Jinan (CN111728956; publication date: 10/02/2020; cited in the IDS filed 09/16/2024) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 12, and 13 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 20140377189; publication date: 12/25/2014).
With regard to claims 3-5 and 11-13, the salt is taught by Jinan is a pamoate salt therefore, Jinan does not teach the claimed counterions required by the instant claims.
Wu, in the analogous art of dopamine agonists (rotigotine; abstract), teaches that palmitate and stearate were recognized as counterions for this class of drug (0009). It would have been prima facie obvious to use stearate or palmitate as the counterion in a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of pramipexole because one having ordinary skill would have recognized these substances as suitable (see MPEP 2144.07).
With regard to the ratio of LA to GA required by instant claims 3-5 and 11-13, and the parts of pramipexole and PLGA, as noted above, the prior art teaches overlapping ranges for these parameters. With regard to the theoretical drug loading, the examiner considers it a matter of routine for one of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of drug that can be loaded into the formulation. Moreover, “theoretical loading” is a fraction of the initial amount of drug used to compound a formulation that remains contained in the formulation after manufacture is complete. This places no limitation on the actual amount of drug in the claimed final product.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5 11, and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18847512 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia the claims of the copending application embrace a long acting sustained release formulation of pramipexole comprising pramipexole pamoate or palmitate and PLGA having LA:GA ratios, percentages of polymer and pramipexole salt, and PLGA molecular weight overlapping with the claimed ranges.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 4 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18847512 (reference application) as applied to claims 1-3 and 11 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 20140377189; publication date: 12/25/2014).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
The relevant limitations of the copending application are set forth above. The application is silent with respect to the specific pramipexole salts required by claims 4, 5, 12, and 13.
Wu, in the analogous art of dopamine agonists (rotigotine; abstract), teaches that in addition to palmitate, stearate and pamoate were recognized as counterions for this class of drug (0009). It would have been prima facie obvious to use stearate as the counterion in a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of pramipexole because one having ordinary skill would have recognized these substances as suitable (see MPEP 2144.07).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617