Detailed Action
Priority
Examiner notes that no certified translation of the Foreign Application JP2022-050275, filed 03/25/2022, has been placed on record. If applicant wants the application to be accorded benefit of the non-English language application, a certified translation is required, see 35 U.S.C 119(b)(3). Applicant is advised that any showing of priority that relies on a non-English language application is prima facie insufficient if no certified translation of the application is on file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2024, 08/06/2025, 04/08/2026, and 06/29/2026 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 14 are dependent on canceled claim 1
Claims 11-13 are dependent on canceled claim 2
Claims 15-17 are dependent on claim 14, that is dependent on canceled Claim 1
The claims need to be rewritten to only include dependency and subject matter from examined claims.
For example:
Claim 10 states, “The aqueous composition according to claim 1”, should state, “The aqueous composition according to claim 9”
Appropriate correction is required.
For the purposes of applying prior art, the Examiner is interpreting claims 11-14 to depend from claim 10, and claims 15-17 to depend from claim 14 as written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deng (Guan-hua Deng, CN 111024960 A, Pub. Date: 04/17/2020, as cited on IDs dated 04/08/2026, machine translation).
Regarding Claims 9, Deng teaches phenylbutyric acid as an angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor additive for detecting blood samples for hypertension (Pg. 2, Claim 3).
(4-Phenylbutyric acid (4-PBA) is the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) name of Phenylbutyric acid, therefore 4-PBA and phenylbutric acid are considered equivalent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (Guan-hua Deng, CN 111024960 A, Pub. Date: 04/17/2020, as cited on IDs dated 04/08/2026, machine translation) in view of Raina (as cited on IDS dated 04/08/2026, in Non-Patent Literature).
The teachings of Deng are set forth in the above 102 rejection and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 10, Deng teaches phenylbutyric acid as an angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor additive for detecting blood samples for hypertension (Pg. 2, Claim 3).
Regarding Claims 11 and 16, Deng teaches a buffer agent as a further addition to the composition containing phenylbutyric acid (Pg. 2, Claim 5).
Regarding Claims 12 and 14, Deng teaches dipottasium ethylenediaminetetraacetate (EDTA), as an anticoagulant additive to the aqueous composition (Pg. 2. Claim 5).
Deng does not teach the aqueous composition of phenylbutyric acid “stored in a container of which a portion in contact with the aqueous composition is partly or wholly made of a resin containing a polyolefin”.
Raina teaches polyethylene as the most widely used material for plastic containers for pharmaceutical purposes. Raina also discloses high density polyethylene is preferred over low-density polyethylene because as the density increases, the material becomes less permeable to reactive gases, and is better for packing of oxygen sensitive drugs (Pg. 252, Plastic).
Regarding Claims 10-12, 14, and 16, It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date, to take the aqueous composition disclosed in Deng, and combine with the technique of packaging pharmaceuticals in polyethylene containers disclosed in Raina to yield a predictable result of dispensing/storing the aqueous composition.
Regarding Claim 15, Deng teaches 1-8 parts of phenylbutyric acid by weight, and 6-20 parts of dipotassium EDTA (Pg. 7, [0031]). The concentration by weight of the chelating agent, dipotassium EDTA, disclosed in Deng, overlaps with the ranges of 1 part by mass of 4-phenylbutyric acid and 0.0002 to 1,200 parts by mass of a chelating agent in instant Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 15, The courts found that, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (Guan-hua Deng, CN 111024960 A, Pub. Date: 04/17/2020, as cited on IDs dated 04/08/2026, machine translation) in view of Raina (as cited on IDS dated 04/08/2026, in Non-Patent Literature), as applied to claims 10 and 14 above, and further in view of Truog (Peter Truog et al., “Pharmaceutical Unit Dosage Form Comprising 4-phenylbutyric Acid”, EP 2698155 A1, Pub. Date: 2014-02-19).
The teachings of Deng are set forth in the above 102 rejection and are incorporated herein by reference. The teachings of Raina are set forth in the above 102 rejections and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claims 13 and 17, Deng teaches a buffer solution of acetic acid and sodium acetate at a pH of 5.5 to 6.5 (Pg. 13, [0072]).
Deng does not teach the full pH range of the aqueous composition disclosed in instant Claim 13 as 6.0 to 9.0, and 5.0 to 9.0 in instant Claim 17.
Truog teaches a composition containing 4-phenylbutyric, and a buffer agent. The pH of the composition is disclosed as 6 to 9 in a preferred embodiment (Abstract, and Pg. 14, [[0135]).
Regarding Claim 13, The courts found that, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art
Regarding claims 13 and 17, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the pH range disclosed in Truog for 4-PB compositions and combine it with the teachings of Deng, to arrive at the pH ranges disclosed in instant claims 13 and 17 because Deng and Truog both teach pharmaceutical compositions containing 4-phenylbutyric. It would be obvious to use the pH range in Truog because it is a larger range, and one of ordinary skill in the arts would optimize the pH of the 4-PB composition for pharmaceutical use.
Double Patenting
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims1 of copending Application No. 19/519,004, herein ‘004 (reference application).
Instant Claim 9 teaches “an aqueous composition comprising: 4-phenylbutyric acid or esters thereof, or a pharmacologically acceptable salts therof.”
Claim 1 in copending application ‘004, discloses:
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim an aqueous composition comprising 4-phenylbutyric acid.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 10-13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 5 of copending Application No. 19/519,004 in view of Raina (as cited on IDS dated 04/08/2026, in Non-Patent Literature).
Instant Claims 10-14, and 16-17 disclose:
Claims 1, 4 and 5 in copending application ‘004, discloses:
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim an aqueous composition comprising 4-phenylbutyric acid, a buffer agent, a chelating agent, and a pH of 6.0 to 9.0 for the composition.
Copending application ‘004 does not disclose the aqueous composition stored in a container partly or wholly made of a resin containing a polyolefin.
Raina teaches polyethylene as the most widely used material for plastic containers for pharmaceutical purposes. Raina also discloses high density polyethylene is preferred over low-density polyethylene because as the density increases, the material becomes less permeable to reactive gases, and is better for packing of oxygen sensitive drugs (Pg. 252, Plastic Material).
Regarding instant Claims 10-14, and 16, It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date, to take the aqueous composition disclosed in copending application ‘004, and combine with the technique of packaging pharmaceuticals in polyethylene containers disclosed in Raina to yield a predictable result of dispensing/storing the aqueous composition.
Regarding instant Claim 17, the pH range disclosed in Claim 1 of copending application ‘004, for an aqueous composition as 6.0 to 9.0 overlaps with the range disclosed in instant Claim 17, as 5.0 to 9.0 for the aqueous composition.
Regarding Claim 17, The courts found that, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 5 of copending Application No. 19/519,004 in view of Raina (as cited on IDS dated 04/08/2026, in Non-Patent Literature), and in further view of Deng (Guan-hua Deng, CN 111024960 A, Pub. Date: 04/17/2020, as cited on IDS dated 04/08/2026, machine translation).
The teachings of Raina are set forth in the above Provisional Non-Statutory Double Patenting rejection and are incorporated herein by reference.
Instant Claim 15 discloses:
Claim 5 in Copending application ‘004, and Raina do not disclose the content of the chelating agent.
Regarding Claim 15, Deng teaches 1-8 parts of phenylbutyric acid by weight, and 6-20 parts of dipotassium EDTA (Pg. 7, [0031]).
Regarding Claim 15, the range disclosed in Deng as 1-8 parts by weight of phenylbutyric and 6-20 parts by weight of a chelating agent dipotassium EDTA overlaps with the ranges of 1 part by mass of 4-phenylbutyric acid and 0.0002 to 1,200 parts by mass of a chelating agent.
Regarding Claim 15, The courts found that, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts to take the aqueous composition taught in copending application ‘004, and combine it with the teachings in Deng, because it was disclosed in the art to use an aqueous composition containing phenylbutyric acid with chelating agent dipotassium EDTA with the disclosed range in the instant claims.
Conclusion
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627