DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10-18 recite the limitation "the sensor element" in claim 10, line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10-18 recite the limitation "the actuator element" in claim 10, line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Strutt et al. (DE 102020123409 A – See English machine translation) (hereinafter Strutt I) in view of Strutt et al. (DE 102017130775 A – See English machine translation) (hereinafter Strutt II) and Korn et al. (US 9,543,712 B2).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 10, Strutt I (figure 1) discloses an intrinsically safe automation field device (10) for use in a potentially explosive area, comprising: a first and a second connection terminal (30a and 30b) for connecting a two-wire line (14) that can be used to supply a current (paragraph [0025]); a sensor and/or actuator module (16) for capturing and/or setting a process variable (paragraph [0025]); and a main electronics module (31, 32, 34 and 36) connected to the first and second connection terminals and designed separately from the input/output module, which carries the current that can be supplied via the two-wire line via a current path from the first to the second connection terminal, wherein the main electronics module has a voltage regulator (36) introduced into the current path which is designed to provide a power to a transducer circuit and sensor and/or actuator module based on the supplied current, wherein the main electronics module is further designed to transmit the process variable detected via the sensor element by setting the current to a corresponding value and/or to receive a process variable to be set by the actuator element by reading the current and to set the actuator element accordingly, wherein the main electronics module further has an energy store (34) that is designed to provide energy required for the circuit parts connected to the energy store (paragraphs [0029] and [0031]). Strutt I does not implicitly disclose an input/output module having a radio unit for wirelessly transmitting data; wherein voltage regulator is designed to provide a power supply at least for the input/output; the energy store to provide energy required for the radio unit for wirelessly transmitting data; and wherein at least the energy store on the main electronics module is encapsulated using a potting compound. However, Strutt II (figure 1) discloses a field device comprising an input/output module having a radio unit for wirelessly transmitting data; and voltage regulator in combination with the energy store to provide a power supply at least for the input/output module and the radio unit for wirelessly transmitting data (paragraphs [0025], [0030], [0035] and [0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the input/output module having a radio unit for wirelessly transmitting data; and voltage regulator in combination with the energy store to provide a power supply at least for the input/output module and the radio unit for wirelessly transmitting data of Strutt II to the field device of Strutt I for providing power to the input/output module and transmitting the measurement value. The combination of Strutt I and Strutt II does not explicitly disclose wherein at least the energy store on the main electronics module is encapsulated using a potting compound. However, Korn et al. (figure 3) disclose an energy store on the main electronics module is encapsulated using a potting compound (column 8, lines 51-58). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of encapsulating the energy store using a potting compound of Korn et al. to the energy store of Strutt I and Strutt II for preventing ignition spark.
Regarding claim 11, Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. disclose the intrinsically safe automation field device according to claim 10 above. In addition, Strutt II discloses wherein the energy store includes at least one capacitor (C1) which has a capacitance of at least 10 µF (paragraph [0038], energy store includes at least one capacitor which has a capacitance of less than 300 µF which obviously be at least 10 µF). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the energy store includes at least one capacitor which has a capacitance of at least 10 µF of Strutt II to the field device of Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. as a system design preference for storing energy within a limited space.
Regarding claim 12, Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. disclose the intrinsically safe automation field device according to claim 10 above. In addition, Strutt I discloses wherein the energy store is arranged in front of the voltage regulator on the main electronics module (see figure 1, energy store 34 and voltage regulator 36).
Regarding claim 13, Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. disclose the intrinsically safe automation field device according to claim 10 above. In addition, Strutt I discloses wherein the input/output module further includes a current limiter or regulator which limits a current from the main electronics module to a value in the range of 0.1-100 mA (paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 14, Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. disclose the intrinsically safe automation field device according to claim 13 above. In addition, Strutt II discloses wherein the input/output module does not have a capacitor with a capacitance of greater than 100 µF (paragraphs [0025], [0028] and [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the input/output module does not have a capacitor with a capacitance of greater than 100 µF of Strutt II to the field device of Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. as a system design preference for the circuitry within a limited space.
Regarding claim 15, Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. disclose the intrinsically safe automation field device according to claim 10 above. In addition, Strutt II discloses wherein the input/output module and the main electronics module are connected to one another via an electrical interface (paragraphs [0025], [0028] and [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the electrical interface connecting the input/output module and the main electronics module of Strutt II to the field device of Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. for connecting the input/output module and the main electronics module.
Regarding claim 17, Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. disclose the intrinsically safe automation field device according to claim 14 above. In addition, Strutt II discloses wherein the input/output module further includes a display for displaying information and/or for operating the field device (paragraphs [0025], [0028] and [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt display of Strutt II to the field device of Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. for displaying the measuring results and/or for operating the field device.
Regarding claim 18, Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. disclose the intrinsically safe automation field device according to claim 17 above. Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the display is a color display. However, the examiner takes Official notice that it is well known in the art for using color display to display a measurement result or operation of the electronic device. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the well known color display to the display of Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. for showing better representation of the measuring results and/or for operating the field device.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Strutt et al. (DE 102020123409 A – See English machine translation) (hereinafter Strutt I) in view of Strutt et al. (DE 102017130775 A – See English machine translation) (hereinafter Strutt II), Korn et al. (US 9,543,712 B2) and further in view of Kielb et al. (US 2009/0253388 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 16, Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. disclose the intrinsically safe automation field device according to claim 15 above. Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the input/output module is arranged in a cover of the field device. However, Kielb et al. (figure 3) disclose a field device with an input/output module arranged in a cover of the field device (paragraph [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the input/output module arranged in a cover of the field device of Kielb et al. to the field device of Strutt I, Strutt II and Korn et al. providing a intrinsically safe enclosure for the circuitry within.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McGuire et al. (US 8,852,775 B2) disclose an industrial process field device has a housing with a wall; the wall has a feedthrough opening between a battery compartment and an electronics compartment; the feedthrough connector seals the feedthrough opening and includes a power connector connected to industrial process field device electronics; a battery assembly includes a battery housing with a battery connector, and includes a battery and an energy limiter connected to the battery connector; the battery connector mates with the power connector to energize the industrial process field device electronics; and a seal seals the mating connection of the power connector and the battery connector.
Bohne et al. (US 8,805,455 B2) teach an intrinsic safety approach for a battery powered communication device; sparking is prevented at radio contacts during attachment and removal of a battery from a radio through the use of switches to isolate the radio capacitors from the radio contacts and/or dissipate energy from the radio capacitor through a discharge resistor.
Quaas et al. (US 10,295,984 B2) disclose a safety-related control device for controlling an actuator with a first processing device that is configured to provide a safety function for the generation and/or processing of a signal for a safety-related control of the actuator, and a second processing device that is configured to provide an operating and/or additional function for the generation, processing, diagnostics, reproduction and/or transmission of further signals associated with the operation of the control device and/or of the actuator, and wherein the second processing device is furthermore configured to provide a test function for monitoring the functionality of the safety function.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645