Claim 1-10 are pending. Claims 1-10 are rejected herein.
Priority
This application claims priority to JP 2022-041371 and has a priority date equivalent to 16 March 2022.
Distinguishing Prior Art
Regarding Claim 8
The medication management system according to claim 4, wherein the reading unit includes a temporary storage unit configured to temporarily store, when the first communication unit fails to acquire the one or more medication IDs read by the reading unit, the one or more medications IDs that the first communication unit has failed to acquire as unacquired information along with reading time information, and the first communication unit is configured to transmit information including the box ID and the one or more medication IDs stored in the temporary storage unit to the cloud server.
The transmission of data is taught but the prior art fails to teach the timing of the sequence of events in combination with the specific combination of IDs that have not been acquired.
Subject Matter Eligible Claim
Claim 7 is subject matter eligible. At step 1 of the Alice/Mayo subject matter eligibility analysis the claim is directed to a statutory category. Step 2A prong one is a yes, the claim recites an abstract idea, specifically a mental process. Step 2A prong two is a no, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. There is no improvement to the functioning of the computer or improvement to other technology or technical field, applying or using the judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular treatment or prophylaxis, no implementing the judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, no effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, and no applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Step 2B is a yes, the additional elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the inventive concept may be found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of components that are individually well known and conventional.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
First communication unit – structure at Fig. 4, attached to control unit described elsewhere
Reading unit – structure at least at para. [0067]
Storage unit – structure at least at para. [0015] and para. [0023] and Fig. 4 attached to control unit, attached to control unit structure described elsewhere
Determination unit – corresponds to control unit (specification at para. [0028]), structure at least at para. [0023]
Notification unit – corresponds to control unit (see specification at para. [0029]
Second communication unit – structure at Fig. 4, attached to control unit structure described elsewhere
At least as these limitations are used in claims 1,2,4,5,6,8,9,10. Figure 7 is interpreted as a sufficient algorithm disclosure. Sufficient structure has been disclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6,8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim recites a medication management system for information retrieval, which is within a statutory category (or are interpreted to be within a statutory category for subject matter eligibility analysis purposes).
Step 2A1
The limitations of …reading [a] box ID… acquiring the read box ID…and transmitting information including the box ID…; receiving…the box ID and delivery time information related to a scheduled time when [the] box is to be delivered to the patient;…storing the box ID, the delivery time information, and patient information related to the patient, wherein the box ID is associated with the patient information and the delivery time information is associated with the box ID; …determining whether the box ID associated with the delivery time information has been received … before a predetermined time has elapsed since scheduled time indicated by the delivery time information and […] configured to give notification of information that is based on a determination result…, as drafted, is a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a wireless tag and a cloud server consisting of a notification unit, a determination unit, storage unit and second communication unit, a first communication unit, reading unit nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for these additional elements, this claim encompasses a person reading [a] box ID, acquiring the read box ID and transmitting information including the box ID, receiving the box ID and delivery time information related to a scheduled time when [the] box is to be delivered to the patient, storing the box ID, the delivery time information, and patient information related to the patient, wherein the box ID is associated with the patient information and the delivery time information is associated with the box ID, determining whether the box ID associated with the delivery time information has been received, before a predetermined time has elapsed since scheduled time indicated by the delivery time information and configured to give notification of information that is based on a determination result in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional element of a cloud server (consisting of the associated units as described above) that implements the identified abstract idea. The cloud server is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim further recites the additional elements of an container unit and inner box. These generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application.
Step 2B
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a cloud server (consisting of the associated units as described) to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”).
Also, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of an container unit and inner box were determined to generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. These have been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and have also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. MPEP 2106.05(A) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide significantly more.
Claims 2-6,8-10 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination. Claim(s) 2 merely describe(s) transmitting information including the box ID and the patient information, determining whether the box ID received from the first communication unit matches the box ID that is associated with the patient information received from the first communication unit. Claim(s) 3 merely describe(s) not transmitting information that has been read but is not in the predetermined format. Claim 4 merely describes reading box ID and the one or more medication IDs, transmitting the box ID and the one or more medication IDs that have been read by the reading unit, and storing one or more medication statuses respectively corresponding to the one or more medications IDs, wherein the one or more medication IDs are associated with the box ID, and the one or more medication statuses are stored as Not-Taken. Claim 5 merely describes giving predetermining notification when a number of the one or more medication IDs corresponding to the one or more medication statuses stored as Not Taken is equal to or smaller than a predetermined number. Claim 6 merely describes storing medication time information related to medication time for the one or more medications, wherein the medication time information is associated with the patient information and the medication IDs, transmitting based on the medication time information, display information related to the one or more medications which the patient should take to a display terminal, and the display information received is displayed. Claim 8 includes temporarily storing the one or more medications IDs read and transmitting information including the box ID and the one or more medication IDs. Claim 9 includes receiving a predetermined request from a sending apparatus and transmitting a part of information to the sending apparatus. Claim 10 merely describes providing a certain a reading result.
The dependent claims contain the same additional elements as the independent claims and were analyzed similarly, with the exception of Claim 7, which is described as subject matter eligible above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-4,6-7,9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (Intelligent Packaging and Intelligent Medicine Box for Medication Management towards the Internet of Things) in view of Chen (Design of Docker-Based Cloud Platform for Smart Medicine Box).
Regarding Claim 1
Pang teaches:
[…]
an inner box configured to contain one or more medications for a patient to take, wherein a wireless tag in which a box identifier, ID, is recorded is attached to the inner box; [Pang teaches at Figure 15 demonstration of the iMedBox for medication management application has an organizational object resembling a tray insert containing objects including medicine packages with RFID tab. Pang teaches at Figure 15 an arrow pointing to a medicine package box with RFID tag. This is interpreted here as the box ID. This is the inner box configured to contain one or more medications for a patient to take. Pang teaches an LCD and touch screen tablet embedded in the lid in Figure 10. Collectively, Pang teaches an inner box configured to contain one or more medications for a patient to take, wherein a wireless tag in which a box identifier, ID, is recorded is attached to the inner box.]
a container unit configured to contain the inner box; [Pang teaches at Figure 15 demonstration of the iMedBox for medication management application has a tray insert containing objects including medicine box with RFID tab. Pang teaches at Figure 10 hardware of the 3rd generation of iMedBox prototype with the tray insert removed to reveal hardware of the 3rd generation of iMedBox prototype includes RFID technology attached to the inner box.]
a reading unit configured to read the box ID from the wireless tag of the inner box contained in the container unit; [Pang teaches at Figure 9 RFID reader in the intelligent medicine box communicates with an RFID tag on the intelligent pharmaceutical packaging. Pang teaches at Figure 15 the use of a box as medicine packaging with RFID tag that goes in the iMedBox tray insert. Collectively this teaches a reading unit configured to read the box ID from the wireless tag of the inner box contained in the container unit.]
[…]
a second communication unit configured to receive, from an apparatus of a delivery origin, the box ID and delivery time information related to a scheduled time when the inner box is to be delivered to the patient; [Pang teaches at pg. 357 the prototype has a built in NFC reader. This is a second communication unit to receive transmitted information. Pang teaches at pg. 358 under dose list a prescription ID, dose ID, day number, is finished, time ID, medicine ID, amount, with medicine ID corresponding to medicine name, mass per piece, unit, piece type, manufacture, expiration date. This teaches that the system will process this information, which includes manufacture (delivery origin), prescription ID. Box ID is the RFID tag attached to the medication box taught by Figure 15 of Pang. Pang teaches at Figure 9 RFID reader in (i.e. embedded) an intelligent medicine box communicating with an RFID Tag in intelligent pharmaceutical packaging. Below Pang teaches delivery time information related to a scheduled time when the inner box is to be delivered to the patient. Pang teaches at Figure 11 user interfaces of the iMedBox software for (a) Signal View and (b) Medication View. Under (b) Medication view there is a time corresponding to an amount of medicine dispensed and a message that say time to eat medicine, after eaten, please put the medicine back. Pang teaches at pg. 358 when the alarm is triggered, the connected RFID reader starts to detect the status of a specified tag. Pang teaches at pg. 358 when the user picks up the right medicine, the alarm will stop automatically and the alarm for the next medicine is set, but the screen keeps showing a warning message. Pang teaches a pg. 358 when the user finishes taking the medicine and puts the bottle back, the warning message will go away. Pang teaches at pg. 357 the medication view shows the medicine taken schedule for the user, contains the history and the following plan. Collectively, Pang teaches a second communication unit configured to receive, from an apparatus of a delivery origin (the medication packaging, as described elsewhere is the apparatus of a delivery origin), the box ID and delivery time information related to a scheduled time when the inner box is to be delivered to the patient.]
a storage unit configured to store the box ID, the delivery time information, and patient information related to the patient, wherein the box ID is associated with the patient information and the delivery time information is associated with the box ID; [Pang teaches at pg. 357 As shown in Figure 10, the 3rd generation of the iMedBox prototyping system is implemented based on Samsung Galaxy Table 10.1 tablet PC. Pang teaches at pg. 357 the processor is Tegra 2 dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 at the speed of 1 GHz and manufactured by NVIDIA. Pang teaches at pg. 357 it has 16GB internal flash memory and could be extended by MicroSD card up to 32 GB. The internal flash memory is interpreted as the storage unit configured to store the box ID interpreted here to be the RFID tag corresponding to the medication taken, as shown in Figure 15, and the delivery time information (taught directly above), and patient information related to the patient (the delivery time information taught directly above).]
a determination unit configured to determine whether the box ID associated with the delivery time information has been received from the first communication unit before a predetermined time has elapsed since scheduled time indicated by the delivery time information; [Pang teaches at Figure 4 on site diagnosis vs. remote diagnosis on the right hand side onsite diagnosis with processing occurring at the terminal resulting in real-time analysis. Pang teaches a CPU in the iMedBox at Figure 3 System architecture. Pang teaches at pg. 357 the medication view shows the medicine taken schedule for the user, contains the history and the following plan. Pang teaches at Figure 11 user interfaces of the iMedBox software for (a) Signal View and (b) Medication View. The LCD and touch screen tablet embedded in the lid of the medicine box which displays the Signal View and Medication View teaches an IMEI number, with the delivery time information displayed on it in Figure 15. Under (b) Medication view there is a time corresponding to an amount of medicine dispensed and a message that says time to eat medicine, after eaten, please put the medicine back. Pang teaches at pg. 358 when the alarm is triggered, the connected RFID reader starts to detect the status of a specified tag. This teaches a determination unit configured to determine whether the box ID associated with the delivery time information has been received from the first communication unit. Pang teaches at Figure 14 a decision logic includes loading and showing prescription and start reading RFID tags greater than 5 rounds per second. Pang teaches at Figure 14 prompting the next step of the decision logic is if a medicine is taken away (not detected in the last 5 rounds). Thus there is a 5 second predetermined time that has elapsed since scheduled time indicated by the delivery time information (the time shown in Figure 15 of Pang). Pang teaches at pg. 358 when the user picks up the right medicine, the alarm will stop automatically and the alarm for the next medicine is set, but the screen keeps showing a warning message. Pang teaches at pg. 358 when the user finishes taking the medicine and puts the bottle back, the warning message will go away. Pang teaches at Figure 15 the use of a RFID tag in a literal medicine box (see the insert bottom right and the medicine package held in the hand). Pang teaches at Figure 11 a list of medications with a taken/not taken indicator (the smiling face).]
and a first communication unit configured to acquire the box ID read by the reading unit [Box ID is the RFID tag attached to the medication box taught by Figure 15 of Pang. Pang teaches at Figure 9 a RFID reader.]
and a notification unit configured to give notification of information that is based on a determination result of the determination unit. [Pang teaches at pg. 358 when the user picks up the right medicine, the alarm will stop automatically and the alarm for the next medicine is set, but the screen keeps showing a warning message. The warning message is interpreted to be generated by a notification unit configured to give notification of information that is based on a determination result of the determination unit. The determination result is interpreted to be whether the user picked up the right medication.]
Pang may not explicitly teach:
A medication management system comprising: a cloud server;
[…]
and a first communication unit configured to acquire the box ID read by the reading unit and to transmit information including the box ID to the cloud server;
wherein the cloud server includes:
[…].
Chen teaches:
A medication management system comprising: a cloud server; [Chen teaches at Figure 2 the system of cloud platform for smart medicine box a sensing layer in the smart medicine box that is in communication through a transport layer in the gateway which is in communication with the application layer in the cloud platform.]
[…]
and to transmit information including the box ID to the cloud server; [Chen teaches at Figure 2 the system of cloud platform for smart medicine box a sensing layer in the smart medicine box that is in communication through a transport layer in the gateway which is in communication with the application layer in the cloud platform. The box ID is taught elsewhere.]
wherein the cloud server includes: [Chen teaches at Figure 2 the system of cloud platform for smart medicine box a sensing layer in the smart medicine box that is in communication through a transport layer in the gateway which is in communication with the application layer in the cloud platform.]
[…].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to modify the intelligent packaging and intelligent medicine box for medication management towards the Internet of Things of Pang to the design of docker based cloud platform for smart medicine box of Chen with the motivation of enabling scientific medication which has a positive effect on the prevention and treatment of chronic diseases, and smart medicine boxes provide conditions for scientific medication (Chen at the Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3
Pang/Chen teach the medication management system according to claim 1. Pang/Chen further teach:
wherein a format of the box ID is a predetermined format corresponding to information recorded in the wireless tag attached to the inner box, [Pang teaches at Figure 15 a Tablet embedded in the box that is in communication with a medicine package RFID tag. Note that Figure 15 demonstrates that at least one of the medicine packages with the RFID tag is a box. This is interpreted here as the inner box.]
and the first communication unit is configured not to transmit information that has been read by the reading unit but is not in the predetermined format to the cloud server. [Pang shows at Figure 1 a CDM array in iPackaging in communication with the iMedBox. Pang teaches at Figure 9 communication via a RFID reader (intelligent medicine box) with a RFID tag (intelligent pharmaceutical packaging). Pang teaches at Figure 10 LCD touchscreen and embedded tablet. Pang teaches at Figure 14 that the logic loads and shows prescription and starts reading RFID (>5 rounds per second). Pang teaches at pg. 357 the iMedBox Prototype is implemented based on Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 tablet PC and that it also has a Wifi/Bluetooth/3G access module. Pang teaches at Figure 11 user interfaces of the tablet showing an status indicator next to a medication (a smiley face). The tablet teaches the first communication unit is (the Samsung laptop) configured not to transmit information that has been read by the reading unit (the RFID reader) but is not in the predetermined format to the cloud server. Note that Pang teaches at Figure 4 the difference between on site-diagnosis and remote diagnosis is that onsite processing results in real-time analysis and the raw data travels only to the terminal doing the onsite processing. In contrast Figure 4 of Pang teaches that raw data is transferred to the terminal and to the medical servers. Pang teaches at pg. 355 adopting the onsite diagnosis framework to design the proposed system. Collectively, Pang teaches and the first communication unit (Samsung laptop) is configured not to transmit information that has been read by the reading unit (RFID reader) but is not in the predetermined format to the cloud server (taught above in Claim 1 by Chen).]
Regarding Claim 4
Pang/Chen teach the medication management system according to claim 1. Pang/Chen further teach:
wherein a wireless tag in which a medication ID is recorded is attached to each of the one or more medications, [Pang teaches at pg. 358 under dose list a prescription ID, dose ID, day number, is finished, time ID, medicine ID, amount, with medicine ID corresponding to medicine name, mass per piece, unit, piece type, manufacture, expiration date. The medicine ID is the medication ID. Pang teaches at pg. 353 Figure 1 Application Scenario iPackage with a CDM array in the blisters is in communication with the iMedBox is in communication with the external network via a satellite. Pang teaches at Figure 9 the CDM array is in contact with the intelligent medicine bock via an RFID tag (intelligent pharmaceutical packaging) and RFID reader (intelligent medicine box). This is the wireless tag in which a medication ID record is attached to each of the one or more medications.]
the reading unit is configured to read the box ID and the one or more medication IDs, [Pang teaches at pg. 358 under dose list a prescription ID, dose ID, day number, is finished, time ID, medicine ID, amount, with medicine ID corresponding to medicine name, mass per piece, unit, piece type, manufacture, expiration date. The medicine ID is the medication ID. Pang teaches at pg. 353 Figure 1 Application Scenario iPackage with a CDM array in the blisters is in communication with the iMedBox is in communication with the external network via a satellite. Pang teaches at Figure 9 the CDM array is in contact with the intelligent medicine box via an RFID tag (intelligent pharmaceutical packaging) and RFID reader (intelligent medicine box). This is the wireless tag in which a medication ID record is attached to each of the one or more medications.]
the first communication unit is configured to transmit information including the box ID and the one or more medication IDs that have been read by the reading unit to the cloud server, [Chen teaches at Figure 2 the system of cloud platform for smart medicine box a sensing layer in the smart medicine box that is in communication through a transport layer in the gateway which is in communication with the application layer in the cloud platform. Note that the box ID and patient information (time of medication taken) is taught by Pang.]
and the storage unit is configured to store the one or more medication IDs received from the first communication unit, and one or more medication statuses respectively corresponding to the one or more medication IDs, [Pang teaches at Figure 15 a tablet (interpreted to be a storage unit) with a prescription list with the medicine name (interpreted to be ID) and time information and status information corresponding to when the user took the medication. This teaches the storage unit is configured to store the one or more medication IDs received from the first communication unit. Pang teaches at Figure 9 a demonstration of how the intelligent medicine box is in communication with the intelligent pharmaceutical packaging with RFID tag. The RFID tag taught by Figure 9 is interpreted as the medication ID and the first communication unit.]
wherein the one or more medication IDs are associated with the box ID, [Pang teaches at pg. 358 under dose list a prescription ID, dose ID, day number, is finished, time ID, medicine ID, amount, with medicine ID corresponding to medicine name, mass per piece, unit, piece type, manufacture, expiration date. Pang teaches at Figure 15 a person holding a medication box with an RFID tag that goes inside the iMedBox in a divider. Pang teaches at Figure 15 a box of medicine package with RFID tag. This is interpreted as the box and medicine ID there being no indication that they cannot be one and the same. Pang teaches at Figure 10 the hardware includes a tablet embedded in the lid of the iMedBox.]
and the one or more medication statuses are stored as Not-Taken. [Pang teaches at Figure 15 color coded and status indicator indicating a finished dose, missing dose, current dose, and future dose. Pang teaches at Figure 15 an indicator (smiley face) is used to indicate those medications that are taken/finished, while other not taken medications on the list have no smiley face indicating they have not been taken. The future dose indicator is displayed (and thus stored at least temporarily) as white lettering.]
Regarding Claim 6
Pang/Chen teach the medication management system according to claim 4. Pang/Chen further teach:
wherein the storage unit is configured to store medication time information related to medication time for the one or more medications, [Pang teaches at Figure 15 medication time information next to a finished dose (indicated by the smiley face). This is storing medication time information related to medication time for the one or more medications.]
wherein the medication time information is associated with the patient information and the medication IDs, [Pang teaches at Figure 15 medication time information next to a finished dose (indicated by the smiley face). The smiley face is indicating the status of the medication (take/not taken) and so is patient information associated with the medication name (also on Figure 15 and interpreted here to be the medication ID, there being no indication that the name cannot be the medication ID). Pang also at Figure 15 medicine package with RFID tag that is interpreted here as a second medication ID. Pang teaches at Figure 9 the RFID tag in the intelligent pharmaceutical packaging in communication with an RFID reader in the intelligent medicine box. Pang collectively teaches wherein the medication time information is associated with the patient information and the medication IDs.]
the second communication unit is configured to transmit, based on the medication time information, display information related to the one or more medications which the patient should take to a display terminal, and the display information received from the second communication unit is displayed in the display terminal. [Pang teaches at pg. 358 when the alarm is triggered, the connected RFID reader stats to detect the status of the specified tag. Pang teaches at pg. 358 the tag ID has been mapped to the medicine which needs to be taken at the moment. Pang teaches at pg. 358 when the user picks up the right medicine, the alarm will stop automatically and the alarm for the next medicine is set, but the screen keeps showing a warning message. Pang teaches at pg. 358 when the user finishes taking the medicine and puts the bottle back, the warning message will go away and each successful medication procedure will be marked with a happy face. Pang teaches at Figure 15 demonstration of the iMedBox for medication management has medication time information on a tablet and a smiley face indicating a finished dose. The smiley face indicating the finished dose is display information related to the one or more medications which the patient should take. The second communication unit is the RFID reader. The tablet is the display terminal.]
Regarding Claim 7
Pang/Chen teach the medication management system according to claim 6. Pang/Chen further teach:
wherein an inside of the inner box is partitioned by a divider, each of a plurality of container spaces that are partitioned corresponds to a type of the one or more medications, and the one or more medications are contained in the plurality of container spaces depending on types of the one or more medications, [Pang teaches at Figure 15 the iMedBox for medication management includes an insert divider that contains a plurality of container spaces that are partitioned corresponds to a type of the one or more medications marked with an RFID tag.]
the second communication unit is configured to transmit the display information including information related to the plurality of container spaces corresponding to a type of the one or more medications which the patient should take to the display terminal, [Pang teaches at Figure 15 the iMedBox for medication management includes an insert divider that contains a plurality of container spaces that are partitioned corresponds to a type of the one or more medications marked with an RFID tag. Pang teaches at Figure 15 the prescription list corresponding to the contents of the tray insert with medicine name, amount, status finished (the smiley face) and finished dose, missing dose, current dose and future dose indicated by color. Note that the information is related to the plurality of container spaces because these hold the medication in the box and removal of the medicine from the box causes the alarm as taught elsewhere by Pang.]
and the display information received from the second communication unit is displayed in the display terminal. [Pang teaches at Figure 15 a LCD display on a tablet associated with the medicine box with information received from the second communication unit (the RFID tags) displayed in the display terminal.]
Regarding Claim 9
Pang/Chen teach the medication management system according to claim 4. Pang/Chen further teach:
wherein the second communication unit is configured to receive a predetermined request from a sending apparatus, [Pang teaches at pg. 355 the iPackage which is sealed with a CDM film will be opened by the iMedBox by sending an open command to the microchip in the package. The microchip in the package is receiving what is interpreted to be a request to open the package from a sending apparatus.]
and to transmit at least a part of information stored in the storage unit to the sending apparatus. [Pang at pg. 355 teaches at Figure 4 transmitting the results to a series of medical servers (onsite diagnosis). Pang teaches at pg. 355 adopting the onsite diagnosis framework to design the proposed system.]
Regarding Claim 10
Pang/Chen teach the medication management system according to claim 4. Pang/Chen further teach:
wherein the reading unit is configured to provide a reading result only to the first communication unit that is preset. [Pang teaches at Figure 9 an RFID reader communicating with an RFID tag in communication with a CDM array in intelligent pharmaceutical packaging. The RFID reader is preset to communicate to the specific RFID tags in the intelligent pharmaceutical packaging, according to Figure 9. The RFID tag reader in communication with the RFID tag in communication with the CDM (controlled delamination material) is the reading unit is configured to provide a reading result only to the first communication unit that is preset.]
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (Intelligent Packaging and Intelligent Medicine Box for Medication Management towards the Internet of Things) in view of Chen (Design of Docker-Based Cloud Platform for Smart Medicine Box) in view of JP 2020-95720 A (hereafter Tomoaki).
Regarding Claim 2
Pang/Chen teach the medication management system according to claim 1. Pang/Chen further teach:
wherein the first communication unit is configured to transmit information including the box ID and the patient information to the cloud server, [Chen teaches at Figure 2 the system of cloud platform for smart medicine box a sensing layer in the smart medicine box that is in communication through a transport layer in the gateway which is in communication with the application layer in the cloud platform. Note that the box ID and patient information (time of medication taken) is taught elsewhere.]
Pang/Chen may not explicitly teach:
and the determination unit is further configured to determine whether the box ID received from the first communication unit matches the box ID that is associated, in the storage unit, with the patient information received from the first communication unit.
Tomoaki teaches:
and the determination unit is further configured to determine whether the box ID received from the first communication unit matches the box ID that is associated, in the storage unit, with the patient information received from the first communication unit. [Tomoaki teaches at pg. 8 it should be noted that an identification device such as a bar code or IC tag in which the unique information (management number, position information, etc.) of the storage box is recorded will be attached or embedded inside or outside the storage box. This teaches the box ID received from the first communication unit matches the box ID that is associated. Tomoaki teaches at pg. 13 an output including wireless box information will be received and performed. Collectively, this teaches receiving box ID from the first communication unit. Tomoaki teaches when the third party performs an unlocking operation the screen operation of the communication terminal at the reserved time without transmitting the unlocking information, the unlocking information matches the information recorded on the management server it suffices to include the meaning that the third party becomes unlockable, such as being unlocked by confirming and sending an unlock signal to a storage box. This teaches matching the box ID received with the box ID associated in combination with the teachings below. Tomoaki teaches at the third party who has acquired the unlock information goes to the location of the relevant storage box and inputs the unlock information transmitted to the screen of the communication terminal or the information reading unit (scanner, touch panel input screen, etc.). This teaches patient information received from the first communication unit. The unlock button displayed on the screen is operated, and the information (bar code information, key number information, user identification number, reservation information, etc.) that is managed together with ID information on the management server side (storage box side) is operated. ), the lock is released and the article is received (S7-6). Collectively, Tomoaki teaches and the determination unit is further configured to determine whether the box ID received from the first communication unit matches the box ID that is associated, in the storage unit, with the patient information received from the first communication unit.]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to modify the intelligent packaging and intelligent medicine box for medication management towards the Internet of Things of Pang to the design of docker based cloud platform for smart medicine box of Chen to the method for managing storage box and storage box of Tomoaki with the motivation of preventing misuse of medications.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (Intelligent Packaging and Intelligent Medicine Box for Medication Management towards the Internet of Things) in view of Chen (Design of Docker-Based Cloud Platform for Smart Medicine Box) in view US 11,253,661 B2 (hereafter Englehard).
Regarding Claim 5
Pang/Chen teach the medication management system according to claim 4. Pang/Chen may not explicitly teach:
wherein the notification unit is further configured to give predetermined notification when a number of the one or more medication IDs corresponding to the one or more medication statuses stored as Not-Taken in the storage unit is equal to or smaller than a predetermined number.
Englehard teaches:
wherein the notification unit is further configured to give predetermined notification when a number of the one or more medication IDs corresponding to the one or more medication statuses stored as Not-Taken in the storage unit is equal to or smaller than a predetermined number. [Englehard teaches at col. 14 line 47-52 in general, the processor will be configured to determine if the sensed parameter is above or below a predetermined threshold amount for the sensed parameter and conclude based on that determination whether the sensed parameter indicates that medication was dispensed. Englehard teaches at col. 17 line 18-26 for another example, if the processor determines that medication was dispensed off the patient’s predetermined medication schedule, the processor will be configured to cause a notification such as an email, text message, or phone call to be provided to the user, who, given this atypical use of the medication, may be the patient’s medical care provider or be able to contact the patient’s medical care provider as the patient’s parent or guardian. The notification unit is the processor. Englehard teaches at col. 15 line 11-13 that examples of the sensor include a motion sensor, a pH sensor, a temperature sensor, an audio sensor, and a geographic location sensor. Englehard teaches at col. 15 line 45-47 that the predetermined threshold pH and predetermined threshold amount will vary based on the medication, as different medications have different pHs. The different predetermined pHs corresponding to medications sensed by the sensor are the medication IDs corresponding to the one or more medication statuses stored as Not-Taken in the storage unit is equal to or smaller than a predetermined number. Collectively this teaches medication IDs corresponding to the one or more medication statuses stored as Not-Taken in the storage unit is equal to or smaller than a predetermined number. The predetermined number is the pH.]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to modify the intelligent packaging and intelligent medicine box for medication management towards the Internet of Things of Pang to the design of docker based cloud platform for smart medicine box of Chen to the devices, systems, and method for adherence monitoring and patient interaction of Englehard with the motivation of achieving a closer adherence to the medication schedule, the better the patient’s condition will be managed (e.g., because adequate amounts of medication will be consistently present in the patient’s system to consistently control adverse effects of asthma, Englehard at col. 1 line 40-44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Want (An Introduction to RFID Technology). Want teaches an general introduction to the RFID tag technology and details concerning its use.
US 20060053036 A1 (hereafter Coffman) teaches the use of wire or wireless connections to communicate between components of systems used for medication delivery.
/T.I.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3683
/CHRISTOPHER L GILLIGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683