DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
wherein the capacitor element includes a metalized film including a dielectric film and an electrode film on the dielectric film.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosio et al. JP 2019150987 A, hereafter referred to as Hosio.
Regarding claim 1, Hosio discloses an electronic component comprising: an electronic component element (300 – Fig. 1 paras. [0049-0050]); and a barrier layer disposed outside the electronic component element (10 – Fig. 1 para. [0050]), the barrier layer including a clay layer containing clay (2 – Fig. 1 paras. [0010] and [0050]) and a water absorbing layer containing a water absorbing material (5 – Fig. 1 paras. [0039] and [0050] or 3 and 5 – Fig. 1 paras. [0010], [0039] and [0050]; clay is known to be a water absorbing material), the water absorbing layer being disposed between the electronic component element and the clay layer (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hosio discloses the electronic component of claim 1, wherein the water absorbing layer further contains a binder (para. [0038]), and the water absorbing material includes zeolite (para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Hosio discloses the electronic component of claim 1, wherein a content of the water absorbing material in the water absorbing layer is greater than or equal to 2.5 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the water absorbing layer (para. [0040] discloses complete overlap with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 5, Hosio discloses the electronic component of claim 1, wherein the barrier layer includes a laminate including the clay layer and the water absorbing layer (10 – Fig. 1 para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Hosio discloses the electronic component of claim 1, wherein the barrier layer includes a plurality of the water absorbing layers (3 and 5 – Fig. 1 paras. [0010], [0039] and [0050]; clay is known to be a water absorbing material), and at least one of the water absorbing layers being disposed between the electronic component element and the clay layer (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Hosio discloses a laminate comprising: at least one clay layer containing clay which suppresses passage of moisture (2, 3 – Fig. 1 paras. [0010] and [0016]); and at least one water absorbing layer containing a water absorbing material such that the moisture passing through the at least one clay layer is absorbed by the water absorbing material (5 – Fig. 1 paras. [0016] and [0038-0039]).
Regarding claim 10, Hosio discloses the laminate of claim 9, further comprising a base material layer (1 – Fig. 1 paras. [0016] and [0043]).
Regarding claim 11, Hosio discloses the laminate of claim 9, further comprising an adhesion layer (para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 12, Hosio discloses the laminate of claim 9, comprising a plurality of at least one of the clay layer and the water absorption layer (2, 3 – Fig. 1 paras. [0010] and [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui JP 2016157755 A (hereafter referred to as Matsui) in view of Goto JP 2014022508 A (hereafter referred to as Goto).
Regarding claim 1, Matsui discloses an electronic component comprising: an electronic component element (2 – Fig.2 para. [0026]); and a barrier layer disposed outside the electronic component element (6, 7, 3 – Fig. 2), the barrier layer including a resin layer (7 – Fig. 2 para. [0042]) and a water absorbing layer containing a water absorbing material (6 – Fig. 2 para. [0036]), the water absorbing layer being disposed between the electronic component element and the resin layer (Fig. 2). Matsui fails to disclose wherein the resin layer contains clay.
Goto discloses a resin layer containing clay (6 – Fig. 2 para. [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the clay particles of Goto in the resin layer of Matsui to improve the gas permeation resistance of the electronic component (para. [0024] of Goto).
Regarding claim 2, Matsui as modified by Goto discloses the electronic component of claim 1, wherein the clay layer further contains a binder (the resin of Matsui is a binder), but fails to disclose that the clay contains mineral particles including a plate-shaped or thin-flake-shaped particle.
Goto further discloses the clay contains mineral particles including a plate-shaped or thin-flake-shaped particle (11 – Fig. 2 paras. [0024] and [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the clay contain mineral particles including a plate-shaped or thin-flake-shaped particle to increase the permeation path of gas, resulting in further improved gas barrier properties and protection of the electronic component element (para. [0027] or Goto).
Regarding claim 7, Matsui as modified by Goto further discloses a capacitor being the electronic component of claim 1, wherein the electronic component element of the electronic component is a capacitor element (2 – Fig. 2 para. [0028] of Matsui).
Regarding claim 8, Matsui as modified by Goto further discloses the capacitor of claim 7, wherein the capacitor element includes a metalized film including a dielectric film and an electrode film on the dielectric film (para. [0028] of Matsui).
Regarding claim 17, Matsui as modified by Goto further discloses a capacitor being the electronic component of claim 2, wherein the electronic component element of the electronic component is a capacitor element (2 – Fig. 2 para. [0028] of Matsui).
Regarding claim 18, Matsui as modified by Goto further discloses the capacitor of claim 17, wherein the capacitor element includes a metalized film including a dielectric film and an electrode film on the dielectric film (para. [0028] of Matsui).
Claim(s) 2 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosio in view of Goto.
Regarding claim 2, Hosio discloses the electronic component of claim 1, wherein the clay layer further contains a binder (para. [0026]), but fails to explicitly disclose that the clay contains mineral particles including a plate-shaped or thin-flake-shaped particle.
Goto discloses the clay contains mineral particles including a plate-shaped or thin-flake-shaped particle (11 – Fig. 2 paras. [0024] and [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the clay contain mineral particles including a plate-shaped or thin-flake-shaped particle to increase the permeation path of gas (such a s water vapor), resulting in further improved gas barrier properties and protection of the electronic component element (para. [0027] of Goto).
Regarding claim 13, Hosio as modified by Goto further discloses the electronic component of claim 2, wherein the water absorbing layer further contains a binder (para. [0036] of Hosio), and the water absorbing material includes zeolite (para. [0039] of Hosio).
Regarding claim 14, Hosio as modified by Goto further discloses the electronic component of claim 2, wherein a content of the water absorbing material in the water absorbing layer is greater than or equal to 2.5 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the water absorbing layer (para. [0040] of Hosio discloses complete overlap with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 15, Hosio as modified by Goto further discloses the electronic component of claim 1, wherein the barrier layer includes a laminate including the clay layer and the water absorbing layer (10 – Fig. 1 para. [0050] of Hosio).
Regarding claim 16, Hoisio as modified by Goto further discloses the electronic component of claim 2, wherein the barrier layer includes a plurality of the water absorbing layers (3 and 5 – Fig. 1 paras. [0010], [0039] and [0050] of Hosio; clay is known to be a water absorbing material), and at least one of the water absorbing layers being disposed between the electronic component element and the clay layer (Fig. 1 of Hosio).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Biler et al. US 20150049419 A1 – teaches a housing with zeolite and a moisture barrier layer with clay; [0066]
Majima et al. US 20200294718 A1 – teaches plate shaped mica
Nagayama et al. US 20130149513 A1 – teaches plate shaped clay particles
Hosomi et al. US 20150239197 A1 – Fig. 10; teaches three-layer laminates with layers that may contain clay and/or zeolite
Yoon et al. CN 105378012 A – Fig. 1a; teaches plate shaped clay particles to increase path taken by moisture
Takeoka et al. US 20100091425 A1 – teaches casing containing clay to protect capacitor from moisture; [0005]
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847