DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18847578 filed 09/16/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2022/082598, International Filing Date: 03/23/2022.
Status of the Application
This Non-final office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment received by the Office on 16 September 2024. Claims 1-21 have been presented in the application, of which, claims 12-14 are cancelled, claims 1-11 and 15-16 are currently amended, and claims 17-21 are new. Accordingly, pending claims 1-11 and 15-21 are addressed herein.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 09/16/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuman et al (US 2022/0353688) in view of Zhang (US 2025/0150833).
Regarding claim 1, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information, performed by a first network element (fig. 1 item 116, UE), the method comprising (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1):
obtaining location information of a user equipment (UE) (receiving (obtaining) location information from UE, [0101], lines 3-4); and
sending the location information to a second network element or the UE (UE may transmit (send) the location information to other UEs, 0101], lines 15-16).
Shuman et al does not specifically disclose concept of sending the trusted location information to a second network element or the UE.
However, Zhang specifically teaches concept of sending the trusted location information to a second network element or the UE (UE for providing another UE with trusted location information, [0040], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of sending the trusted location information to a second network element or the UE of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method of trust validation of location information (Zhang, [0001], line 2).
Regarding claim 2, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1),
Shuman et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the trusted location information of the UE is:
location information of the UE obtained by the first network element based on a location service (LCS) procedure; or
the trusted location information of the UE is location information of the UE verified by a network.
However, Zhang specifically teaches concept of wherein the trusted location information of the UE is (UE for providing another UE with trusted location information, [0040], lines 1-2):
location information of the UE obtained by the first network element based on a location service (LCS) procedure (receiving, from the second network node, the network-based location information for the UE. In some embodiments, the second network node is a Service Capability Exposure Function (SCEF)/Network Exposure Function (NEF), [0021], lines 3-4); or
the trusted location information of the UE is location information of the UE verified by a network (provide a device gateway that may digitally sign the location information so that the vehicles that receive this location information through V2V communication can verify the data using PKI. Further, some embodiments of the present disclosure may leverage the trusted network location, such that a vehicle can validate the trust of other location information (e.g., GPS location), [0075], lines 3-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of wherein the trusted location information of the UE is: location information of the UE obtained by the first network element based on a location service (LCS) procedure; or the trusted location information of the UE is location information of the UE verified by a network of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method of trust validation of location information (Zhang, [0001], line 2)
Regarding claim 3, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1),
Shuman et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the trusted location information comprises at least one of:
longitude and latitude information identifying the UE, a tracking area identifier (TAI for identifying a tracking area where the UE is located, a cell identifier for identifying a cell where the UE is located, or a base station identifier for identifying a base station to which the UE is connected.
However, Zhang specifically teaches concept of wherein the trusted location information comprises at least one of (UE for providing another UE with trusted location information, [0040], lines 1-2):
longitude and latitude information identifying the UE, a tracking area identifier (TAI for identifying a tracking area where the UE is located, a cell identifier for identifying a cell where the UE is located, or a base station identifier for identifying a base station to which the UE is connected (Referring to the scenario (c) in FIG. 7B, it is similar to the labels #0 through #50 of the scenario (a) from the perspective of the receiver vehicle 300-2 with the difference that there is a heavy traffic jam in a road segment (i.e., the dotted area) in which the location information #40 and #50 (or actually location information #31 through #59, some of which are not shown in FIG. 7B) are reported, [0121], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of wherein the trusted location information comprises at least one of: longitude and latitude information identifying the UE, a tracking area identifier (TAI for identifying a tracking area where the UE is located, a cell identifier for identifying a cell where the UE is located, or a base station identifier for identifying a base station to which the UE is connected of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method of trust validation of location information (Zhang, [0001], line 2)
Regarding claim 4, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information method for processing information (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1).
Shuman et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein before sending the trusted location information to the second network element or the UE, the method further comprises:
determining, according to the trusted location information of the UE, that the UE is allowed to access to a public land mobile network (PLMN) to which the first network element belongs, or that the UE is denied to access to the PLMN to which the first network element belongs.
However, Zhang specifically teaches concept of wherein before sending the trusted location information to the second network element or the UE, the method further comprises (UE may transmit (send) the location information to other UEs, 0101], lines 15-16):
determining, according to the trusted location information of the UE, that the UE is allowed to access to a public land mobile network (PLMN) to which the first network element belongs, or that the UE is denied to access to the PLMN to which the first network element belongs (According to a seventh aspect of the present disclosure, a method at a first network node for providing trusted location information is provided. The method comprises: receiving, from a UE, a request for trusted location information for the UE; obtaining location information for the UE from a second network node; signing the location information with a private key issued to the first network node; and transmitting, to the UE, the location information that is signed by the first network node, [0019], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of wherein before sending the trusted location information to the second network element or the UE, the method further comprises: determining, according to the trusted location information of the UE, that the UE is allowed to access to a public land mobile network (PLMN) to which the first network element belongs, or that the UE is denied to access to the PLMN to which the first network element belongs of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method of trust validation of location information (Zhang, [0001], line 2)
Regarding claim 5, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information, further comprising (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1):
Shuman et al does not specifically disclose concept of determining, according to the trusted location information of the UE, a registration area (RA), a forbidden area (FA) and/or a service area restriction (SAR) of the UE; or
determining, according to the trusted location information of the UE, a paging area for paging the UE.
However, Zhang specifically teaches concept of determining, according to the trusted location information of the UE, a registration area (RA), a forbidden area (FA) and/or a service area restriction (SAR) of the UE (receiving, from the second network node, the network-based location information for the UE. In some embodiments, the second network node is a Service Capability Exposure Function (SCEF)/Network Exposure Function (NEF), [0021], lines 3-4); or
determining, according to the trusted location information of the UE, a paging area for paging the UE (provide a device gateway that may digitally sign the location information so that the vehicles that receive this location information through V2V communication can verify the data using PKI. Further, some embodiments of the present disclosure may leverage the trusted network location, such that a vehicle can validate the trust of other location information (e.g., GPS location), [0075], lines 3-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of determining, according to the trusted location information of the UE, a registration area (RA), a forbidden area (FA) and/or a service area restriction (SAR) of the UE; or determining, according to the trusted location information of the UE, a paging area for paging the UE of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method of trust validation of location information (Zhang, [0001], line 2).
Regarding claim 21, Shuman et al discloses method (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1),
Shuman et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the trusted location information comprises at least one of longitude and latitude information identifying the UE, a TAI for identifying a tracking area where the UE is located, a cell identifier for identifying a cell where the UE is located, or a base station identifier for identifying a base station to which the UE is connected.
However, Zhang specifically teaches concept of wherein the trusted location information comprises at least one of longitude and latitude information identifying the UE, a TAI for identifying a tracking area where the UE is located, a cell identifier for identifying a cell where the UE is located, or a base station identifier for identifying a base station to which the UE is connected (Referring to the scenario (c) in FIG. 7B, it is similar to the labels #0 through #50 of the scenario (a) from the perspective of the receiver vehicle 300-2 with the difference that there is a heavy traffic jam in a road segment (i.e., the dotted area) in which the location information #40 and #50 (or actually location information #31 through #59, some of which are not shown in FIG. 7B) are reported, [0121], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of wherein the trusted location information comprises at least one of longitude and latitude information identifying the UE, a TAI for identifying a tracking area where the UE is located, a cell identifier for identifying a cell where the UE is located, or a base station identifier for identifying a base station to which the UE is connected of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method of trust validation of location information (Zhang, [0001], line 2).
Claims 6-11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuman et al (US 2022/0353688) in view of Zhang (US 2025/0150833) and further in view of Nair (US 2021/0204120)
Regarding claim 6, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information, performed by a second network element (fig. 1 item 112, UE), the method comprising (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1):
Receiving location information of a user equipment (UE) sent by a first network element (UE may transmit (send) the location information to other UEs, 0101], lines 15-16); and
Shuman et al does not specifically disclose concept of receiving trusted location information of a user equipment (UE) sent by a first network element.
However, Zhang specifically teaches concept of receiving trusted location information of a user equipment (UE) sent by a first network element (UE for providing another UE with trusted location information, [0040], lines 1-2)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of receiving trusted location information of a user equipment (UE) sent by a first network element of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method of trust validation of location information (Zhang, [0001], line 2)
Shuman et al and Zhang do not specifically disclose concept of storing the trusted location information.
However, Nair specifically teaches concept of storing the trusted location information (As the trusted location information and image captures 156 are received, they may be further store and harvest the information in at least the secure database 212 or other repositories for future use, [0020], lines 13-15).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of receiving trusted location information of a user equipment (UE) sent by a first network element of Zhang and concept of storing the trusted location information of Nair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve user authentication using a multi-provider platform, (Nair, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 7, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information, further comprising (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1):
Shuman et al and Zhang do not specifically disclose concept of mapping the trusted location information to cell information serving the UE according to the trusted location information of the UE.
However, Nair specifically teaches concept of mapping the trusted location information to cell information serving the UE according to the trusted location information of the UE (provided correct permissions 208 are available, the another service provider 206 can transmit location information available about the user to the third-party service provider 202 for use in verification by the risk checkpoint component 204. As the trusted location information and image captures 156 are received, they may be further store and harvest the information in at least the secure database 212 or other repositories for future use, [0020], lines 11-15).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of receiving trusted location information of a user equipment (UE) sent by a first network element of Zhang and concept of mapping the trusted location information to cell information serving the UE according to the trusted location information of the UE of Nair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve user authentication using a multi-provider platform, (Nair, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 8, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information, further comprising (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1):
Shuman et al and Zhang do not specifically disclose concept of selecting an access and mobility management function (AMF) for the UE to access according to the trusted location information of the UE.
However, Nair specifically teaches concept of selecting an access and mobility management function (AMF) for the UE to access according to the trusted location information of the UE (communication with the another service provider 206 may be leveraged through an existing partnership with that provider. Thus, provided correct permissions 208 are available, the another service provider 206 can transmit location information available about the user to the third-party service provider 202 for use in verification by the risk checkpoint component 204. As the trusted location information and image captures 156 are received, they may be further store and harvest the information, [0020], lines 10-14).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of receiving trusted location information of a user equipment (UE) sent by a first network element of Zhang and concept of selecting an access and mobility management function (AMF) for the UE to access according to the trusted location information of the UE of Nair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve user authentication using a multi-provider platform, (Nair, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 9, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information, performed by a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1 item 112, UE), the method comprising (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1):
receiving location information of the UE sent by a first network element (UE may transmit (send) the location information to other UEs, 0101], lines 15-16); and
Shuman et al does not specifically disclose concept of receiving trusted location information of the UE sent by a first network element.
However, Zhang specifically teaches concept of receiving trusted location information of the UE sent by a first network element (UE for providing another UE with trusted location information, [0040], lines 1-2)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of receiving trusted location information of the UE sent by a first network element of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method of trust validation of location information (Zhang, [0001], line 2)
Shuman et al and Zhang do not specifically disclose concept of storing the trusted location information.
However, Nair specifically teaches concept of storing the trusted location information (As the trusted location information and image captures 156 are received, they may be further store and harvest the information in at least the secure database 212 or other repositories for future use, [0020], lines 13-15).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of receiving trusted location information of the UE sent by a first network element of Zhang and concept of storing the trusted location information of Nair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve user authentication using a multi-provider platform, (Nair, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 10, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information, further comprising (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1):
Shuman et al does not specifically disclose concept of performing an access registration or a registration update according to the trusted location information.
However, Zhang specifically teaches concept of performing an access registration or a registration update according to the trusted location information (receiving, from the second network node, the network-based location information for the UE. In some embodiments, the second network node is a Service Capability Exposure Function (SCEF)/Network Exposure Function (NEF), [0021], lines 3-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of performing an access registration or a registration update according to the trusted location information of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method of trust validation of location information (Zhang, [0001], line 2).
Regarding claim 11, Shuman et al discloses method for processing information, further comprising (FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of a method of transmitting location information by a UE, [0025], line 1):
Shuman et al does not specifically disclose concept of determining, according to the trusted location information, whether to perform access forbidding based on a forbidden area (FA) and/or an access control based on a service area restriction (SAR).
However, Zhang specifically teaches concept of determining, according to the trusted location information, whether to perform access forbidding based on a forbidden area (FA) and/or an access control based on a service area restriction (SAR) (provide a device gateway that may digitally sign the location information so that the vehicles that receive this location information through V2V communication can verify the data using PKI. Further, some embodiments of the present disclosure may leverage the trusted network location, such that a vehicle can validate the trust of other location information (e.g., GPS location), [0075], lines 3-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Shuman et al with concept of determining, according to the trusted location information, whether to perform access forbidding based on a forbidden area (FA) and/or an access control based on a service area restriction (SAR) of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method of trust validation of location information (Zhang, [0001], line 2).
Regarding claim 15, Shuman et al discloses communication device (fig. 1 item 116, UE), comprising:
a processor (fig. 2 item 230, processor);
a transceiver (fig. 2 item 215, transceiver);
a memory ([0150], line 2, memory); and
an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being operated by the processor, wherein the processor implements the method for processing information when running the executable program. (computer program product may comprise a computer readable medium on which the computer program is stored. For example, the computer program product may be a flash memory, a Random-access memory (RAM), a Read-Only Memory (ROM), or an EEPROM, and the computer program modules described above could in alternative embodiments be distributed on different computer program products in the form of memories within the UE, [0157], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 16, Shuman et al discloses non-transitory computer storage medium, storing an executable program, wherein the executable program when executed by a processor, implements the method for processing information (computer program product may comprise a computer readable medium on which the computer program is stored. For example, the computer program product may be a flash memory, a Random-access memory (RAM), a Read-Only Memory (ROM), or an EEPROM, and the computer program modules described above could in alternative embodiments be distributed on different computer program products in the form of memories within the UE, [0157], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 17, Shuman et al discloses communication device (fig. 1 item 116, UE), comprising:
a processor (fig. 2 item 230, processor);
a transceiver (fig. 2 item 215, transceiver);
a memory ([0150], line 2, memory); and
an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being operated by the processor, wherein the processor implements the method for processing information when running the executable program (computer program product may comprise a computer readable medium on which the computer program is stored. For example, the computer program product may be a flash memory, a Random-access memory (RAM), a Read-Only Memory (ROM), or an EEPROM, and the computer program modules described above could in alternative embodiments be distributed on different computer program products in the form of memories within the UE, [0157], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 18, Shuman et al discloses communication device (fig. 1 item 116, UE), comprising:
a processor (fig. 2 item 230, processor);
a transceiver (fig. 2 item 215, transceiver);
a memory ([0150], line 2, memory); and
an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being operated by the processor, wherein the processor implements the method for processing information when running the executable program (computer program product may comprise a computer readable medium on which the computer program is stored. For example, the computer program product may be a flash memory, a Random-access memory (RAM), a Read-Only Memory (ROM), or an EEPROM, and the computer program modules described above could in alternative embodiments be distributed on different computer program products in the form of memories within the UE, [0157], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 19, Shuman et al discloses non-transitory computer storage medium, storing an executable program, wherein the executable program when executed by a processor, implements the method for processing information (computer program product may comprise a computer readable medium on which the computer program is stored. For example, the computer program product may be a flash memory, a Random-access memory (RAM), a Read-Only Memory (ROM), or an EEPROM, and the computer program modules described above could in alternative embodiments be distributed on different computer program products in the form of memories within the UE, [0157], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 20, Shuman et al discloses non-transitory computer storage medium, storing an executable program, wherein the executable program when executed by a processor, implements the method for processing information (computer program product may comprise a computer readable medium on which the computer program is stored. For example, the computer program product may be a flash memory, a Random-access memory (RAM), a Read-Only Memory (ROM), or an EEPROM, and the computer program modules described above could in alternative embodiments be distributed on different computer program products in the form of memories within the UE, [0157], lines 5-8)..
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681