DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 9/16/24.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-11, 23, 25-32 are pending.
5. Claims 12-22 and 24 are currently cancelled prior to examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/16/24 and 6/16/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-11, 23, 25-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Hu et al. US 20240314882 hereafter Hu.
As to Claim 1. (Original) Hu discloses a method for indicating radio resource management (RRM) requirement enhancement [i.e. RRM or RRM measurement], performed by a terminal device, comprising [Sections 0004, 0037: A communication method, a terminal device, and a network device, to resolve a problem that exists in RRM measurement when a terminal device is in an RRC connected and in an NTN cell. The 5G system includes enhanced mobile communication]:
receiving first indication information [i.e. RRC signaling/configuration] sent by a network device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate RRM requirement [i.e. RRM or RRM measurement] enhancement [Sections 0049, 0058, 0084: When the terminal device is in different RRC states, the RRM measurement may be different; RRM measurement performed by the terminal when the terminal is in an RRC connected state and an RRC non-connected state. The network device send RRM measurement configuration to the terminal device. The network device transmit first parameter and dedicated signalling to the terminal device may include RRC].
As to Claim 2. (Currently amended) Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the first indication information sent by the network device comprises [Sections 0058: The network device send RRM measurement configuration to the terminal device]:
receiving the first indication information sent by the network device via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the terminal device is in an RRC connected state; or receiving the first indication information sent by the network device via a broadcast message, wherein the terminal device is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state [Sections 0059, 0084, 0108: A network may configure, for the terminal device in the RRC connected state the RRM measurement configuration. The network device transmit first parameter and dedicated signalling to the terminal device may include RRC. When the terminal device is in the RRC connected state, the parameter indicated by dedicated signalling (i.e. RRC), when the terminal device is in the RRC non-connected state (i.e. RRC idle/non-active), the parameter transmitted by the network device to the terminal device in a manner of system broadcast configuration].
As to Claim 3. (Original) Hu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: sending second indication information [i.e. Report] to the network device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate that the terminal device supports the RRM requirement enhancement [Sections 0048, 0058-0059: A terminal device perform RRM measurement for cells and support a mobility operation. The network device send RRM measurement configuration to the terminal device; and then the terminal device according to parameter indicated perform measurement reporting information (i.e. second indication includes configured support) fedback to the network device. In 5G, The terminal device in RRC connected state support transmission and RRM measurement configuration].
As to Claim 4. (Original) Hu discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the terminal device supports the RRM requirement enhancement [Sections 0048, 0059: A terminal device perform RRM measurement for cells and support a mobility operation. In 5G, The terminal device in RRC connected state support transmission and RRM measurement configuration].
As to Claim 5. (Currently Amended) Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the terminal device is located in a cell covered by a low earth orbiting [i.e. LEO, Section 0063: Satellites may be classified into a low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite and the following describes LEO Satellites] satellite, and the method further comprises [Sections 0061-0062, 0077: An NTN provides a user (i.e. terminal device) with a communication service in a non-terrestrial, for example, satellite, manner. In theory, a satellite orbit the earth, so every corner of the earth covered by satellite communication. In a LEO of an NTN, NTN cells may include an earth moving cell and a quasi-earth fixed cell]:
receiving, by the terminal device, the first indication information, and performing measurement according to a first RRM requirement; or receiving, by the terminal device, the first indication information, and performing measurement according to a first RRM requirement, wherein the terminal device supports the RRM requirement enhancement; or performing measurement according to a second RRM requirement; or performing measurement according to a second RRM requirement, wherein the terminal device does not support the RRM requirement enhancement [Sections 0048, 0094-0095: A terminal device perform RRM measurement for a serving cell and a neighboring cell, to support a mobility operation. Accordingly, the terminal device start the RRM measurement for NTN cell in current coverage area and executing the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell. A method for starting RRM measurement for an NTN cell].
As to Claim 6. (Currently Amended) Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the RRM requirement enhancement comprises at least one of: mobility requirement enhancement in an idle state and an inactive state; mobility requirement enhancement in a connected state;
terminal transmission timing requirement enhancement; layer-1 (L1) reference signal receiving power (RSRP) measurement and evaluation requirement enhancement; bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) measurement and evaluation requirement enhancement; candidate beam detection (CBD) measurement and evaluation requirement enhancement; radio link monitoring (RLM) requirement; or RRM measurement and accuracy requirement enhancement [Sections 0048, 0051, 0092, 0094: A terminal device perform RRM measurement for cells and support a mobility operation. RRM measurement of the terminal device in the RRC non-connected (i.e. idle) state for the serving cell may be continuous. A network device sets an S-measure criterion and the first parameter for the terminal device, the terminal device starts the RRM measurement for NTN cell. So the terminal device may be handed (i.e. mobility) over to another cell before the first NTN cell stops serving meets mobility management requirement of the terminal device].
As to Claim 7. (Original) Hu discloses a method for indicating radio resource management (RRM) requirement enhancement [i.e. RRM or RRM measurement], performed by a network device, comprising [Sections 0004, 0037: A communication method, a terminal device, and a network device, to resolve a problem that exists in RRM measurement when a terminal device is in an RRC connected and in an NTN cell. The 5G system includes enhanced mobile communication]:
sending first indication information [i.e. RRC signaling/configuration] to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate RRM requirement [i.e. RRM or RRM measurement] enhancement [Sections 0049, 0058, 0084: When the terminal device is in different RRC states, the RRM measurement may be different; RRM measurement performed by the terminal when the terminal is in an RRC connected state and an RRC non-connected state. The network device send RRM measurement configuration to the terminal device. The network device transmit first parameter and dedicated signalling to the terminal device may include RRC].
As to Claim 8. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 7, wherein sending the first indication information to the terminal device comprises: sending the first indication information to the terminal device via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the terminal device is in an RRC connected state; or sending the first indication information to the terminal device via a broadcast message, wherein the terminal device is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 9. (Original) The method of claim 7, further comprising: receiving second indication information sent by the terminal device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate that the terminal device supports the RRM requirement enhancement [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 10. (Currently Amended) Hu discloses the method of claim 9, wherein sending the first indication information to the terminal device comprises [Sections 0058: The network device send RRM measurement configuration to the terminal device]:
determining that the terminal device supports the RRM requirement enhancement, and sending the first indication information to the terminal device; or determining that the terminal device does not support the RRM requirement enhancement, and not sending the first indication information to the terminal device [Sections 0048, 0059, 0084: A terminal device perform RRM measurement for cells and support a mobility operation. In 5G, The terminal device in RRC connected state support transmission and RRM measurement configuration. The network device transmit first parameter and dedicated signalling to the terminal device may include RRC].
As to Claim 11. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 7, wherein the RRM requirement enhancement comprises at least one of: mobility requirement enhancement in an idle state and an inactive state; mobility requirement enhancement in a connected state; terminal transmission timing requirement enhancement; layer-1 (L1) reference signal receiving power (RSRP) measurement and evaluation requirement enhancement; bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) measurement and evaluation requirement enhancement; candidate beam detection (CBD) measurement and evaluation requirement enhancement; radio link monitoring (RLM) requirement; or RRM measurement and accuracy requirement enhancement [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 23. (Currently Amended) Hu discloses a communication apparatus [i.e. Terminal Device] comprising a processor and a memory having stored therein computer programs that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to implement a method comprising [Fig. 10, Sections 0009: Accordingly, a terminal device is provided, including a processor, a memory, and a communications interface; the memory is configured to store one or more computer programs, and the processor is configured to invoke the computer program in the memory to cause the terminal device to execute the methods]:
receiving first indication information [i.e. RRC signaling/configuration] sent by a network device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate RRM requirement [i.e. RRM or RRM measurement] enhancement [Sections 0049, 0058, 0084: When the terminal device is in different RRC states, the RRM measurement may be different; RRM measurement performed by the terminal when the terminal is in an RRC connected state and an RRC non-connected state. The network device send RRM measurement configuration to the terminal device. The network device transmit first parameter and dedicated signalling to the terminal device may include RRC].
As to Claim 25. (New) Hu discloses a communication apparatus [i.e. Terminal Device] comprising a processor and a memory having stored therein computer programs that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to [Fig. 10, Sections 0009: Accordingly, a terminal device is provided, including a processor, a memory, and a communications interface; the memory is configured to store one or more computer programs, and the processor is configured to invoke the computer program in the memory to cause the terminal device to execute the methods]: implement the method of claim 7 [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 26. (New) The communication apparatus of claim 23, wherein receiving the first indication information sent by the network device comprises: receiving the first indication information sent by the network device via an RRC signaling, wherein the terminal device is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state; or receiving the first indication information sent by the network device via a broadcast message, wherein the terminal device is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 27. (New) The communication apparatus of claim 23, wherein the method further comprises: sending second indication information to the network device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate that the terminal device supports the RRM requirement enhancement [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 28. (New) The communication apparatus of claim 27, wherein the terminal device supports the RRM requirement enhancement [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 29. (New) The communication apparatus of claim 23, wherein the terminal device is located in a cell covered by a low earth orbiting satellite, and the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, the first indication information, and performing measurement according to a first RRM requirement; or receiving, by the terminal device, the first indication information, and performing measurement according to a first RRM requirement, wherein the terminal device supports the RRM requirement enhancement; or performing measurement according to a second RRM requirement; or performing measurement according to a second RRM requirement, wherein the terminal device does not support the RRM requirement enhancement [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 30. (New) The communication apparatus of claim 23, wherein the RRM requirement enhancement comprises at least one of: mobility requirement enhancement in an idle state and an inactive state; mobility requirement enhancement in a connected state; terminal transmission timing requirement enhancement; layer-1 (L1) reference signal receiving power (RSRP) measurement and evaluation requirement enhancement; bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) measurement and evaluation requirement enhancement; candidate beam detection (CBD) measurement and evaluation requirement enhancement; radio link monitoring (RLM) requirement; or RRM measurement and accuracy requirement enhancement [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 31. (New) The communication apparatus of claim 25, wherein the method further comprises: receiving second indication information sent by the terminal device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate that the terminal device supports the RRM requirement enhancement [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 32. (New) The communication apparatus of claim 31, wherein sending the first indication information to the terminal device comprises: determining that the terminal device supports the RRM requirement enhancement, and sending the first indication information to the terminal device; or determining that the terminal device does not support the RRM requirement enhancement, and not sending the first indication information to the terminal device [See Claim 10 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Okano et al. US 202402922.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
July 22, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477