DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 09/16/2024 and is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2023/056573 with an international filing date: 03/15/2023 and claims foreign priority to DE10 2022 106 198.1, filed 03/16/2022. The file wrapper has a certified copy of the foreign priority document. However it is not in English. Thus the application is being given priority to the international filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/16/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Non-patent literature item 4 is marked through as it does not provide a date.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code.(page 12, lines 16; page 14, 18-19 for example) Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to as it recites “HMGA2” but does not recite the full terminology for the acronym (or abbreviation). Claims are more concise when the first time an acronym (or abbreviation) is presented the full terminology is also presented. Finally an acronym (or abbreviation) may have alternative meanings to an artisan.
Claim 2 is objected to as it recites “ADIPOQ” but does not recite the full terminology for the acronym (or abbreviation). Claims are more concise when the first time an acronym (or abbreviation) is presented the full terminology is also presented. Finally an acronym (or abbreviation) may have alternative meanings to an artisan.
Claim 3 is objected to as it recites “PPAR-gamma and IL-6” but does not recite the full terminology for the acronym (or abbreviation). Claims are more concise when the first time an acronym (or abbreviation) is presented the full terminology is also presented. Finally an acronym (or abbreviation) may have alternative meanings to an artisan.
Claim 4 is objected to as it recites “BMI,” FIB4,” and “HbA1c” ” but does not recite the full terminology for the acronym (or abbreviation). Claims are more concise when the first time an acronym (or abbreviation) is presented the full terminology is also presented. Finally an acronym (or abbreviation) may have alternative meanings to an artisan.
Claim 8 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from two or more claims. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 8 is not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 10 is objected to as it recites “NAFLD and NASH” but does not recite the full terminology for the acronym (or abbreviation). Claims are more concise when the first time an acronym (or abbreviation) is presented the full terminology is also presented. Finally an acronym (or abbreviation) may have alternative meanings to an artisan.
Claim 14 is objected to as it recites “NAFLD and NASH” but does not recite the full terminology for the acronym (or abbreviation). Claims are more concise when the first time an acronym (or abbreviation) is presented the full terminology is also presented. Finally an acronym (or abbreviation) may have alternative meanings to an artisan.
Claim 15 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from two or more claims. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 15 is not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 15 is objected to as it recites “HMGA2” but does not recite the full terminology for the acronym (or abbreviation). Claims are more concise when the first time an acronym (or abbreviation) is presented the full terminology is also presented. Finally an acronym (or abbreviation) may have alternative meanings to an artisan
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
. Claim 1-7, 9-14 are indefinite because the claims do not recite the basic steps of the claimed invention in a positive, active fashion (see Ex parte Erlich 3 USPQ2d, 1011). The claims recite, “the use,” but the claim fails to recite any actual steps that define the method. Thus the metes and bounds are unclear if the claims are to a composition or method.
Claim 1 recites, “The use of the relative value of the gene expression level of the gene HMGA2 and/or of a gene, the expression of which statistically correlates with that of the gene HMGA2, in the prognosis and/or diagnosis of a fatty liver disease of a subject..” As detailed above the claim does not set forth any active steps and thus appears to be a composition. It is unclear how a composition “statistically correlates” or is a “relative value.”
Claim 2 recites, “wherein the relative value of the gene expression level of the gene HMGA2 and/or of a gene, the expression of which statistically correlates with that of the gene HMGA2, is related to the relative value of the gene expression level of the gene ADIPOQ and/or of a gene, the expression of which statistically correlates with that of the gene ADIPOQ..” As detailed above the claim does not set forth any active steps and thus appears to be a composition. It is unclear how a composition “statistically correlates” or is a “relative value.”
Claim 3 recites, “wherein additionally the relative value (i) of the gene expression level of the gene HMGA2 or (ii) of the gene HMGA2 and of the gene ADIPOQ is related to the relative value of one gene expression level or preferably both gene expression levels of the genes selected from the group consisting of PPAR-gamma and IL-6...” As detailed above the claim does not set forth any active steps and thus appears to be a composition. It is unclear how a composition is a “relative value.”
Claim 7 recites, “the determination of the gene expression level or gene expression levels is done at the mRNA level.” The recitation of “dtermination” is not previously recited in the claim and thus lacks antecedent basis. Thus the claim is vague and unclear.
Claim 11 recites, “the onset of new liver fibrosis or the progression of pre-existing liver fibrosis, is made.” Neither claim 11 nor claim 1 previous require onset or progression. Thus the metes and bounds are unclear where these limitations find antecedent basis.
Claim 12 recites, “wherein the prognosis of deterioration of the state of the liver is related to the probability of type 2 diabetes remission.” Neither claim 12 nor the claims from which it depends previously recite, “prognosis of deterioration of the state of the liver” or “the probability of type 2 diabetes remission.” Thus the metes and bounds are unclear where these limitations find antecedent basis.
Claim 13 recites, “wherein the sample investigated is assigned to one of the following three risk clusters:C1: Increased probability of type 2 diabetes remission and reduced risk of liver fibrosis;C2: Increased probability of type 2 diabetes remission and increased risk of liver fibrosis;C3: Reduced probability of type 2 diabetes remission and reduced risk of liver fibrosis.” The claim does not previous recite “sample.” Further the claim is vague, unclear and incomplete how the sample is assigned to C1, C2, or C3.
Claim 14 recites, “the liver disease.” Neither claims 14 or claim 1 recite “liver disease.” Thus the metes and bounds are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are use claims and thus are not to one of statutory classes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nerenberg (US2019/0071795).
Claims are drawn to the use of relative expression values of HMGA2, PPARGamma, ADIPQ. The claim provides no positive active steps and thus is being given the broadest reasonable interpretation as a composition.
With regards to claim 1, Nerenberg teach HMGA2 expression (table 1). Nerenberg teaches normalization of gene expression (0081, 0086). Thus Nerenberg teaches relative (normalized ) expression of the gene.
With regards to claim 2, Nerenberg teach ADPIQ expression (00170). Nerenberg teaches normalization of gene expression (0081, 0086) Thus Nerenberg teaches relative (normalized ) expression of the gene.
With regards to claim 3, Nerenberg teach PPARgamma expression (0127). Nerenberg teaches normalization of gene expression (0081, 0086) Thus Nerenberg teaches relative (normalized ) expression of the gene.
With regards to claim 4, Nerenberg teaches determining BMI (0092)
With regards to claim 7, Nerenberg teaches detection of MRNA (0137)
With regards to claim 9, Nerenberg teaches bariatric surgery (0090)
With regards to claim 10, 14Nerenberg teaches NAFLD and NASH (0090)
With regards to claim 11, Nerenberg teaches liver fibrosis (0183)
With regards to claim 12, Nerenberg teaches type II diabetes (0006)
Claim 13 is unclear how assigning is done. Thus the broadest reasonable interpretation is any type of assigning or diagnosis.
With regards to claim 13, Nerenberg teaches diagnosis (0071)
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/ 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jensen (US20200377948).
Claims are drawn to the use of relative expression values of HMGA2, PPARGamma, ADIPQ. The claim provides no positive active steps and thus is being given the broadest reasonable interpretation as a composition.
With regards to claims 1-2, Jensen teaches, “[0051] I) lowered relative gene expression level for ADIPOQ, greatly increased relative gene expression level for HMGA” Thus Jensen anticipates the claims
With regards to claim 4, Jensen teaches, “0051] I) lowered relative gene expression level for ADIPOQ, greatly increased relative gene expression level for HMGA2 and also at least one of the marker situations selected from the group consisting of increased HbA1c blood values.”
With regards to claims 5-6, Jensen teaches, “Detection of the Expression of ADIPOQ and HMGA2 in Adipose Tissue Puncture Biopsies, Obtained by Fine-Needle Aspiration of Subcutaneous Abdominal Adipose Tissue” (0225)
With regards to claim 7, Jensen teaches, “[0010] The value for the relative gene expression level in the context of the present invention can be achieved in any manner known to a person skilled in the art. Preference is given to determining the gene expression level at the mRNA level or at the protein level. In this connection, the mRNA level is preferred.”
Summary
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
/Steven Pohnert/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683