DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stewart (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0308311).
Stewart discloses a sterilization method for sterilizing a predetermined area of human activity comprising (paragraphs 19-21):
Setting sterilization area within the area of human activity (paragraphs 25 & 40);
Setting peripheral area that are adjacent to or in proximity to the sterilization area (paragraphs 28 & 40);
Acquiring peripheral area information relating to the peripheral area (paragraphs 29 & 40);
Determining an irradiation mode (i.e., on or off) for irradiating sterilization electromagnetic waves onto the sterilization area based on the peripheral area information (paragraphs 29 & 40); and
Irradiating sterilization electromagnetic wave onto the sterilization area in the irradiation mode (paragraphs 23, 29 & 40).
Concerning claim 4, Stewart also discloses wherein human presence information showing whether or not a person is present within the peripheral areas is included in the peripheral area information, and in a case in which the human presence information shows that a person is present within the peripheral areas, an irradiation intensity, which is one of the irradiation modes of the sterilization electromagnetic waves, is set to 0 (paragraphs 29 & 40).
Regarding claim 7, Stewart continues to disclose a sterilization system that sterilizes a predetermined area of human activity (paragraphs 19-21) comprising:
a sterilization electromagnetic wave emitting device (100) that emits sterilization electromagnetic waves (paragraphs 19, 20 & 23); and
A control device that controls the sterilization electromagnetic wave emitting device (paragraphs 21-23), wherein the control device:
Sets a sterilization area within the area of human activity based on an input from a user (paragraph 25);
Sets peripheral areas that are adjacent to or in proximity to the sterilization area (paragraphs 29 & 40);
Acquires peripheral area information, which is information relating to the peripheral areas (paragraphs 29 & 40); and
Based on the peripheral area information, decides an irradiation mode (i.e., on or off) for irradiating the sterilization electromagnetic waves onto the sterilization area, and then controls the sterilization electromagnetic wave emitting device such that this irradiation mode is implemented (paragraphs 29 & 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0308311) in view of Kupa et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0018884).
With respect to claims 5 & 6, Stewart is relied upon as set forth above. While Stewart continues to disclose that the irradiation mode is decided based additionally on sterilization area information acquired from the sterilization area by a sensor (paragraphs 20 & 23), and in a case in which a person is present in the sterilization area, the irradiation of the sterilization electromagnetic waves is halted (paragraph 26); the reference does not appear to disclose that the irradiation mode is decided based additionally on a degree of contamination of the sterilization area that is determined by the length of stay of a person prior to sterilization, and an irradiation amount is decided in accordance with the degree of contamination in the relevant area prior to the sterilization electromagnetic waves being irradiated thereon. Kupa discloses a sterilization method for sterilizing a predetermined area of human activity by irradiating sterilization electromagnetic waves onto the sterilization area in an irradiation mode (Abstract; Figure 1). The reference continues to disclose that the irradiation mode is decided based additionally on a degree of contamination of the sterilization area that is determined by the length of stay of a person prior to sterilization, and an irradiation amount is decided in accordance with the degree of contamination in the relevant area prior to the sterilization electromagnetic waves being irradiated thereon in order to ensure the proper amount of UV radiation is applied to the sterilization area to successfully sterilize said area (paragraphs 55 & 56). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to decide the irradiation mode additionally on a degree of contamination of the sterilization area that is determined by the length of stay of a person prior to sterilization, and an irradiation amount is decided in accordance with the degree of contamination in the relevant area prior to the sterilization electromagnetic waves being irradiated thereon in order to ensure the proper amount of UV radiation is applied to the sterilization area to successfully sterilize said area as exemplified by Kupa.
As such, claims 5 & 6 are not patentable over Stewart in view of Kupa.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 & 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799