DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18847654 filed 09/16/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2023/071978, International Filing Date: 01/12/2023 claims foreign priority to 202210366655.5, filed 04/08/2022.
Status of the Application
This Non-final office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment received by the Office on 16 September 2024. Claims 1-41 have been presented in the application, of which, claims 2, 19-36, 38, and 40 are cancelled, claim 1 is currently amended, claims 3, 8-11, 37, 39 and 41 are previously presented and claims 4-7, and 12-18 are original. Accordingly, pending claims 1, 3-18, 37, 39 and 41 are addressed herein.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 09/16/2024 and 04/02/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-18, 37, 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astrom et al (US 2021/0092679) in view of Zhang et al (US 2023/0300786).
Regarding claim 1, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method) for determining a Paging Occasion (PO), (network node also knows (determining) the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs, [0030], lines 5-6) comprising:
receiving a Wake Up Signal (WUS) sent by a base station (network node (e.g. eNB, gNB) transmits a WUS related to a paging message, to a wireless device (UE), [0030], lines 1-2);
determining a target PO according to at least the WUS (network node also knows the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs in both DRX and eDRX. From this information, the network node may determine a suitable WUS timing in relation to the PO in which the paging message is scheduled to be transmitted, [0030], lines 5-7); and
wherein determining the target PO according to at least the WUS comprises at least one of (network node also knows the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs in both DRX and eDRX. From this information, the network node may determine a suitable WUS timing in relation to the PO in which the paging message is scheduled to be transmitted, [0030], lines 5-7):
determining the target PO according to first position information and first offset information corresponding to the WUS; (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6) or
determining the target PO according to PO index information carried by the WUS (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).
Astrom et al does not specifically disclose concept of detecting a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at the target PO;
However, Zhang et al specifically teaches concept of detecting a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at the target PO (After receiving the DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_0) on PDCCH in step 320, a RedCap UE will detect the DCI with legacy P-RNTI in the target PO; thus is seen as detecting DCI on PDCCH (detecting a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)) at the target PO, [0078], lines 1-2);
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Astrom et al with concept of detecting a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at the target PO of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method and apparatus for paging dedicated for devices with reduced capabilities, (Zhang et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 3, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), further comprising:
obtaining a target preset PO set according to a preset configuration parameter (receiving paging and will read paging signals at POs during a paging transmission window. It may be noted that eDRX is typically UE-specific and a mobility management entity, MME, saves configurations for respective UE when the UE enters idle mode, while DRX is typically cell-specific where UEs of a cell are handled using same parameters, except for cases where DRX is configured for shortened periodicity where the DRX also may be UE-specific, [0038], lines 1-2, [0039], lines 1-4); and
determining a target PO set according to the target preset PO set, wherein the preset configuration parameter comprises at least one of (receiving paging and will read paging signals at POs during a paging transmission window, but may apply power saving actions, which may resemble those of traditional DRX, between the POs of the paging transmission window. It may be noted that eDRX is typically UE-specific and a mobility management entity, MME, saves configurations for respective UE when the UE enters idle mode, while DRX is typically cell-specific where UEs of a cell are handled using same parameters, except for cases where DRX is configured for shortened periodicity where the DRX also may be UE-specific, [0038], lines 1-3, [0039], lines 1-4):
a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle, a number of Paging Frames (PFs) in a DRX cycle, a number of Pos in a PF, a PO-specific cycle, a PO-specific offset, or a number of Pos (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 4, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), wherein the preset configuration parameter is one of (receiving paging and will read paging signals at POs during a paging transmission window, but may apply power saving actions, which may resemble those of traditional DRX, between the POs of the paging transmission window. Similar, a UE configured with DRX will, when a proper WUS is received, prepare for receiving paging and will read paging signals at a coming PO. The paging transmission window length may be configurable. It may be noted that eDRX is typically UE-specific and a mobility management entity, MME, saves configurations for respective UE when the UE enters idle mode, while DRX is typically cell-specific where UEs of a cell are handled using same parameters, except for cases where DRX is configured for shortened periodicity where the DRX also may be UE-specific, [0038], lines 1-5, [0039], lines 1-4):
a public cell-based configuration parameter configured by signaling, a dedicated cell-based configuration parameter configured by signaling, a default preset parameter broadcast through system information, a public User Equipment (UE)-based configuration parameter configured by signaling, or a dedicated UE-based configuration parameter configured by signaling (receiving paging and will read paging signals at POs during a paging transmission window, but may apply power saving actions, which may resemble those of traditional DRX, between the POs of the paging transmission window. Similar, a UE configured with DRX will, when a proper WUS is received, prepare for receiving paging and will read paging signals at a coming PO. The paging transmission window length may be configurable. It may be noted that eDRX is typically UE-specific and a mobility management entity, MME, saves configurations for respective UE when the UE enters idle mode, while DRX is typically cell-specific where UEs of a cell are handled using same parameters, except for cases where DRX is configured for shortened periodicity where the DRX also may be UE-specific. [0038], lines 1-5, [0039], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), wherein the target PO set comprises at least one of (network node also knows (determining) the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs, [0030], lines 5-6):
all or part of Pos in the target preset PO set (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6);
a set comprising each M2 number of Pos out of every M1 number Pos in the target preset PO set(when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6);
a set comprising Pos in each K2 number of radio frames out of every K1 number of radio frames in the target preset PO set (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6); or
a subset of the target preset PO set, wherein M1, M2, K1, and K2 are positive integers (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 6, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), wherein determining the target PO according to first position information and first offset information corresponding to the WUS comprises at least one of (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6):
determining at least one PO in the target PO set as the target PO according to the first position information and the first offset information (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6); or
determining a start position of the target PO according to the first position information and the first offset information, wherein the start position is one of, a starting symbol of the target PO, a starting slot of the target PO, or a radio frame in which the target PO is located (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 7, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), wherein determining at least one PO in the target PO set as the target PO according to the first position information and the first offset information comprises at least one of (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6):
determining at least one PO closest to a second position in the target PO set as the target PO, wherein the second position is obtained according to the first position information and the first offset information (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6); and
determining L number of Pos in the target PO set as a plurality of target Pos, wherein a value of L is determined according to configuration signaling, and the target PO is one of the plurality of target Pos (determining 604 of the timing for the transmitting 606 of the wake-up signal may be determined to be ahead of an m.sup.th paging occasion, where m is any of M paging occasions per wake-up signal transmission when the UE operates in the DRX mode, and the determining 604 of the timing for transmitting the wake-up signal to be ahead of a (kN+1).sup.th paging occasion, where k is 0, 1, 2, . . . , and N is number of paging occasions per wake-up signal transmission when the UE operates in the eDRX mode, [0047], lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 8, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), wherein determining the target PO according to the PO index information carried by the WUS comprises (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6):
determining at least one PO in the target PO set as the target PO according to the PO index information (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 9, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), wherein the first position information comprises at least one of (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6):
a start position of a time domain unit where the WUS is located, an end position of a time domain unit where the WUS is located, a position of a first WUS among a plurality of WUSs corresponding to the WUS, a position of a last WUS among a plurality of WUSs corresponding to the WUS, a time domain resource position where the WUS carrying synchronization information is located, or a time domain resource position where the WUS which is intended for measurement is located (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).; and
the time domain unit comprises H number of Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, K number of slots, and M number of radio frames, wherein H, K, and M are positive integers (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 10, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), wherein the first offset information comprises at least one of (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6):
k milliseconds, m number of subframes, b number of slots, n number of radio frames, h number of OFDM symbols, and d number of Pos, wherein k, m, b, n, h, d are integers greater than or equal to 0 (determining 604 of the timing for the transmitting 606 of the wake-up signal may be determined to be ahead of an m.sup.th paging occasion, where m is any of M paging occasions per wake-up signal transmission when the UE operates in the DRX mode, and the determining 604 of the timing for transmitting the wake-up signal to be ahead of a (kN+1).sup.th paging occasion, where k is 0, 1, 2, . . . , and N is number of paging occasions per wake-up signal transmission when the UE operates in the eDRX mode, [0047], lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 11, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), wherein the first offset information comprises first sub-offset information and second sub-offset information, and the first sub-offset information or the second sub-offset comprises at least one of (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6):
k1 milliseconds, ml number of subframes, b1 number of slots, n1 number of radio frames, hi number of OFDM symbols, or d1 number of Pos, wherein k1, ml, bi, n1, hi, and d1 are integers greater than or equal to 0 (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 12, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method),
Astrom et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the determined target PO is correspondingly at least one of: a first PDCCH Monitor Occasion (MO), a last PDCCH MO, or a PDCCH MO.
However, Zhang et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the determined target PO is correspondingly at least one of: a first PDCCH Monitor Occasion (MO), a last PDCCH MO, or a PDCCH MO (After receiving the DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_0) on PDCCH in step 320, a RedCap UE will detect the DCI with legacy P-RNTI in the target PO; thus is seen as detecting DCI on PDCCH (detecting a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)) at the target PO, [0078], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Astrom et al with concept of wherein the determined target PO is correspondingly at least one of: a first PDCCH Monitor Occasion (MO), a last PDCCH MO, or a PDCCH MO of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method and apparatus for paging dedicated for devices with reduced capabilities, (Zhang et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 13, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method),
Astrom et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting, in a first search space set, the PDCCH that is scrambled by a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI), wherein the first RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and the first search space set is a common search space set.
However, Zhang et al specifically teaches concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting, in a first search space set, the PDCCH that is scrambled by a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI), wherein the first RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and the first search space set is a common search space set (Both paging messages and short messages are addressed by a DCI format 1_0 identified with a paging-radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The DCI may include a short message indicator, a short message and scheduling information for paging message if configured. The short message indictor and the short message are defined in Table 1 and Table 2, respectively, [0050], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Astrom et al with concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting, in a first search space set, the PDCCH that is scrambled by a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI), wherein the first RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and the first search space set is a common search space set of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method and apparatus for paging dedicated for devices with reduced capabilities, (Zhang et al, [0001], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method),
Astrom et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting, in a first search space set, the PDCCH that is scrambled by a Paging Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI), wherein a format of Downlink Control Information (DCI) carried in the PDCCH is a format dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and a size of the DCI carried in the PDCCH is a size dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO; and
the first search space set is a common search space set.
However, Zhang et al specifically teaches concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting, in a first search space set, the PDCCH that is scrambled by a Paging Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI), wherein a format of Downlink Control Information (DCI) carried in the PDCCH is a format dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and a size of the DCI carried in the PDCCH is a size dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO (Both paging messages and short messages are addressed by a DCI format 1_0 identified with a paging-radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). TABLE-US-00002 Bit Short Message 1 systemInfoModification If set to 1: indication of a BCCH modification other than SIB6, SIB7 and SIB8. 2 etwsAndCmasIndication If set to 1: indication of an ETWS primary notification and/or an ETWS secondary notification and/or a CMAS notification. 3 stopPagingMonitoring If set to 1: stop monitoring PDCCH occasions(s) for Paging in this PO. 5-8 Not used in this release of the specification, and shall be ignored by UE if received, [0050], lines 1-2, [0051], lines 1-4); and
the first search space set is a common search space set (the RedCap UEs that have 20 MHz bandwidth, the RedCap UEs will perform the following procedures step by step during initial access, which are similar with legacy UEs, Detect the legacy SSBs to achieve DL synchronization, obtain the cell ID and obtain the configuration carried in MIB. Detect PDCCH for SIB1 in legacy CORESET0 in search space 0 for SIB1 scheduling, which are configured in MIB, [0056], lines 3-6, [0057], line 1, [0058], line 1).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Astrom et al with concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting, in a first search space set, the PDCCH that is scrambled by a Paging Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI), wherein a format of Downlink Control Information (DCI) carried in the PDCCH is a format dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and a size of the DCI carried in the PDCCH is a size dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO; and the first search space set is a common search space set of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method and apparatus for paging dedicated for devices with reduced capabilities, (Zhang et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 15, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method),
Astrom et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting, in a second search space set, the PDCCH that is scrambled by a second P-RNTI, wherein the second P-RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and the second search space set is a search space set dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO.
However, Zhang et al specifically teaches concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting, in a second search space set, the PDCCH that is scrambled by a second P-RNTI, wherein the second P-RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and the second search space set is a search space set dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO (Detect PDCCH for SIB1 in legacy CORESET0 in search space 0 for SIB1 scheduling, which are configured in MIB. Detect physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for SIB1 based on the scheduling information, obtain the information such as random access channel (RACH) configuration, Paging configuration, etc., Perform Paging procedure if e.g., there is mobile-oriented data. Perform RACH procedure to finish the initial access procedure. UE will then turn to RRC connected mode, [0058], line 1, [0059], lines 1-4, [0060], line 1, [0061], line 1).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Astrom et al with concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting, in a second search space set, the PDCCH that is scrambled by a second P-RNTI, wherein the second P-RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and the second search space set is a search space set dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method and apparatus for paging dedicated for devices with reduced capabilities, (Zhang et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 16, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method),
Astrom et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting the PDCCH falling within a frequency domain range of a first Bandwidth Part (BWP), wherein the first BWP is a dedicated BWP carrying the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO.
However, Zhang et al specifically teaches concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting the PDCCH falling within a frequency domain range of a first Bandwidth Part (BWP), wherein the first BWP is a dedicated BWP carrying the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO (After receiving the DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_0) on PDCCH in step 320, a RedCap UE will detect the DCI with legacy P-RNTI in the target PO. The DCI may include a short message indicator and a short message. For example, the short message indicator may be a short message indicator for legacy UEs as shown in Table 1. system information modification dedicated for RedCap UEs may include initial BWP configuration update for RedCap UEs. The RedCap UE may receive paging message to obtain the initial BWP configuration update dedicated for RedCap UEs according to the scheduling information in the DCI. As a result, any system information modification for RedCap UEs will not impact legacy UEs behavior, [0080], lines 1-3[0082], lines 9-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Astrom et al with concept of wherein detecting the PDCCH at the target PO comprises: detecting the PDCCH falling within a frequency domain range of a first Bandwidth Part (BWP), wherein the first BWP is a dedicated BWP carrying the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method and apparatus for paging dedicated for devices with reduced capabilities, (Zhang et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 17, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), wherein before determining the target PO according to the at least WUS (network node also knows (determining) the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs, [0030], lines 5-6), the method (fig. 7, method) further comprises at least one of:
Astrom et al does not specifically disclose concept of in response to an absence of configuration for a third RNTI by the base station, determining a legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the third RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO;
in response to an absence of configuration for a second search space set by the base station, determining the legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the second search space set is a search space set dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO;
in response to an exclusion of a first BWP from BWP configured by the base station, determining the legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the first BWP is a dedicated BWP carrying the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO;
in response to an absence of configuration for first DCI format and/or a first DCI size by the base station, determining the legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the first DCI format is a format dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and the first DCI size is a size dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO; and
in response to signaling indicating that the legacy PO is the target PO, determining the legacy PO as the target PO.
However, Zhang et al specifically teaches concept of in response to an absence of configuration for a third RNTI by the base station, determining a legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the third RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO (Both paging messages and short messages are addressed by a DCI format 1_0 identified with a paging-radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The DCI may include a short message indicator, a short message and scheduling information for paging message if configured. The short message indictor and the short message are defined in Table 1 and Table 2, respectively, [0050], lines 1-4);
in response to an absence of configuration for a second search space set by the base station, determining the legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the second search space set is a search space set dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO (FIG. 3, in step 310, a BS (e.g., BS 101 in FIG. 1) transmits a DCI identified with a P-RNTI in PO on PDCCH. The DCI may include information associated with information dedicated for a device with reduced capabilities. The P-RNTI is used to identify a group of UEs in a paging message, [0073], lines 1-3);
in response to an exclusion of a first BWP from BWP configured by the base station, determining the legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the first BWP is a dedicated BWP carrying the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO (FIG. 3, in step 310, a BS (e.g., BS 101 in FIG. 1) transmits a DCI identified with a P-RNTI in PO on PDCCH. The DCI may include information associated with information dedicated for a device with reduced capabilities. The P-RNTI is used to identify a group of UEs in a paging message. In an example, the P-RNTI may be a legacy P-RNTI, the legacy P-RNTI may indicates the P-RNTI for both legacy UEs and RedCap UEs, which means that the legacy P-RNTI does not distinguish between the legacy UEs and the RedCap UEs. In another example, the P-RNTI may be a new P-RNTI, which is dedicated for the RedCap UEs, [0073], lines 1-6);
in response to an absence of configuration for first DCI format and/or a first DCI size by the base station, determining the legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the first DCI format is a format dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and the first DCI size is a size dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO (After receiving the DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_0) on PDCCH in step 320, a RedCap UE will detect the DCI with legacy P-RNTI in the target PO. The DCI may include a short message indicator and a short message. The short message indicator may indicate one of three kinds of indication information: only scheduling information for paging for RedCap UEs is present in the DCI, only short message dedicated for RedCap UEs is present in the DCI, and both scheduling information for paging and short message dedicated for RedCap UEs are present in the DCI. The information is indicated using reserved bits in the short message indicator defined in Table 1. Table 3a, Table 3b, and Table 3c give examples on indicating each of the three kind of information using the reserved bits, i.e., bit 00, [0078], lines 1-7); and
in response to signaling indicating that the legacy PO is the target PO, determining the legacy PO as the target PO (After receiving the DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_0) on PDCCH in step 320, a RedCap UE will detect the DCI with legacy P-RNTI in the target PO. The DCI may include a short message indicator and a short message. The short message indicator may indicate one of three kinds of indication information: only scheduling information for paging for RedCap UEs is present in the DCI, only short message dedicated for RedCap UEs is present in the DCI, and both scheduling information for paging and short message dedicated for RedCap UEs are present in the DCI. The information is indicated using reserved bits in the short message indicator defined in Table 1. Table 3a, Table 3b, and Table 3c give examples on indicating each of the three kind of information using the reserved bits, i.e., bit 00, [0078], lines 1-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Astrom et al with concept of in response to an absence of configuration for a third RNTI by the base station, determining a legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the third RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO; in response to an absence of configuration for a second search space set by the base station, determining the legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the second search space set is a search space set dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO; in response to an exclusion of a first BWP from BWP configured by the base station, determining the legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the first BWP is a dedicated BWP carrying the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO; in response to an absence of configuration for first DCI format and/or a first DCI size by the base station, determining the legacy PO as the target PO, wherein the first DCI format is a format dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO, and the first DCI size is a size dedicated to the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO; and in response to signaling indicating that the legacy PO is the target PO, determining the legacy PO as the target PO of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method and apparatus for paging dedicated for devices with reduced capabilities, (Zhang et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 18, Astrom et al discloses method (fig. 7, method), further comprising one of:
Astrom et al does not specifically disclose concept of starting detection of legacy paging at a moment that is F milliseconds after detecting that the WUS carries system message change indication information; or
starting detection of legacy paging at a moment that is J milliseconds after detecting that the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO carries system message change indication information, wherein F and J are positive integers.
However, Zhang et al specifically teaches concept of starting detection of legacy paging at a moment that is F milliseconds after detecting that the WUS carries system message change indication information (the RedCap UEs that have 20 MHz bandwidth, the RedCap UEs will perform the following procedures step by step during initial access, which are similar with legacy UEs, Detect the legacy SSBs to achieve DL synchronization, obtain the cell ID and obtain the configuration carried in MIB. Detect PDCCH for SIB1 in legacy CORESET0 in search space 0 for SIB1 scheduling, which are configured in MIB, [0056], lines 3-6, [0057], line 1, [0058], line 1).; or
starting detection of legacy paging at a moment that is J milliseconds after detecting that the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO carries system message change indication information, wherein F and J are positive integers (the RedCap UEs that have 20 MHz bandwidth, the RedCap UEs will perform the following procedures step by step during initial access, which are similar with legacy UEs, Detect the legacy SSBs to achieve DL synchronization, obtain the cell ID and obtain the configuration carried in MIB. Detect PDCCH for SIB1 in legacy CORESET0 in search space 0 for SIB1 scheduling, which are configured in MIB, [0056], lines 3-6, [0057], line 1, [0058], line 1)..
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Astrom et al with concept of starting detection of legacy paging at a moment that is F milliseconds after detecting that the WUS carries system message change indication information; or starting detection of legacy paging at a moment that is J milliseconds after detecting that the PDCCH corresponding to the target PO carries system message change indication information, wherein F and J are positive integers of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method and apparatus for paging dedicated for devices with reduced capabilities, (Zhang et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 37, Astrom et al discloses terminal device (network node also knows (determining) the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs, [0030], lines 5-6), comprising:
a Wake Up Signal (WUS) receiving module, configured for receiving a WUS sent by a base station (network node (e.g. eNB, gNB) transmits a WUS related to a paging message, to a wireless device (UE), [0030], lines 1-2);
a target PO determining module, configured for determining a target Paging Occasion (PO) at least according to the WUS (network node also knows the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs in both DRX and eDRX. From this information, the network node may determine a suitable WUS timing in relation to the PO in which the paging message is scheduled to be transmitted, [0030], lines 5-7); and
wherein determining the target PO according to at least the WUS comprises at least one of (network node also knows the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs in both DRX and eDRX. From this information, the network node may determine a suitable WUS timing in relation to the PO in which the paging message is scheduled to be transmitted, [0030], lines 5-7):
determining the target PO according to first position information and first offset information corresponding to the WUS (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6); or
determining the target PO according to PO index information carried by the WUS (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).
Astrom et al does not specifically disclose concept of a channel detection module, configured for detecting a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at the target PO;
However, Zhang et al specifically teaches concept of a channel detection module, configured for detecting a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at the target PO (After receiving the DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_0) on PDCCH in step 320, a RedCap UE will detect the DCI with legacy P-RNTI in the target PO; thus is seen as detecting DCI on PDCCH (detecting a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)) at the target PO, [0078], lines 1-2);
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Astrom et al with concept of a channel detection module, configured for detecting a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at the target PO of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method and apparatus for paging dedicated for devices with reduced capabilities, (Zhang et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 39, Astrom et al discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer-executable instruction which, when executed by a processor (computer programs preferably comprise program code which is stored on a computer readable medium 700, as illustrated in FIG. 7, which can be loaded and executed by a processing means, processor, or computer 702 to cause it to perform the methods, respectively, according to embodiments of the present disclosure, preferably as any of the embodiments described with reference to FIG. 6, [0050], lines 6-9), causes the processor to perform a method for determining a Paging Occasion (PO) (network node also knows (determining) the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs, [0030], lines 5-6), comprising:
receiving a Wake Up Signal (WUS) sent by a base station (network node (e.g. eNB, gNB) transmits a WUS related to a paging message, to a wireless device (UE), [0030], lines 1-2);
determining a target PO according to at least the WUS (network node also knows the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs in both DRX and eDRX. From this information, the network node may determine a suitable WUS timing in relation to the PO in which the paging message is scheduled to be transmitted, [0030], lines 5-7); and
wherein determining the target PO according to at least the WUS comprises at least one of (network node also knows the WUS-to-PO ratio of UEs in both DRX and eDRX. From this information, the network node may determine a suitable WUS timing in relation to the PO in which the paging message is scheduled to be transmitted, [0030], lines 5-7):
determining the target PO according to first position information and first offset information corresponding to the WUS (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6); or
determining the target PO according to PO index information carried by the WUS (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signalling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).
Astrom et al does not specifically disclose concept of detecting a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at the target PO;
However, Zhang et al specifically teaches concept of detecting a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at the target PO (After receiving the DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_0) on PDCCH in step 320, a RedCap UE will detect the DCI with legacy P-RNTI in the target PO; thus is seen as detecting DCI on PDCCH (detecting a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)) at the target PO, [0078], lines 1-2);
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Astrom et al with concept of detecting a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at the target PO of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve method and apparatus for paging dedicated for devices with reduced capabilities, (Zhang et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 41, Astrom et al discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the method further comprises (computer programs preferably comprise program code which is stored on a computer readable medium 700, as illustrated in FIG. 7, which can be loaded and executed by a processing means, processor, or computer 702 to cause it to perform the methods, respectively, according to embodiments of the present disclosure, preferably as any of the embodiments described with reference to FIG. 6, [0050], lines 6-9):
obtaining a target preset PO set according to a preset configuration parameter (receiving paging and will read paging signals at POs during a paging transmission window, [0038], lines 1-2); and
determining a target PO set according to the target preset PO set, wherein the preset configuration parameter comprises at least one of (receiving paging and will read paging signals at POs during a paging transmission window, but may apply power saving actions, which may resemble those of traditional DRX, between the POs of the paging transmission window. It may be noted that eDRX is typically UE-specific and a mobility management entity, MME, saves configurations for respective UE when the UE enters idle mode, while DRX is typically cell-specific where UEs of a cell are handled using same parameters, except for cases where DRX is configured for shortened periodicity where the DRX also may be UE-specific, [0038], lines 1-3, [0039], lines 1-4):
a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle, a number of Paging Frames (PFs) in a DRX cycle, a number of POs in a PF, a PO-specific cycle, a PO-specific offset, or a number of Pos (when the UE is operating in DRX mode, in which case a UE may be configured with a 1-to-M configuration, the WUS timing (first offset information) is determined to be ahead of the m.sup.th PO out of M POs that corresponds to the PO for which the UE is instructed to read WUS. This m.sup.th PO, (m={1, . . . , M}) may be identified by the UE's IMSI number or by explicit signaling. In another embodiment, the timing is related to the PO location (first position information) in a paging or system frame or hyperframe. Furthermore, in the DRX mode case, the WUS timing is determined at a plurality (up to M−1) of POs ahead of the PO being allocated for the paging message to safeguard proper detection of the WUS, [0037], lines 1-6).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681