DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 09/19/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-26 have been cancelled. Claims 27-38 are pending in this Office action.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath or Declaration is being considered by examiner and complies with PTO requirements.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/16/2024. These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 09/16/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CRR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-28, 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al (US 2022/0263552) hereinafter Hao in view of Rahman et al (US 2021/0185647) hereinafter Rahman.
Regarding claim 27, Hao discloses a method performed by a wireless device for generating and reporting or transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report in a wireless communication system (see Abstract, [0008] illustrates that the method generally includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) request from a base station, triggering a CSI report comprising at least one of a plurality of spatial domain (SD) bases, a plurality of frequency domain (FD) bases, and a plurality of linear combination coefficients, receiving a configuration which, restricts, for each SD basis, a maximum average amplitude of the linear combination coefficients associated with that SD basis, and sending the CSI report, with the linear combination coefficients generated in accordance with the configuration), the CSI report indicating a plurality of precoder vectors or matrices, a precoder vector or matrix of the plurality of precoder vectors or matrices being expressed as a linear combination of spatial-domain component(s), frequency-domain component(s) and time-domain component(s), and a set of linear combination coefficients for combining the spatial-, frequency- and time-domain components, the method comprising (see [0008], [0009], [0031], [0042], [0049], [0068]): receiving a CSI report configuration from a network node (see Fig. 8, [0030] illustrates that a wireless communication network 100 in which aspects of the present disclosure may be performed. For example, the wireless communication network 100 may be a New Radio (NR) or 5G network. A UE 120 in the wireless communication network 100 may receive a channel state information (CSI) report configuration from a base station. The CSI report configuration configures the UE 120 for CSI reporting); receiving, from the network node, a higher layer configuration indicating a subset of spatial-domain components from a set of spatial-domain components and a maximum average amplitude value, or a maximum average power (see [0099]), for restricting an average amplitude, or an average power, of the combination coefficients associated with the spatial-domain component in the subset of spatial-domain components (see [0066], [0067], [0087], [0091], [0094], [0099]); and generating and transmitting or reporting, to the network node, the CSI report, the CSI report comprising an indication of the determined spatial-, frequency- and time-domain components, and the set of linear combination coefficients of the precoder vector or matrix (see Fig. 8, [0008, [0009], [0096], [0112]). Hao fails to explicitly disclose determination of one or more spatial-domain components from a set of spatial-domain components, one or more time-domain components from a set of time-domain components, and one or more frequency-domain components from a set of frequency-domain components.
Rahman discloses determination of one or more spatial-domain components from a set of spatial-domain components, one or more time-domain components from a set of time-domain components, and one or more frequency-domain components from a set of frequency-domain components (see [0139], [0154] wherein the [0139] illustrates that In embodiment 1, the above TCI-based mechanism is used for a common beam (or TCI state) indication, which indicates a single (common) beam for a group of (or multiple) radio resource (RR) entities. Let us denote an entity type associated with an RR entity as X. A few examples of the entity type X include users/UEs, RSs, DL/UL channels, spatial domain components (such as antenna ports, antenna panels, and transmit and receive points (TRPs)), frequency domain components (such as component carriers (CCs) and bandwidth parts (BWPs)), and time domain components (such as slots and subframes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to determine one or more spatial-domain components from a set of spatial-domain components, one or more time-domain components from a set of time-domain components, and one or more frequency-domain components from a set of frequency-domain components as taught by Rahman into the teachings of Hao in order to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission coverage, the beamforming, massive multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO), full dimensional MIMO (FD-MIMO), array antenna, an analog beam forming, large scale antenna techniques and the like are discussed in 5G communication systems.
Regarding claim 28, Hao discloses wherein the maximum average amplitude value of the combination coefficients associated with the spatial-domain component in the subset of spatial-domain components restricts the average amplitude, or the average power of the combination coefficients of the spatial-domain components across two polarizations (see [0091], [0094], [0097], [0098]).
Claim 36 is similar to claim 27. Therefore; claim 36 is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 37, Hao discloses a method performed by a network node for receiving a channel state information (CSI) report in a wireless communication system (see [0008], [0009] wherein [0009] illustrates that the method generally includes sending a channel state information (CSI) request to a user equipment (UE), triggering a CSI report comprising at least one of a plurality of spatial domain (SD) bases, a plurality of frequency domain (FD) bases, and a plurality of linear combination coefficients, sending the UE a configuration which, restricts, for each SD basis, a maximum average amplitude of the linear combination coefficients associated with that SD basis, and receiving the CSI report; and processing the linear combination coefficients contained in the CSI report in accordance with the configuration), the CSI report indicating a plurality of precoder vectors or matrices, a precoder vector or matrix of the plurality of precoder vectors or matrices being expressed as a linear combination of spatial-domain component(s), frequency-domain component(s) and time-domain component(s), and a set of linear combination coefficients for combining the spatial-, frequency- and time-domain components (see [0008], [0009], [0031], [0042], [0049], [0068]), the method comprising: transmitting, to a wireless device, a CSI report configuration (see [0009]); transmitting, to the wireless device, a higher layer configuration indicating a subset of spatial-domain components from a set of spatial-domain components and a maximum average amplitude value, or a maximum average power (see [0099]), for restricting an average amplitude, or an average power, of the combination coefficients associated with the spatial-domain component in the subset of spatial-domain components (see [0066], [0067], [0087], [0091], [0094], [0099]); and receiving, from the wireless device, the CSI report, the CSI report comprising an indication of determined spatial-, frequency- and time-domain components, and combination coefficients of the precoder vector or matrix (see Fig. 8, [0008, [0009], [0096], [0112]). Hao fails to explicitly disclose determination of one or more spatial-domain components from a set of spatial-domain components, one or more time-domain components from a set of time-domain components, and one or more frequency-domain components from a set of frequency-domain components.
Rahman discloses determination of one or more spatial-domain components from a set of spatial-domain components, one or more time-domain components from a set of time-domain components, and one or more frequency-domain components from a set of frequency-domain components (see [0139], [0154] wherein the [0139] illustrates that In embodiment 1, the above TCI-based mechanism is used for a common beam (or TCI state) indication, which indicates a single (common) beam for a group of (or multiple) radio resource (RR) entities. Let us denote an entity type associated with an RR entity as X. A few examples of the entity type X include users/UEs, RSs, DL/UL channels, spatial domain components (such as antenna ports, antenna panels, and transmit and receive points (TRPs)), frequency domain components (such as component carriers (CCs) and bandwidth parts (BWPs)), and time domain components (such as slots and subframes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to determine one or more spatial-domain components from a set of spatial-domain components, one or more time-domain components from a set of time-domain components, and one or more frequency-domain components from a set of frequency-domain components as taught by Rahman into the teachings of Hao in order to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission coverage, the beamforming, massive multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO), full dimensional MIMO (FD-MIMO), array antenna, an analog beam forming, large scale antenna techniques and the like are discussed in 5G communication systems.
Claim 38 is similar to claim 37. Therefore; claim 38 is rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ly (US 2025/0119778) discloses a channel state information for spatial domain adaptation.
Hao et al (US 2022/0263552) disclose a codebook subset restriction (CBSR) on per spatial domain amplitude,
Hao et al (US 2023/0113651) disclose a CSI reference resource for tdm based multiple transmission reception transmissions.
Rahman et al (US 2021/0185647) disclose a method and apparatus for group-based multi-beam operation.
/KHAI TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632
KT
January 3, 2026